burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Micro Puff® Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 596 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Micro Puff® Hoody

4.6/5
Kinda Large
December 30, 2022

Does what it says on the tin

Great jacket, amazing that something so thin can keep you warm. Packs down super small too. Great for layering up as well. Super impressed with the purchase.

October 24, 2022

Awesome..

Cool and nice jacket, and easy exchange due to size matter...

October 24, 2022

Great jacket, works well for

Great jacket, works well for a spare warm later for my emergency kit

August 30, 2022

Excellent Jacket and Service:).

Many thanks. Excellent all over:)

August 30, 2022

Very happy with my new

Very happy with my new Ms Micro Puff® Hoody. Super light with good insulation even during a rain.

July 25, 2022

Perfect

Perfect

June 13, 2022

Minnesota tested

Love this jacket and super happy to have it in my library of winter layers. Minnesota does not mess around in Winter and this puff keeps me warm through all the frigid stages (especially when layered).

May 19, 2022

Warm & Sytlish

Super warm but its thin and not bulky which is nice for 30-50 degree days here in MI. Love the hood thats attached too!

May 6, 2022

A Fine Jacket, but the Small Runs Small

I have a Men's M in this jacket and it's quite ample. I thought a small would fit me without being tight, but I was wrong. I'm not very big, 5'7" and 147 lb. The Micro Puff Hoody in Medium is one of my favorite garments. It behaves much like a light down jacket but without the down. When it develops a pinhole, the insulat... Read Moreion leaks like down. After several years the zipper stopped engaging with itself. I squeezed the runner gently with pliers to fix it.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Great job with your at-home repair! If you ever need to send your Micro Puff or other Patagonia product in for repair you can't do at home, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to get started.

April 13, 2022

LOVE IT !!!

After watching Tom Whalin's (Pack Hacker) and TJ Dalton's Youtube review of the Micro Puff Hoody jacket, I decided to buy it. I like the versatility being able to use this jacket from Fall thru Spring months. I also love that it packs into itself and is super light. I plan on using this jacket when I go fishing later this year in the Sier... Read Morera Nevada mountains. It gives me peace of mind that I have in my backpack, a jacket I know will keep me warm for the early morning hours and evenings while fishing in the mountains.

April 11, 2022

Best warmth to weight ratio

This is my favorite jacket to bring on cool weather hikes because of the high warmth to weight ratio. And it stays warm even if it gets a little wet.

March 30, 2022

Great layer to keep on or in your backpack!

I recently wore this jacket on a research mission in Stellwagen Bank National Marine Sanctuary to better understand how North Atlantic Right Whales find their prey. It was unseasonably cold for mid march and this jacket held its own. The hood was especially helpful when the wind started picking up while I was on the flying bridge of our ship standi... Read Moreng lookout. Can't wait to ski with this and I'll never ever be cold on a hike again. Nice work here!

March 29, 2022

The best!

Perfect fit! Bold bright colors keeps me warm and is light weight which is the biggest bonus. Ive kicked North Face to the curb and Im all Patagonia. 2 fleece 1 vest 1 puffer 1 rain coat 1 sweater.

March 29, 2022

Lightweight and super warm

Best jacket I have ever owned. Super light and very warm. I love how it folds into itself and become a handy pillow.

March 27, 2022

not so comfortable

It is little uncomfortable near the chin if it is not zipped completely!

March 25, 2022

Super lightweight and warm

This is the 2nd one we've purchased because we liked the first one so much. It's warm and a perfect underlayer for cold days. Size Medium is perfect for 6'2" and 150lbs.

March 25, 2022

Great wind stopper and warm for how light it is

Tried this jacket prior to heading to Alaska. Was warm as heck down to the mid 30s, with a light layer under. Used a rain shell on top and was super warm. The zipper kind of makes me nervous feels a little cheap, but works well. Got stuck once or twice on the lining, but still worked, large inside pockets but no zippers, would def rec this cost tho... Read Moreugh

March 24, 2022

It looked nice, but I sent it back.

I'm always happy with my Patagonia gear. This was just too big. and They were out of my size. Large.

March 21, 2022

Excellent Workmanship

I love my Micro Puff Hoody. Its very warm, cuts wind nicely, and is extremely lightweight. The fit is perfect for me. I tend to wear layers underneath, so the slightly larger size (XL vs. Large) really works well for me.

March 20, 2022

Very warm and ridiculously light

Light weight with a lot of pocket space, but it can be a bit warm for longer walks when the temperature is above 20 degrees (Fahrenheit)

March 20, 2022

Love it!

It keeps you warm even in the crazy cold and windy days.

March 20, 2022

Warm enough for Chicago spring (35+) temperature.

I use this as casual wear or for the office. Keep me warm for at least 15 minutes outside in 35+ temperatures. Hoody is also nice for any unwanted sudden cold wind blow. Good to know it is made of recyclable material.

March 20, 2022

Perfect Pacific Northwest Puffer

Wow! What a jacket! Turns any waterproof breathable shell into a comfortable ski jacket, even a windbreaker like Patagonia's Torrentshell. I put 30 days on this jacket last season as my go to mid layer and it still looks brand new! Great as a stand alone jacket. Looks good with the quilting as opposed to the "tube" look even a fat gu... Read Morey like me can wear this puffer without looking like the Micheline Man. The face fabric is fragile but that is to be expected on a jacket this light and packable. Also Patagonia will repair my jacket for free so if fragile causes a problem it can be fixed. This is, by far, the best synthetically insulated jacket I have ever owned! Would be amazing if the hood was somehow stowable.

March 19, 2022

Versatile everyday wear

This is a fantastic, versatile light jacket. Great for casual wear or layering. The hood is a little weird but I've been glad to have it when I needed it. At 6' and 200lbs, the large (what I went with) is a tad baggy. The medium was too tight in the shoulders and chest and restricted movement just enough to be annoying.

March 18, 2022

Superb in every way: fit, weight, warmth and color.

Superb in every way: fit, weight, warmth and color.

March 18, 2022

Incrediblly insulated, light weight, and quiet jacket

It is an ideal light weight but well insulated jacket that offers surprising protection from the elements

March 17, 2022

Great jacket

It is warm, stops the wind, rain beads on surface (for now, its new), dries very quickly, is extremely light weight for its warmth and the dark blue version that was on sale looks really good. No downsides yet.

March 17, 2022

Good Warmth, Collar Rough

I like the warmth and light weight of this hoodie, but there is a rough seam where the hoodie meets the jacket that rubs the back of my neck and is annoying and somewhat uncomfortable, especially when wearing t-shirts/non-collared shirts underneath the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2022

Hello Timothy! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the seam that is causing some discomfort. We really appreciate this feedback, and we'll share it with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 16, 2022

Great jacket

This is a great jacket. Light weight yet keeps you warm in cold weather.

March 16, 2022

It's a shame the materials haven't been updated

Why is Patagonia, a company that claims to care for the environment, still using PFCs in their materials? This jacket contains hazardous materials that don't degrade and can cause cancer, which is why I returned this product.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hello John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We truly appreciate the feedback regarding the use of PFCs in our products. We are currently working to remove PFCs from our line, and its our goal to be totally PFC-free by 2024. We've already launched quite a few products with PFC-free DWR. We understand not being comfortable keeping this item, and we look forward to being able to offer our customers a 100% PFC-free line.

March 16, 2022

Great Jacket

Attractively designed lightweight but warm and functionaleasy breezy

March 16, 2022

Awesome Jacket

Im 6ft 5in and 200lbs - the XL was a little on the big side, but very light, comfortable, warm, and arms were perfect for a 37 sleeve. Love the color and style/look!

March 15, 2022

Returned

Probably a very functional product and was extremely warm. The blue color was lighter and more like a blue painting tarp than I expected. The waist was also cut very short, so I ended up exchanging. Not a great fit for taller, skinny people.

March 15, 2022

Not that warm

Although this is a comfortable and high quality jacket, I was surprised that it did not keep me warm on a short walk with temps in the 30's and a sweater underneath. I was hoping the jacket would be effective down into the 20 degree range, but that is not my experience. Good for cool weather, perhaps, but not really for true winter temperature... Read Mores.

March 15, 2022

Favorite Piece

The micro puff hoodie is my favorite piece. I have used it for hiking, biking, fishing, and carpentry work. It's the first jacket I grab. Comfort range is good from 50 down to 35 or so. Layered with a thermal under or waterproof shell it is indispensable. Still tays warm when it gets wet. Also stuffs small so I can take it along easily. I like... Read Mored it so much I bought another one. Not sure if Patagonia is discontinuing them, so I have an extra. Been using it for 2 years, sent it back once for a new zipper (salt water), they re-stitched the torn areas and replaced the zipper free. It's light, warm, and has worn well for the abuse.

March 14, 2022

Good all around light puffy jacket

I love the jacket for all around activities, including simply walking around. My only wish is a stronger/tear/abrasion resistant exterior fabric.

March 13, 2022

Damn near windproof!

When my wife told me how much she loved hers, I couldn't believe that something so lightweight could be so warm and wind resistant so I had to get one myself! While the intent for purchase is for hiking at Glacier this summer, I've found myself wearing it to work & walking the dogs because it's so light and so comfortable.

March 12, 2022

micro-puff hoody

Two words: Just right.

March 10, 2022

Warm

The Micro Puff Hoody is a great jacket for those days when it is not brutally cold, but cold enough that you need a jacket. Easy to layer underneath, ample pockets, lightweight and comfortable.

March 9, 2022

Almost perfect light and warm insulation.

The Micro Puff is a GREAT light insulated jacket. If you like really light and warm outerwear you definitely want to check it out. The shell material is very thin but reletively strong for what it is and you feel the warmth as soon as you put on the jacket which was one of the first things I noticed when I tried the jacket on. Patagonia made a ve... Read Morery good choice with this type of insulation. Other than the shell being a bit delicate and having to worry if the shell fabric will hold up over time I noticed that the fabric that runs across the chest of the jacket pulls a bit across your chest when you go to put your hands in your pocket or if you raise your arms and try to push your elbows back. (The motion you would make when your yawning and sticking your chest out while pulling your arms back.) Not a huge deal but for some who have a bulkier chest it will be more noticeable. Other than that this jacket is really light. There's no drawcords anywhere. You get elastic at the hem and around the hood and wrist cuffs. This is a GREAT piece for people like me who run hot and don't like bulky down jackets. The Micro can be worn in temps down to the mid to upper 30's(depending on what you have on underneath). This is a perfect piece for those chilly to slightly milder days. If I had to add one thing it would be a exterior chest pocket. If you need something a bit warmer and with more weather protection then get the Das Light Parka which is the same jacket but with the addition of the chest pocket and a more weather resistant outer shell.

March 9, 2022

Great lightweight jacket

I love the Micropuff hoodie for hiking in relatively cold weather without adding weight. Very comfortable!!!!!

March 9, 2022

Best

Truly functional. Cant think of anything to change.

March 7, 2022

Nice fit

Ordered Large originally, exchanged for Medium and got the fit I was looking for. Great jacket for climbing/skiing/mountaineering. Light weight insulation

March 3, 2022

Great everyday jacket

Super comfortable warm and great for layering. Wear it everyday in NH winter.

March 2, 2022

Thin and Comfortable

This jacket is amazingly thin, comfortable, and will protect you like a parka!

March 2, 2022

Better than expected

I love the fact that I can move my head side to side and it never obstructs my view. True to size and I stayed warm at 40° while others froze.

March 1, 2022

Nice but de-evolved!

Ive had many versions of this, my favorite jacket. The one I almost always grab on thr way out thr door. Thr main fit is nice & comfy. Thr de-evolution is the pockets openings are much smaller & hard to get my hands in. Thr other is thr main zipper is smaller & difficult to operate. It feels like it will fail prematurely. Im always expe... Read Morecting Patagonias great products to improve over time. This is not the case with this version.

February 28, 2022

Warm

This jacket is warm for its weight

February 27, 2022

Packs a punch

XL jacket fits great for 6 5 200-lbs and is very warm for the weight - it is by far my lightest jacket. Zipped all the way up is comfortable with or without the hood up.

February 25, 2022

Super light and super warm

This is as described - a very light jacket that keeps you warm in cold temperatures. When it arrived I was a bit skeptical about how good it would be in the cold, but its held up fantastically when the temperature dropped into the 20s. The bottom of the jacket, sleeves and hood all have a snug fit to keep you protected from the wind. Its light enou... Read Moregh to be used as a base layer too if necessary. I wore it underneath a raincoat on a cold, rainy day. My only complaint is the pocket zippers get stuck frequently - a drawback likely due to the thinness of the jacket, but its not a big deal. Overall great product.

February 24, 2022

Very Lightweight & Warm for the Weight

If you're looking for an ultra lightweight jacket for moderate temps or a mid-layer to use under a shell in colder/wet conditions, this is a great option, especially if you can find it on sale. I was hesitant at first about how warm this jacket would be given the synthetic weight fill and the thinness of the exterior denier material, but so ... Read Morefar it's performed great, just understand it's intended use and limitations. I've worn it causally in temps ranging from 25 to 50 F to work and on neighborhood walks and easy day hikes with a base layer or sweater in colder temps and I've been perfectly warm. I've also worn it in temps as low as 11 F with a wool t-shirt and a mid-weight fleece hoody while shoveling snow and was plenty warm (layering is key after all). The jacket blocks wind fairly well and holds in heat with minimal loss if you get the fit right since there aren't any adjustable cords on the waist. For reference, I'm 6'2'', 185 lbs, size 31 waist, broad chest (40") and long arms (33") and the size medium fits great. I plan to use the jacket primarily for hiking and backpacking, mountain and fat biking (when not in motion in colder temps), and climbing (while belaying), in addition to occasional everyday wear. The only con as others have mentioned is that the material will likely tear easily if brushed up against or snagged on anything sharp or abrasive so this jacket would not be a good option if you're planning on bushwacking or will be rubbing up against gritty rock, etc., the price you pay for the ultra low weight (gear can often be light, durable, and costly or not; pick 2). I own an older version of the Patagonia Nano puff hoody and it's construction uses heavier denier which has been very durable in my experience, but is noticeably heavier and bulkier to pack if you're concerned about space and weight. This jacket is also just as warm if not slightly warmer than my Nano Puff.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

We appreciate all your feedback on sizing, fit, fabric and performance. Including all these details is incredibly helpful for our other customers and designers, so thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough review, Jonathan!

February 24, 2022

wonderfully sculpted hood

I love this jacket. It is kind of strange that the jacket is so light and thin, yet it keeps you warm. What I really enjoy is the hood. The zipper zips right upto the chin so it is as though you are wearing a scarf. Also the hood covers a great deal of the head so you do not need to wear a hat, a very sculpted jacket!

February 21, 2022

Surprisingly warm and lightweight

I got this in the dark blue because it was on sale in my size. The large fits me perfectly, 5'11", 194lbs, 44" chest. I just walked 10 minutes in the rain at around 45 degrees F and was perfectly warm and dry when I got home. Love how small it compresses. This is a go-to jacket. Pockets aren't numerous, two zippered hand pockets... Read More and two ski goggles size interior pockets which work great for bulkier stuff. Love it, couldn't be happier with this purchase... except being able to get other colors for the same price!

February 21, 2022

Very versatile jacket

I bought this after having a true down micro puff from Patagonia. Honestly I think the down retained heat better but the synthetic in this does a decent job. Best part of this jacket is it is very warm in colder weather but not too hot in slightly warmer weather. It is truly lightweight and very packable. Overall I am very pleased with it.

February 19, 2022

Category-defining lightweight puffy with a constrictive hood

This is a fantastic jacket that narrowly misses on my personal priorities. I would give it 4.5 / 5 stars if partial ratings were allowed. First, heres what I love: The fit through the shoulders and torso is divine! The pocket configuration is great! The mobility and loft are magical! The fabric choices are spot-on! All in a down-free, fair trade ... Read Moresewn, recycled fill jacket, at under 10oz / 300g! Patagonia made a huge leap forward with this style. The design is nearly impeccable and the build is outstanding. It's lightweight and very warmIve owned 80g and 100g synthetic puffies with comparable loft to this 65g style, at 1.52x the total weight. It's certainly not an "active insulation" layer, and I think that's a good thing. This style shines in cooler temperatures as an outer layer of resting insulation, and for layers like that I favor weatherproofness over breathability. I do find it breathable enough to wear during moderate activity if it's very cold outside. My only gripe is with the hood and collar: I have a strong bias for helmet-compatible hoods on my outerwear, so I can reuse layers across activities; this jacket doesnt have one, which to me makes it an inherently more specialized design. The hood and collar are cut almost scuba-style, similar to a microgrid fleece hoody like the R1. I find that pattern finicky even with stretchy fabric, but in this style I find it outright constrictive. When I wear this jacket I am looking for excuses to keep the collar unzipped. The hood can probably be forced over some helmets with the zipper down a ways, but usually when I want a hood up, I also want a collar up. I ultimately decided to trade this style for the DAS Light hoody, which is very similar in many ways but with a helmet-compatible hood, a touch heavier, and more weatherproof / less breathable. If I could change one thing about this style, I would give it a hood pattern like the DAS Light, or the previous generation of Micro Puff jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2022

We appreciate your thorough and detailed feedback on all aspects of our Micro Puff Hoody. We're sorry that the hood was a disappointment but glad to hear that you were able to secure a warm hoody that works well for you!

February 18, 2022

light & right

Being linebacker size the jacket xxl fit me just right. It's got enough length for my long torso. Super light super warm. I carry the non hooded version backpacking and it competes with the other ultralight puffys out there.

February 17, 2022

One of the best

Light weight, super warm, comfortable, multi-purpose use and built for lots of wear and tear.

February 17, 2022

Lightweight and Super Warm

This has become my all time favorite jacket. I have the superior blue and believe me - this blue is superior. The small fits perfectly. The hood is remarkable. Initially, the hood felt a little weirdbut now Ive come to love it. Why? Because its so effective at keeping my head warm I no longer need a hat when wearing this. Thanks Patagonia! You hit ... Read Morea home run with this gorgeous, stylish and superior jacket.

February 16, 2022

Fantastic coat

Great on the beach or the golf course especially when cool winds are blowing.

February 13, 2022

Light and thin

I wear it when the temperature was in the teens. Given how thin and light this jacket is. I am surprised that I can survive walking from parking lot to my office building with just a polo shirt underneath. I can see though that it might be too cold if I just stand outside in the cold. Overall I am pretty happy with it.

February 5, 2022

Awsome jacket. Must have in

Awsome jacket. Must have in every backpack. It is super light and gives great warmth for its weight

January 28, 2022

Thin on features

While I am aware of the trend for super light and so forth, this jacket is void of features. No decent pocket, no draw cords, no storage sack, etc. It is basically a minimalist mid layer that is way overpriced. I like the insulation level though. I have two old ones and a variety of Patagonia, Arcteryx, and Marmot. This just isnt much for the money... Read More. It feels like Patagonia is going cheap.

January 26, 2022

Light and Warm

The best lightweight jacket on the market and its very warm . Went snowshoeing today in the north woods of Maine in 20 degrees and was sweating 30 minutes, next time just a t shirt underneath:) Btw , it looks very sharp as well!

January 24, 2022

Warmth without the bulk

Love having such a warm jacket that is also lightweight. I live in the Bay Area so our winters arent crazy cold (~40-50 degrees F) so this is perfect. Im about 5 5 with medium build and the small fits perfectly. I still have some room to layer with sweater, if needed. Also with Patagonias iron clad guarantee, I have peace of mind this is a garment ... Read Morewhich will last a long time!

January 23, 2022

Excellent Insulation

Great jacket! Would be perfect if it was the same length as the nano so it could be worn under a shell for protection.

January 22, 2022

Super light, super warm

Great versatile jacket that works best as a mid layer thanks to its lightweight and warmth factors. I use this under a shell or down sweater and it does a great job keeping me warm and protected. Great pockets too. No drawstring on the bottom to keep out the wind but not a big deal. Would highly recommend

January 22, 2022

Great Puffy

I have carried down jackets for 40 years, but rarely put them on for fear they will get wet and lose their loft. They are for sedentary evenings and early mornings when it is not raining. What sold me on the Micro Puff is its light weight, packability and its ability to maintain loft when wet. I now wear my puffy no matter the conditions knowing it... Read More will continue to provide warmth even when damp or wet. The fit is wonderful, the hood form fitting. Elastic at the cuffs and hem seal well. Love the two inside pockets as well as the zip hand warmer pockets. I usually buy whatever is cheap but owning this jacket has opened my eyes to what a quality fit and finish in a garment can be.

January 22, 2022

Light and warm

This is a great jacket. Warm and light. Very nice style and fits great.

January 18, 2022

Very light and packable

Great jacket. Seems to fit a little tighter around the upper back than my Nano Puff in the same size, but still fits well nonetheless. It's much lighter than the Nano Puff and stuffs down to a much smaller size. Very warm on its own, but when combined with a thin baselayer it performs even better. My only complaint is that it doesn't have... Read More an inside, zippered pocket in which the jacket can be stowed like the Nano Puff.

January 13, 2022

Overly satisfied customer

it’s perfect! the fabric is light weight and very comfortable

January 13, 2022

Great warmth to weight ratio

Have mostly worn this casually for now, im 181cm and medium is a good fit, snug, and has great warm to weight ratio. May use it later as a midlayer on cold days in the Scottish mountains.

January 6, 2022

A level up!

A level up from a any other similar jacket I have tried. Super lightweight, warm enough if you are on the move and good water resistance (not for heavy rain). Compared to the Nano Puff that I also own, it is a more technical piece. PS: So far durability is my only concern based on what I read but still no issues for me.

January 5, 2022

Very impressive warmth for the weight

I ordered this jacket online, and was surprised when I received it at just how light and thin it was! I thought at first that it just wasn't going to be warm enough, but I was wrong! This jacket is more than enough for most chilly weather, and paired with a hoodie underneath I'm able to comfortably walk and hike at temperatures as cold as... Read More 25 degrees. Not bad for such a lightweight jacket! My only complaint is that the hood is tight enough that it doesn't work well if layered over hats, other hoods etcetera, but I suppose that's a tradeoff because the hood being as snug as it is allows it to be worn underneath a helmet.

January 4, 2022

surprisingly warm - dissapointing zippers

I'm amazed by how warm this jacket is and by how lightweight it is. It's a great jacket. My only issue is that the zippers (main zipper and the pockets) are very easy to catch and get caught up in the fabric. the nylon guard could be bigger to help prevent that from happening. Because of this, the main zipper eventually blew out and now I... Read More just wear it as a cape.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Hi Michael. we're so bummed to hear about the zipper issues with your Micro Puff® Hoody. Please feel welcome to begin a [free repair, return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 31, 2021

Skitouring

I bought the jacket for downhill-skiing/ skitouring. Seem to work very well as a insulating layer under a hardshell. Lihtweight, good warm/weight ratio. Very good hood!

December 24, 2021

Super light, no hood or waist cinching, cold creeps in.

This is an amazing coat for its weight, however, with very little extra weight, a waist and hood draw string would make this coat so much more useable. If there is wind it will blow up under the coat, same with the hood, I had to buy the Macro Puff to get these features, which is a totally awesome coat, just wished the Micro Puff was as well rounde... Read Mored. I might see if a someone might be able to fix this, it would be well worth the money being the coat otherwise performs like none other.

December 22, 2021

Excellent

Excellent

December 15, 2021

Love it!

Despite it's low profile, this jacket insulates really well and cuts the wind. Patagonia hits the mark!

December 15, 2021

Super versatile

This jacket is so versatile, it's awesome! Like others, I was surprised that something seemingly so light could provide such warmth. Having the fitted cuffs and waist definitely play a part in that, compared to other Patagonia jackets. I prefer this over having the zip cords at the waist.

December 4, 2021

Absolutely an amazing piece of gear

At first I thought this was too thin. It is absolutely thin but keeps me warm in 20-30 degree weather. Protects me from the wind and really keeps me very comfortable, not hot, not cold, but very comfortable. I will only buy Patagonia for my outdoor activities from here on out.

November 29, 2021

Extremely packable

Warm and lightweight. Perfect for packing-very compact. Exterior will tear in brush. Avoid this by pairing with a light rain jacket. I wear this actively and casually. Great product.

November 29, 2021

Quality

Great coat, very warm and high quality. Never had any problems washing it normally.

November 20, 2021

Ripped open on first use

The very first time I wore it, I threw a light backpack on to go to the park and the strap ripped a gash open on the chest. It also has no zipper chest pocket for a phone, the side pockets are oddly set, and the yoke is weirdly stiff, inhibiting movement. Spend a few extra bucks for the indestructible nano.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2021

Hi Marshall, we're so bummed to hear about your experience with the Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Hoody. This definitely sounds like a warranty issue, so please feel free to begin a return or exchange here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

November 16, 2021

Ultra Versatile

I own three of them. The first one has about 500 full days of use skiing and mountaineering and its showing its age, but it still is warm. I often wear two of them under my Gore-Tex shell when skiing in quite cold weather. Very comfortable and its possible to easily control for big temperature fluctuations. One of the best parkas Ive ever owned in ... Read Moresixty years.

November 12, 2021

Excellent product

Light as a feather, super cozy and warm. Well made, excellent for traveling

November 3, 2021

Perfect For cold weather

Great jacket. Could wear during cold 38 degrees & can wear at 63 degrees. Super light ! Waiting for my wifes size to be available to other one for her .

November 1, 2021

The quality you expect

Excellent warmth and lightness. Hand pockets are a little higher, probably designed for the more technical user but not a deal breaker.

October 31, 2021

Perfect active layer for cool

This is a key piece of gear.takes my body fat percentage from 5 to 12. Hood makes it very versatile. Great for windy conditions while fishing, whether wading or rowing.

October 31, 2021

Suoer warm

Not my favorite Colors the depressing grey , because it Was No choices on colors unfortunately

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2021

Hey Bernard, thanks for the review on the Micro Puff Hoody. We're sorry to hear that the color options were a disappointment, we'll pass this feedback along to the rest of the team. We did want to point out that this jacket does come in "Fire" and "Superior Blue with Ink Black" as well, if the Forge Grey is not your thing. If you'd like to exchange for one of these color options, feel free to begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 30, 2021

Insanely lightweight yet warm

Somehow(through magic?) the lightest jacket Ive ever owned, paper thin, yet the warmest jacket Ive ever put on. Holds up in freezing weather, in Colorado mountain town

October 27, 2021

Lightweight, tailored fit

Lightweight and warm with subpar features. Was looking for a lightweight, insulated jacket to replace an old ultralight down jacket - while the weight and warmth was there, this jacket felt like a cheaper knockoff of the ultralight. Specifically no drawcord at the hem meant a really tight, but not adjustable fit at the waist. The outer fabric also ... Read Morefelt less durable. I ended up returning the jacket for a nano puff, a few improvements and Id have chosen this one.

October 26, 2021

Super warm not as thick as I wanted

Really warm and I love the pockets and the hood. But I was expecting it to be a bit thicker and it does say microfiber so that is on me.

October 25, 2021

Glad I finally made the purchase

Been wanting this for a while and finally decided to buy. Glad I did and great experience and fit!

October 25, 2021

Great product

I wear the Nano Puff everyday in fall and winter while steelhead fishing/guiding in Northern Michigan. It's light weight and incredible warmth work great underneath a water proof shell. I recommend it to any one working and playing in the outdoors

October 24, 2021

Great jacket

So i've always wanted one of these, and finally bought one for my birthday. I wanted a winter coat for the crazy Chicago winters. So far this jacket has been wonderful. I've worn it multiple times and i have yet to be cold. It's very warm, fits true to size and it's very comfortable. I highly recommend this!

October 15, 2021

Awesome by itself and awesome in layering.

In combo with rain parka, the Micro Puff Hoody has incredible range in temperature, wind, and rain. Everyday, the Micro Puff hoody is my go to under my ski school jacket or rain parka. It works well in the moisture laden days, too. Keeps my neck and head comfy.

October 14, 2021

Versatile

I used this Jacket while working in Monterey for a week, there was a variety of weather conditions from cold wind off the ocean to rainy mornings and it preformed admirably. I pared this jacket with one of my Patagonia vests and was very warm and dry. The jacket has good deep pockets for lots of storage and a nice tight fitting hood keeps the wind ... Read Moreoff your ears. this is a solid fall jacket as its not to hot when the sun comes out but you aren't to cold when the wind starts to blow or its raining.

October 13, 2021

Good fit

Jacket fits perfect for me. Im 6 230Lbs.

October 5, 2021

Very satisfied

Great gear piece. True to size, good warmth, stays dry.

October 4, 2021

Great jacket although a little on the bigger size.

The jacket is great. It is super light weight and very warm. My only slight comment is that it runs a little big so if you are looking for a slimmer fit, probably size down.

September 30, 2021

Great lightweight midlayer

I bought this for a lighter weight puffy for backpacking and it does not disappoint. Light, breathable, warm and compact.

September 29, 2021

Amazingly warm and super light

I dont get how they do it?! Feels lighter than a T-shirt but warmer than a sweater that your grandma knitted you. Amazingly awesome job guys!

September 27, 2021

Warm and comfy

This jacket is very warm and comfortable. Great quality as expected with Patagonia. This runs true to size in large for me, The nanopuff jacket fits me a bit snug in a large, this fits better for me. My chest size is 44. Great puffy !

September 23, 2021

Very happy - completely met

Very happy - completely met my expectations

September 23, 2021

Comfortable and great wear for

Comfortable and great wear for Lithuanian cold season

September 21, 2021

Fits great, light and keeps me warm

This jacket is next level. love the weight and the hood is perfect. I appreciate hoods that do their job and don't get in your way. meant to keep you warm and not block your vision or fall over your face. This thing is perfect. A+

September 20, 2021

Warm and light

Love this product, is warm, light and packs very small! I take it everywhere, from hiking long trips to flying above the Andes!

September 20, 2021

Kept me warm

I havent had the jacket long enough to get a good idea of its versatility but so far its kept me warm in colder, damp and rainy weather with a rain shell over top. I could feel the shell pulling some heat from my back but its done the best job of all the layers Ive tried in the past. Super light and comfy but my only complaint is the awkward fit. I... Read More typically fit medium Jackets without issue and after reading reviews it sounded like it may fit a bit loose, which I was ok with. But it has an awkward fit around the shoulders and biceps while the sleeve length and wrist cuffs are perfect. The small would have been too small and medium is too big (though fits good with bulky layers under). But the shoulders almost seem inflated and dont fill up. Im a wider, lanky human so this is something Im used to navigating but I may not have bought it had I been able to try it on in a store (I bought it online). Still, everyone I know who has it loves it, its warm despite the excess room, and super lightweight so I wont complain. Im 59 and 140 lbs so if your body type is similar you may want to try it on at a store. It also dried quickly after getting caught in the rain camping. Definitely a plus.

September 15, 2021

Lightweight, packable and warm

Every ounce counts on a long backpacking trip, and the Micro Puff Hoody was perfect. Packable, warm, water resistant -- it checked all the boxes.

September 14, 2021

Fit good, wish there were tall sizes

Love the jacket. Really lightweight but warm. I have already found use for rolling it up in its pouch for travel. Love the red color too on this one. Looking forward to some seasonal weather here to wear it daily. Only wish is it came in Tall sizes. I'm 6'3" and 185lbs and wear a Medium Tall in other brands. No tall option here means... Read More I have to up size to Large for sleeve and waist lengths, but that gets a little baggy in the middle.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the need for tall sizing with our line. We realize we still have work to do supporting people of all sizes seeking outdoor gear that is durable and produced consciously. We hope that we can offer a better selection of sizing in the future.

September 12, 2021

Nice & Lite

i bought this coat to use in the coming winter for warmth & going out to dinner as it's nice & clean. But i really wanted it for next summer's back packing trips when it's a starting to get used and not brand new. It's 5 ozs lighter than my existing nano puff hoody. On a weeks trip in Idaho's wilderness that will p... Read Moreay off. It may be a bit extravagant or over consumptive to buy to save weight but i'm a back packer & make other choices to be present with my carbon foot print.

September 9, 2021

LIGHT WEIGHT

Light weight... very warm, great hood!

September 3, 2021

dream jacket

the fitting is absolutely perfect, super warm and looks amazing. Simply lovely!

September 1, 2021

Great lightweight jacket!

Bought this jacket for cool mornings fishing. Perfect weight that isnt too hot. Packs well and will be great under my rain gear later this fall!

August 13, 2021

Awesome kit

Love it !! Fits perfectly, incredibly light in weight and very warm. Everything I needed

August 2, 2021

Great with the first version, now improved.

I love buying from Patagonia, love that they truly stand behind their products, love that they are truly pro environment. Patagonia generously replaced my old micro puff (no hood) and my very old nano puff (no hood) jackets with a micro puff hoody. The zippers eventually malfunctioned on both old jackets. The plastic insertion pin at the bottom sto... Read Morep of the micro puffs plastic zipper degraded, so the zipper failed to keep the jacket closed. The fabric around the nano puffss metal zipper frayed a great deal; the zippers teeth frequently caught bits of fabric, and got stuck. The new micro puff hoody has a metal insertion pin; the zipper works well. Unlike both old zippers, the new micro puff zipper does not become stuck in the jackets fabric. The hoodys fabric has an improved feel, compared with the old micro puff. The old nano puffs fabric had the best feel of all, but may be too heavy for a super light weight micro puff. I wore the old micro puff frequently as a mid-layer and outer layer, depending. It was great as a mid-layer on bicycle rides down to the low 30s F. I expect the new micro puff to function similarly. I slept comfortably in the new micro puff hoody during a week long Summer camping trip to Lubec, Maine the eastern most town in the U.S.A. The temperature dropped into the low 50s F. The Medium fits true to Patagonia size which tends to run a bit larger than some other brands sizing. Its comfortable and cozy. I like the feel and fit, and the way it looks. I like the 4 pockets. I expect to wear it often. I like the way it packs into its own pocket. At 9.3 ounces, its 3.5 ounces lighter than the similar nano puff great for minimalist packing. I look forward to taking it along, when I resume international travel. Ive only had this jacket for a short time, and hope to remember a follow up review in a few years. Pros: great jacket from a great company, well designed, great fit and finish. Wish List: I wish the Patagonia logo was easier to remove. I put a small hole in the jacket when removing the logo with a seam ripper.

July 29, 2021

I love it. Will buy it again.

I just got it. I love the way it looks. I love the way it fits. I'm also going to buy the Macro Puff and maybe a Nano Puff too.

July 24, 2021

Quality Product

For walking four-leggeds in San Francisco I always need an outerwear piece that is wind-proof and water-resistant. I have broad shoulders and have always needed a medium sized outer layer but this item is a little too big for me in the arms and chest. Cannot complain about the weight as it feels like Im not wearing a windproof jacket.

July 17, 2021

Quality

Lovely bit of kit, comes up snug in size around the waist/bum but not tight.

July 12, 2021

Great puffy

I have an XL as well. It fit great when I was 235 or 250 lbs but is a little snug since I put on some weight (270lb.) The 2 xl is a tad big but really like it too. Just wish it had a chest pocket for my phone.

June 30, 2021

Very warm but large

The jacket is stupid warm and light weight but its friggin huge... I dont wear small anything so I got a medium of this and it fits like a large

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Thanks for your feedback on the warmth, weight, fit and sizing. We're sorry to hear it's running a bit big. If you haven't returned or exchanged the medium jacket, please reach out to us. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

June 15, 2021

Comfortable,Light,Stylish

Its a year around jacket that even in harsh winter weather with an added sweater and maybe some base layers it keeps me warm.

June 11, 2021

Perfect tool for multiple temps

Needed a lightweight puffy that would be between my down sweater and my nana puff hoodie. Works great

June 2, 2021

Love it !

This jacket is not just warm and lightweight, it is super durable as well. I love the material and way it looks. Only complaint is the zipper when fully zipped up rubs on my neck. If only there was something to block the zipper from rubbing.

May 19, 2021

Lightweight warmth

I have it in my fishing kit and its very packable and lightweight to bring along for all my days on the water. I keep it in a large Black Hole Cube along with a Cap Air Hoody and a pair of Nano Puff Pants for any unexpected cold weather, it also doubles as a comfy pillow on overnight camping trips.

May 18, 2021

The best!

These jackets are simple, functional, and handsome.

May 13, 2021

Light n Warm

Awesome piece

May 13, 2021

Terrific

Fits perfect Toasty warm Feather light Great comfort Love it

May 8, 2021

good for all four seasons in the adk's where we play

my second one!!! well other is a nano air....in the mountains all the time and both perform up to expectations....

May 2, 2021

Very good product

Beautiful , lightweight and comfortable

April 29, 2021

lightweight is an understatement

6'1", 175. Lightweight doesn't cover it. The jacket is an easily packable piece that goes with me all over the place. Fairly windproof and perfect for a lot of situations but not all. I have never found it particularly breathable and therefore it isn't great for fast paced pursuits or strenuous activity, but for lightweight warm... Read Moreth its unbeatable. I wear it casually all the time too and it does a fine job at that during the fall and into winter with the correct layers underneath. I have found that it doesn't bode well against a stray ember or two from a campfire, but a few patches from Patagonia support fixed it right up. Great jacket

April 28, 2021

Could be warmer

Fantastic fit. Material is super light. We'll see how it holds up. I love the hood - adds a lot of extra warmth. But I wish there was more of a difference in warmth between my nano jacket that I use as a daily jacket and this micro puff hoody that I'm using for ultra-lightweight camping. The nano/micro value prop difference is a little va... Read Moregue in my mind. I wish my new Micro Puff hoody had slightly thicker insulation. Thanks for asking!

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. Your Micro Puff® Hoody is filled with 65 grams of PlumaFill synthetic insulation—a revolutionary featherlight down alternative. Your Nano Puff® Hoody has 60 grams of PrimaLoft® Gold Insulation Eco. The Micro Puff® is a more technical piece for those fast ascents where weight is crucial.

April 26, 2021

compact!

Excellent for backpacking. packs down tiny but keeps me warm. The medium is a little short on me since I'm pretty tall, but I dont think i'd want to go bigger

April 25, 2021

Just Right

6-2 180 and tried the large, but too big. The medium is just right, still with room for under layers. I love the Micropuff but this has the wind/light rain protection for extra warmth/protection when not wanting to layer and colder conditions. There is an extra degree of noise/crackles with the outer layer but I kinda like that. The hood is big, wh... Read Moreich is great, but gaiters down around the neck when fully zipped. The double zipper in front is great as are the outside pockets--contrasting colors look good. An inside phone pocket would be only future wish.

April 20, 2021

Awesome!

Initially I was a little undecided due to the stiffness of the collar and hip elastic band. Once it got broken in a little it feels great! I wear it under a shell for cold, rainy, weather and alone in almost any other conditions. Seems to keep you at just the right temperature due to the light weight and effective insulation. Not good around fire... Read More or open flames. Outer material is very thin, which is great for weight and packability, but not so great if you are hard on your gear like I am. Every once in a while I'll get a small piece of insulation pulled through. All-in-all its a daily driver.

April 16, 2021

The perfect warm jacket

I just love the fit and the feel of this jacket. It runs true to size and it's the perfect amount of warmth. Especially in Michigan weather that can turn from 50 degrees to 30 degrees the next day. This jacket could handle anything.

April 15, 2021

Why did you stop making this fantastic jacket.

Gentlemen/Ladies: Why did you stop selling this fantastic hoody? I have had one for about 3 years and have worn it 6 months of the year here in Minnesota. If it is less than minus 10, I supplement it with a down vest. IT IS INCREDIBLY LIGHTWEIGHT AND EASILY STUFFS INTO ONE OF ITS POCKETS. It is pretty windproof; and rainproof. In a gullywasher, I t... Read Moreop it with your hooded nylon rain jacket. I did have a problem with the zipper pull, but that was easily replaced. Having the hood is great in Minnesota. I have had many different Patagonia jackets over the last 30 years. Patagonia quality. They're all still in good shape. But this is by far my favorite. Though your clothing is exceedingly durable, I worried I would wear this one out. So I managed to find one more of them. Unfortunately I did this after all the sales were over and the color selection diminished. But I figure these two Micropuff Hoodies will last as long as this 79 yr old body does. Consider strengthening the zipper. PLEASE BRING THIS HOODY BACK.

April 10, 2021

Second time for the same model

I bought the same model but this time with a hoodie. I still use the old jacket a lot but wanted an additional one for colder weather. Great fit, usuable around the year (Sweden is always freezing), and works just as well with a t-shirt (weekends) as a shirt (work).

April 9, 2021

Best Jacket I ever owned

This is the best jacked I have ever owned. First time I wore it, I was backpacking in the snow. No flaws. Best part about it, you can pack it up and use it as a pillow

April 8, 2021

Feather light and crazy warm

Love the micro puff, I bought it to put in my pack while on filming trips as it packs up to next to nothing. For the weight it's incredibly warm and it dries quick when wet. I did rip it a few times already but it's easy to fix with a few patches.

April 7, 2021

Ms Micro Puff® Hoody

Great balance between weight, size and warmth.

March 27, 2021

super packable

great product, great price. This piece is incredibly durable, as an inner layer on extremely cold days in winter, or as spring/fall go to piece, or cool mountain summer nights by the fire. This replaces my old one that was 5years old but still useable.

March 25, 2021

Works for me

Very happy with this jacket. Good fit under waders and/or with another layer. I would buy another.

March 25, 2021

Zipper falls short

This is a nice jacket. True to the claim, it is very warm for it's weight. Unfortunately, the zipper has no covering or sheath up at the collar. So, when the jacket is zippered all the way up, you are left with the metal and plastic of the zipper directly on your skin (chin, lips). This appears to be a failure or oversight in design, since mos... Read Moret every other light-, middle- and heavy-weight jacket I own have something soft covering the zipper at the collar. Patagonia, please explain the rationale behind this design, or perhaps that it was a mistake and will be corrected next year? It's otherwise a nice jacket, but falls quite short on this important feature. Thanks and regards.

Response from Patagonia
March 25, 2021

Hello Jeff, thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. This hoody comes with a zipper garage at the chin so the zipper should not be touching your skin. If your hoody doesn't have this, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty.

March 25, 2021

Favorite jacket...EVER

Was a huge fan of the ultralight jacket; but once I tried this jacket, found it was a step above even that jacket. Lighter, more flexible, better fitting, more compact, warmer. I absolutely love this company and their products; not a fan of their politics, but they seriously make EXCELLENT products.

March 23, 2021

Patagonia Micro Puffy hoody

Really nice product! it is the second one for me and I will use it for every kind of activity: climbing, hiking, skiing...

March 23, 2021

Extra Lightweight and Warm

This is an excellent jacket that I can easily wear from the single digits up to 50 degrees and not feel under or over dressed. It's that good!

March 20, 2021

Very lightweight and warm!

Got this jacket for hiking the Grand Canyon and Zion in March, when the weather is chilly in the mornings and warm in the afternoon. It was perfect warmth for the 30degree mornings and super light weight when stuffed and clipped onto my pack. Im 61 and 195lbs with long arms, jacket fits somewhat tight to body with room for layering and movement.

March 19, 2021

Really good jacket with more specific uses than others

This jacket has impressed me more than I thought it would. I tend to run hot and found this jacket to be perfect for colder environments when working out. I've warn it as an outer layer on cold Nordic skiing days and it hasn't let me down. The tight fitting hood is also a nice addition. The only down side to this jacket is its thin outer ... Read Moreshell. I've worn out the material just by the movement of my hip-pack's strap skate skiing. Luckily the people at my local Patagonia store were more then willing to patch it up for me. The bottom line: This jacket is really special. If you want a warm (I've found its warm when working out to about 10ish degrees with just a t-shirt underneath), easy to layer, and super light weight jacket this is for you. Keep in mind that the outer fabric is not the most durable and is a trade off you'll have to make. Luckily Patagonia will stand by their products so you're in good hands either way. Wearing the micro-puff with a hard or soft shell that's more durable could be a killer combo as well. I haven't taken mine alpine skiing yet but I imagine it would preform very well as a mid layer. If you want a more hardy jacket I've heard that the Nano-puff (also by Patagonia) is a more durable standalone piece.

March 16, 2021

Nice fit

Patagonia nailed the sizing on this jacket for me. I'm tall and have a long torso, the longer fit of this jacket is great but it's not overly boxy and wide on my chest. Purchased this for a lightweight option to carry biking, hiking, and skiing in case of emergency. Enjoy the minimalist features and snug hood for under helmet usability.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches