Protect the ocean so it can protect us

Our future is tied to the ocean. Its shared seas connect us through food, culture and sport. The home of amazing, abundant life, it’s also a powerful climate solution. Yet the practice of bottom trawling threatens to destroy this precious resource—bulldozing our ocean floor, undermining small-scale fisheries and deepening the climate crisis. Let's end this destructive practice, starting with an immediate ban in marine protected areas and inshore zones.

Learn more

Shipping Information

We do our best to process and ship orders within 1-2 business days (Monday-Friday, excluding holidays). We kindly ask that you choose standard shipping where possible to reduce our environmental impact. If you have any questions about your order, you can reach out to our Customer Service team and we will be happy to help.

More Details

Returns

Unsure of the right size? Can’t decide between jackets? Our Customer Service team is here to help—the less unnecessary shipping, the better. We have no time limit on returns and accept both current and past-season products.

How returns work Start your return Customer Service

Subscribe

Sign up for product highlights, original stories, activism awareness, event updates and more.

Back to Product

Women's Capilene Cool Trail Shirt Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 179 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

4.2/5
Kinda Large
September 13, 2023

no styling t-shirt

This shirt has no flattering lines, very basic t-shirt in a very boxy cut and size down when ordering.

September 11, 2023

See-through

Had I known you were going to be basically see-through I wouldn't have ordered it. Frustrating for an expensive shirt.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review Mollie! We are very sorry to hear about how see-through this product was for you. Please know that you are more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item as we want you to be completely satisfied with all of your Patagonia purchases. In the meantime, please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team.

September 10, 2023

Soft and casual

The quality is soft and nice. I wore it as casual t shirt and kept myself dry under the humid weather.

September 9, 2023

Comfortable & light

I got this on clearance so it’s hard not to like it at the price point I received. It is lightweight & comfortable. I typically wear a size 10 or medium, but got a small, which fits snugly but not tight. I would have probably ordered a medium but it was not available in the clearance color. I will be wearing it as a base layer underneath the ma... Read Moretching hoodie that I also got on clearance. I am pleased with the shirt.

September 8, 2023

runs large

nice shirt, lightweight and folds small for travel. I like the longer back. Problem is I ordered several more on sale. There doesn't seem to be a consistent sizing for Patagonia capilene shirts. Some of the ones I ordered in medium and large are different-some of the mediums fit and some of the larges fit. This inconsistency in sizing makes if... Read More difficult to order on line

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2023

We're sorry to hear about the disappointing sizing. It's very possible that some of your purchased items have a slim fit design, while others are regular or relaxed. This Capilene Cool Trail shirt has a regular fit. We recommend checking the details below each product and don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you have any questions about products, or need to return or exchange. We'll be glad to help!

September 8, 2023

Inferior to the Lightweight Capilene

I was hoping to replicate the success I have had with Patagonia's excellent lightweight Capilene shirts. Unfortunately, this shirt was extremely see-through and yet somehow less breathable / heavier than the lightweight shirt. Not a great look and not cool enough for a hot summer's day. I am trying to wear long-sleeve shirts and less suns... Read Morecreen. This shirt was too heavy for that.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2023

Thank you for the feedback, Emily. We're sorry to hear that this shirt was not as breathable as you were hoping. You're welcome to send it back to us for a refund or merchandise credit. If you're looking for sun protection, we recommend checking out the [Women's Tropic Comfort Natural UPF Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-tropic-comfort-natural-sun-hoody/41935.html?dwvar_41935_color=STME&cgid=womens-tops).

September 7, 2023

Hot Weather Hiking

Love this material, it's perfect for hot weather activities! From a design perspective, I'd like a V-neck option, but this shirt is comfy, so lightweight.

September 7, 2023

Excellent Fit

I have a longer torso and the length is perfect. Lightweight and soft, also good for casual wear

September 4, 2023

Neckline too low, material somewhat

Neckline too low, material somewhat see-through

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2023

We're sorry to hear this lightweight fabric was more sheer than you were expecting, and that the neckline wasn't what you were looking for. Thank you for returning it, Barbara; we want you to be happy with everything you get from us. You might check out the [Capilene Cool Daily Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-daily-shirt/45225.html?dwvar_45225_color=FEA) for a similar shirt with a higher neckline and more opaque fabric.

September 3, 2023

perfect shirt

I love this shirt because it is so lightweight and super soft. It wicks moisture on my hiking adventures and looks great as an every-day t-shirt. I have purchased 2 of these and will buy more when they are available in different colors.

September 3, 2023

super soft

I had to seriously de bate buying this as I knew I did not absolutely need it. I am truly glad I broke down and purchased this capilene. It is so soft and comfortable. The knit gives it a beautiful look so it is useful for more than just a hard working base. I find myself wearing it for both social and athletic outings as well as evening relaxation... Read More. I plan on using the hood in the winter for an added layer. Really love it

September 3, 2023

Already had the same shirt

Already had the same shirt in a different color and like the slightly tapered waste and airiness even when I had to work in a tropical climate

September 2, 2023

Capilene Cool Trail Shirt

I used to love these shirts and bought the blue in same size runs smaller than my first two purchases. Shipping also took way too long.

August 31, 2023

Wicking wonder

I bought two capilene t shirts to test out before walking the Camino. I live in a hot and humid summer location and these did not disappoint! Yes, I’m soaked when done hiking but I’m not uncomfortable. These wash up nicely and odor free.

August 26, 2023

love the cut, stains easily

I love the scoop neck and slimming cut of this shirt, I know own three. The downside is that the fabric seems to pick up oil-based items very easily. I'm not a messy eater but those stains are there for good, even after the first wearing. Good thing it's a casual shirt.

August 26, 2023

Nice

Nice

August 22, 2023

Gets the job done

I bought this shirt during the summer sale and use it for hiking or walking the dogs. I haven’t put it through the ultimate sweat test and worn it on a run yet. I like the fabric and it does the job it’s supposed to, so I gave it 4 stars. I didn’t give it 5 stars for a couple reasons…. I ordered the small (my usual size) and it fits great around my... Read More torso and the length is perfect, but it’s really tight around my arms and armpits and also around my chest (but my cup size is DD so I’m used to that). I also don’t necessarily like the low scoop neck, but this is mostly just my personal preference. I’d prefer to be protected from the sun and have my chest covered. But for the sale price, it’s a nice quality shirt!

August 21, 2023

great fit

great fit

August 21, 2023

Nice!

Surprise, this is more than a simple t-shirt. The cut, how it lays, and the fabric all make this shirt more than it appears. The extra detail on the front and back shoulders are nice. I'm so glad I added this to my cart. 133 lb, 5'7" and the size small is just right.

August 21, 2023

Cool trail shirt

Very comfy I thought it might be too warm but not at all. Very”cool” Runs roomy

August 19, 2023

Too long/boxy for petite person

I love the colors and feminine style of the shirt. Unfortunately, it is too long and boxy for my petite frame. I am hoping that Patagonia will come out with petite sizing some day.

August 12, 2023

Great product.

Great product.

August 7, 2023

Not the Capilene Im used to.

First, I love my short and long sleeve Capilene shirts. They are functional and comfortable for hiking and walking. That being said, they are not super flattering. So I thought that this was possibly a more flattering/feminine version of my favorite shirts. They are not. First, these trail shirts are not made out of the same Capilene material that ... Read MoreI am used to. This material is thinner and not as smooth. Second, the cut/design of the shirts are just off. I am 5ft 8 in., 150lbs. I wear a 36D bra. I usually wear a Large in the regular Capilene shirts so they fit in my chest and arms, but then they are boxy and loose (but comfy) in my middle. So I ordered a Medium and Large in these trail shirts. Medium, once again too tight in the arms, but fit perfectly in the torso. Large fit the arms (I have pretty normal arms, not super muscular, not fat, just regular 45 yo arms), but too large every wear else. Plus the scoop neck with both sizes was way too low for me. Your entire chest would be exposed during hiking. Fit and design just really awkward. So these were a total fail for me and are being returned. I love my Capilene but I would love Patagonia to make a more feminine shirt option with the regular Capilene material. And I also wish they would not call everything Capilene when it is clearly a different material. Ill be sticking with the originals for now. Function over flatter.

Response from Patagonia
August 8, 2023

Hi Jolanta, we're very sorry to hear that the Capilene Cool Trail Shirt didn't meet your expectations. Try checking out the [Women's Capilene Cool Lightweight Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-lightweight-shirt/45765.html?dwvar_45765_color=SBLX). It features the same great Capilene material with a feminine silhouette, plus it has a bit more coverage. In the meantime, if you're unhappy with your purchase, please feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

August 2, 2023

Lightweight

Nice fit, lightweight, wears comfortably.

July 2, 2023

Nice style, a little warm

This shirt is comfortable and fits true to size. The material is a little warm for me, but the lighter one is too thin. I'd love something in between.

June 24, 2023

Light and comfortable

Great in this hot weather

June 16, 2023

I Love this Top Except the Tags

I purchased this top for summer trail runs and it's cool and comfortable. Capeline Cool fabric is soft, thin, cool, absorbent, and it doesn't cling. The fit is just right, though slightly long for my smaller frame. The only problem I have is the large cluster of scratchy plastic tags on the side seam. Since I'm a huge fan of Worn Wea... Read Morer, I hesitate to remove them in case I decide to trade it in some day.

Response from Patagonia
June 20, 2023

Thank you for this feedback on the tags, Anne! We will pass it on to our team. Actually the Worn Wear program can't accept baselayers, so cutting the tags wouldn't hurt anything in this case.

April 12, 2023

Great Color

I received one of these shirts as a gift and I wore it frequently on my 20-day trek of the Colorado Trail... it is great for wicking sweat and keeping odor out (a must for thru-hikes). I loved it so much I had to get a second shirt... the only thing I am not a fan of is how Patagonia is marketing everything as capilene. Maybe they could have a temp... Read More meter on the specs, so it is easier for consumers to understand what shirt is best for different temperatures?

April 8, 2023

versatile shirt with a great fit

This shirt has a really flattering fit, (I'm 5'6", 145 lbs., 32DD.) I wear it hiking, around the house, and to work and it keeps me cool when I'm on feet all day. A few years back I bought the same shirt in a different color and the material pilled badly after just a few washes. But it fit so well and I loved how well it kept me... Read More cool so I decided to give it another try and this year's shirt has not started pilling at all after about 5 mo. - woot!

March 2, 2023

Perfect shirt

It is so comfortable, cute, stylish, moisture wicking, fits perfectly. I love it!

February 5, 2023

Very soft

This is a nice, casual shirt that goes with pretty much anything. I love the velvety softness of the fabric. However, the sleeves are a little snug for my arms and the material is quite see through, so don't skip the bra with this one!

January 20, 2023

The longer cut is very

The longer cut is very comfortable! I look forward to wearing it as a layer on my Portuguese Camino hike this spring!

December 30, 2022

Good shirt

This feels like it runs smaller than the regular capilene shirts and has a more tech material feel. Its still great for sweaty rides through the forest preserves. The neckline is a bit lower than Id prefer but not as low as most.

December 2, 2022

Super nice and soft

Always good luck with your brand

November 29, 2022

Very comfortable, breathable and light weight

I love this T-shirt. Very comfortable, breathable and light weight. I have worn and washed it several times on delicate and hung to dry. No problem. I am looking forward to wearing this shirt for years to come. As far as size, I am usually between a small and a medium. I got the small and it was perfect.

November 20, 2022

Good hiking shirt with a couple issues

Very comfortable and deals with moisture well. However, the fabric is a little see-through, and the fabric is heavier than other hiking shirts I own.

October 26, 2022

Great t- shirt. Bought bigger

Great t- shirt. Bought bigger for extra comfort. Good length.

October 20, 2022

Quick dry/hard to stain

This top is perfect for layering. It feels weightless and fits slim under a flannel for cool mornings and warm afternoons. Love the color and fit.

October 10, 2022

Great All Around shirt

I saw this shirt in a review about clothes to take to walk the Camino de Santiago. I bought it at the last minute and have worn it every day for the last 10 days. It washes up quickly and drys over night to wear the next day. I bought the medium and it fits perfectly. Im 5 ft 8in and about 158 lbs.

October 9, 2022

Love at first wearing!

Comfortable, attractive, tough, dries quickly if it gets sweaty. If this shirt was a man I would marry it.

October 1, 2022

The shirt fits well and

The shirt fits well and will work well for layering.

October 1, 2022

Comfortable everyday wear shirt

The color is bright and goes great with navy and a plaid Patagonia travel shirt I already had in my closet. It's bit warmer than my capilene cool shirts which I wear all the time.

September 30, 2022

Great shirt

Love the way this shirt fits and looks. Comfortable. Used for running and hiking.

September 24, 2022

The perfect versatile

Great fit, shape, color and light fabric

September 22, 2022

New and improved (so far!)

I bought this in the hemlock green as a replacement for a green Patagonia tee I had for many years and loved - the armpit area of the old one began to show staining from my deodorant :(. This new version has a mor flattering scoop neckline and doesnt have a pocket on the front which allows it to dress up more easily. The only reason for four stars ... Read Moreis I want to see how it is after a few more washes and whether or not the full poly fabric continues to breathe well. While a bit expensive, I buy Patagonia tees for their durability and comfort in knowing the company is responsible in their manufacturing.

September 19, 2022

Opposite problem on this one.

Opposite problem on this one. Was really tight and I am 5 foot 4 inches and 125 lbs.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Hi Susan, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues with the sizing. Please note, you are always welcome to reach out to our Customer Service for exact measurements so we can get you into a product that will fit best. With that said, you are absolutely more than welcome to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this item at any time as we want you to be completely satisfied with all your Patagonia products.

September 18, 2022

Cool Trail Shirt

Nice cut shirt around sleeves and neck. A bit short on length, prefer an extra 2 inches on bottom of shirt. Comfortable and does keep you cool when it is hot outside.

September 16, 2022

So lightweight and soft!

I love this shirt. Perfect for all day on the trail but snuggly soft for the campsite or sleeping! The color is more vibrant than pictured (which I like!) I am a size 34B and the XS is not tight on me

September 10, 2022

Go to Shirt

This is my go-to shirt in warm weather. Travels well. Wicks moisture. Thin fabric but not transparent. Colors are a bit muted but pairs well with other muted colors, khakis and jeans. Flattering silhouette, not boxy. The neckline is just right for me, not too high like a crew neck but not too low to be revealing.

September 10, 2022

light and comfortable

really nice, lite and comfortable shirt

September 8, 2022

Its ok

Have an older style version of this shirt and love it. This one is not as good. Love the fabric but hate the scoop neck. It just comes down too low to be a functional running shirt. My sports bra comes up higher and sticks out, which just looks funny. And I do not really want to worry about sun blocking extra skin while out for a long run.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2022

Hi Morgan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the scoop neck. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 7, 2022

light and comfortable

good fit, light material

September 7, 2022

Favorite summer active shirt

Super comfy, great shirt for running and mountain biking in the summer, cool and dries quickly.

September 6, 2022

Great Fit

While I like the way it fits, the material is a little too thick to wear for hiking and any activities that make you sweat a lot.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Christine. We're sorry you're finding this fabric too thick for your needs! If you would prefer to return any of these shirts, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for a refund. In the meantime, you might check out the Women's Capilene Cool Lightweight shirt, which has an even lighter fabric.

September 5, 2022

Great anywhere shirt

I wear this shirt to work and for running errands and just living everyday life. Fits great, launders well and is just a great all around shirt. I also imagine my next hiking trip or vacation while wearing it which helps bring a smile on stressful days. Love and recommend it!

September 5, 2022

Like this- a little long

Like this- a little long for petite person and shows your bra but very soft and nice

September 5, 2022

My favorite shirt!!

I absolutely adore this shirt. It fits loosely and drapes nicely. I sweat a lot and it dries out pretty quickly. After I got one, I returned and ordered it in more colors. Its light weight and great for hiking, but it also looks nice enough to wear out and about.

August 6, 2022

Super comfortable

Super comfortable

July 21, 2022

No stretch

If you are looking for a traditional comfy T this probably isn't the one for you. It has a flattering cut and looks nice but the fabric was not as expected. I kept it but wont be getting another.

July 11, 2022

v. cute

Maybe the greatest t-shirt ever. Keep making larger sizes for women!

July 8, 2022

Comfy but loose

This shirt is soft and comfy but feels larger than a small. Also more lightweight than I expected.

June 30, 2022

I love this style - third time buying

I love the cut of the shirt and the quick dry fabric. This is the third shirt in this style that I've bought! Its a favorite.

June 12, 2022

Great technical t-shirt

I love this shirt, I had to get a second one. Wish they had more colors. It's very travel friendly, truly does not stink up, dries fast and is VERY flattering. Please make more colors and don't stop. making these. xo

June 5, 2022

Lightweight

I purchased this shirt before a bike packing trip because I needed more lightweight and wicking functions in a hybrid style (wear anytime for anything) kinda of shirt. I was very pleased with the style and functionality. My only desire is that the material was softerit feels a little stiff made from polyester. A soft wool blend may feel better on t... Read Morehe skin.

May 31, 2022

Too Much

I normally make Patagonia clothes work if I'm not completely in love with something but I will be returning this. As others have said, it is see through even in the blue color but that's not all. The fabric is kind of thick! Yes it's breathable but for this type of shirt it is very thick. To top it off, it has no stretch so it was a ... Read Morelittle uncomfortable in my normal size. It fit in the shoulders but because I am chesty and there was no stretch it was pulled up a lot in the back. If it had stretch I would probably have kept it to sleep in but I just have no use for it. I just got the Gloria Twist Top from Worn Wear and I hope you bring back that design because it is a very nice shirt with a very nice fabric for hot rainy weather.

May 9, 2022

Good fit

I bought two shirts from Patagonia at the same time, this was my second choice. It has a loose however it holds up great for activewear and I do like the color I purchased.

April 30, 2022

bring back a color

Hi there, I adore these shirts. Have bought several in case they get cancelled. BUT, I am interested in the green color you had. It is beautiful as well. Are they returning. my gratitude.

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2022

Hey there Darlene! It sounds like you prefer the Camp Green which we produced in 2020 and 2021. You may find one of those in our [Patagonia Outlet stores](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/), as they carry past season products. In addition, check back with us in the Fall because we release new colors each season. Thanks for your feedback!

April 6, 2022

Nice fit but stinks

So I have these in the Henley which isnt listed anymore. The fit is great- loose but cut well without looking sloppy . I got four of these tops- replacing old tees that I hiked in for years. My issue is that they smell really off. They arrived new and didnt have an odor. However after one short wear out for a walk, the top was sort of off-gassing a... Read More really odd smell almost like old Pennies or something dead. One top was so bad, I threw it out. Couldnt wash the stink out now matter how I tried. It made my whole closet smell dead. That one was older tho, and a hand me down from a friend. Anyways. Im still wearing them. I just think there must be a strange chemical in them that off gasses after its been heated up either by the body or the dryer. Im bummed because I love the feel and look of them.

Response from Patagonia
April 7, 2022

Hi Katharine! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the shirts you received have such a strong odor. We haven't received much of this feedback so it may be an issue with the specific items you received. We've reached out to you directly with some options to make this right.

March 27, 2022

Very light

This Ter is wonderful for travel to national parks!

February 13, 2022

RIGHT LENGTH

I usually have a hard time finding tops to hike in that are long enough. Love the longer hem on this shirt.

October 2, 2021

Comfy, cool, utilitarian

Keeps me cool and comfortable on hot days. No chafing. The cut of the bottom hem is flattering.

September 30, 2021

Great top

Lovely feel to this top. Great fit and comfy to wear.

September 25, 2021

Material is very thin

I have a previous shirt in this style and it is my "go to" shirt. This version as well as the long sleeve are both very thin. You can see through the material even double layered. It makes you feel you need to wear a tank underneath which rather defeats the purpose of a tee-shirt.

September 19, 2021

Good shirt / Love the color

I really like the shirt. It's a little "snugger" than I hoped. However, I readily admit that could be the fault on my end (gaining the COVID 10...pounds). But, I love Patagonia products and what the company stands for.

September 18, 2021

Yellow color is see-through

I like the fit and feel of this shirt a lot! However, the yellow color is definitely very see-through, and I can't wear it to work like I wanted. I would try other colors, but I wouldn't recommend the yellow.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fabric Katie. This top is mean to be ultra lightweight for activities like trail running. You may prefer a heavier weight option like our [Women's Mainstay Tee](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-mainstay-tee/52981.html).

September 13, 2021

Great Work-out shirt

Loose fitting. Great for sweaty workouts. 5'3" 115lbs.

September 6, 2021

Very comfortable

Comfortable in warm weather while out walking. Will likely purchase another.

September 2, 2021

Not quite right

I wanted to try this because I have the lighter weight capilene. This one was bigger all around and the cut of the neck was too wide. The only color left was the blue with black stripes, and the color was too dull - I prefer vibrant.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Hi Thea, we’re very sorry about the limited color selection. We should be getting more Capilene® Cool Trail Shirts on September 12th, 2021. The date is subject to change but go ahead and check back with us then.

September 2, 2021

Fun all-around shirt

Bought this on sale and not in love with the yellow color but wears better than it looks online. The material isn't as soft as I would like but does wick sweat well and keeps my shoulders from burning. Just a tad too big for me, but I'd rather too big than too small, and I think I'm in between sizes on this. Great hiking shirt when y... Read Moreou're a mile closer to the sun in Colorado. I'm 5'6" and 118 lbs with broad shoulders.

August 21, 2021

Variable Fit

I ordered two shirts of the same style and size. One is too small and the other is acceptable.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2021

Hello Karen, thank you for alerting us to the difference in sizing. We typically allow for a 3% variance on sizing but you are certainly welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the item if the fit does not work out.

August 12, 2021

Other year's model is slightly better

While this is still a good shirt, the previous year's model, with the buttons on the front, fits slightly better across the chest. Still a great piece. Comfortable and performs well. Dries well after a sweaty ride.

August 8, 2021

Light weight breathable base layer

The capilene cool shirts are very lightweight and breathable. I work outside and hike in south Florida and have to choose clothes that I can freely sweat in and look good.

August 7, 2021

Thin

This was much thinner than I thought. Would definitely need to wear it as an under layer.

July 28, 2021

A Classic

This shirt does just what I expect it to do. Lightweight and stays cool. Bonus points for resisting stink.

July 25, 2021

Very thin fabric

Great sleeve length and live the curved hem line. However, fabric very thin compared to earlier iterations- almost see through in the chicory red.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Janet! We've made so many iterations of Capilene fabric, it's tough to say which one you've had in the past. The previous version of this exact style used a 4-ounce fabric and this current product has 4.4-ounce polyester. Sometimes a solid color will be a different weight than a heather color for the same style. If you find the fabric weight to be a dealbreaker for your purposes, please reach out for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return it!

July 21, 2021

Fits small!

The fabric seems great! But its small! I ordered a L in this shirt and is the Capilene Merion short sleeve, which is supposed to be a slimmer fit, yet somehow that one fits perfectly and this one is way too snug! So, Ill have to return it.

July 15, 2021

Light weight and comfortable

A perfect weight for the gym classes and hiking

July 11, 2021

Perfect

Love this t-shirt! Yes, it keeps you cool but it is also very flattering and forgiving. I have 2 toddlers and am in my late 30's. I do NOT have the bod I used to have. I have a tummy that is obvious that I just cannot get rid of. This t-shirt helps me hide it well. It also shows off your curves and chest in the right way. Not too low cut. Grea... Read Moret to pair up with a sports bra or a push up bra! For reference, I'm 5'7 145lbs 36C, pear shaped. Small fit me great if you like it body hugging and a little loose in the tummy area. Medium was way too loose. Definitely ran large. I am usually a medium, sometimes large in clothes depending on the brand. Good luck!

July 3, 2021

Does Not Disappoint

Love the quality of my Patagonia tee shirt. Highly recommend. Have purchased Patagonia before. Good value.

July 1, 2021

Good fit

Fits great!

June 25, 2021

Great material, light very comfortable

Great material, light very comfortable for wearing.

June 22, 2021

Looks great, confortable and it

Looks great, confortable and it fits good

June 20, 2021

Perfect for summer

True size and fit perfectly

June 16, 2021

Sheer!

This shirt is sheer and I was not expecting this at all! I have two from previous season and they were not sheer. Not a total bummer but will be used in a different manner since I can't wear to work casually. Strictly for exercise. I would love to see Patagonia bring back the previous style that's not sheer and/or give options to folks.

June 12, 2021

Versatile lightweight tech tee

Bought one of these in the light purple and liked it so much I went back for the green one. The design is good for a hike or mountain bike ride, but doesn't scream "technical" so it works for traveling and city things. I'm 5'6" with 34B chest and the size small fits perfectly. The curved hem offers good coverage on the... Read More bike too.

May 30, 2021

Trail shirt

Brought for my wife, and as with all the items from patagonia go straight to her favourite. So no surprise it is her go to shirt for MTB and just wearing all the time.

May 18, 2021

Nice, but more sheer than I can wear at work.

I purchased this shirt in the striped purple, but then returned it. It was a little more sheer than I can wear at work for business casual... I know folks had mentioned that before, but I thought maybe getting it in a darker color would help? Nah, it didn't. The neckline was nice... different than some other shirts I have. Fit around the shoul... Read Moreders and bust good... but after that it got a little too "flowy and drapey" around the waist and mid section. Seemed to lack direction and motivation... just kinda hanging there awkwardly. Some other people might like that, but that's not my jam (another reason for my return).

May 18, 2021

Nice fit

It is soft and doesn't feel that plastique

May 13, 2021

Not for large chests

Once again a company fails to design shirts that fit a female body. Im sure this shirt is great if youre flat chested. Even ordering a size LARGE is too tight across my chest. Youd think clothing designers would get a clue that larger womens sizes means larger in the chest but they just cut everything the same. The fabric is also very thin and see ... Read Morethrough.

May 12, 2021

See through

First time Ive been disappointed with a Patagonia product. This shirt is completely see through and I unfortunately will be returning it. Very low quality.

May 12, 2021

See Through :(

Disappointed. I bought these so I could have something comfortable to wear at work and both color I got are see through. Returned.

May 11, 2021

Great colors

I love these...ordered 3 in different colors. My only regret is that my husband put it in the wash with a soap that had fabric softener and it softened it way too much. Hoping I can rewash and get the fabric back.

May 7, 2021

Good running shirt

This shirt is cool and comfortable for running. The fit isn't too tight or too loose. The light purple is a little sheer, which doesn't bother me for running, but I probably wouldn't like it in other settings.

April 29, 2021

Love it

Comfortable, keeps you in perfect temperature, didn’t feel wet with sweat. And i love the color, for someone who hikes solo i like colors that stand out in nature . Best part, the odor control,

April 25, 2021

Warm

Fits well washed still looks new! Great quality clothing

April 20, 2021

Large is very big

I have this shirt in a few colors , its very comfy . I felt the medium was just a little snug in the chest so I purchased a large . What a difference in size . The large is way too big . I wish there was something in between sizes.

April 13, 2021

Great; perfect fit

I have found that the last few years Patagonia women's stuff sizing is not what it used to be; it often just feels off, and it has been a primary brand I have worn for years and years. This shirt is perfect though. It is cut really well and is actually true to size. I could see buying this shirt in multiple colors if they introduce more colors... Read More in the future. Patagonia - please don't go and tweak with this cut/model in future years - it's perfect as is!

April 12, 2021

Great everyday t-shirt

This is a great everyday t-shirt. It is not as soft as other Patagonia t-shirts, but I still really like this! The size is as expected.

April 10, 2021

Super comfy

Love this T. So soft and comfortable. Ordered it in two more colors.

April 10, 2021

Feels wonderful on

Love this t-shirt, enough that I am considering getting another. I'd not really considered a loose fitting wider neck t-shirt for walking before but it just feels so soft, comfy and seems to deal with sweaty exertion really well!

April 5, 2021

Light weight and cool

This is the 2nd Trail Shirt I bought. Very comfortable when I do my cardio rehab and other exercises. When it gets warmer I look forward to wear it doing longer walks.

April 4, 2021

This shirt is great

I have this shirt in multiple colors. I was not a fan of the black color, but that was just a preference. (This material in black seems a bit faded) I love the fit of this shirt though. Cool & relaxed. I wish I had 20 of them so I could wear them every day. I definitely recommend.

April 1, 2021

Exceptional Fit and Finish

It is hard to find larger clothing with this kind of fit and finish. I love the length, the scoop neck and overall fit and design. I bought 3! LOVE them all.

April 1, 2021

Flimsy Material

I received this shirt as a gift. I was able to wear it once. I washed it in a delicate cycle with undergarments. It came out if the washer with pulls on the front and a hole. Highly disappointed in the garment.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. Sometimes top loading washing machines can be a bit more harsh on our clothes than we realize, so that could be what happened here. This is not something we have heard of being an issue before. Nonetheless, this is not the quality standard we hold our items to and gift or not, the Ironclad Guarantee still stands. To begin a return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 30, 2021

Great hiking shirt!

Light and comfortable. A little on the large side.

March 21, 2021

Completely transparent

This top shrinks after one wash and the fabric is completely transparent/see-through. Order a size bigger

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

We're so sorry to hear of the shrinking on your Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. If you'd like to do an exchange for a bigger size, you can get started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2021

Makes Me Stink!

Im 51 and 125 lbs. I ordered XS, and the cut is super flattering. I question the longevity of this shirt as it seems to pill easily. And I dont know what it is, but this shirt makes me stink! After a few hours wearing this shirt, I can smell my own armpits, and the smell is embedded in the fabric. This does not happen with any other shirt I own. I ... Read Moreguess my body chemistry is not compatible with this material. And before you ask, yes, I shower daily and wear deodorant ;)

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hey Diana! Thanks for providing this important feedback. You're not alone in this complaint. The Capilene fabric, though advanced in lightweight, moisture-wicking and quick drying properties, synthetic materials do not breathe as well. We'd recommend going with a natural fiber, such as wool, for your next-to-skin needs. You could consider trying out our [Capilene Cool Merino Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-cool-merino-shirt/44580.html?dwvar_44580_color=JELY), which is a Merino and Recycled Polyester blend.

March 4, 2021

See through

Purchased the pineapple color but thin fabric is %100 see through. Wont be ever wearing this unless I decide to show my bra and belly button to the world

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for providing feedback on the fabric. You are always welcome to return it for a refund.

February 27, 2021

Miss the old fabric

The material they used to wear this back in 2019 was really soft. It did pill, but I could overlook that because it was so comfortable and soft, not like typical stiff athletic T-shirts. Unfortunately, last year they switched to a fabric that doesn't pill, but isn't soft and stretchy anymore. I bought several thinking they'd be the s... Read Moreame as the old ones. Kept them, but I never wear the new ones unless all the old ones are dirty. Sadly, I won't be wearing the cool trail shirt anymore, which is super sad because they were by far my favorite shirt.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that you're not a fan of the update in fabric on our Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. Your feedback is valued and will go straight to our design teams. If you'd like to return, you're more than welcome to do so. We'd also like to encourage you to check out our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) website where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. You might get lucky and find one of the older versions that you love.

February 25, 2021

Comfortable

I was hoping would be as soft as my husbands capilene shirt, but I still like it. The only thing I think could be better has nothing to do with this. I think your mens underwear should be tales,

February 4, 2021

100% polyester Not what I expected

I ordered two of these shirts they are 100% polyester (I never would have ordered if Id known this) and both upon arrival have a horrible like sour chemical smell. Even after I washed them twice the smell is still there lingering in the material. I havent worn them and dont plan on since I loath polyester and the smell of these tops. I tried on and... Read More washed. Ive never ordered from Patagonia and thought I would love the brand, but I am very disappointed

January 25, 2021

Poor fabric quality

Material super thin. Cheap feel to it

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. This product is intended to be a lightweight base layer or solo layer for hot and high output activities. For a heftier fabric feel check out our [Women's Pastel P-6 Logo Organic Cotton Crew T-Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-pastel-p-6-logo-organic-cotton-crew-t-shirt/39576.html)

December 24, 2020

Super soft and looks good

This is my favorite workout shirt. Its soft and comfortable and It doesnt look like a workout shirt.

November 20, 2020

Need smaller sizes

I found this shirt runs large, especially very baggy around the underarms. I wish Patagonia's sizing were more consistent, since XS jackets fit me perfectly. There are no XXS options for this shirt, which sizes smaller women out. Please make an XXS. I would also love a crew neck option for both the long sleeve and short sleeve Capilene cool tr... Read Moreail shirts in similar earthy colors (camp green, classic navy, rust red).

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Hello Veena, we're sorry to hear this was too big, especially around the underarms. We are continuously working towards expanding our sizing to accommodate a wider range of body types. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us! We've passed it along to the appropriate team.

November 9, 2020

Looking good, keeping cool

I love the way the fabric of this shirt fits on my body. The cut of the fabric and shirt design is very flattering. I bought one shirt, loved it, and bought a second one. I've also given one as a gift to my sister-in-law. These shirts are awesome.

October 12, 2020

Flattering Fit!

I bought the blue t-shirt and am back to buy more as the fit is flattering, and I'm pretty picky on fit. Not clingy, however not too loose or boxy either, just grazes the figure with a slight a-line at the hips. Scoop neck just right. Length is perfect as well, partially covers bottom for wearing with yoga pants, but not too long for jeans. P... Read Morelease make this in other colors! Black and Dark Navy.

September 29, 2020

Average top

Doesn't fit my body the best, but still looks OK. Not the most comfortable, but still feels fine working outside. There are other tops that are more flattering and feel more comfortable.

September 18, 2020

Super cool! Capilene Trail shirt

My daughter really loves the Capilene College shirt fabric! She is a size medium. She uses it for camping, rock climbing, mountain biking ️ !

September 14, 2020

Not Odor Resistant

I bought this shirt for hiking/backpacking and the odor control is a joke. It smells really bad while wearing it, and after only a few wears it now has a permanent funk. I know this can happen with synthetic clothes, but really disappointed it happened so quickly on a higher quality item that boasts odor control (I've also tried washing it wit... Read Moreh baking soda which helps some). That being said, it still gets 3 stars because I do like the fit and material for everyday (material is a little heavy for where I hike in mid-atlantic heat/humidity). I just can't use it for what I bought it for which makes me sad. Hoping I can get the smell to go away and will just have to retire it from athletic pursuits.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

Hi Kate, we're really sorry the odor control of your shirt is lacking. Usually washing it with baking soda helps, but since you mentioned you already tried that and it didn't exactly work, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. Feel free to reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions.

September 4, 2020

Nice style

I like the style of this shirt. Specifically the scoop neck and rounded hem. Length is great. Shoulders are a little tight on me but not enough to go up a size because the body of the shirt would be too big. I dont find the fabric to be as soft as described. Also it is slightly sheer. It does resist odor. I can wear a couple days in a row in hot we... Read Moreather and it stays relatively stink-free. I like the color too- I got blue.

September 3, 2020

Get one in every color!

Amazing technical shirt that doesnt feel or stink like a technical shirt!

September 2, 2020

Favorite T

I loved the tank top so much I tried the t-shirt. I ordered it in two colors and I am glad I did cause now I just want more. It fits so well and is so comfortable. I also spill a lot on myself and these things don't seem to stain.

September 1, 2020

sizes do not work for me

My husband purchased a this t in a store for me in an XL. It was snug in the chest, so I ordered 2 XXL for myself. They had huge neck openings and fell off my shoulders. I really wish patagonia would make a nice XL t that ran a little looser in the chest, so I could enjoy these tops.

September 1, 2020

Cool and comfy

Loose, good length and great colors. Neck and sleeves are also nice. Holding up well to my wash and wear.

August 8, 2020

Love this shirt

I am 5'10" and it is very hard to find a shirt that is long enough but not too long. This shirt is perfect. I love the fabric bc it is cool and lightweight without feeling synthetic and rubbery. It also washes wonderfully and no shrinkage.

August 7, 2020

Great base layer

Love everything about this shirt...except the colors. Its material and fit is great. Long enough in the front and back for leggings. Just please make it in white or light grey to help the ladies who prefer even a more basic, basic!

July 22, 2020

Awesome everyday shirt

It's soft, super lightweight, great for the summer in the southwest. Go ahead and sweat a little! It dries fast.

July 7, 2020

Comfortable Shirt - Quality built

As a larger women finding a quality shirt that is great for physical outdoor activities that holds up over washes, is hard to find. Well this shirt checked all the boxes, soft and comfortable and goes great both on a casual weekend or hiking.

June 28, 2020

Too short

Purchased this in a medium for my 5'4" wife, who has worn Patagonia mediums for years, and it was too short. Maybe she has a longer-than-average torso, but I had to return it. Other Patagonia tops in her closet are around 22" from the front of the neck straight down to the bottom; this shirt is just 20". Really like the fabric a... Read Morend color, but wish it was 2" longer (maybe 2.5" to allow for some shrinkage).

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hi Andy, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear the the shirt didn't fit your wife quite right. We really appreciate the feedback as it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We've passed this feedback along to our design crew!

June 10, 2020

Comfy Shirt (except for tag)

My sister insisted I get this shirt, and she was right, sweat evaporates right off it and keeps me cool. So its a keeper. Except for the tag on the hem, I had to remove it because the hard edges of the tag kept irritating my hand as it would brush against it. So Patagonia, rethink that scratchy tag please.

May 29, 2020

Pilled up on the backside though

I love my tee and plan to order more! Bought one for a 3 week tour last spring and it was pilled up before the end of the trip! Not sure if it was my backpack or the bus seats, but that was disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2020

Hi Becky, we're so sorry to hear about the pilling. By their nature, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia sweater, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at [wornwear.com].

May 18, 2020

Great fit

I love this shirt, bought the blue & yellow and just ordered 2 more colors. It fits great for us shorter people, the right length, a flattering scoop neck that doesn't go too low, not too flowy but not too tight body. The only issue is that the yellow and is very sheer so you can see my bra through it. I don't mind when I'm hikin... Read Moreg, etc but can't really wear it "in public" like that. Also, I don't see running in this shirt... but love it for what it is. I am 5'2" 120lbs and a 34C and the XS is just right.

February 27, 2020

Comfortable Workout Shirt

This version of the Cool Trail Shirt has a better neckline than the prior versions. "Better" means it has a slightly smaller scoop neck, so it gives you more sun protection and covers bra straps. I got it in the Camp Green color; love the color and the fit.

November 30, 2019

Perfect Fit!

Very comfortable! Love it. I wish there were more color options.

November 22, 2019

Fabulous tee shirt!

These shirts are amazing. Great fit, dry very quickly and look as good as they day I bought them. I now have three.

November 19, 2019

Soooo soft

I will be getting more of these shirts. They are so soft and comfy and very flattering as well. I've worn them all day long, traveling and then to bed. Makes packing light easy. My usual size in Pat is medium and that's what I got. Loose and airy but not frumpy.

November 10, 2019

Flattering trail-specific shirt

Patagonia did a great job designing the cut of this shirt. It hangs well, and is flattering. I wanted to love this shirt because it felt like a perfect shirt for backpacking - the seams were in good places and not itchy, and it seemed like it breathed well. However, I got one of the summer colors (Star Pink) and it was see through! I was wearing a ... Read MorePatagonia Cross Beta Sports bra in a teal color, and I could see the bra through the shirt! I tried with a lighter color sports bra, and same issue. I returned the product, and will be more careful on the color I choose for this shirt next time. This seems like an odd issue to have - I for one don't but white sports bras because I sweat and then they get discolored. Time for a re-design.

October 27, 2019

Great for travel

I brought two of these shirts with me for a three week trip to Italy this autumn. I wish I had brought more of these shirts, because they were the quickest drying of all the clothing I brought. I’d wash a shirt in the hotel sink, hang it on my travel line, and by morning, it would be dry. The fabric was soft and pleasing to wear. The one drawback t... Read Moreo this shirt I’ve found is that it pills easily. FYI, other two Patagonia shirts I brought (Mount Airy) dried almost as fast.

October 3, 2019

Love. Love. Love.

This fits me perfectly! Mostly covers my bum and is super soft. Love the way it hangs on my body. I wish it also was offered in grey and black.

September 23, 2019

so soft and comfortable, &

so soft and comfortable, & looks good w/ tights for a work out or jeans for a casual meet up

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches