Back to Product

Ms R1® Pullover Hoody

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 132 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Pullover Hoody

4.4/5
Kinda Large
October 17, 2021

Reputation for a Reason

This is a good and versatile piece of gear, base, mid, or outer layer. The face fabric is more durable than some comparable brands similar pieces with the same fabric.

September 12, 2021

Great Layer! Steezy Color

I love the chest pocket and the 3/4 zip! Makes it a versatile layer, and the purple color is awesome. The lighter fabric at the bottom prevents it from bunching up. I usually wear a women's medium but I got the men's medium for a looser fit & longer sleeves and I love it.

July 26, 2021

R1 hoody changed version

unfortunately the hoody has changed on several points. The fabric seems to be thinner than before, it also feels less robust than my previous versions. Of course things change, but unfortunately cost saving seems to have been the starting point here.

July 13, 2021

R1 hoody

Really comfortable hoody, warm but not too warm.

June 22, 2021

Quality at its finest quarter zip R1s

I love all my quarter zip R1s. Cant go wrong.

May 12, 2021

Great mid layer for cycling and climbing

I hadn't had a technical mid layer before, was just using a light jacket. This is awesome, warm yet airy. The hood is perfect for under a helmet. Does run pretty tight on my armpits causing my base layer to pinch, but I love it enough to not get hung up on this

April 9, 2021

Very good pullover

This is my first Patagonia purchase and so far I have been happy with it. I have used this primarily to wear while I bike ride in New York City. It has been my only exercise during the pandemic. This has been out in cold, windy conditions. The R1 has been fantastic under my down jacket. It really does keep my upper body pretty warm during the ride.... Read More The R1 is a true grid design. I own a similar grid design from another brand but there is a noticeable difference between the two. The R1 is quite comfortable and I really like the stretch fabric. I sweat quite a bit on these rides and was startled at how dry the R1 has been after each ride. It absorbs moisture well. The thumbholes are great. I feel secure because of how it is constructed. It isn't too long or loose. I'll sometimes put the thumbholes over gloves if I can't fit them inside. I did this twice with these not expecting much because who would, but it was surprising how much they aided my liner gloves when I went out on a coldish, but fairly mild day. They did make a difference over the gloves. I'm definitely a fan of the hood. I have full range of motion when I took side to side to check on other riders or pedestrians. I will warn that if you have a large head, maybe even medium, this might be too small for you. For perspective if you know fitted hat sizes, I wear a 6 7/8 which is the smallest possible. 7 at the absolute most. And this hood fits me well and is snug. I can't say I've zipped it all the way up though because I am wearing a mask. I've read reviews complaining of the zipper. What I have zipped up does a solid job of protecting my face and neck from the wind and cold. The fit is excellent. I bought the purple in Large and love the color. The size, as I said, is excellent. I am 5'7 about 155 lbs, 34 waist. I'm pretty trim and it fits really well. I have only worn a t-shirt underneath but I could put a long sleeve underneath if I want. It has enough stretch that it isn't too form fitting but it's far from baggy or too large. The length works for me as well. My only knock on the R1 so far is that I was hoping it would hold up a little more as a stand alone in mild conditions. I was hyped to take it out one late afternoon for a ride in high 50's, low 60's because all I'd read is how great it is in these conditions. I wore it under my most basic light jacket that you throw on just to have something on if it is brisk. It was decent but I didn't feel as warm as I was hoping. It will definitely get more burn in these conditions as the weather warms up so maybe it will improve. That's the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars. Under a down jacket though in cold conditions, the R1 will definitely make a difference.

April 5, 2021

Durability Concerns

Absolutely love this hoody. However, after only a few weekends of use, I noticed a small hole near my wrist that I wouldn't expect. It seems to be a result from the stress induced when pulling the sleeve down over my base layer. Use has primarily been a mid layer when ski touring.

March 30, 2021

Hood problem

Everyone loves it and I do too so let's get to straight my only complaint. The use of thinner fabric is an amazing choice on the armpits, a fine choice on the waist, and a terrible choice on the hood. Why do it? Heads get cold, not overheat! Unfortunately it's a constant complaint for me. If I'm wearing it actively, that means it&#x2... Read More7;s less than 30 degrees and then my ears get cold with the hood alone. True R1 fabric on the hood would make it perfect. Otherwise, it is! The fit of a L is flawless for me at 6'2" 180lbs.

March 28, 2021

My go to fleece for

My go to fleece for days in the mountains or on the rock.

March 26, 2021

Perfect layer

A super stretchy, breathable, lightweight, and warm midlayer you can do anything in. I wear this rock climbing, hiking, trail running, mountain biking, and I wear it under my hoodie and work for extra warmth. If youre thinking about buying one, just do it.

March 25, 2021

I live in this (and my other R1s)

I'm a little obsessed with R1 jackets. At this point, I have 4 - 2 pullover hoodies, and 2 zip up. For me, they are perfect. I wear one of them nearly every day. They work great for work - they are comfortable both indoors and out, both in my office and classroom and I move between buildings on campus. They look nice. And they are super comf... Read Moreortable. And they are wonderful for biking. When it it cold, the hoodies fit nicely under my bike helmet and are a great layer under a warmer downy coat. And when it is warming, one of them is usually all that I need for a great ride. The purple is a nice change. The Fam was getting tired of me only wearing black! :)

March 22, 2021

Amazing quality R1

R1s are the best for everyday and outdoors. Their amazing.

March 22, 2021

The best

I love my R1 quarter zips. I cant wait to get more to wear at work and outdoors. Their amazing!!!

March 19, 2021

Form AND Function

Years ago I got a Patagonia Flash quarter zip pullover. I still have it and it is a favorite for cold-weather biking and skiing because of the stretchy panel at the bottom which makes the shirt stay in place especially when you are riding a bike or bending over to mess with your skis, etc. Now it's back! The fabric is a bit lighter weight whic... Read Moreh is perfect because it can be worn in a greater range of temperatures. LOVE the purple! My *only* complaint is that there is no women's version.

March 17, 2021

Need a Women's Version

This is a great piece and the men's xxs is close to being perfect for me. I love the blue color so much. I typically do not like the colors marketed to women by Patagonia. There are three issues I have with it: 1. The sleeves are too long and slightly loose 2. The bottom hemline is too narrow and awkward for accommodating female hips. It&#x27... Read More;s too snug and rides up 3. I wish they maintained the same grid/warmth throughout. The original design has the same grid for the sides and hood which was perfect I have older versions of the women's R1 Hoody back when they still made it and my biggest complaints are: 1. The sleeves, shoulders and back are too tight, do not accommodate muscular arms, shoulders or back 2. The colors offered to women are awful. Terrible pastel pinks and teals and white?!!! Patagonia, please bring back the women's R1 Hoody! Consider making the shoulders and arms more accommodating for rock climbers and for heaven's sake! Enough with the Sesame Street baby colors!!!

March 11, 2021

Adding my voice to request the W's version be brought back

Sorry my dudes for leaving a "fake" review, but this is the best way to get the designer's attention. I gave 5 stars so I didn't drag the average rating down, and because I love my other R1 and my boyfriend lives in his R1 pullover hoody. Please bring back the women's version. Thanks.

February 19, 2021

Still great but prefer the original

I have 4 R1 hoodies and they have been my single most favorite and versatile piece of clothing for years. I wear one almost every day 9 months a year both for outside activities and indoor comfort and regulated warmth. The original, which I have 3 of, has the PowerGrid material throughout, including the hood. I was somewhat disappointed a couple ye... Read Morears ago when I bought my 4th, discovering the design was changed to create a thinner elastic torso section and hood. Although this probably was done to accommodate being a base- or mid-layer to reduce bulk for waist straps and helmets, it also reduced its utility as a casual comfort layer that I would wear all day, so I hardly ever wear it. I never had a problem layering my original R1s with packs and helmets. The new design is still great for snug layering purposes, but it is not as versatile and no longer my favorite garment or one I would wear every day. Thanks Patagonia for listening and for making great products and I hope you can bring back the previous design because my original 3 are wearing out and I would like to replace them, but not with the current design!

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Thank you for this helpful feedback on a classic piece! Know that your purchase is covered under our Ironclad Guarantee so don't hesitate to reach out to our team for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return it. You might also appreciate our R1 Air Full-Zip Hoody.

February 17, 2021

Holy cow.

I've been missing out my whole active life. Just purchased my first R1 (and gridded fleece for that matter) and it blows me away. It really does regulate body temperature and sweat buildup fantastically. With only a T-shirt, I've ran in it in 30 (zipper up) and 50 (zipper down) degree weather and it kept me comfortably warm while managing... Read More sweat build up amazingly. It never feels wet from sweat. It allows just enough air through the channels to facilitate evaporation and its cooling effects but buffers your skin from the full brunt of the cold air. Hood is awesome and warm enough when zipped. Although the middle zipper is not the most comfortable on the face, it allows the ability for the mouth to stay uncovered while allowing the cheeks to be insulated and creating a seal with your hood around your face. In conclusion, this is the most impressive piece of clothing I've worn. Thanks, Patagonia!

February 16, 2021

Hoody

Good fit for a big guy!

February 13, 2021

Essential Piece at 8K meters or 4K

Foundation for my layering system. Its warm but breathable, wear for days without odor, chest pocket is smart. Ive tried every other companies fleece hoodie and this is the clear winner.

February 1, 2021

Perfect for cold weather running

Got this for an outer layer for winter running. Live in Wisconsin and use this on top of a base layer. Plenty warm for snow and temps 20 degrees and below.

January 29, 2021

warm

Purchased the R1 hoody for my wife. She again says that the new one is as Total has her last one. The type, style, and performance features of the R1s make them an indispensable piece of her active wardrobe. Loves the way it helps maintain core body temperature.

January 27, 2021

much improved

this is my 2nd r1, the first I could only wear in cold winter conditions, this one has been designed to combine the expedition weight grid pattern in areas where you would typically sweat more, making this my go to active layer in warmer where I would normally only bring my cap 4 expedition weight hoody. great improvements all around.

January 26, 2021

Hoody

Excellent peace of fitting garment

January 26, 2021

A must have for cyclists

This is hoody is comfortable and very functional. I wish I had them much earlier and now I use them each time during my bike commutes at 0 degree celcius.

January 24, 2021

Versatile

Bought this piece to use primarily as a mid-layer for snowboarding. I have been using it for running and hiking mostly on account of a lack of snow. This hoody has allowed me to move comfortably and kept me warm. Love this hoody. Definitely a new favorite for activewear versatility

January 23, 2021

best shirt on earth

I only wear the R1... everyday for 8 months and then in summer mornings... mb a vest or a fleece pullover for warmth pending weather in winter. I asked for this color (purple) via tweet 18 months ago or so (look it up) and you replied.. you passed it to development and HERE IT IS... bought 2. I have 28 R1s.... still buying cause its still the best!... Read More thank you. THANK YOU FOR LISTENING TO YOUR USERS OF YOUR PRODUCTS...

January 22, 2021

A Perfect Soft Shell!!!

I ran a snow mountain trail running in this R1® Fleece Pullover Hoody and a Patagonia Merino Wool Underwear, from 4:00 a.m. to noon, I don't feel cold from beginning to end, nor is it stuffy. It's perfect, I love it so much!

January 22, 2021

Great base/mid layer.

It wicks moisture super efficiently. The hood fits perfect. I've been using it for cross country ski training. I like the fact that doesn't retain sweat odor. I can do a 3 day weekend in it and it still smells fresh.

January 17, 2021

A good layer, but so frustrated at lack of women's version

I have owned this layer for about a year and a half and worn in extensively on multi-pitch rock routes in dry conditions. There isnt much I can say about the R1 fabric that hasnt already been saidit is a fantastic weight, it keeps you warm but not too warm, it layers easily under a softshell, and I have been impressed with the abrasion resistance... Read More. I have worn this piece in a number of chimneys and offwidths and only have one or two very small holes developing near the shoulders. My only complaint is that it absolutely stinks after a day of sweating in it. Im not sure why this is, but Ive found that the smell goes away if you let it air out for a day. I generally wear a womens small and took a mens extra small in this layer. It fits me well in the shoulders and back, though I often find that womens pieces are too small in these areas. The sleeves are a little loose and long, but I dont mind because it means I can easily pull them down over my hands to keep them warm. The hood isnt great. Its oddly tight and constrictive, making it uncomfortable when worn under a helmet or when all the way zipped up. The zipper sits flat against your nose and is cold and uncomfortable. That being said, the extra fabric of the hood does a great job of keeping your neck warm when worn zipped all the way up with the hood down. My biggest issue with this piece is the waist/hem. It is absolutely cut for a mans body, meaning that even thought the extra small is generously sized everywhere else, it is uncomfortably tight across my hips. This creates two issues: firstly, I have accidentally broken several stitches in the hem trying to make it less constrictive. As a result, there are now small holes developing all along the hem where the fabric meets the elastic. Secondly, I cannot wear this piece running because it rides up to the point where it sits above the waistline of whatever pant Im wearing. This is very frustrating. Overall, Im disappointed that they still havent brought back the womens version of this layer. The current equivalent, the full-zip hooded R1, does not have a chest pocket or thumb holes and isnt designed to fit well under a harness. The womens R1 pullover doesnt have a hood or a deep front zipper. The mens version is not a unisex option, and we dont need more unisex options in the futurewe need technical gear that fits womens bodies.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2021

Hey Olivia! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review. We have passed this feedback onto our design team. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We are looking to expand our all gender sizing options and this particular fleece is not made with a women's body in mind. You could consider trying the [Women's Capilene Thermal Weight Zip-Neck Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-zip-neck-hoody/43672.html?dwvar_43672_color=BLK). It is intended as a baselayer and it isn't as warm as the R1, but we know some employees who use this for multipitch routes and love it. Hopefully we'll be seeing an R1 with the features you mentioned in the future!

January 9, 2021

Great mid layer

Perfect mid layer for hiking ! Light and comfortable !

January 7, 2021

Good fit, holds heat well, and nice features

I am 5 10 and 165 lbs with a 32 waist and 39 chest circumference. This is a close fitting garment that is perfect for running in colder temperatures. I love the ability to quickly pull up the hood and zip up over my chin if it is cold and windy. A very well thought out garment. Long torso is nice and it clings to waist and doesnt ride up. I plan to... Read More use this under bibs for some alpine touring too. A very versatile layer. If you are average height and build go with medium. I tried the large and the sleeve length and fit in the body was too big. Medium is perfect. Patagonia was excellent to deal with on the return as always.

December 31, 2020

Super stylish and functional!

I bought this for my son. He already has one, loves it and asked for another for his birthday!

December 23, 2020

Fits great if youre long and lean. Not too tight or baggy.

5 Stars: This thing is the great against the skin or with a t-shirt. Light, amazingly warm, movement friendly. On those cold windy days, pack a shell. It will not provide wind protection.

December 18, 2020

Great! but....

This hoody is perfect in so many ways, but has one fatal flaw. There is nothing covering the inside of zipper where it goes over your face. A metal zipper touching your nose or lips is uncomfortable and annoying in normal temps, but anytime I would really need it zipped up all the way (-20 or lower) it would do some real damage. If you want somethi... Read Moreng to zip up all the way this isn't what you want. That said; Works great by itself or layering and covers a wide temperature range, great fit, looks good, nice stretch when moving. I wear it a lot out and about but when I'm headed OUT I'll be leaving it behind.

December 15, 2020

Best Technical Fleece in the Game

I've had my R1 Pullover Hoody for about 5 years now. It's survived 3 relationships, 200+ pitches of granite, 1 case of serious food poisoning in Nepal, and countless adventures over the years. Simply put, it was the best technical fleece in the game when I bought it 5 years ago, and it still is today. The low profile fits under a harness ... Read Moreor as part of a layering system really well, it traps just the right amount of heat to keep you comfortable, and it is stretchy enough to move really well with you as you climb. If you're into alpine rock climbing, this thing is great.

December 4, 2020

Perfect Midlayer

Im a tall skinny guy, 62 175lbs. Finding gear long enough for my torso is often baggy on me, and if its fitted, its usually too short. This fits me great. I bought it to bring on backpacking trips and to use as a mid layer skiing. Perfect for my needs.

November 27, 2020

Perfect active mid layer

I wear this with a light Capeline undershirt or the Air Capeline wool/polyester hybrid sweater, and it is amazing so far. I haven't had a chance to go Rafting or Skiing in it yet, which are 2 big reasons I bought it, but for any outdoor aerobic activity I've used it for so far, it has been perfect. When I'm sitting around the fire pi... Read Moret and getting up from time to time to slack line or grab another beer, it keeps me just the right amount of warm. And if I ever want it to be warmer, I put on a shell and the heat gets trapped. Perfect layer for many different activities, highly recommend. Love the hood.

November 25, 2020

Ready for the women's version.

For reference, I'm a woman and normally wear S or M in Patagonia women's clothing. The body and shoulders fit surprisingly well, although loose in the waist. There are two issues though: - It is very loose around my hands when the thumbholes are used. The extra fabric gets in the way, and warmth is reduced. I'll sew it tighter, but i... Read Moret'll be awkward. - The hood is ridiculously, uncomfortably tight, and squishes my nose flat when zipped up. I'm keeping it because I know it will still be an ideal piece of clothing for my winter job, but for the price I would prefer to have the full functionality of this item. Women have alll the dresses and shorts to choose from, yet the technical gear is sized for men. Let's say goodbye to "unisex" clothing in 2021??

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2020

Thanks for the feedback here. We are working toward some unisex styles in the coming seasons so keep an eye out.

November 24, 2020

Poor Fit For Women

I ordered the XXS since Patagonia no longer offers a women's R1 half-zip hoodie (5'1, 125 lbs). The fit was terrible for a woman's body. The item was difficult to get on, the sleeves were too long, and the fabric was strained and warped across the chest area. The hood also did not fit properly. I could try sizing up, but the cut is j... Read Moreust is not versatile for women with any chest. Please bring back a women's version. I tried on my old XS R1 for a fit comparison and it was night and day. I could easily pull the garment over my head, for starters, and it fit perfectly.

November 22, 2020

My favorite hoody

This is my favorite hoody. Super versatile and extremely comfortable.

November 17, 2020

R1 Hoody

Form fitting, warm and super light weight.

November 13, 2020

Hands down the best cool weather running jersey!

I was so pleased with the first R1, this is my second. I initially purchased a large, but at 6'1" and 160 lbs a medium is perfect. I use it for running and cover approx. 100K/month. The engineered construction provides for lightness along with exceptional warmth. I use it over a long sleeve base layer, the high zip neck, I love for 32 deg... Read Moreree mornings as there's no need for muffler/neck warmer. Also the hood is perfect for wearing over a beanie when it gets ugly out there. Overheating is no problem with the bellybutton zipper, you're able to vent it anytime. The only thing you have to think about is the color (they have no red mediums) Just buy it, you'll love it!

November 12, 2020

Super bummed there isn't a woman's version anymore

The women 3/4 zip hoody is my favorite in the world. But now our only options are full zip or half zip (which is more like 1/4 zip). I use this for climbing and hiking and where my harness sits and where my backpack hip belt sits does not accommodate an full zip and the half zip doesn't give enough ventilation. The men version is just too bi... Read Moreg for a small woman like me. Please bring the women's version back!!!

November 9, 2020

Good fit

Am tall with 37 arms and appreciate that the arm and body length were great. Well made.

November 8, 2020

Perfect jacket

Absolutely perfect for cool nights and easy to roll up the sleeves when it gets warm. Kinda wish it completely unzipped but I can live without that. A- from me

October 9, 2020

Lightweight and warm

A piece with great warmth / wieght ratio. Perfect for high-output activities for its breathability. The only thing is it feels a bit tight in neck area.

September 17, 2020

R1 keeps you cozy

Only had it out on an overnight at Mt. Baker so far. Its comfortable for cooler weather. I also have an R1 Tech Face hoody full zip jacket, but the R1 Hoody is less bulky and is a good match for hiking/backpacking.

September 3, 2020

Multi Purpose garment

This was my second attempt at purchasing an R1. The first time I ordered a Large, as it's been the norm for me, but found it way too big. The Medium is a perfect fit at, 6'1' & 165lbs. I use it for running and post run warm ups, albeit given its features it must be one of the most versatile tops on the market. I use it over a bas... Read Moree layer and beneath a thin running jacket and it's very comfortable with no restriction of movement. With a running shirt as base layer it's extremely warm due in part to its engineered construction. Personally, I think the high rise front zipper is a great idea for warming up after a chilly run, all in all a great product. In the early 70's I worked on the development of textured polyester, (Crimplene), in England and am fascinated to see how the technology and fabrics have evolved.

August 31, 2020

Bring back women's version and side zip!!!

Please bring back the women's version with bright colours! I use this for climbing and skiing and have had the same one for 7 years! It needs replacing, but I am now waiting for a women's version. Also, please bring back the side zip in the mens and women's. The vertical zip makes no sense! While bundled up at a belay, it's not ... Read Morenice having a rough zipper on my nose!

July 26, 2020

Need a womens version!

Please make a Womens R1 Fleece Pullover Hoody. I would love to see it in fun, BOLD colors and made for an athletic woman. Us woman would like to see this fleece with the same features as the mens but in a more feminine (but still athletic!) fit. Ive tried on the mens and have almost purchased it several times but am holding out for a womens versio... Read Moren. My husband has this fleece and loves it! Side note: A white technical fleece?! Seriously?! I couldnt even casually sip coffee in white, let alone mountain bike or climb in white. I get that Patagonia has become a fashion statement as well but come on!

July 19, 2020

Patagonia, Stop Being Sexist!

I had a few simple requirements for the fleece that I wanted: lightweight, warm, has a hood, and long enough sleeves with thumb loops because my hands get cold easily. This hoody has it allfor someone shaped like a male. It is a very good midlayer, warm, stretchy, versatile. For reference I am a 56, 125lb woman (usually a size small in womens tops... Read More) and the XXS in this mens hoody is definitely my size. The sleeves are nice and long, the jacket is fitted, but not tight, and I can easily fit another thin layer underneath. It is tight around the hips, which is annoying. Im not very curvy, and because I got it for 50% off, I decided it was worth keeping even though the fit isnt perfect. But I wouldnt recommend this for many other women. To be worth the full price, the jacket should fit perfectly, and it definitely wont for women curvier than me. Its very frustrating to find the womens R1 jackets always lacking in one technical feature or another. It shouldnt be hard to combine a hood, thumb loops, and a female cut! Patagonia, its past time to DO BETTER. Step it up so women can stop sacrificing in technical features or quality. We just want to get outside!

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Alice, thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. Your feedback has been passed along to the Design team. Hopefully the R1 Pullover Hoody is something we can make available in women's in the near future. Thanks again.

June 26, 2020

Good warmth.

It would be perfect if it had an inside pocket or hand pockets.

March 23, 2020

Frustrated women R1 hoodie lover

The R1 hoodie is the through hiker ultimate mid layer. I have a womens Large and now have to replace it with a mens medium. The fit of the mens through the torso and waist just isnt working as I wear my R1 under the womens nano puffy. The mens is too bulky. If I go with a mens puffy the fit doesnt go over the hips. The combo of a thin merino base l... Read Moreayer, then R1, then down puffy, then (If needed), rain gear Is the ultimate in versatility for UL backpacking. You can always find the right level of insulation this way. Please bring back the womens pullover hoodie R1 in rich saturated colors! No pastels! We are active hardcore athletes not latte sipping, Jazzercise socialites. For mountaineering I also like bright colors for safety. The R1 is part of our gear not fashion statement clothing.

March 9, 2020

This Woman is in a Mens R1

I have two quarter zip womens R1 hoodies In Large I love the fit but I cant really wear a layer under them except for a tight fitting short sleeve tee shirt. The sleeves are a bit too form fitting as well as the torso. I bought a medium mens in red and I really appreciate the extra room in the arms and shoulders. I can get several base layers under... Read More it as well as a Nano puff shell and rain jacket over for ultra warmth making it the perfect backpacking mid layer. The hood is fitted nicely so it turns with your head like a wetsuit hoodie. This is a very comfy and versatile fleese top. Im a bit bummed they no longer make the womens version as the fit is more flattering for casual wear. The mens R1 pullover rocks for the outdoor adventures for us women with broad shoulders and muscles in our arms so thankfully they still have it in the mens.

March 3, 2020

New version not as good

The R1 hoody used to be my favorite piece of gear I owned. I recently got a new one and thought I got a mislabeled Cap4 hoody as the material is thinner and the zipper was in the wrong spot. I then found out that Patagonia changed the design of my favorite piece of clothing. The zipper pull now bangs on my teeth as they moved the zipper to the fron... Read Moret. The hood is much thinner which isn't too bad, but the overall material seems a bit thinner. I find my self avoiding wearing the new R1 and instead wearing my old R1 that now stinks a bit and had quite a few holes since I wear it so much.

Response from Patagonia
April 7, 2020

Thanks for the great feedback, Wes! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the Hoody for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

February 27, 2020

R1 FOR WOMEN- PLEASE!

Just here to echo the other complaints of discontinuing the women's R1 pullover hoody. My W R1 hoody from 2012 (?) has finally given it's last breath, and when I went to buy a new one, I was so disappointed to find out that Patagonia no longer makes them in a women's cut. I tried on the XS and S in men's and the fit just wasn&#x... Read More27;t right (especially if I'm paying close to $200 for it). PLEASE BRING BACK THE WOMEN'S R1 HOODED PULLOVER (with thumb loops). I tried the Techface R1, and while I love it, it's a bit too heavy for the mid-layer I was hoping for.

January 31, 2020

Bring Back the Side Zipper

Last week I went to a Patagonia Retail store hoping to pick up a new Men's R1 Hoody and walked away empty-handed and disappointed. The new R1 uses a center zip design that has an exposed zipper going straight up your face (mouth and nose) and it was quite uncomfortable in the store, I have facial hair and I could only imagine if it would snag ... Read Moreor how it would feel on a cold climb. Also, the fabric around the pits and sides is a lot thinner and feels more like a base layer. On the other hand, it definitely felt more stretchy and form-fitting. I have owned a Men's R1 Hoody for many years and have used it to do daily errands, ice climbing, and to the top of 8000m peaks. It has gotten so much mileage I've replaced the front zipper with one from YKK, the bottoms of the sleeves with fabric Patagonia sent me, and entire bottom-half Patagonia replaced after I mailed it in to them. I love the R1, I wish they could bring it back.

January 22, 2020

Everyday Patrol Wear

This is an essential piece of layering that is equally solid on long multi-pitch rock routes and as an everyday layer for ski patrolling. Stands up well to abuse from the rock and everyday wear and tear. I wear this layer 40 plus hours a week all season long and regularly during the summer months climbing and mountain biking. It's showing some... Read More wear and tear around the cuffs but is functioning flawlessly after 2 years of abuse.

January 3, 2020

Winter Running Essential

All around great pullover. Keeps me warm running in WI and breaths nicely. Love the hood and full zip that easily zips up high and keeps wind out. All around great pullover and essential for winter running. I would love to see some envelope pockets/zip side pockets added for sunglasses, gloves, energy gels.

January 1, 2020

Perfect

Great fit, and does double duty as a technical hoody and something you can simply wear around town. Nothing too flashy, and perfect for ski tours.

December 31, 2019

R1 Hoody

I love it. Fits perfectly as a baselayer with just enough room for a t-shirt underneath if I want to wear it casually. The color combo is gnarly as well.

December 29, 2019

Awesome product!

Awesome product!

December 26, 2019

Best piece of clothing for fall through spring

I own many and use them everyday I’m out in the mountains besides summer.

December 23, 2019

perfect combo: warm - compact - light

slim fit is perfect to layer under Micro Puff hoody for extra warmth. attractive as outer layer. thoughtfully engineered, well-made and cozy. R1 hoody and capilene air bottoms are my high-performing favorites.

December 17, 2019

Great Product

Bought this as a mid-layer for split boarding and alpine climbing - ideal for both. Size: I'm 5'11", 180lbs, 43" chest and longer than average arms - the large fits perfect. Probably not the best choice if you're looking for something that doubles as a casual top as the bottom is a bit long and tight for tucking under a har... Read Moreness and bunches slightly. That said, it does what it was designed to do better than anything else I've worn, highly recommend.

December 16, 2019

R1 Hoody

new design is great! more of a 3 season R1 now.

December 15, 2019

buy it!

was undecided because of the price- definitely worth it.

December 15, 2019

Great fit, warm and comfortable.

Great fit, warm and comfortable.

December 13, 2019

Men’s R1 Pullover Hoody

Greetings. Just picked one of these up for winter use in the PNW. Used this up on Mt Rainier last weekend with a shell for all day warmth. Had a Nono puff hoody with me. Never needed it. The hood is great, will fit under a helmet. Keeps the neck warm when not in use. Fits true to size. New design is awesome. Sleeves are nice and long. Can actually ... Read Moreuse the thumb loops if needed. Perfect piece for layering. Highly recommended. It just works as stated.

December 8, 2019

Awesome

Awesome

December 7, 2019

Quality piece, but very dissimilar to older R1's

I went to a Patagonia store to see if the zipper on my previous generation R1 could be repaired following an awkward fall climbing. I was told that the garment would likely need to be retired and opted for the merchandise credit to put towards a new R1. Unfortunately the store didn't have R1's in stock so I ordered one blindly off the int... Read Moreernet, fully trusting the tried and true name of the R1. I use the R1 as a mid-heavy weight mid layer mostly while climbing in the alpine. So when I received the new one, I was bummed to see the changes. The lightweight hood, and pits just seem too thin to me, and give the layer an all together 'too light' feel. Although I see that people claim better movement and range of motion in it, I didn't see any need for improvement upon the previous generations. Also, I found this generations sleeve cuffs and thumb holes to be a little rough and the shape of them proved to be not as functional/comfortable as I thought. But this is solely my opinion. I believe that the new R1 is still a very high quality piece of gear but would have a hard time recommending it to those who want a mid-heavy weight technical fleece. I would very much like to see the older style make a comeback.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback toward this and we are sorry to hear that you preferred the older design of our R1. We do offer various heavier weight layers like the [R2](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-r2-regulator-fleece-jacket/25139.html?dwvar_25139_color=BALB&cgid=sport-climbing-mens#tile-20=&start=1&sz=36) or the [Crosstrek Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-crosstrek-fleece-hoody/23790.html?dwvar_23790_color=FGE&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-4=&q=crosstrek&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24) you'd be welcome to try out. If you decide you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or try something else out, please feel free to do so and contact us if you need any help.

December 6, 2019

A Fantastic Piece of Gear (with one flaw)

I absolutely love my R1 hoodie! It has been on every backpacking/snowshoeing/skiing trip since I bought it. It keeps me warm and wicks moisture very well, and fits well under layers. I do have one complaint however. When I zip it up all the way while wearing the hood, the exposed zipper rubs against my mouth and the bottom of my nose in a very un... Read Morecomfortable way. This could be easily fixed by adding a small piece of fabric that covers the zipper on the inside and wraps over the top to the outside, protecting both the mouth and nose. I did this modification myself by sewing on some soft fabric from an old camp towel, and it is now a 5 star product. Prior to the modification, I couldn’t comfortably zip up the hood all the way without wearing a buff or balaclava underneath, which is why it only gets 4 stars from me.

December 2, 2019

Much improved...if that's possible

This is my second R1 and this year's update improves on the already classic R1. How you may ask? For me the big difference is the increased stretch in some key areas. The arms, chest/ hood. The material is a little thinner overall but the improved fit more than compensates for that. This is base/midlayer that you can really keep on for everyth... Read Moreing, it is that comfortable. The sleeves now have enough stretch that you can roll them up enough to wash your hands, dishes, unhook a fish, jam a deep crack....basically anything. Fits great and super comfortable. If I could afford another one I'd get one right now

December 1, 2019

Make this for women, please

I've been disappointed to find that Patagonia seems to be (a) systematically limiting its offerings for women and (b) removing features from the items that are offered for women. (I'm not even going to get into the terrible color selection and sizing changes.) I have wanted an R1 pullover with a hood for some time. I am 5'1" and... Read More 105# with a very small bust and hips, and wear XXS in Patagonia women's sizes, sometimes an XS, usually because XXS is not available. After checking the size chart, I ordered this pullover in men's XXS. Overall, it works: the shoulders fit, the arm holes aren't too big, the torso works, and the length is perfect, falling to my low hip. The hood fits. However, it fits me like a jacket, not a next-to-skin base layer. The sleeves are slightly too long, and they are loose, not fitted. I like this and I'm going to keep it for use as a mid/second layer, but I would rather that it fit me a bit more closely around the waist and arms, and I don't think this would work for most other women. I have very slim hips and I'm short, so the bottom of this isn't too tight for me, but on pretty much any other woman it would ride up. Therefore, although this is a great piece that more or less fits me, I can't really recommend it to other women even though it is allegedly a "unisex" garment. It isn't, and Patagonia shouldn't pretend that it is.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about the disappointment and we appreciate the feedback on this. We've been listening to all of the comments from women and because this doesn't seem to be comparable, we've decided to bring the women's pullover back in the near future. Stay tuned! Additionally, please feel free to send this back to us for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 28, 2019

Perfect everyday use

This is my second R1 hoody. Great for everyday use.

November 27, 2019

Great for cool weather ride

Right fit and weight for late season ride. Perfect color for visibility

November 25, 2019

Excellent for women too!

I prefer the R1 hoody in a size XS over any of the women's products. As a normal athletic build, 5'6" tall, and long arms, the mens XS hoody is perfect and fits super well.

November 22, 2019

R1 and done

Admittedly the music video got me. Solid piece. I've bought 5 of them for myself and friends now. Perfect for those fall multipitch sprints and alpine adventures. The long zip is great for dumping heat halfway up that offwidth pitch or approach. Only concern is longevity, but I guess climbing granite cracks and chimneys will wear holes in anyt... Read Morehing eventually.

November 22, 2019

Very waterproof

Did a great job at keeping the rain out. though it isn't specifically designed for it, would be nice if it had a snow skirt feature to it.

November 17, 2019

Awesome buy

Great fit and great quality

November 17, 2019

it's okay

i think the hoody part is too thin to be useful. if it's actually cold, then the hoody doesnt actually do much to keep your ears warm. especially when cycling. otherwise, it is still a nice layer to have for my body.

November 16, 2019

Keep going when it’s cold

I live in the northern most part of The U.S. and love to exercise outdoors. Lots of stop and go with different activities/changes in exertion level. I do not get the chills when I have this on. And, I’m not afraid of breaking a sweat, it wicks so well. If you have this on and your compadres do not it is important to remember you might be more comf... Read Moreortable and less susceptible to bad conditions. Be mindful.

November 14, 2019

Best R1 ever, and that’s saying something!

Over the last 10 or so years, I’ve rarely left the house without an R1 on me or in my bag. A rare piece of 4 season clothing. I own a few of them...various designs and generations. This pullover hoodie is the best version yet. The blend of R1 and more breathable grid fleece is perfect for almost any condition. Fit is very slim, but spot on, like a ... Read Moreglove. Love the thumb holes in the sleeves. Not fully sold on the balaclava hood, but it’s ok. The R1 is my favorite article of clothing, and this is my favorite R1. I’m 5’-11”, 127lbs, size small.

November 12, 2019

Comfortable and Lightweight!

Very warm and light weight, but I don't have to tell you that. Everyone already knows how great these are. Just get one and be happy you did.

November 8, 2019

Love my R1 hoodie.

Love my R1 hoodie.

November 6, 2019

Love this thing!

The Large size fits me pretty snug. But there's enough stretch to move around. I'm 6'1 195. I'd probably get an XL if i wanted it for casual wear. But since i'll be climbing probably wearing it as a heavy baselayer, the large should work fine.

November 6, 2019

Essential layer for all activities

After wearing my first-generation R1 Hoody and having everyone comment on all the holes, I finally bought a new one. That original R1 has been on four continents, the top of North America, and has seen extensive abuse. I've replaced it with the same thing. My old LARGE fits very much like the current XL, so the sizing has changed a bit. The sl... Read Moreim XL fits my 73" 200lbs well, sized to fit over a fitted baselayer. Subtle improvements in the wrist cuffs and hem are noted. The chest pocket is the biggest improvement, eliminating the weakest point of the original. One of the features that sets this apart from competitors is the deep zipper, which provides fantastic ventilation. I'll be back in another decade for a replacement.

November 6, 2019

Review for the Ladies

R1 is my go to layer. I've been trying to hold out until Patagonia starts making a womens pullover hooded version again. But I caved, and ordered the mens in XS. It's the great r1 quality; I love the warmth and breathability, but it's very long in the torso, and sleeves. Also not accommodating for hips. I'm 5' 4", so i... Read Moref you're a taller woman I think it would work okay fit wise.

November 6, 2019

Perfect, bought another just to have more

Yea I mean it's basically a heavy base layer that is great by itself in innumerable situations and then also great when coupled with something else. I find this +/- nano air hoody to be perfect for high activity in a wide range of temps - without doing 12 layer adjustments. If cold then zip up and hood, if warm then open it all up. For high ac... Read Moretivity in warm temps - this is too warm - early summer glacier travel for instance. Then need super lightweight capilene but otherwise this is a total go-to.

November 5, 2019

I finally got one - No regrets.

I have been looking for this layer for a long time. Tried many other similar non patagonia products. This is the one! Trust!

November 4, 2019

Great base layer!

The R1 has been a great light weight base layer. Hood and sleeves stay in place when out in the backcountry. Keeps me warm in my bag at night on those cold nights.

November 3, 2019

4 out of 5 stars, my bad!

The first time in a long time I was disappointed with a Patagonia online purchase… Not the quality of the item, but the fit. I have been wearing R-1 zip-tops (size XL) for 15+ years, haven’t had to purchase a new one for 5-6 years. The description stated the model was 6’-0” and wearing a medium… By contrast the older regular R-1 hoody was HUGE! So ... Read MoreI ordered the large… tried it on and could see that it was just a bit small (sleeve & torso length.) Haven’t washed, will return to exchange for an XL. The Patagonia quality is ALL there as usual, even some newer features I really like about this top! The lighter waist fabric is perfect under a climbing harness/bibs and ideal as a low-bulk mid-layer under my Rio-Azul waders for steelhead fishing in mixed cold conditions. The light thin hoody works under a helmet and or beanie/ballcap. Just wish it wasn’t so difficult to return/exchange an item ordered online. Would definitely recommend to all friends! May even get a second just to rotate for the next several years. Thanks Yvon for keeping and encouraging the outdoor industry to be accountable in sourcing materials, responsible manufacturing and sustainable repair/recycling of well worn product!

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Hi Pete! Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear the size large didn't fit quite right but you're definitely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out directly with some further assistance!

October 28, 2019

Echoing others' hopes of this offered in a Women's cut

I love my R1, as it is a reliable, durable, comfortable part of my layering system. After six seasons of climbing, backpacking, rafting with it, I am in need of replacing mine to only find that in the women's section is only available in pastel colors and without the functionality of a hood. Please either make this unisex cut more helpful to a... Read More variety of body types or offer this in both men and women cuts. Thank you for making such a versatile item!

October 23, 2019

Great for chilly climbing conditions

I've been wearing this over a tshirt while multipitch trad climbing in the NE during the fall. Think 50s-60s with sun to clouds possible. It's been working great for that. When the wind picks up and the clouds come out, I just zip up the front and wear the hood under my helmet. Since it is thin, I have also worn it as a mid layer under an... Read Moreother medium weight hoody. If I find myself climbing in the sun, it dries the sweat off quickly. The half-zip works will under a climbing harness, too. I'm 5'10", 143 lbs and bought the Small. It fits well.

October 16, 2019

Nice and light but sketchy quality

Have owned two previous versions of the R1 hoody but found them a bit too warm for my body temperature and made me sweat just by standing still without any physical output. It feels like this years version is more lighter and "airier" which suited me well. Although this also seems to affect the durability of the material, after about a we... Read Moreek the thread on the trimming started to come off, not only on one but on both arms. Not a big thing as such I sewed it and fastened it again but now a few months later the treading on the actual chest started to come undone and creating a horisontal gaping hole. Now once again maybe not super hard to fix but why should I?! The products are not cheap to begin with. I don't have very much clothes, few and reliable staples in my outdoor kit, if I need it and I want it I can pay. I don't mind to pay for good quality when it IS good but now it just seems a bit greedy from your part. Love this hoody if it just held up to some kind of standard that you guys used to have all over the range. You should look this over because this hoody is iconic not to be messed with quality wise.

Response from Patagonia
February 27, 2020

Hello Jonatan, thanks so much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear this has happened. This is not normal and I kindly ask you to reach out to our [Customer Service team](https://eu.patagonia.com/gb/en/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) team who will arrange a solution for you. Again, thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback and please let us know if you have any other questions!

October 10, 2019

Love at first sight!

Ok- this hoody is awesome! I haven’t actually worn it out much yet as it’s still warm here but it’s super cool, fits great and seems built to last. I’ll post another review once I put it to action!

October 8, 2019

Love these pullovers

I have some of the first R1's that were made over 10 years ago. They are still in great condition and I wear them often. Looks like the new ones have an updated front pocket material which is good cause my old ones have stretched out to the point that they don't lay flush to the chest anymore. My old ones were XL's and after time the... Read Morey have shrunk, or maybe I have gotten bigger, regardless, I ordered a new one in XXL and it was way too big. (thank god). More on the long side actually in the sleeves and body so I returned it. Going for the XL again. That's my story on this garment. They rock and last forever.

September 14, 2019

Super versatile

When I bought this I was looking for a nice light mid layer. Turns out it's an excellent mid layer AND base layer. I'm a pretty tall skinny dude and was worried that a large would be too baggy. Its loose enough to fit a layer underneath but still slim enough to wear as a base layer.

September 13, 2019

A classic for a reason

They've been making these a long time for a reason. Great great layer. Thumb holes for the win!

September 1, 2019

Not like it user to be

Patagonia, what have you done to the R1 in 2019. The last one I bought was before 2010. The hand pocket was thinner and more ergonomic, center zip was not in the middle of your mouth but on the side. Did you get bad comment from end-user ? Have you tend to be more fashion then technical ? I'm disapointed in Patagonia for the first time.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about the disappointment and we appreciate your insight on this. We've changed our R1 over the years, based off our ambassadors and customers feedback. However, we are always looking to perfect it. Comments like this will hopefully allow us to do so. Please let us know if we can [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) in a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

August 25, 2019

A classic

The R1 hoody has been a staple in my outdoors wardrobe for a while now. I appreciate the lighter fabric under the arms on this year's version. Breathes better without affecting the warmth too much. The hood also has the lighter fabric which I prefer when I'm active. Fit remains great, nice and slim. Thumb holes are well executed. Ex... Read Morecellent piece for alpine rock climbing and backcountry skiing in colder temps. I prefer the Capilene thermal weight as my winter base layer here in CA, but the R1 works great in colder climes.

August 15, 2019

Go-To Lightweight Hoody for Everything

This R1 pullover is perfect. I find myself bringing/wearing it everywhere and for everything—from morning dog walks to evenings around the campfire and every activity in between.

August 11, 2019

It’s baaaack!

When Patagonia first introduced to the R1 hoody it was a amazing technical breakthrough piece. Long four under harness, light in the right spots, incredibly functional and breathable. In 2015 for some reason Patagonia started making this piece much more of a regular hoody, it was good piece if it was freezing cold, but not practical for a range of ... Read Moreoutput in cool to cold weather (all the same R1 throughout). Thankfully the update 2019 version is back to a technical piece. Thinner R.5 fabric in the right spots (underarms, below the torso and as a hood). I haven’t been able to put it through the paces yet but it will return as my go to piece for outdoor activities. Only thing I don’t love is how tight the elastic hem is, but I’m hoping it will stretch out a little over time. Btw - Patagonia please start listing the accent colors of the zippers online. The Fire Red has navy blue zips (wish they were black, but not a dealbreaker).

August 10, 2019

Great Layering Piece

Ideal for temp changes from the early morning to midday to evening. Layers easily and doesn’t stink after a few days.

June 19, 2019

Hips and a butt

I'm a woman and wear my black Women's R1 Pullover Hoody on 100% of my trips. A couple years ago, before buying the women's version, I tried a couple men's sizes. The men's colors are tasteful and more in alignment with how I feel in my own skin (compared to the women's color options). The men's cut didn't fit... Read More me at all. Specifically, it was overlarge in the chest and shoulders. And worse, it was too narrow for my curvy hips and butt. Please hear this as a heartfelt vote to bring back the Women's R1 Pullover Hoody! And just a thought - offer it in the same exact colors as the Men's - I think "we" might surprise you.

June 14, 2019

R1

Use this as a cool weather hiking, mountaineering & snowboarding piece. Fit is perfect for me (6'3" 215) all around - arm length, waist length & cut for layering. The deep zip is really nice and helps minimize stripping layers after ski runs, during ascents, etc.

June 13, 2019

Another woman shopping in the man’s section

I had two R1 Women’s hoodies size small. I used my black one for nordic ski patrol and loved it. No odor, basic black, fairly good fit in size small. May other bright yellow/purple trim R1 is a nice, bold color and is a daily user. I now have to replace my uniform hoodie and discovered that the hoodie option is no longer available in women’s. Worse... Read More yet, I agree with the complaint of other women that the newest iterations of Patagonia women’s colors for technical fleece and jackets are awful. These pastel, delicate colors are completely uninteresting and slightly insulting. I think its an industry wide problem, but I prefer to put my money behind Patagonia for all the innovations and stewardship. Can you guys please innovate more interesting color schemes for women so I can stop shopping in the men’s section? I’ll give the XS in men’s a try for size and cross my fingers.

June 11, 2019

R1 Hoody pullover is an improvement for me

My son used my old R1 hoody and never gave it back. I ordered the new R1 hoody pullover as a replacement and got to use it on a day of ski mountaineering in the Cascades. We did 8k of ascent with lots of elevation and temperature changes. I wore the R1 all day. It was very comfortable and the lightweight hood fit nicely under a helmet. I especially... Read More liked the lighter weight long torso. It stayed tucked in nicely. The wrist warmer/loop combo is appreciated by this taller body. (6'2") In the spring I switch from wool to the R1 for the greater versatility. For me this is a great garment for spring ski missions.

June 9, 2019

R1 Hoody

I got the Men's version, size XXS, which fit perfectly (my ht 5'4", wt 105lb). It wicks, keeps me warm & not too hot when the temps rise.

May 9, 2019

Great Piece

Quality is Patagonia’s standard. As a Wilderness Ranger I’m always in the field and I happen to really like lightweight hoodies. I’ll probably wear this until it falls apart then buy another. It’s well made warm enough and great fitting.

May 8, 2019

No R1 hoody for women!

When I had finally decided to purchase the R1 hoody for women, it turns out Patagonia stopped making it. I bought a mens XS, instead, and it fits great. (I'm usually a small or XS in women's.). While not a huge issue, it would have been nice to see Patagonia design the women's R1 with features similar to the mens, like the banded bot... Read Moretom, and half-zip front.

May 8, 2019

R1 trim falling off

I LOOOVE the R1. But the piping/trim around the sleeve ends and bottom of the garment are beginning to separate. With any real stretching of those areas, I heard a snapping sound, where the thread holding the trim to the garment ends snapped/broke. I’ll send it back in when I’m finished using it as a backcountry and ski underwater. Otherwise, kille... Read Morer re-release of the R1!!

Response from Patagonia
May 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the trim separating on your R1! You are welcome to return or repair that item. See instructions [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

May 8, 2019

R1 - Not what it used to be

I returned the R1 I purchased in March 2019 - it felt thinner and lower quality than previous generation R1. It would have made the 8th R1 in my collection. I wear them for work, alpine touring, trail running, backpacking, hiking, and occasionally mountain biking. The 3 I have from 2007 are in better condition than the 2 from 2010, which are in bet... Read Moreter condition than the 2 from 2016. In short, durability of the product has slipped continuously. The stitching, pilling, and poly-stink are not falling in line with the reputation I held of the R1.

May 8, 2019

R1 Hoody

Great redo on the venerable great. Hood fits better and I had the original side zip which was absolutely deplorable, I could never zip it up to the top and not have it hanging off to the side. This version is perfect for me and for how I use my system. Great job Patagonia.

May 7, 2019

Warm and cozy hoody

This is a classic piece to add to your layering system. It fits snug around your body, and the sleeves, hood, and hem are all at a generous length, keeping out those blasts of cold air. Fits great under additional layers. As a pullover, I find that I adjust this layer less (vs. a full-zip piece), and so I generally wear it during low-exertion activ... Read Moreities in cold weather, where extra insulation is key. I also find it to be a great sleeping layer during cold-weather camping. If you're a hot person, I might recommend the full-zip option for added versatility during higher exertion activities. This is a consistent piece in my cool- and cold-weather layering systems.

April 21, 2019

Excellent

I'm a big fan of this new iteration of the classic R1. I took this on a February climbing trip to Red Rocks and it performed amazingly. The extra length allowed it to stay tucked under my harness and the hood saved my face when I was hanging mid-route in cold 20 mph gusts. If necessary, I can throw a Houdini on over this and the warmth is lock... Read Moreed in from the breeze (I also find a houdini is a good shield to keep sharp rock from snagging my softer layers; they're surprisingly tough). The thinner material on the sides is preferable to the heavier R1s when active/ climbing. I love my older R1s, but I've overheated many times when hiking on approach or once I'm getting pumped halfway up a pitch. The description says this was designed for climbers and skiers (aka: active use in cool/ cold temps), and it's a success in my book. If you're missing the thicker R1s then look around the site, they still make those. I prefer this version for my purposes and I just picked up my second one! Thanks, Pata (and here's hoping the women's version is in the works)

April 18, 2019

My favorite single piece of clothing

I love the R1 hoody. It's light like a mid-weight base layer and warm like a fleece. It does a decent job blocking wind. The snug lower fit and hood are great for colder days. It's my go to piece for hikes in 3/4 seasons and trail runs in just about 4 / 4 seasons.

April 8, 2019

Functional, comfortable and legit.

Love the R1 line and this Pullover Hoody is a home run. I’m bummed for the ladies out there that do not have a half zip hoody specific to them but I think it’s a shame that the review of this men’s hoody is getting hammered because of that. Hopefully Patagonia makes one for my hard charging sistahs soon. If you are a dude this thing is awesome. I w... Read Moreear it mountain biking, skiing, hiking, at home chilling...it fits great (size large for me at 6’2”, 180, long armed and it’s not skin tight and not baggy) sleeves are plenty long without bunching up at the wrist like some thumb cuffs will do. The deep zip is great for dumping heat and the hem can be pulled down to cover to your bottom. The two tone color scheme looks cool. The rare times I need the hood it works great, snug and comfortable under a helmet and the balaclava coverage makes me feel like a folios green ninja. A minor issue would be when fully zipped up it would be better for me if there was a soft zipper garage for the area covering your nose but as I rarely fully zip this is truly minor for me. I’ve worn this many times and the polygiene odor control seems to work well as my girlfriend and buds would have no problem telling me if I smelled funky. I do let it air out after every use and when I have washed it, it’s been in cold water, hang dry. Love my R1!

April 8, 2019

Functional, comfortable and legit.

Love the R1 line and this Pullover Hoody is a home run. I’m bummed for the ladies out there that do not have a half zip hoody specific to them but I think it’s a shame that the review of this men’s hoody is getting hammered because of that. Hopefully Patagonia makes one for my hard charging sistahs soon. If you are a dude this thing is awesome. I w... Read Moreear it mountain biking, skiing, hiking, at home chilling...it fits great (size large for me at 6’2”, 180, long armed and it’s not skin tight and not baggy) sleeves are plenty long without bunching up at the wrist like some thumb cuffs will do. The deep zip is great for dumping heat and the hem can be pulled down to cover to your bottom. The two tone color scheme looks cool. The rare times I need the hood it works great, snug and comfortable under a helmet and the balaclava coverage makes me feel like a folios green ninja. A minor issue would be when fully zipped up it would be better for me if there was a soft zipper garage for the area covering your nose but as I rarely fully zip this is truly minor for me. I’ve worn this many times and the polygiene odor control seems to work well as my girlfriend and buds would have no problem telling me if I smelled funky. I do let it air out after every use and when I have washed it, it’s been in cold water, hang dry. Love my R1!

April 5, 2019

Different design

I ordered this R1 after my last one blew out from overuse. I loved the old design so much! The new design is much thinner, and seems to be cheaply made. I would order the old design again and again.

April 2, 2019

Women would also enjoy this product

I am another person writing to request that you please make this product in a women's version. Women enjoy hooded pullovers just as much as men do. And women also enjoy interesting color combinations. Speaking of which - if you DO wind up taking our advice and making a women's version, please note that some women like normal, bold colors ... Read Morelike the ones offered in your men's line. Like red. And blue. And orange. Not all women want weird muted pastel colors like the ones you currently offer in the women's full zip hoody. But I digress. I should note: I feel bad leaving a negative review for this men's product since of course, there is nothing wrong with it. I assume it works very well for men. I reached out via email to customer service with my request and they specifically told me to leave a review as it is the best way to get the attention of the Patagonia designers.

April 1, 2019

A classic undone

I have owned several of these since their introduction. There have been many changes over the years but the recent change from an offset zipper at the face to one that runs straight has been most regrettable. I suppose the designed thought that making a soft zipper flap would obviate the need to offset the zipper but having worn the current various... Read More almost every day this winter I say it ain't so. The stiff zipper is very irritating on the chin and lips in very cold wear. Please bring back the sensible off set zipper.

March 15, 2019

Spiderwoman

What a disappointment to find out Patagonia has stopped offering a WOMEN'S version of the R1 Pullover Hoody. My Women's R1 Pullover Hoody is an awesome piece of gear and integral to my kit. 5 Star Rating! A customer service rep advised me that the men's version is unisex. Having tried them both, I can report that the men's and w... Read Moreomen's versions fit differently. The women's version fits a woman's body very nicely; the men's version, in my experience, did not. Patagonia: please count this as a enthusiastic vote to bring back the WOMEN'S R1 Pullover Hoody asap. Or, let's make the unisex version the WOMEN'S cut. Trust me, we women compromise by wearing "unisex", aka "men's", all the time, and we're over it.

March 13, 2019

Where is the women's half zip hooded R1??

I agree with another reviewer. Why is there not a women's option for this product? I was very excited when I saw the dual tone come out again in the men's option, but the women's full zip option does not have the chest pocket, and the only half zip option does not have a hood. What gives?

March 12, 2019

all gas no brakes

Have not taken it off in four days. Seriously so comfortable. The thumb holes are awesome. Planning to wear this at my wedding.

March 5, 2019

DonB

I have several R1 pullovers and 2 of the R1 pullover hoody's. They are so comfortable and warm. I like to layer them with other clothing when it really gets cold out. I wear them when I run and for everyday use. I do hope Patagonia will go back to embroidering the logo on the chest and the arm and setting them off using different colors. Mine ... Read Moreare about 4 years old and I truly hope Patagonia keeps the same material as mine vs changing to lighter weight material. Of all of my outdoor gear the R1 line is my very favorite!!!!! I love the way the hood fits also. R1's are just so warm and comfortable.

February 27, 2019

Your "Go To" Fleece

Just received my second R1 Pullover Hoody and love it. My newest R1 seems to run slightly larger than my other one that was manufactured 3+ years ago but I still like the fit. Favorite features include the loop holes in the sleeve and the chest pocket, which easily holds a cell phone. I also like how this style tends to have a longer fit over your ... Read Morewaist compared to some of the other R1 styles (I also have two R1 pullovers, one of which is probably at least 15 years old now and still holding its own...). Over the years I find this fleece gets used on a daily basis, from casual times at home/work to hiking/climbing in the mountains. I highly recommend the R1 Pullover Hoody and continue to appreciate the quality products that Patagonia creates.

February 26, 2019

Why not make this in women's?

Came here to purchase this in Women's ,only to find it no longer exists. I am highly disappointed given that this is one of the favored pieces among my climbing girlfriends.

February 15, 2019

Great comfort and warmth

I love the versatility this price has with the long zipper to dump heat. I love it on climbs/tours when u start to work up a sweat. Only issue would be for body type. The small fit me better but was very tight in arm pits so I went with a medium. I am 5’7” with a slim build, but normal width shoulders. The male model in the video goes hard.

February 13, 2019

The technical R1 hoody is back!

As announced at the 2018 Outdoor show, Patagonia re-released the original "technical silhouette" R1 hoody this month - just picked one up at Patagonia SoHo. In short: The R1 hoody we all loved is back! As most likely know, the original R1 hoody came out around 2008-2009. It was a dedicated technical garment for climbers, with a balaclava-... Read Morelike scuba hood, offset zipper, differential weight fabric (R1 and R.5), thumb loops, and a slim fit. It was, in the eyes of many of us, the perfect technical piece for winter activities. In 2015, the original hoody was replaced with a de-contented one: no offset zipper, bigger hood that didn't cover the mouth, no differential fabric (all R1), and a less slim fit. Howls of protest ensued (including my own prior review on this page), calling for Patagonia to re-introduce the original R1 hoody. For 2019, that's largely what Patagonia has done. The new 2019 hoody is a genuine technical piece again, perfect for high- and moderate-intensity activities in cold weather. It has a few differences from the 2009 version which I'll outline here, but in short, this is no longer a decontented R1, it's one with slight design differences to the original, but its equal in almost every measure: Hood: 2009 has a balaclava style hood with an offset zipper in R1 fabric. 2019 has a balaclava style hood with a standard zipper in R.5 fabric. (2015 has a bigger hood, non-offset zipper in R1) Neck: 2019 has returned to a similar four panel neck as the 2009 had for a better fit under the chin. The 2015 had a simpler construction at the neck. Body: 2009 had R1 fabric in the body, with a differential panel of R.5 (microgrid) at the lower torso and hem for better tucking or fitting in a harness; and had R.5 at the cuffs. 2019 returns with R1 fabric in the main body, the same differential lower panel of R.5 as the original, and also adds R.5 on the side panels for better breathability under the pits. 2019 is R1 at the cuffs, unlike the 2009, but the thumb loops are improved and lay flat when not in use. Both are a big step up over the non-differential 2015 R1. Zipper: The 2019 retains the deeper 3/4 zip of the 2015 model. Pocket: The 2009 had an external napoleon pocket sewn on, which wasn't as sturdy for holding heavy items, but allowed you to open the pocket without opening the insulation layer to your body. The 2015 moved to an internal pocket with mesh backing and the 2019 retains this design. That's perhaps the only thing I would still credit the 2009 as having an advantage, but I understand opinions can differ on this. The 2009 also had the pocket on the right, whereas the 2015 and 2019 has it on the left breast. Labels: The 2009 had an embroidered label, the 2015 had a silkscreen, and the 2019 has a sewn on "Fitz Roy" tag. All in all, I'm delighted with the new R1 Hoody.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches