Back to Product

Ws Capilene® Air Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 61 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Air Bottoms

4.4/5
Kinda Large
May 10, 2021

Showing your underwear

Someone can clearly see your underwear when wearing these. Not okay!

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hey Hedvig! We're so sorry you had this problem. These bottoms are built as a base layer, or long underwear if you will. They aren't expected to be used as an outer layer. You might like our [Centered Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-centered-tights/21961.html) if you're looking for a nice legging.

April 22, 2021

So comfy, want to wear them all day

Just as comfortable as they look to be. Soft and breathable. Seams in all the right places. Looking forward to winter sports in these.

April 10, 2021

Warm enough... easily torn

Ive had these pants for only a few months and there is already a tear in the inseam... Im frustrated because the cost of these are high! I will see myself but beware these are delicate.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Megan! We're sorry to hear that they aren't holding up. They're covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please reach out to our Customer Service team to set up a return.

April 6, 2021

Perfect base layer

They are thin and warm - what more could you ask for!

March 27, 2021

Never want to take them off

Love these! Warm and cozy for both lounging and running in a snow storm. Looking forward to using these on my upcoming thru hike.

March 10, 2021

Super comfortable

These pants are amazing. Some how they manage to be warm, at at the same time feel like your wearing nothing.

March 7, 2021

Love them!

These are perfect lounge-around-the-house tights. Warm but breathable, wooly but not itchy. Im sure theyll be a great base layer, I just havent needed that yet. Nice relaxed waist that does not bind. Im 5 5 and about 122 lbs. Size small is perfect. Highly recommend!

March 3, 2021

Great fabric, construction and design need work

I am 5'9", 150lbs and generally a small/size 4-6. I love the fabric, these kept me super warm and toasty dry for snowboarding. Never felt the wind on the lift. They have a short inseam and fit more like a capri for me. I wish they offered a tall version. On the second day I wore them, the crotch ripped when I was pulling them on. The rep ... Read MoreI spoke to said this is an issue they are working to correct, and that I should treat them gently, which seems counterintuitive for base layers (they're not stockings). He also said I shouldn't pull them up too high, and that they should sit on the hip. I would honestly prefer a high waist fit for base layer pants, it feels more secure. I hope Patagonia updates these with reinforced seams, especially in the crotch, a longer inseam and a higher rise so they stay up.

February 21, 2021

Warm and a bit of unexpected stretch just after a few washes

These are very warm. The first few times I wore them as a base layer I was happy with them. However, after a few washes they started to ride up and are kinda more loose than I would like. Just based on cost alone, I expected these to hold up better. Id recommend looking elsewhere, especially if these will be in regular rotation in your winter wardr... Read Moreobe.

February 18, 2021

Warm layer for skiing

This layer is great for warmth and maneuverability when cross country skiing! Only issue is it does pull up from fuzz and hair because it is textured.

February 16, 2021

Perfect Fabric

The fabric is lightweight but very warm. Garment can be worn under fitted clothing easily. Only change I would like is a much shorter waistband. I am petite and the waistband is way too tall for my body.

Response from Patagonia
March 6, 2021

Thank you for your excellent feedback on the rise, fit and fabric of these Capilene Air Bottoms, Judith!

February 16, 2021

Perfect Fabric

The fabric is lightweight but very warm. Garment can be worn under fitted clothing easily. Only change I would like is a much shorter waistband. I am petite and the waistband is way too tall for my body.

Response from Patagonia
March 6, 2021

Thank you for your excellent feedback on the rise, fit and fabric of these Capilene Air Bottoms, Judith!

February 14, 2021

Best yet for Winter fun!

I bought these long underwear hoping for less than I got. WARM, COMFORTABLE, easy to add a layer on top for single digit mountain weather. So good I bought a second pair... So GREAT, I bought a pair for my outdoors sports daughter. SHE LOVES IT too.

February 13, 2021

What a great difference these make!

These are great for layering under pants or sweats. Unlike other "thermals" this actually kept me warm! Love them.

February 8, 2021

Great ski base layer

Super thin, stretchy fabric. Kept me perfectly warm on many ski trips!

February 7, 2021

So warm and cozy

So warm and cozy

February 2, 2021

Best Base Layer I've Ever Worn

I was hesitant to purchase these because of the price. Since the description and reviews described exactly what I wanted, I gave them a try. My primary use is warmth with a nice stylish look under skirts and dresses. I'm sure they will also be great under pants when I do some cold weather hikes. They look great, the few seams they have are act... Read Moreually difficult to find, they air dry quickly, they are extremely comfortable and warm, and the fit is perfect for me. I am 5'0" 113 lbs. and I purchased an XXS. I recall someone describing them as a sweater for your legs and I completely agree. After multiple wears, I am starting to notice some pilling on the thighs where my skirt rubs with movement. I think that's to be expected for this material and an easy fix. If they came in grey or brown, I would buy another pair.

January 25, 2021

Happy

Purchased the air bottoms for my wife. She absolutely loves them and has indicated that they are light weight and extremely soft and comfortable. She wore them out today for a 3 mile walk in 20 degree temperatures with a windchill making the temperature around 12 degrees. She is suggesting I purchase a pair of mens for myself.

January 24, 2021

Very comfortable

These are the best light long underwear I have had from Patagonia. Had many over the years too. Go great under all their pants. Warm but not stuffy feeling. Good wicking. Wear around house after an outdoor day.

January 8, 2021

Super Warm and Soft

I like how warm these are (I also have the top which I love even more) and they're very comfortable you can barely feel them BUT they have no elastic on top at all, therefore, they can fall down when running, etc. so I don't use them for that. I recommend these for outdoor activities like climbing, hiking, as a baselayer doing outdoor wor... Read Morek, etc. For that, they're excellent.

December 24, 2020

SOFT

I would not usually spend this much on base layer, but I did because hooray they do NOT have a seam in that place where I do not want a seam! Most base layers and tights seem to have a seam there. You know where. Thank you for finally offering a base layer without "that" seam!

December 22, 2020

Great Fit

This is the second pair of Air Bottoms I've purchased. I wear a pair everyday in the winter. They fit like a sweater around my waist. No painful waist band! Very warm and comfortable.

December 15, 2020

Shockingly Durable

I rolled my ankle and took a tumble on an asphalt trail last weekend while I was wearing these Capilene air bottoms. When I removed the pants to check my knee, I was surprised to see that my knee was so torn up and bloody because the pants had not sustained any damage at all. While these pants will not protect your skin (I never thought they would)... Read More, they are insanely durable (or maybe this was just a fluke incident?).

November 27, 2020

Definitely super cozy but pilling after one wash

When I put these on I felt love - seriously. Super cozy and kept me warm in wintry Yosemite recently. But, when I got home and washed them on gentle - and hung dry - they're pilling all up and down the sides of the legs : (

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2020

Thanks for your feedback. Pilling is bound to happen on garments like this that encounter friction. Check out our [repairs videos](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#repairvideos) on how to take care of that!

November 20, 2020

Super warm

I got these for MN winter and they were so warm layered under my yoga pants. The material is unique knit- I probably Should have sized down.

November 19, 2020

Warm and comfy

Wished I could wear these all day long. So comfortable! Great fit, awesome look and very warm worn under hiking or running pants. Also wonderful to wear by themselves around the house on a cold morning.

November 11, 2020

Warm and lightweight-- but pills

Very warm and lightweight. I am 5'6" 128 lbs and usually wear small or sometimes medium bottoms. The small fit perfectly. I have used it backpacking and bikepacking and they work great. When I first got them as a christmas present and I was living in my van in the winter (very cold) so I wore these to sleep in every night. They immediatel... Read Morey pilled and got lint allover them even though I had only slept in them and hadn't worn them for anything active yet. They still work great but have gotten a small hole in them. I think these issues might just be because they were the first edition. I later got an air capilene balaclava which has none of these issues at all. So I feel that the new base layers probably don't have these issues.

November 10, 2020

Sweater legs

Surprisingly fluffy and sweater like, these leggings are warm and comfy for running and hiking but I wouldn't wear them without a skirt over them when going to town.

October 30, 2020

Fabulous!

They are so soft and warm. I wear them almost every day, early in the morning when the house is chilly. I ll wear them to walk and jog outside in the upcoming colder weather. Love, love love.

October 4, 2020

Breathable and warm, unfortunately not durable

Have been wearing these around the house with the intention to take them on an upcoming backpacking trip. The material is breathable and super warm, fit is true to size. In so many ways I'm happy with these leggings, however they wore a sizable hole in the crotch in less than 5 wears, no washes, with me just sitting in them around the house. T... Read Morehe seamless quality of this base layer is great, however I recommend finding some way to reinforce the areas of these leggings that may receive more day-to-day stress. For the price I paid for these, they unfortunately don't hold up.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. While the coziness of this baselayer makes it tempting to wear on it's own, it's intended use is to be layered. Layering will help to extend the use of the garment. With that said, it should not be tearing with such limited use, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to send it in for return. You could also consider looking at the Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms for a baselayer option with a sturdier fabric.

September 23, 2020

Wow, wonderful material, but super big

I bought this baselayer for going home to the Arctic Circle. I'm 5'7" and almost 200lbs. By my measurements, I should be squarely in the XL category but when I put these on they fit less like a base layer and more like sweatpants. Rather than being skintight and good for wearing under jeans, there was actual loose fabric bagging and ... Read Moresagging behind my knees! Yes the material is super stretchy but this is without even the stretch being activated! I am ordering two sizes down to make up for this weird fit because I was SO impressed with the seamless soft knit material. As a Lapplander I have owned a LOT of base layers and these seem spectacular. I really hope they're opaque in a Medium despite my 44" hips and 34" waist, because I will wear them exclusively underneath skirts, jeans, and everything else if so!

August 8, 2020

Very cozy but...

These are 100% see through. I'm keeping them anyway bc they are super comfortable. A little loose but I am on the edge of a small and medium so I went with M to be safe, should have got a small. But if you hold these up to your eyes you can see through them very clearly. Just wear black underwear with them

July 20, 2020

Not designed for activity

Im currently hiking the John Muir trail and purchased the Air bottoms and top to wear to sleep. With minimal movement the pants have begun to rip at the side hip by night 4. Shocked this happened by just sleeping in them.Very comfortable and warm but basically as fragile as womens pantyhose. Im returning and will reordered a cheaper and more reliab... Read Morele base layer. Beautiful and form fitting but the most disappointing patagonia product I purchased.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Debra, we're so sorry to hear about the untimely wear of your Women's Capilene Air Bottoms. Please feel free to begin a warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 25, 2020

Best Patagonia Piece I Own

This is my all time favorite piece that I own from Patagonia. It is so versatile, warm but breathable, and soft. I wear these under my waders, ski pants, and jeans when its extremely cold. The waist comes up to the belly button which is helpful for layering. They are thin enough that you can get another tight layer on over them if need be. Im never... Read More too hot in these and always warm. These are a must have!! Best baselayer on the market to date.

February 19, 2020

Very comfortable thermo. I especially

Very comfortable thermo. I especially like the broad soft elastic at the hip, no tight squeezing at the stomach. Size and fit recommendations are spot on. However for winter flyfishing this thermo is to thin.

February 3, 2020

Scratchy, Not made to last

I used these mainly to sleep in at night during a month long backpacking trip where I'd be at high elevation for most of the time. While they did keep me warm, they were uncomfortable to wear. I didn't like the feeling of them next to my skin. They were scratchy feeling and I dreaded putting them on each night. I had really bug bitten leg... Read Mores and the leggings just irritated them even worse. They also started to fall apart on the first week of my month long trip. There was a hole in the crotch and two holes on each side where the waist met the leg (likely from pulling them on). After washing them once, they were pilled and funky looking -definitely an under layer only. I did end up returning them, but I would not purchase these Capilene® Air Bottoms again, even though they're super lightweight.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2020

Hi Kate! Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear the Capilene Air Bottoms didn't work out for you. You might have some better luck with our [W's Thermal Weight Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=CCNX&cgid=womens-baselayers#tile-7=&start=1&sz=24), as this style does not feature any merino wool. They also have a taller waistband which promotes a more articulated, comfortable fit. Please feel free to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=contact) us if we can offer any additional guidance on the best kit for your needs. Cheers!

January 3, 2020

Warmest, Warm Pants

I got these pants before heading to Southern Utah for a winter adventure (low temps were -15 windchill - real life). We snowshoed, hiked the narrows, and hiked all over Zion, Bryce, and Grand Staircase-Escalante, and these pants were absolutely perfect. I was so warm, but not too warm. They never got funky after wearing them for many days in a row.... Read More They're soft af too! Thank you!

January 2, 2020

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft,

Superb. Very stretchy, light, soft, and toasty. They don't get clammy, itchy, or stinky. Pure magic.

December 28, 2019

Warm and toasty!

Been teaching skiing for 25 years. These are the warmest and lightest thermals I've ever worn. It's been 12 degrees with wind and I'm comfy!

December 18, 2019

Best base layer ever

I love the Capilene line of base layers. They are lightweight and so very comfortable, yet are also very warm and cozy. The bottoms fit comfortably under jeans, yoga pants, hiking pants, because they are thin and not bulky. They also are not tight or binding. I bought another pair for my daughter for Christmas.

December 13, 2019

W;s Capilene Air bottoms

Love them, nice and warm but not woo warm, soft too!

December 12, 2019

had to order a smaller

had to order a smaller size than I expected, they needed to be tight against my skin so I ordered the size xs. they fit great except that my legs are too long. I am 5'8" and about 130lbs to give the idea. patagonia needs to work on more consistent sizing I think, and include the long-legged slender gals!

December 3, 2019

Toasty and Comfy

These are the warmest, coziest base layer under snow pants or jeans and great solo for running or just hanging out in a coolish house.

November 30, 2019

Love it!!!

It’s so light and warm, so excited to wear’em to my next trip to Patagonia in couple of weeks.

November 29, 2019

Nice n warm

They’re really good leggings and super warm, I will say I sized down like all the reviews said to do and got an XS and they were still big on me (I’m usually a small). I’m 5’2 and about 110 pounds and got xxs, just for reference!

November 28, 2019

Bottoms seem a little large.

Bottoms seem a little large.

November 22, 2019

Warmth

I bought these for winter fishing when running out in the boat can be really cold but once you’re on the flat it warms up. Very comfortable in both situations, I.e., not hot when the boat stops and sun gets higher. I liked so much O ordered an extra pair.

November 22, 2019

Really comfortable, warm and i

Really comfortable, warm and i love the way they are shaped, so nothing is too short or tight

November 21, 2019

Great base layer

These bottoms are super warm when layered. As other reviewers have mentioned, they do seem really thin on their own (due to the air insulation) and have already started pilling with light wear so far. The tag is rather itchy in the back so I'll probably end up cutting it off. Overall they will serve their purpose of being a warm layer for skii... Read Moreng and winter camping (and PJ bottoms on cold nights!).

November 19, 2019

Thumbs Up!

These capilene air bottoms are perfect for layering on a cold winter's day. I wear them for alpine touring, and I'll be sweating on the way up and they wick perfectly! On the way down, they stay cozy and warm! They also wash well and maintain their loft.

November 9, 2019

The best.

soft, fluffy, warm- couldn't ask for more. The seamless design is a dream to wear, and they're incredibly warm. Tag was a little itchy but easy to cut out. Absolutely love these. Runs a little on the big side, I'm 5'3", 135 lbs, athletic build, and the XS is perfect. S fit too but wasn't really tight, I'd worry ab... Read Moreout them getting baggy if they stretched out at all.

November 7, 2019

You get what you pay for

Great base layer! I live in Montana and need all the warmth I can get. These do not disappoint. I sized down to an XS and they fit perfect. I’m 5ft 6in and 125lb.

November 5, 2019

WOMEN'S CAPILENE AIR BOTTOMS

I MEASURED MYSELF PRIOR TO PURCHASE AND ORDERED THE XL, THESE WERE WAY TO BIG. PRODUCT WAS NOT TRUE TO SIZE AND AM UNSURE WHICH SIZE TO ORDER NOW

October 15, 2019

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants

Extremely comfortable, no itch, pants stretched a bit in butt/front

September 26, 2019

The updates are better

I used to own a pair of full fleece Capilene bottoms - I believe these updated are much warmer. I'm not sure how - when you hold them up to the light, you can see a LOT of light pass through. But they are indeed very warm under a layer of clothing. My new favorite leggings

August 13, 2019

Super Warm and a must have for winter camping

These leggings are a game changer for colder blooded people for winter camping. Im 5'10 and 160 pounds and got a size large and they fit wonderfully on their own or over a pair of another leggings for extra warmth. Wore these car camping in 0-20 degree weather over another pair of simple leggings and was perfectly warm. my only complaint was t... Read Morehat the seem (although marketed as seamless) in the crouch popped open even though I mainly wore these to bed with not alot of hard activity at all. Patagonia has a wonderful return policy though so i was able to exchange them super easily. Even though they had a small error it didnt stop me from re-ordering and even considering buying another paid because they are just that warm and weightless. The Air top that matches is also A MUST if winter camping!!

February 9, 2019

Tag fail

These long johns are really warm and comfy, but I gotta wonder why, after going to the trouble of making a seamless baselayer, they had to go and sew in not one, but TWO itchy labels. They’re so tightly stitched I’m afraid my trusty seam-ripper will damage these expensive pants if I try to remove them. Wish they came in a lighter color, too, as the... Read Morey are a golden retriever hair-magnet. It’s a shame, because the product is very nice otherwise.

December 11, 2018

love these!!

These are wonderful. They are very soft, adequately warm, and fit me perfectly (5'8 120# size small). They have held up very well after a few cycles of washing and drying, with no shrinkage. I can wear them for a few consecutive days without them getting too stretched out. Only minor issue is that the tags were itchy (even the patagonia tag t... Read Morehat shows on the back) but I removed them with a seam ripper without any issues. Love that you made these, Patagonia, thank you!

November 16, 2018

Highly versatile

Patagonia base layer bottoms must keep me warm! These fit perfectly in the stride, leg length and waist and are comfortable. I have a vast number of Patagonia bottoms, but this is different. I like the new weave, the warmth of merino, and the knit is pretty enough to wear these as leggings with a shift. Like the navy blue, too. I have to be very ha... Read Moreppy with this base layer to pay this much. Have worn them only once, so time will tell about how they hold up. Another review mentioned pilling which I would not like.

November 15, 2018

Perfect Weight

These pants are so good! They are really stretchy and not scratchy at all. Have already had to wear them several times and they are just a light, comfortable layer. I’ve had the mid weight capilene layer and much prefer these for the stretch they offer. I’m a large in most Patagonia bottoms but think I could get away with a medium in these. I kept ... Read Moremy size large but they do stretch out around the knees and tush after a few wears.

September 22, 2018

these are EVERYTHING

if i were to make a perfect pant - these would be it! they go up to around your belly button and zero digging with a elastic. i strongly dislike when companies use thin elastic in pants. The fabric is seamless, no digging and just so comfortable. I am 5'4, 130 with average build and got the medium, and the sizing is great. Please make in lots ... Read Moremore colors because I will buy them all. Thank you Patagonia for figuring these out.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches