Back to Product

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 288 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

4.8/5
Kinda Large
May 25, 2022

WATCH OUT FOR THAT BLACK HOLE!!!!!

The black hole you do want in your universe! I purchased this bag not really knowing its capabilities. The more trips i took it on, the more i noticed how it just gobbles up whatever you put in it. It seems to expand and contract exactly to it's contents - so well that i often use it as my airline carry-on. My favorite feature has to be the du... Read Morerability. The bag has gone to every climate and on every vehicle imaginable. It's collected a few scratches & scrapes but most seem to have been able to be buffed out (mine's white - eek!). My next faorite features are the large zipper that makes zipping up very easy and the daisy chains that are on either side of the bag. i always carry a few extra carabiner's because you never know what you're going to want to attach. The last favorite feature of mine is the backpack straps. Whenevr my hands end up full, the straps have come in major clutch!!

May 23, 2022

Nice size

Should work great for weekend travels

May 19, 2022

My Favorite Bag

Replacing my favorite bag that I cannot live without! Somehow I lost my original one in a recent move and this is my go-to travel and camping bag.

May 7, 2022

Great bag

Incredible bag - tons of room, functional and durable.

May 7, 2022

Perfect Size

I have the 55L Black Hole duffel and I can't say enough about it. It is my go to bag for an overnighter to a week long trip. Add the fact you can add the straps super quickly to make it a back pack. Which is quite comfortable. Can't recommend this enough for someone looking for a durable bag capable of holding allot more than you might th... Read Moreink. Plus it is made of recycled materials as well.

April 29, 2022

Strange size

Love these bags and have used them for over a decade. Had a 45L previously and found that to a great size for clothes to not shift around or sink to the bottom when carried as a back pack for carry on. Find this bag is just a bit too wide and long. When bag isnt very full, when carried as a back pack weight shifts to the bottom making it feel uncom... Read Morefortable. Would like to try the 40L but havent had luck finding inventory.

Response from Patagonia
May 2, 2022

We're sorry that the larger bag has been disappointing. Please reach out to our Customer Service team for updates on our inventory. We do expect to have more of the [40L Black Hole Bags](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-duffel-bag-40-liters/49338.html) very soon!

April 27, 2022

55L Duffel must have

So pleased with this purchase. This 55L is just the right size for traveling. Very nice material.

April 24, 2022

My go to wedding gift

These are the most useful piece I own. Ive chosen this to give as wedding gifts as I know they will be long appreciated and oh so useful.

April 21, 2022

Great bag

This bag is the perfect size for traveling. I can fit about a weeks worth of stuff in it and the straps are made to be super comfortable for carrying around.

March 17, 2022

Great Bag

This is my 3rd Black hole bag... I now have multiple sizes and bought one for my husband. They are virtually indestructible, repel water and have great zippers. The 55L is great for weekend or several day-long trips and I use the 40L as a gym bag. The backpack and carabiner loops are a bonus.

March 16, 2022

Adventure bag

We have two of these 55L Black Hole bags and have used them for both snowboarding, holding camping gear, and travel. Love that they stack on top of each other in the car since the bottom is a rougher material that grips the top of the other Black Hole 55L bag. We have used every handle in this bag. The side handles make it easy to adjust and drag w... Read Morehen were pulling out gear from the back of the van. The top flap is big enough to easily access everything and also holds a lot of smaller items w/ its zip pouch. We dont unpack our bag, even if we are in a hotel or Airbnb, since it keeps everything super accessible and organized during travel, especially for our teenage boys. The backpack straps are great when we are jumping in and out of Tube stops, up stairs at train stations, over cobblestones in older cities where wheeled suitcases are a hassle to roll. We are not easy on our gear and these bags still look brand new. I have a feeling our kids will be taking these bags with them on their college trips and outdoor adventures for many years to come. Tip: If you do want to pack it back into its original self-contained bag, I recommend recording yourself unpacking it so you know how to repack it. Its a pretty tight fit.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi Aislin! Thank you for writing us such a detailed review. We love to hear that your duffels get so much use, and we hope they see your kids all the way through college. This feedback is greatly appreciated so we'll share it with our design crew. Wishing you and your family well on all the future adventures!

March 15, 2022

Best Bag Ever

This most recent Black Hole 55L duffel I purchased for my youngest son. I bought mine about 5 years ago and I have been using it constantly ever since for all of my travel. My job requires me to travel overseas about 30% of my time and this is my only bag. I can fit enough to basically travel for several weeks assuming a few opportunities for laund... Read Morery at hotels. The bag is a great, simple design. It is easy to carry with the backpack straps and can be stuffed into any overhead. Even small regional jets or jammed under your seat if necessary. For me it is perfect. Thank you.

March 13, 2022

Great bag

I have a few of these. Theyre perfect for travel. They hold up and they shed water well.

March 10, 2022

Patagonia High Standard

Own every size in this carry all. I love the new colors and the easy wipe down and wash. Perfect for travel and camping. This size can be worn as a backpack with the carry straps.

March 6, 2022

Fav gear bag. Bought this one for my sons sailing gear.

Love the black hole bags. I use one daily for trail running gear and just got another for my son. Super durable.

March 5, 2022

Solid Choice for a 55L Duffel Bag

Great bag, all its missing is a removable shoulder strap and end pockets. Because I think those two upgrades would improve the bag dramatically, 4 stars.

March 1, 2022

Great bag

Great bag. Durable, tough, looks great, and holds everything I need for a short trip! One recommendation - add a few small pouches inside. I like small pouches attached to the interior sides or ends to throw little things into...helps keep them from getting lost in the cavernous bag. otherwise, awesome product!

March 1, 2022

Great but want softer shoulder straps

Took this as a backpack so i didnt have to check a bag while on a week vacation. Stuffed it full. Walked through several airports and it chaffed my shoulders so i loosened up the straps but didnt feel as secure. Maybe its fine for a big guy but as a woman (who works out several times a week) it was uncomfortable on my shoulders. It truly needs soft... Read Moreer shoulder pads towards the top of my shoulders. Id be happy to pay extra to upgrade or purchase softer straps.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with the straps. This feedback is immensely helpful to our product designers!

February 26, 2022

Waterproof, durable

I got the 55 liter version, good for a weekend travel bag, a big gym bag if you carry lots of stuff. I use mine primarily for skiing, where it holds my pants, parka, extra socks, extra gloves, a down mid layer and a synthetic mid layer if there might be rain. Everything that doesnt fit in my boot bag. Its waterproof so your stuff stays dry if you ... Read Morethrow it on wet or snowy ground, and durable mine shows no signs of wear after being repeatedly thrown into and out of the truck many times.

February 25, 2022

Rugged Black Hole Duffle

Rugged travel bag, a little pricey but should stand the test of time and wear/tear that comes with travel.

February 25, 2022

Duffle Bag

Love this bag. Perfect for a weekend get away. Fits nicely on planes and easy to carry. Highly recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

We're so happy to hear that you've been able to use this as a carry on! Please be sure to verify carry on restrictions with specific airlines, as the measurements can vary by company.

February 9, 2022

good quality bag

I use the bag for my work gear and carrying my coastguard PPE when on shouts. Very useful

February 5, 2022

My trusty travel companion

If my trip is 7 days or less, this is the only piece of luggage I need. I can get all my work clothes, workout kit and two pairs of shoes in easily. It fits well in overhead bins in all but the smallest puddle jumpers, where I cram it under the seat instead. I once had another passenger spill a full coffee on it once. There was no damage to anythin... Read Moreg inside and it was a quick clean-up with a paper towel. I cannot imagine a better bag!

January 19, 2022

Best quality. Best brand. Awareness

Best quality. Best brand. Awareness for the planet and true action. Love U!

January 7, 2022

Surprisingly large

The 55L can carry so much stuff the backpack straps come in super handy when its very full. Great bag for travel and weeklong trips.

January 6, 2022

Great all around bag!

This 55L bag is a great weekend bag that is the perfect size. I like that its durable sides can be wiped down, or layer on a wet grounds and still keeps the contents dry. I love the 3 sided top opening which makes it easier to use and not need 2 hands to pack/unpack. Fun colors too!

January 5, 2022

excellent

excellent

January 4, 2022

Great travel bag!

Love the Black Hole duffel! Have had one a few decades, bought one for my son now.

January 4, 2022

Sturdy and comfortable to carry

Versatile, comfortable and sturdy duffel.

December 31, 2021

Duffle bag 55 l

Great Material, just used ist on a boat Trip on the Bavaria Lakes. Just love the Design and the ideale of Patagonia.

December 24, 2021

Very good product.

Very good product.

December 7, 2021

Black Hole Bags are the Best

This is my second black hole bag and more of a mid-size that my previous larger black hole bag. Bar none, these are the best bags and the backpack straps make it super versatile.

December 7, 2021

Bigger than the old 60L

I grabbed a 55 because the 60L I had was so useful, and was somewhat surprised to find that it is larger - quite a bit - than the old 60L model.

December 5, 2021

Excellent size and ruggedness

The bag is everything you need. The 55 is good for multi day adventures or long weekend travel. Many pockets to divide up dirty and clean stuff too. Durability is second to none.

November 30, 2021

Totally a black hole! Love it!

A car travel must- yoga gear/ anything inside well protected from our stinky wet dogs in the back seat. I have 3 of these!

November 26, 2021

Nice bag!

So lightweight and durable just cannot say anything bad about the black hole bags.I want another one!

November 17, 2021

Duffle Bag

Thx duffle is great with zippers that actually work consistently.

November 10, 2021

Great bag for traveling

I bought this bag for myself, and I primarily use it for 7-10 day vacations. When I was on vacation my siblings saw the bag and said they wanted one, so here I am buying them duffels. I personally really like the thickness and durability of the material, and the backpack straps really help when u have a lot of gear to unload. The best feature of th... Read Moree duffel is the compact size when folded up, however it does take some practice to fold :)

November 8, 2021

Outstanding Construction

This bag is perfect for carryon and is extremely well built.

November 8, 2021

Perfect

Great size for carry-on

November 5, 2021

Awesome bag

We really like these bags, weve bought several for different things. Travel, storage, sports gear, etc. I would def recommend.

November 4, 2021

Love these bags

I bought my first black hole bag a few years ago, and found myself needing another bag on a recent trip and knew I needed another. Perfect for carry on, fits like a large back pack. Easy to assemble, though not as easy to place it back in its perfect pocket it ships it. Best bag ever.

November 2, 2021

Fantastic Duffel

This duffel is amazing, and being able to convert it into a backpack is very handy. I bring it with me everywhere -- to the gym, to the crag, through the airport. The material of the fabric is incredibly durable and overall it's a very stylish bag.

November 1, 2021

Great for weekend trips

This is a great product for those weekend trips, camping and long hiking trips.

October 28, 2021

Useful

It's a really nice duffel. Thats about it. I use it to store my gear on trips and everyday adventures. Its well built and should last a while.

October 28, 2021

Great Quality

This is the perfect duffle for a weekend trip. I am extremely pleased with the build quality and durability.

October 27, 2021

Perfect for keeping my gear dry

As do most Patagonia customers, I do a lot of outdoor activities - rowing, fishing, kayaking, etc. The Black Hole 55L bag works well for protecting my gear and ensuring I have dry clothes to pull on after a busy day on the water. The small interior pouches are great for keeping things like wallet, keys etc separate from the rest of the gear. The on... Read Morely things that could be improved: The attachment of the back pack straps is not very intuitive (I'm a guy and tend to avoid instructions). The real missing thing is a long shoulder strap with attaching D rings evenly spaced at each end of the bag. I far more often carry my duffels over my shoulder than on my back. I have resorted to using only one of the back pack straps to carry the bag and that is not very comfortable. overall I still give the bag a high rating.

October 22, 2021

Perfect Carry On

Death. Who know the thought of it could excite me simply by knowing that my slick oily body could be buried in a duffel such as this? I drip for the forest and this duffel holds my moisture. I flash a toothy grin at the ominous glowing future and this duffel waits beside me, coldly. I prowl the frothing banks of Lake Sadness and mock its solemn dep... Read Moreths with my crooked bones comfortably shielded in 20 denier ripstop nylon. I also like how it conveniently folds up into its own little pocket for easy storage. Def recommend

October 20, 2021

Great travel bag!

Got this for a weeklong international trip and it worked great! Clothes, toiletries, and 2 extra pairs of shoes filled about 2/3 the bag so it easily fit as carry on for the trip there. I had plenty of room for gifts to bring home and checked it on the way back.

October 15, 2021

Good size

The 55L Black Hole Duffel is a weird size. It will fit gear for a 3 or even 4 day trip but I am not sure it will pass for carry on as some have suggested. That said it could get a little tight on weeklong adventures. If you are looking for something for carry on, size down, if you need something for week long trips size up. Needless to say it check... Read Mores all the other boxes: it is well constructed, the compartments are useful, and it looks great! Would definitely buy again, but maybe a different size, I think.

October 13, 2021

Great bag!

This is a great bag which I use as an all purpose for any occasion!

October 11, 2021

Reliable and Sturdy

I packed this bag for me and my partner for a week-long vacation (camping/hiking/mtb/city) and it was PERFECT. So sturdy and spacious. Was considering buying a second one just so I could have one bag to myself!

October 10, 2021

Awesome Bag

Loved having this bag on a recent trip to Colorado. I was able to fit everything I needed for a 5 day trip in the duffle. Great purchase!

October 8, 2021

Fits in the overhead bin (55L)

Took this bag to Tahiti for a 2 week trip, along with one of the black hole bookbags. It fit in the overhead (even stuffed to the brim inside) on all the normal planes. I bought it in bright purple which I love and would buy another when it comes out in another bright color. I wear it as a backpack when I travel and have no issue. I also use packin... Read Moreg cubes/bags to keep my items sorted.

October 3, 2021

Great size (for long weekend) with room to spare!

I have both sizes, the 40 and the 55. Where I could have used the 40, it was nice to have the extra room of the 55. Fit nicely in the overhead compartment on my flight, so I was able to carry on. Also wore as backpack through airport. Nice and comfy. Used it for a 3-4 day trip packed with outdoor activities and dinners out, and still only filled ab... Read Moreout 85% of the bag.

September 30, 2021

Black Hole Duffle

I have owned my black hole duffle for 3 years now. I use it every day for work and on work trips, and its held up like no other! Cant rave about the bag enough

September 27, 2021

Great

Simple, practical bag for traveling. The 55L can fit under an airplane sit and easily fits in an overhead bin

September 25, 2021

Great Bag

This bag holds tons of clothing and gear. Very durable and easy to throw on your shoulders if you need to carry it for distance. Just buy it!

September 24, 2021

Perfect size. Needed a new bag for weekend trips and ski gear.

Bought this to stop overpacking my smaller duffle and this is such and upgrade it makes me wonder why I did not do it earlier. Great bag for long weekend trips and definitely capacity to hold plenty for cold weather weekends or 5 day warm weather trip with ease.

September 22, 2021

Crazy utility with Black hole bags.

This is my third black hole bag. I have one larger and one smaller. The smaller bag I use for cycling and running gear. The largest bag I use as a travel suitcase. I purchased this bag to have a slightly smaller than the larger one for my girlfriend to use as a suitcase also. (Suitcase means clothing and/or gear hauler to me) They throw over your s... Read Morehoulder easily either with the backpack straps or with the regular carry handles. They have been through a lot of weather and always keep my gear dry and clean. I especially appreciate the use of recycled material. my oldest bag is six or seven years old and is a bit scraped up but still looks pretty darn new. There are competitors bags out there that try to imitate this bag but Black Holes are worth every penny when you compare them.

September 22, 2021

Great Quality

What a great purchase fits a lot and the backpack straps are the best. Will last for years

September 17, 2021

Perfect Travel Bag

This bag holds so much, is incredibly durable, and is very easy to carry. Packed to the brim it holds as much as a checked bag, but I've flown multiple times fitting it in the overhead of a big plane. Good job Patagonia!

September 15, 2021

Black Hole duffles

I have 5 BH Duffles (100l, 2-90l, 60l and a 55l). We use them for sailing, travel and as a waterproof bag for towels on our runabout. They are indestructible and hold a weeks worth of clothing. I wish there was an additional zippered pocket on the cover flap to access additional storage without opening the entire duffle.

September 11, 2021

Nice Duffel Bag

This bag has extra pockets and extra straps that make it into a backpack. I love it!

September 9, 2021

Best duffel bag out there

Best duffel bag on the market! Black hole material is extremely lightweight for traveling and highly water resistant. My gear stays dry and organized.

September 6, 2021

3-4-day bag

Long weekend type of bag. 3-4 days or even 5 if traveling in the summer. Too big for a gym bag.

September 4, 2021

Great Duffel Bag

I love all these duffel bags! Im a mom of three small boys so I feel like Im always looking for different size bags when we go places. Something for diaper items, clothing, accessories, snacks, you name it. For this particular bag, I wanted something for my upcoming hospital stay. I wont take much with me so I needed a compact size and I love that ... Read Morethis bag can be converted to a backpack. I know well get plenty of use out of this bag in the future as its material is extra durable and super easy to clean. I need some in every size and color now!

September 3, 2021

Best Duffel Ever

This is the first patagonia product I have ever bought- a friend had recommended for an upcoming trip I had which involved hiking, biking and running- so this bag was great for all of my gear. Thank you and it came on time

September 2, 2021

Best bag for rugged travel

I have several black hole duffels that I use traveling in remote areas for work, and they all have lasted for years! Awesome duffels!

September 1, 2021

Most excellent

Im like you in many ways I bet: I like to travel, involve in several outdoor sports and as a fly fishing guide I like quality and organization. And I like bags and totes. THIS black hole duffel is a great size. But it is also excellent excellent quality with some very unique ergonomic designs. I dropped off several bags at Goodwill after using this... Read More bag one three day trip. Great product. Youll like it too I bet!

August 30, 2021

Black Hole Duffel

After dragging around the same luggage for 20 years, I just purchased two new Black Hole duffels - 55 & 70L. They are well made, good looking, and hold a ton of clothes and gear. I use them for business, vacation, car camping, etc... and they do the trick. I give them 4.5 stars - two things - an extra internal pocket would be nice, and the hand... Read More grips are too tight to snap easily - c'mon Patagonia, add an extra 1/2 inch of fabric! But all in all, buy one! Or two!

August 29, 2021

Great bag for clothing and fishing gear

I purchased this bag to use for camping trips and fly fishing gear. The functionality and looks are great.

August 27, 2021

Do the DUFFEL shuffle

Living out of a duffel bag for work purposes requires durability, spaciousness and strength to hold up to the challenges. This duffel not only does everything I expect it to do it also surprises me when I overpack. This is my 3rd bag investment and I've yet to be let down.

August 24, 2021

55L -- Great bag that is bit big if you are not disciplined

Great bag for a two week trip to Hawaii, but for that trip the 40L would be better because I would pack less. I will probably get the 40L for shorter trips or those with less gear. The 55L will be great for long ski weekends and will accommodate boots, helmet, and ski gear. However, the 40L fits in most overheads, the 55L is a bit big for some, so ... Read Moreif there is any doubt, pick the small.

August 23, 2021

Perfect Travel Bag

so durable and perfect for any length trip!

August 19, 2021

perfect size!

The size is perfect for a short trip. The straps can convert into backpack straps which is super convenient. One of the best duffels ive had yet

August 17, 2021

Great size and quality

This bag is high quality and can fit quite a bit of gear into it for weekend use probably up to a week of summer travel. I want one in every size.

August 10, 2021

55L Black Hoke Duffel

I love this bagIt has Everything you need and nothing you dont! the convertibility into a back pack is also fantastic..-and Its stows away into its own pocket!

August 8, 2021

Super Great!

Bigger than expected and great price for the size and quality! Favorite duffel bag Ive ever had. So much storage and so many different compartments. Ive taken it on vacation with me once already and am packing for another vacation and its been so great.

August 8, 2021

Great bag for traveling, but base could be more waterproof

I adore this bag. So comfy for hauling camping gear around and going on longer trips away. The water resistance is decent too, but it seems that the seams at the bottom could be better, as I found during heavy rain that some stuff at the bottom of the bag was damp.

August 4, 2021

Amazing Duffel

I've been needing a duffel that I can use for travel/sports/activities. I use it for everything and it is super durable!

August 4, 2021

Great go to Duffle Bag

I really like this duffle bag. Built solid and can hold several days of gear for a trip.

August 4, 2021

Perfect size to carry on and off

Bought this to support a 9 day trip to Spain so i had enough space but could skip the hassle and uncertainty of checking bags. Brought everything i needed and a few for weather contingencies. Large zip top allowed me to access and remove things without turning contents into a big ball of chaos. Tough, weather resistant exterior meant i didnt have t... Read Moreo worry when it got tossed into the back of an Uber or if I sat it down on the swampy ground while i dug out my rain jacket. I use packing cubes so the big open space is perfect for me.

August 3, 2021

Black hole

Versatile, light, modern, easy going

August 2, 2021

Perfect Camping Duffle

Was able to easily fit all my camping needs into this bag with room to spare. Bag is perfect carry on size for flying. Straps easily applied and removed for carrying convenience.

August 1, 2021

The dictionary definition of a gear bag

Others make more complicated, more specialized gear bags, but this is the one you want. It works so well for so many activities, is completely bombproof, and looks great to match. So happy I finally picked one up

July 30, 2021

Right size is in between small and medium

Ive gone back and forth between the two sizes. Love the colors and the concept of the product.

July 27, 2021

Great size

This can definitely fit a weekend trip of stuff and the back pack straps are handy.

July 24, 2021

Excellent Duffel bag

I love this thing!

July 22, 2021

Quality Work/Travel Bag

Quality, well made bag/backpack that is very practical for daily use and travel. Constructed out of heavy duty materials to withstand the elements. Very pleased with my purchase and am considering buying another one in a different size. Highly recommended.

July 21, 2021

Perfect holds-everything duffel

This bag is great! The zipper pockets are perfect for organizing while traveling and the duffel is super easy to transport. This size can be used for a long weekend or even a week long trip.

July 21, 2021

Carry it all!

This is what I use to carry all my gear. Whether its gym gear, skiing gear, riding gear, or just stuff for a weekend trip the 55L is my go-to.

July 19, 2021

Great bag!

These bags are awesome. Key is to have several sizes for different uses.

July 17, 2021

Best travel bags ever

This is my second black hole duffle - I have a 40L as well - and they do not disappoint. Best travel bags Ive ever owned!

July 15, 2021

Nice bag

Great for weekend travel

July 14, 2021

Super cool bag

Bag exactly as described. Perfect size for a weekend getaway. Love the color, size and material and quality.

July 12, 2021

High quality product to last for years

Functional, High Quality, as described on website.

July 6, 2021

55L Black Hole Duffel / Great for my travel needs

I got this duffel so I can put my 55L backpacking bag in fully packed up to check on the airplane. I was able to get TSA locks for the zippers for security, and the 55L perfectly fit my backpack completely packed with all my gear and 5 days food and trekking poles. Had room to spare too. Great quality, durable fabric, I love it

June 26, 2021

Solid construction and 55L is the perfect size for short trips

I have been very pleased with this bag. The material appears to be very sturdy and durable. The bag has more than enough room for a long weekend trip. The attachments for the shoulder straps appear solid, as do the gear loops on the exterior. All in all, it is a very well made bag and I expect to get years of use out of it.

June 21, 2021

Best Gear Pack

I use the blackhole duffle bags as my go-to gear pack. I usually keep them as 'loadouts' that I can grab off the rack for any occasion/trip.

June 21, 2021

Best travel bag. Period.

This is my third Black Hole bag (second duffel and a backpack). My Black Hole wheeled duffel bag survived 25 mph winds and snow in Iceland and my clothes inside remained dry and intact! So happy about that! I bought this duffel for use as a carry-on for light travel days/long weekends and I am sure it will be just as sturdy as my wheeled Black Hole... Read More duffel. And the color is so amazing--i live in Hawaii and love the blue waves in the design. Absolutely love all of my Patagonia clothes and Black Hole bags!!

June 15, 2021

This bag is amazing. My husband thinks Im moving out because I keep getting more.

Just when you think you have it stuffed, just unzip and add more. Thing is bombproof. I have one packed for any activity.

June 15, 2021

Sick Bag

This a a great bag. Perfect for a weekend on travel, or an almost unlimited number of uses. It's that "just right" size in 55L, that's not too big, not too small. Could be used for a gym bag, but that would be overkill in terms of tech. The bag is glossy, which is cool, but functionally waterproof. High quality zippers, lots of ... Read Moreseparate side pockets to stay organized, and in black with the grey lettering, subtle, but elegant. It just screams "quality". The backpack straps are surprisingly useful when you take it to an airport, so you can throw it on your back and easily hold your carryon in your hand with one free hand for your coffee.

June 2, 2021

Core kit carrier

Well designed and made holdall bag that looks great too. I use with a variety of the 'cube' accessories to make stowing and organising my kit straightforward. The light colour liner helps locate items while in the tent and van compared to the dark insides of other brands I've used. An indication of the user-designer approach favoured... Read More by this pioneering company. Well done Patagonia!

May 31, 2021

Great bag!

great bag, I know it will last a lifetime of multi-use! Amazing customer service when I wanted a different size then a different color!

May 28, 2021

Great bag

Our family loves the black hole duffels. We go away most weekends in the winter to ski and these bags perfectly meet our needs. Well made but not too heavy. I love the straps so that I can wear it as a backpack.

May 25, 2021

Duffle

Nice size bag for short trips.

May 23, 2021

Awesome and durable bag

I got this bag because I needed a carry on type bag that could be used for weekend trips of all kinds. I know I can take my bag camping or rafting, it looks and feels like it will last me forever. You can carry it or wear it as a backpack!! It also has an amazing inside pocket that you can access from the outside. I would recommend it to everybody!... Read More

May 20, 2021

Best bag I've owned

55L. Great durable bag. love the backpack straps!! Makes travel a breeze. Fit 10 days worth of clothes into it and still could fit more. The soft sides allow it to sorta shrink down around your items when fitting into a tight spot like your vehicle or as a carry-on etc. The bag also folds into a built in pouch/pocket maybe 12"x4x4. Haven'... Read Moret tried folding it back up yet but that's a great feature for storage. Has large pockets, I don't care for multiple tiny pockets, not in a large duffel. Perfect large travel bag.

May 14, 2021

Good Travel Bag

The 55L Black Hole is perfect for packing enough clothes for long weekend fishing trips to the chilly Catskills in the spring. April and May could still bring winter weather and this bag holds enough clothes to layer just in case. Highly recommend for the size and it keeps my clothes dry.

May 12, 2021

My go to bag

This is my all-time favorite Patagonia piece. I find it perfect for car travel ... better than having wheels. I also like that I can schlep it as a backpack for longer hauls. It's also my go to wedding gift for all of my kids friends who are getting married!

May 3, 2021

Travel Gear

Classy, Sexy, only holds up ok thru airport checked bags because they do not care!!!!, otherwise it is the best!!!!

April 30, 2021

Perfect for a weekend of camping

This bag was just the right size for a weekend of camping in the mountains. It kept everything clean and organized for easy tent camping.

April 27, 2021

Great weekend bag

I really like the Black Hole 55L duffel. Its very durable and plenty big for a few day trip (or more for some). I was worried about not enough pockets but the mesh pocket on the lid is pretty big as well as the front zip pocket. I love that its plenty durable to check as luggage and I believe it is small enough for a carry-on. The blue wave pattern... Read More is a fun one too!

April 27, 2021

Great Quality

Love this bag Roomy and substantial

April 26, 2021

The best and only bag you will ever buy

This bag is the most durable, long-lasting, and functional bag I've ever used. In the PNW I have a lot of track and cross country meets that I coach at and this thing can sit outside all day and everything inside will be dry. I love how functional it is too with the backpack straps. I now own two of these 55L bags and they are the perfect size... Read More for travel, work, and climbing gear. I would recommend them to anyone.

April 23, 2021

Swim Bag

I love this bag for my swimming gear, plenty of room for towels, fins, kick board, toiletries, dry clothing. I would like a shoulder strap , but the back back straps might work for that purpose. I might have been ok with a smaller bag but the green color is way too awesome. Makes me happy to grab up and head for the pool. The life guard asked me wh... Read Moreere I got my bag. Patagonia.com of course!

April 17, 2021

Great size

Works great with the Black hole packs.

April 15, 2021

Killer duffle!

This duffle replaced an older, much loved duffle for ski gear in the winter and fishing gear in the summer. Its great so far. Super durable and easy to clean when dirty. Used to haul ski ski so far but planning a mountain resort adventure getaway and this will be perfect for my excursion gear. Love the shoulder straps, makes easy to carry with othe... Read Morer bags. LOVE IT!

April 14, 2021

Best bag

These bags are great for weekend fly fishing trips.

April 13, 2021

Black Hole 55L

Awesome, durable bag. The size is prefect for keeping all of my ski gear ready to go in one place. Great access through top zippered flap.

April 2, 2021

Great bag!

Super practical and durable bag! Packed full of heavy tackle or stuffed with clothes, this bag has always suited my needs and I rarely go without it.

April 1, 2021

Best duffel ever

Never leave home without it.

March 31, 2021

Great bag!

The only reason I am only giving 4 stars is because the colorway I ordered isnt what I thought it would be from the product image. I have the 55l bag in lemongrass. The straps and print appear grey-ish to black even in the product photo. But they are actually blue. No big deal really. but If you are like me and are overly specific about color, its ... Read Moregood to know before hand. Also had I scrolled down to the photos of features, I would have seen the more accurate strap color.

March 29, 2021

Well designed, handy pockets and

Well designed, handy pockets and great overal use. Repacking in pocket is tough though.

March 25, 2021

Solid Quality Duffel

This is a great duffel, the 55L size is perfect for a long weekend (3-4 days) stay and it really is comfortable to pack, load and unload. Bonus points for it being packable into itself becoming a smaller pouch to stow away.

March 23, 2021

Able to go any where

My Blackhole 55l is the travel companion for me. It holds a ton or a little, can be carried by hand or on my back, and is durable like any good hiking boot. The ability to separate wet from dry is huge as there are times when the weather does always comply with my request. It is big enough for 2 weeks or 2 days. I should have purchased long ago. I ... Read Moreappreciate the ability to put it overhead or check it. I will be a life long friend.

March 21, 2021

Great bag!

I got this bag for my son because because he prefers to use duffels instead of rolling bags. He absolutely loves it!

March 20, 2021

Good size!

I got the 55 L duffel to give it a try while traveling around and I will say it does the job! I wish the straps were more kinetic to be soft on the back but I really think its comfortable and fits over a week of clothes and gear for me.

March 17, 2021

Sturdy Build

The material of this bag feels highly durable and I suspect it will last a long time. I purchased the 55L bag and was impressed by how much could fit inside of it. It would be great to include a single shoulder strap, but the backpack straps are nicely made and work well. The built-in pockets and dividers are limited, but do the job well. Would def... Read Moreinitely recommend this bag.

March 14, 2021

Awesome pack!

This pack is quality! Good size for traveling and storing in a small space is great too.

March 11, 2021

n/a

The duffle is exactly what my grandson was looking for and size wanted.

March 4, 2021

It Works

Love the material and how burly the bag is. The 55L is perfect for a long weekend, no matter the activity. Works great thrown in the bed of my truck where it won't get completely soaked but I still don't need to worry much about rain. I should have done a bit more research, a regular shoulder strap would be much more practical for me; the... Read More backpack straps it comes with just ain't it. Would still 100% recommend.

March 1, 2021

Just what I expected

I got this for my husband for traveling, his old duffel was worn out. We haven't used it yet but the material seems very sturdy, as do the handles. Our kids got in (one at a time, one thirty lbs and one 50 lbs.) and he was lifting them up in it. The straps feel very secure. It's very shiny and plastic-y feeling, just as it looks. He'... Read Mores excited to use it for traveling this year, the size seemed great and more than enough for a week-long trip's worth of clothes and extras.

February 28, 2021

Great bag!

This bag is lightweight but incredibly well made and sturdy. You can fit an amazing amount of stuff in it and... It still counts as a carryon! Love it!

February 28, 2021

Great Duffel

Great Duffel . I use it for crossfit

February 27, 2021

Efficient

This duffel does exactly what it says. It has great space inside with the small accessible pocket. Some would like to see this no accessible from the outside, but if you know to expect it, its fine; put your valuables somewhere else. A lot of duffels with backpack straps have the straps on the bottom, but this makes it so when you put the pack down... Read More, it lands on the top; I appreciate that the straps on this bag make it so when it is set down, it lands on its protected bottom.

February 26, 2021

Great Duffle

It's perfect for 2-3days climbing trip!

February 26, 2021

Bought my first one, have bought three more since

This bag makes a excellent one stop shop for your travel carry or as a personal gift. I bought mine before spending a weekend on a fishing trip and have since bought more for my family and friends. I do not recommend purchasing this item if you plan on storing it back inside of its interior pocket, there are youtube tutorials but it is more work th... Read Morean it is worth. Quality bag, find the color you like because the unit seems indestructible with proper care and use. Highly recommend.

February 24, 2021

Great travel bag

This bag is perfect for a 1-5 day trip. It serves as a carry on and comfortably can be worn as a back pack

February 24, 2021

Roomy and light

This bag is great for travel Flyfishing. I use it as a carryon when I fly to my destination to carry my fishing gear. When I go fishing I add on the backpack straps to carry my gear to my favorite fishing spots.

February 24, 2021

Black Hole 55L Duffel storage for DAYS

Excellent bag, tough- has taken a lot of abuse and various cold and hot weather conditions. Fits into the overhead compartment carry-on during air travel.

February 24, 2021

Perfect duffle for sports travel & life!

This duffle is the perfect size for sports/ travel/ ski stuff & life!

February 23, 2021

Versatile and Well Made

This is my favourite bag for car camping trips and travel. It's very well made and fits in the overhead bins on planes.

February 23, 2021

Great travel bag

I have 3 of the 55L and 2 of the 70L black hole duffels. I love them so much, can always squeeze one more thing in and use this for travel especially during the winter to haul our snowboarding gear. The bag is waterproof but super durable. Could not recommend this more.

February 20, 2021

Go-To Bag

As the title suggests, this is my go-to bag for trips that are going to require a couple weeks worth of gear/clothing. When I'm not using it to travel around, it houses my ski stuff so I can throw the bag and my skis/boots/poles in the truck and head straight up to the slopes. The internal straps have been useful to compress and fasten down cl... Read Moreothing and gear. Not a whole lot of pockets but the big side one provides easy access and the ones on the top of the lid are good for keeping small things organized out of the massive main compartment. I've had the bag for about 4 years now and it's still in great shape- I plan on being able to pass this one down a generation at this rate. I will say when you really load it up to capacity, it's not the most comfortable to wear as a backpack with the shoulder straps and walk for long distances/durations... but it's a duffel and not really made for that so can't complain too much ¯\_()_/¯

February 13, 2021

Great bag!

Great bag!

February 11, 2021

big awesome bag!

Great bag for my basketball gear as coach for youth team: 2 balls, 20 practice jerseys, training cones, water bottles, 2-3 pairs of shoes and a great small pocket for my coach's whistle ;)

January 26, 2021

Black Hole Duffel 55L

I absolutely love this bag. My girlfriend got me the 40L and I couldn't believe how well built it was. I travel almost every weekend so I also bought the 55L and I am amazed how much clothes I can fit in these bags. They are bigger than you would think and stronger than you could imagine. I really like to have options depending on the activiit... Read Morees I have planned for the weekend or week so I am actually considering going for a hat trick and purchasing the 70L as well. Thanks for a great product Patagonia! These are very well made bags.

January 23, 2021

Great Duffle

Its a great bag and fits way more than I thought it would! The backpack straps are very convenient too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches