burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Down Sweater Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Down Sweater Hoody

4.1/5
Kinda Large
February 4, 2023

Very warm

This is my 11 year old daughters jacket. It light so shes able to run around outside but yet warm. I bought a small so she can wear next year. She is very hard on her clothes and this is very durable!

February 2, 2023

It is warm, light and

It is warm, light and fits perfectly.

February 1, 2023

I love this hoody down jacket!

I love this jacket! I sent my jacket to be repaired and they replaced it with a new one! I love that you recycle everything to help save the planet! Amber was so professional and so nice and I thank you for your amazing service!

January 31, 2023

Warm and roomy

It was time to finally commit to a hooded jacket, I've had the same hoodless version of this for 12 years and needed an upgrade. My partner has a 2 years old version of this the jacket, I wear it all the time so I finally decided to get it for myself. Im normally an XS in all other patagonia products, but sized up to be able to layer. I like t... Read Morehe design and cut in the chest and shoulders. The pockets on the inside and exterior are generous. I LOVE the elastic on the hood, give a great fit when its windy. I got black, but when comparing to my partners jacket it looks a little more like a dark blue/black but I like it. The only thing I wish they would have kept is the fleece inside the collar for when you have it zipped up. VERY warm, been wearing it in this really cold Colorado winter.

January 24, 2023

My favorite coat!

Its holding up to my Michigan winter, super warm, I layer a long undershirt with fleece then my jacket and its perfect!! Thank you Patagonia!!

January 19, 2023

Lightweight & warm with style!

Bought the storm blue & magenta accents version. I like the zippered big hand pockets and ample sized internal zippered chest pocket. The fit is certainly a contoured fit and if it wasn't on sale, I probably would have sized up one for versatility with heavier sweaters. I'm taking this as a nudge to loose a few lbs instead. The sleeve... Read Mores are longer but the elastic in mine works well so they do not ride down too far to be an issue when my arms are at my side and help with my jacket not raising above my waist in response to me reaching for something as well. 2 large interior drop in pockets are wonderful for gloves, a thin hat, or sunglasses. A waist and hood cinch are thoughtfully placed and round out the great features of this solid staple of a hoody from your environmentally conscious friends at Patagonia. KUDOS!

January 17, 2023

Light weight & warm!

I bought two for my husband, one with hood one without, one for my son-in-law and now one for me! Next I will get one for my daughter! No layers required! Very warm!

January 13, 2023

Active Fit

I was worried about the fit based on other reviews, but find this hoody fits similar to my L Nano Puff jackets in the shoulders and bust, and similar to my L Better Sweater in the hips. So closer to the body in places to keep the drafts out, and a bit roomer where I need movement. The material is light and durable, and I enjoy the included GearAid ... Read Morepatches just in case.

January 6, 2023

Excelente product

I got my wife the jacket for Christmas and she completely loved it.

January 4, 2023

Love the colors and fit!

This is a great jacket. I was expecting the down fill to be a bit thicker given the cost but it's still pretty warm

December 30, 2022

Warm, lightweight, runs a bit small (for me).

Got this for cold Northeast winters. Very warm, but need a large to help with layering underneath.

December 27, 2022

Runs Smaller than it used to

Love this hoody, but I ordered same size that I have two times before (and these fit great). RUNS SMALLER than it did previously. Returned it. Didn't order size bigger as would probably be too large.

December 27, 2022

Called to see the size

Called to see the size was correct she gave me the measurements. It was perfect. Thank you

December 25, 2022

Keeps getting better with time!

This jacket is the best thing and I worm mine to sheds over the course of the past 15 years. The new model is beautiful, soft and warm. The synch on the hood is very helpful and the color is elegant

December 25, 2022

Beautiful Warm Well Made Jacket

This jacket is light, warm and a perfect fit. Beautiful.

December 24, 2022

Significant fit issues

The fit is so off with this jacket it's almost offensive. I'm between a Small and Medium depending on the product, and since I wanted to layer under this jacket, I went up to a Medium. The jacket is comfortably/appropriately roomy up top, but then things get really weird as you go down. It's suuuper long in the arms (they hit at my f... Read Moreingertips), and real snug around the hips such that there's no chance I'm comfortably layering under this thing. I'm petite and in shape with a super normal hourglass body type, so if the fit is this weird for me, I can't imagine this fitting comfortably for most other estrogen'd folks out there. Definitely not an inclusive fit for body shapes that aren't straight. Also, the Black color looks more like Navy Blue which was another fun surprise. Big oops on this one!

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Natalie, and we're sorry it was a disappointment! Note that the nylon fibers of this product take dyes in a slightly cooler tone than previous polyester fibers absorbed the color. Please don't hesitate to [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) it and reach out if you'd like any assistance to select a different jacket instead. Our Customer Service team will be happy to help!

December 22, 2022

Color is off

I had this jacket from a previous season and loved it. I ordered a 2nd one and confirmed with the rep it was the same as my previous jacket. This jacket is suppose to be black, but looks like a dark blue. It also has an inner lining that looks very cheap, like a thin plastic. I thought about cutting it out, but realized its a pocket liner. Very dis... Read Moreappointed.

Response from Patagonia
January 4, 2023

Hi Lisa, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear the redesign of the Down Sweater Hoody isn't working for you! We're sharing your thoughts with our product team, and we will reach out to you about returning it, if you wish.

December 19, 2022

Great every day winter coat for Colorado winters

I love this coat and get tons of compliments on it. I bought it for everyday wear, taking my kids to school, walking the dog in the Colorado winter. Except for snow days, our winters are pretty mild and this coat does the trick. Taking one start off just because the high collar is a little annoying, but I wanted a jacket with a hood.

December 19, 2022

feels like I am wearing a sweater more than a jacket

Love this jacket, super warm. I bought the XS and it is a little roomy especially in the arms. Once the jacket gets warm inside, it stays at a warm operating temperature and I never want to take it off.

December 17, 2022

Like many have said before, this new design isn't flattering for women with hips

I traded in my very old jacket of the same model recently, assuming the new redesign would fit somewhat similar. I was originally a M, but the new M was not flattery to my hip. As an active women who doesn't have any issues with being slightly curvy, I was disappointed in this redesign.

Response from Patagonia
December 22, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Emily. We're sorry the new fit was a disappointment! Our Women’s Down Sweater and Hoody now have a trimmer fit through the body, waist, and hips. Many customers are finding they prefer to size up in these jackets. If you haven't already returned the Medium we will be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 11, 2022

so comfy and warm!

This is a great jacket, super warm and light! It is fun to wear because it's like wearing a sleeping bag. The hood is key, and is perfect for running outside for something without a hat.... The size allows for a layer underneath if necessary, but if not, it's still incredibly warm and comfy.

December 8, 2022

Can you making clothing for women with HIPS?!

Your product is awesome, but PLEASE PLEASE start making jackets and clothing for women who have hips. What group of females are you targeting that don't have hips? Seriously. I would buy more but can't.

December 6, 2022

Cozy and cute!

I normally wear a small but based on other reviews decided to upsize. The sleeves are a little big but the body is roomy enough to layer or wear bulky items underneath. Love the color!!

December 3, 2022

Want to love this but sleeves way too long

It is almost perfect but the sleeve length is literally 4 inches too long - past my knuckles. It would be ok if I was wearing mitts with it 100 percent of the time, but without, super annoying. Unfortunately Im going to have to return. Much different fit than other Patagonia styles as others have noted. I personally like the tighter fit and love th... Read Moree blue colorway but do agree the pocket placement is awkward as well. Super soft and warm, but alas, not for me.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2022

Hey Roxie, thank you so much for providing us with this feedback. We'll share your thoughts on the sleeves and pocket placement with our product team. You might find that something like the [Women's Down With It Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-down-with-it-jacket/28041.html?dwvar_28041_color=DYWH&cgid=root) is a better fit for you. The sleeves are almost an inch shorter, check it out.

November 27, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket

November 20, 2022

Stylish & warm

Omg! This jacket is incredibly comfortable, and the blue is so eye-catching! For me, the jacket, size small, fit fine. I am 130 pounds with more weight in the hips too. Love the pockets, the color, the look and the feel. Wearing 100% recycled fish nets is also just really cool. Incredible warm and functional for Adirondack adventures. Glad I made t... Read Morehis purchase!

November 20, 2022

Jury is still out

I am often between a medium and a large in Patagonia outerwear. I got a medium and it was really tight across the shoulders so I exchanged for a large. I didnt want this to be enormous, but I did want to be able to wear more than just a single base layer under it, but the cut of the jacket leaves no allowance for any amount of bust. Maybe my expect... Read Moreations are out of line since this is supposed to be a sweater but it's snugger than Id like for it to be and might limit the circumstances when I choose to wear it.

Response from Patagonia
November 28, 2022

Thank you for this fit feedback, Christina. If you'd ever like to get more detail on the fit of an item our Customer Service Team will be happy to provide specific measurements. In the meantime, if this Large ends up not working for you, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

November 17, 2022

Runs Small Around Waste Compared to Previous Model

I've owned this jacket for 8 years and recently got the new version because the old one was spilling out the fill through the arm seams. I got a medium, same size as I've always had and the jacket is so snug around the waste I wouldn't be able to wear anything but a t-shirt under it. I'm sure the large is way too big in all othe... Read Morer areas. I'm pretty narrow wasted so this must only be for pencil shaped women.

November 17, 2022

My go-to winter coat

This is my second go-around with this style of winter coat and love it even more than the one before! I bought my first one in 2016 and wore it daily for at least 7 months out of the year (Canadian winters, brrrrrr). I would still be wearing that coat because it held up so well but got lost in the mail this year when sending it in for repairs. Luck... Read Moreily, Patagonia replaced my missing coat with the new and improved version (better internal and external pockets!) Love this coat and plan to wear it for years to come for daily wear and all of my outdoor winter adventures!

November 17, 2022

New version - a disappointment

I have been wearing the down hoodie for many years, and have purchased quite a few over time. I absolutely love them! However, this newly designed fit is a disappointment. The sleeves are too long! Ahh! The cuffs ride up onto my hands, which is very irritating and when I pull them back, the fabric bunches in the arms. Pocket entry is higher on the... Read More torso than previous versions, which I can get used to and I don't mind the slimmer fit around the waist, as I am not particularly curvy. Love the Sequoia Red color! Hope to see improvements in the next versions!

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2022

Hi Jade, thank you for sharing this detailed feedback on the redesign of this Hoody. We are passing it along to our product development team. We're sorry to hear these changes haven't worked for you! If they should turn out to be a deal breaker, please keep in mind you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

November 16, 2022

Fit in the hips is off

So sad. I love the new Hemlock Green color and was excited to try the redesign, but the fit is so off. It's super tight in the hips in my normal size medium and the large is way too big. Women have hips, we aren't small men.

November 15, 2022

Tight in waist and hips

The fit on this iteration of the Down Sweater is very poor. I am a medium in everything. I have average to narrow hips and a lean build. I ordered a medium and this jacket fits tight through the hip and waist but normal and maybe even a bit loose in the chest and arms. Its so tight in the hip it wouldnt be possible to wear a thicker layer under. Th... Read Moree jacket bunches in the back when zipped from being pulled tight across the front of the hip. Its not a comfortable fit. I wont be keeping this jacket and I hope Patagonia can get a redesign right next year.

November 9, 2022

Amazing Jacket

I love this jacket. It has gotten cold here in far Northern California. Hiked in the snow yesterday, and didnt need the many layers that I would have ordinarily had to wear. I love that it doesn't feel the least bit restrictive, but provides the warmth I need for these fall hikes.

November 5, 2022

Amazingly warm yet ultralight!

Awesome color, super great fit that allows for perfect layering. Just a super solid jacket that lets you do more outside.

November 5, 2022

My second!

I love this jacket, had an older version, love that this can fold into the pocket

October 31, 2022

Changed Design

I have owned several of these. The medium was tight in the hips and the large was huge. It is very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
November 7, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry that the new design is disappointing. We'll reach out to you by email to provide further assistance. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, Mary!

October 28, 2022

Very warm

I'm always cold but with this sweater/jacket I stay warm I side or outside.

October 28, 2022

Runs small

I am a solid Medium in most brands and find that Patagonia tops run small across the board. The issue I found with this jacket is that it is very narrow around the waist and hips(and I have narrow hips!). I tried to size up to a large and the large was way too big. I am 39 at the hips and 31 in the waist and I would not be able to wear suitable lay... Read Moreers under this jacket for use during hiking/camping/winter sports. I tried on a mens med and it fit more tts but still wasn't right. Unfortunately I had to opt for a puffy from a different brand.

October 27, 2022

Perfect mid layer

I originally ordered a size small, thats what size I wear in the nano puff. The down sweater hoodie is slightly longer however, so I had to size up so it wouldnt fit tight around my hips. The size small also fit snug around the chest. Had this of not been a down type jacket, the fit would be fine, but to benefit from the warmth, I sized up allowing... Read More the jacket to be comfortably loose. The material is soft and comfortable. Its perfect for PNW 35-65F temps. The hood tucks nicely around your neck when you have the jacket zipped all the way up, and arent utilizing the hood. The outside pockets are nice and large, wish more pocket room inside the jacket. The small elastic cuffs are nice, but could be tighter. They would work well if wearing small gloves. I essentially wear this down hoodie from sun up to sun down, even in my house. Ive taken several naps in it, as it gives me the comfort of being in a nice sleeping bag. I would recommend this hoodie!

October 18, 2022

Love this jacket!

I really love this jacket. The material is so smooth, soft, and comfy. It is incredibly warm. This is my first down jacket. I appreciate it is made out of recycled materials and contains responsible down. The only negative I have, which is not a huge factor, is that the feathers of the down sometimes poke out of the outer material on the inside of ... Read Morethe sleeves. I have felt them poke my arms when wearing a t-shirt instead of a long-sleeve. I like that the jacket can be folded into the pocket for easy storage during travel. I received a couple of patches along with the jacket in case of any tears or holes, which is so great and makes it easy to repair if need be! Overall awesome jacket!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Hi Aries, thank you for submitting this review. We're happy you're pleased with your Down Sweater Hoody! The quills from down feathers can sometimes poke out through the fabric. You may be able to keep them intact by pulling them back into the baffle from the other side, and then firmly rubbing the fabric with your thumbs to “heal” any hole that has formed. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

October 15, 2022

YES! Warm & Lightweight!!

Could the Down Sweater get any better? Yep. Warmer, and so light. And the shell made from recycled fishing nets? Very cool. I'm super impressed with the quality and if it is like any other Patagonia things I own, it will be my Winter companion for many years. Re. fit, it seems a bit more fitted through the hips than prior Down Sweaters. Would ... Read Morelove if it came in other neutrals like Feather Grey.

October 2, 2022

Runs small

I wear a large in most tops. I ordered an XL to have room for a sweater turtleneck underneath. The XL ran very small, especially in the hip area.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

We're sorry for the disappointment in the fit and sizing of this hoody and we appreciate your feedback. We have some other down coats that have a larger hip measurement, so please do take a look at our [Down With It Jacket, Fitz Roy Down Hoody, Jackson Glacier Jacket, Downdrift Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-insulated-jackets-vests?page=2). Thanks for the review, Brenda!

September 10, 2022

Now runs smaller

This would have been my second down sweater. I loved my first but the seams wore out after years of use. I purchased my next down sweater last month and was sad to find that the small no longer fit my waistline (which has actually gotten a few pounds smaller over the last few years) although it still fit my shoulders and arm length. The design has ... Read Morebeen changed for a slimmer body type. I tried the medium and was swimming in it. I absolutely love Patagonias products but can hang with this seasons design of the down sweater.

September 7, 2022

Love the revision / feels lighter and smoother

I LOVE the new down sweater hoodie. It feels lighter weight and the fabric feels smoother than the old version. The fit is really nice and flattering. I also love that it is more environmentally responsible: 100% net plus recycled shell and 100% responsible down. Those features are very important to me when I am shopping. The fit is different and r... Read Moreuns smaller. I needed to buy a size bigger than the old one. Overall, love it!

September 5, 2022

Perfect for the -ber months

This jacket is so perfect for the chilly winters! It gets really warm, but is light weight. Im usually in between sizes (m/l) and chose a large because the medium was a little snug in my hip area.

August 23, 2022

Blah color and cut of coat

I bought a womens down sweater hoody in 2012 and loved its vibrant magenta extérieur/emerald green intérieur color combination. Last fall, it and a host of other things in my backpack were stolen from my car. Last fall all the colors were faded, or unoriginal or wouldnt be helpful for being noticed when cycling/hiking/outdoors in winter. I checked... Read More the site nearly everyday in hopes the fall 2022 line would be different, and bought the red sequoia color. Unfortunately it too was this faded out, nothing shade and worse yet, the cut of the coat changed: once a boxier, long torso and now a short-waisted and snug fit. So, no room for a wool sweater to layer. Really disappointed as I love everything Patagonia, however I chose a different brand with a vibrant color for down coat.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2022

Hi Nicole, thank you so much for leaving this review and we are very sorry about the lack of vibrant colors. We will absolutely make sure to pass along this feedback to our Product Designers so they are aware of the want/need for more vibrant colors. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*itlinw*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2MTUyOTE4MS40LjEuMTY2MTUzMDU5NS4wLjAuMA..) and we will be more than happy to help.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches