Back to Product

Ws Shelled Synchilla® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 55 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Shelled Synchilla® Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
January 2, 2022

LOVE

I love this jacket, knew I would when I laid eyes on it! Such a classic look and really nice fit. Im 53 Approx 120 and the small is perfect with enough room for base layers and a hoodie. Its perfect. Id love to see more color options in the future and inside pocket options too. Well made anyway!

December 28, 2021

Really light and confortable. Its

Really light and confortable. Its very warm

December 5, 2021

So happy - the perfect jacket exists!

This is your classic, retro-looking jacket and the bold interior fleece is so welcome. It's lightweight and I wear this with everything and everywhere! Absolutely love the high neck - it means I don't need to carry a scarf around if it gets windy or chilly. The size medium is perfect on me - I'm 168 cm tall, long limbs and 132 lbs. I... Read More ordered the small to try on for size and it was far too small - especially in the arms. My friend is around 3 inches taller than me and far slimmer, she tried my jacket on and the medium size still looked great on her too.

December 5, 2021

My new favourite jacket

This jacket is functional - very warm with a cosey fleece interior, and also water resistant. But it looks great too with a sporty bomber look so I’m happy to wear out biking or hiking all day or to go out for casual drinks. Would definitely recommend!

November 28, 2021

Really wanted to love this, but this runs too large.

Really wanted to love this jacket, well made, and color is as what is displayed online, and seems warm. Sadly though this runs too large. :( So i'll have to return.

November 12, 2021

Good fit

Love the jacket it fits nicely- sleeves are a perfect length for me which is unusual! Comfortable fit around my hips I’m a size 12 if it helps anyone! Only wish the lining was a more muted colour

November 9, 2021

Sleeve length too short

Other then the arm length in the sleeves being too short and riding up when you go to grab something.this jacket is GREAT!!!

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2021

Thanks for this valuable feedback!

November 4, 2021

Super warm

The eggplant color is just amazing the fit is five star comfort is also five star. I love the jacket

October 31, 2021

Staple

Im so glad I was able to get this jacket and the size and color that I wanted Im typically a sz small in Patagonia tops and this one ran true to size for me, hitting just at the hip. If you were debating on purchasing, just go ahead and grab it. It will last for quite a while and youll be able to wear it for most of the year.

October 5, 2021

So awesome!

I have been looking at this jacket for a while now but I couldn’t decide which size to purchase. I have broader shoulders, I am on the tall side with a short waist and long legs with some extra weight on around the tummy. I bought a large and it is perfect! As mentioned, it’s not a shapely fit ( room in arms , shoulders, chest etc) but it’s exactly... Read More what I wanted. It’s not sloppy but spacious to wear a thin sweater underneath in cooler temps. The arm fit was fine for me & I have longish arm but the shoulder room gives length there.

September 24, 2021

Super Warm & Super Comfortable.

It fits perfect, however Im waiting for the weather to change to fully use this garment but I anticipate no problems after wearing it around the house a bit.

September 17, 2021

Cozy & Stylish

As soon as I saw this jacket in store I HAD to have it. I absolutely adore the style and it is super soft inside. I wear an XS t-shirt and bought the size XS jacket with plans to layer a sweater under. I am so excited for this jacket because it looks nothing like my others - I can't wait for it to get cold!

September 8, 2021

Lovely jacket

Had one years ago and loved it, every bit as pleased with my new one

July 11, 2021

Seems very warm

This jacket seems very warm. I havent worn it outside yet but overall seems wonderful quality and heavy! The only thing I can complain about is its a little tight in the arms if you were to reach forward so I feel like if I was going to be doing a lot of movement in it then it wouldnt be ideal but overall good for casual wear.

July 2, 2021

Super Cute!

I ordered this online and I received it the next day. I am in love this jacket, it is just too cute. I am 5'3 and I ordered a small, which fits perfectly on me. I even tried to layer with a thick sweater and it still fits really nicely on me. I got the green one and if there are more color options, I would consider getting another one!

May 14, 2021

Super Warm

This jacket is perfect! I took it when I was on the slopes, and it was so warm and comfortable. It fits very well, and the sleeves are the perfect length. Great jacket!

April 29, 2021

Warm but neckline too high

The jacket was really comfortable to wear but the neckline was way too high and looked odd so I sadly returned it.

April 12, 2021

Love Love Love!

I absolutely love this jacket. The cozy soft fleece inside, the wind and water resistant outer shell. Its absolutely perfect. Comfy with enough room for movement! The collar is tall to block out a chilly breeze but can by folded down when not needed. I cant recommend this enough!

April 11, 2021

Super warm

Excelent

April 1, 2021

Super cute and very well constructed jacket but fit wasn't for me

I really wanted to love this jacket, it's well constructed, super cute and very cozy. I bought a small and it was too short in the sleeves, too short in the torso, and gave a very boxy fit and look on my body. My shoulders are a bit on the broad sizer and I have a longish torso but I own 5 or 6 other Patagonia jackets, all sized small and they... Read More all fit great. This one just didn't work for my body type and I returned it. It's a great jacket, though. If you have narrower shoulders and a shorter torso you'll probably love it.

March 29, 2021

Warm and snuggly arms short

This is an updated review. I love the waist band it is fitted. The length is a little short but what I was looking for think 80s style. The issue is the sleeve length I cant reach for anything without it going above my wrists. I have broad shoulders and the fit is good in the body.

March 24, 2021

Comfy

I think the jacket is a bit short. But there is a bit of room in the sleeves for layers.

March 21, 2021

Obsessed

Loved this jacket as a teenager in the 90s, and obsessed with this reissue. Had no issues with the collar, found it totally normal. I have 100 patagonia jackets in Large and this one is a little looser than most, which I didn't hate. Plus, this is SO WARM. Warmer than any puffer, shell or fleece I own. Love the look, love the comfort, love it ... Read Moreall.

March 16, 2021

THIS IS YOUR SIGN TO GET ONE

Holy crap! This jacket is the MOST comfortable thing ever! I bought the barn red one (or burnt orange as I like to call it)- looks exactly like the picture. Not sure what all the fuss is about with the collar when its really no issue at all! The jacket is really, really soft inside. And I love that retro aesthetic to it. Id say the sizing runs abou... Read Moret the same as the regular snap synchillas. I wear a medium in those and a medium in these fit fine. Also, Im about 53-54 and I love that this jacket isnt overtly long (Im looking at you better sweater grrrr >:( ). Length is petite friendly. Highly recommend this over all! If youre on the fence about buying a shelled synchilla, this is your sign to buy it!!

March 9, 2021

Great jacket

I usually am not a fan of jackets without hoods but I love this jacket. Its a retro look - my parents have jackets like this from college in the 1980s which are still in great shape and still being worn by my bother and I. I like this jacket because its warm, light and didnt let any wind through. The collar has gotten some negative feedback in prev... Read Moreious reviews - it doesnt bother me . I like that the collar comes up higher on your neck. It avoids any unnecessary wind/ drafts. I tried on a medium and a large . The medium was perfect fit and looked nice with room to spare. However I decided to go with the larger size for layering and I like jackets to fit bigger personally I think they look better and are more comfortable that way . I would say if your on the fence though stay with your normal size . Patagonia thanks for bringing back this style so glad to see its still popular like it was in the 80s.

March 9, 2021

Love this jacket!

I am 56, 140 lbs and the medium fit perfectly. I love this jacket! Its warm but not too warm, very cute and stylish (I got the green). If its really windy, the tall neck keeps you warm without even needing a scarf. I wear this on my walk to work when its been 30-60 degrees out (wear a sweater at 30 degrees, short sleeve at 60 degrees) but also boug... Read Moreht it for hiking trips and to and from the gym. 100% recommend!

March 4, 2021

Love! Love!

Perfect jacket for the cold New England days and nights! I ordered a little big so I can wear a sweater underneath but this jacket keeps you warm and toasty even with a simple long sleeve shirt. Highly recommend!

February 28, 2021

Love the style, awkward fit on me

Such a cute throw-back design, but the length fell awkwardly on my 54 body- not quite short enough or long enough to fall at a natural looking length. Had to return. :(

February 26, 2021

Cute & Super Warm Jacket with retro vibes

Love this jacket! It's perfect for cool nights in SoCal, I don't imagine having to layer too much underneath it but there's definitely room for a thick layer underneath. For reference, I'm 5,1, 115 pounds, got the XS and it has a good oversized fit for me. I got the blue and the colors are vibrant and with the structure of the j... Read Moreacket give off super retro vibes. Thanks Patagonia!

February 24, 2021

Odd fit

I owned one of these in the nineties and loved it. Somebody stole it. I was so excited to see it come back but the fit is not at all what I hoped for. This was about a foot too large around the bottom and the arms were too short. Granted, I did buy a men's the first time so it was longer and the sleeves were long, but I'm not a man so I w... Read Moreas shocked at the fit. I should have bought a medium to fit but the arms would have been several inches too short. The color of the jacket and the synchilla was everything I hoped for, just beautiful. Please try again for next season in this awesome color. (and make it in a men's, please.)

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Women's Shelled Synchilla Fleece Jacket. We're so sorry to hear that the fit didn't work for you, and the sleeves were too short. We know this style is much loved, so it will definitely be coming back and your feedback helps us fine-tune future releases. In the meantime, if you'd like to make a return, you can get started on one [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 24, 2021

Warm, cozy, and I love the colors!

This jacket is great for walking the dog, doing errands, etc. Its heavier than a down jacket (no surprise) but quite warm, and I like the feel of the fleece lining against my neck when I zip the jacket up all the way. The shell repels wind and moisture, too. Pockets that zip closed are a bonus. The blue-and-purple combination is bright and attracti... Read Moreve. Im very happy with this Patagonia purchase!

February 21, 2021

Retro, super warm!!

Im 53 tall with broad shoulders and I bought an XL after reading the reviews from similar height people. I purchased the orange/Barn Red for visibility when hiking in the woods. The color is nice. The fit is as one reviewer said, not flattering and the coat was a bit on the large size, but the sleeve length seemed to be good for me. Im short with l... Read Moreonger arms. I considered sending it back, but went for a walk in mid 20 degree weather with a fleece and this jacket and nearly burst into flames. I had to unzip it halfway to cool down. I was wearing a wool lined cap also. The coat is SUPER WARM and lightweight. I couldnt believe the coat was as warm as it was for the weight. I LOVE IT. its un-cute for the shape, but it does the job it was made to do. Its not too long at the waist or sleeves for me, but it is boxy and bulky. This is my first order from Patagonia. I just need gloves made like this jacket and I would be happy.

February 16, 2021

Comfiest practical jacket

I typically wear a small in t shirts, medium in pullovers or jackets, and I sized up to a large to make sure the arm and torso length were adequate. Its definitely a retro, oversized style. Not really meant to be figure flattering, but the inside is so soft and cozy that I dont care. The pockets are also lined with the fuzzy synchilla fabric. I def... Read Moreinitely recommend this jacket, I wish Id gotten it sooner! The green color is lovely.

February 11, 2021

Just like moms

Love this coat... snuggly soft on the inside... great wind and water blocking outside.

February 5, 2021

Roomy and warm

Amazing for layering. I love it for ice fishing, taking the kids sledding, ice skating etc. Very roomy, could have sized down but I really appreciate fitting bulky layers under it for extended time outside. If youre between sizes youd be safe to size down.

February 4, 2021

Perfect for PNW

This jacket has a great retro fit. I have wide shoulders, long arms and a long torso it fit exactly as I expected on the waist and arms are perfect. I would like the banded hem to be more snug like an 80s jacket, but overall its perfect. I really love the long collar zipped up as my face/ nose and neck get cold in the PNW. Blue color was perfect!

January 28, 2021

Beautiful colors and comfortably warm

I love this jacket's bright blue shell with warm violet fleece. It's perfect on a cold day.

January 25, 2021

Love this jacket

Very warm, comfortable, and un-fussy, plus super cute and comes in great colors. Very happy with my purchase.

January 21, 2021

BEST JACKET

Hi all, I am here to strongly advise you to get this jacket. This jacket is revolutionary and has changed my LIFE. It is so soft on the inside and fits perfectly. I never find myself cold or hot when wearing it. I want it in every color. If Patagonia would like to sponsor me for a new jacket, I would just about die. Please do that, and readers, ple... Read Morease by this.

January 19, 2021

Best Throwback

I had versions of this when I was a child. Love the updated higher collar. Warm and keeps the wind out. Love it!

January 18, 2021

80s Ski Trip-tastic

I feel as trendy as Princess Diana on a ski holiday when I wear this coat around town! The blue color is vibrant and the inside color purple creates a fun throwback combo. It fits like a dream; no wind can get to you because it fits close to the waist and wrists. (It will make your lower half look good, you know what I mean?) Overall, this is an ex... Read Morecellent purchase.

January 5, 2021

Great all around Jacket!

I love this jacket, it is what I was looking for. Very lightweight but very warm. The fit is perfect. The only minor issue that I have is the sleeves are lined with the same fleece as the shell of the jacket and it makes putting the jacket on a little cumbersome i.e the sleeve of your shirt gets scrunched up in the sleeve of the jacket. This makes ... Read Morethe jackets sleeves feel bulky. Wearing lightweight longsleeve shirts helps not having that bulky feeling in the sleeves. Other than that this is a great jacket!

December 19, 2020

Great daily wear jacket

I love this jacket, the fleece in the pockets is really soft (my previous similar jacket had nylon in the pockets). I was worried about the neck zipping up too high because of one review but it is perfect for me, hits right below my mouth so keeps my chin warm. I would need a Large to wear a sweater underneath but Medium works fine with a cotton tu... Read Morertleneck which is what I normally wear. I got the green which I really like.

December 3, 2020

Everyone Needs this Jacket

It has pockets. The collar is a great neck warmer. Color is pretty.

November 29, 2020

Warmth!

Finally a jacket for petites (I normally buy girls XXL). Great style, warmth, and comfort. I love fleece with the shell - helps cut the wind you dont get with fleece alone. Would buy this in other colors.

November 20, 2020

Cute + warm

I am 5'3", about 130 lbs and I got the size small in the burnt orange color. I liked the way the x-small fit a little better, it was a little less bulky in the shoulders but I didn't think I'd be able to layer and bike comfortably when it gets to be serious winter (well, "serious" for California). It's very warm, ... Read Morewell made, and a cute, casual style that is vintage-y while still being modern. Love the red accents! I almost wish this one was color blocked, like the purple, but ultimately feel like it's thoughtfully designed. This is my first and last fleece purchase though, and I hope Patagonia and other eco brands move away from synthetic materials.

November 7, 2020

Perfect for fall weather

This is a great jacket for now fall Its warm enough but not too warm for this weather . When a winter jacket would be to warm this jacket is perfect. I wear it when I go birding and its chilly in the morning . Its warm enough and keeps my neck warm too. I love the jacket. Fits. Perfect

November 5, 2020

My favorite jacket

I have worn this jacket for over 30 years, buying mens when womens was not available. On this version, the sleeves are a little long for me. I bought the womens because the mens large was just too long in the arms. Alas, I still have that problem with the xl womens. On the plus side it has plenty of room for layering underneath. In the East we need... Read More a medium layer and water resistant outer covering which is why I dont like jackets made for out west; they often are not comfortable in our rainy, sleety winters. But this jacket takes me down to 30 degrees with no problem.

October 22, 2020

Beautiful color

I'm 5'10" 140 lbs. Based on other reviews I ordered a size up from my normal size as it runs a bit short. Got a medium and fits great. The style is a bit on the shorter side and sits at the top of my butt. I live in northern MN and would wear this in 20-45 degree weather.

October 19, 2020

Kinda Plump

I want to love this jacket because the design is so good, like an updated version of the classic Bean 'warm up' jacket, but the way it's constructed just isn't great for a tall person. The sleeves are too short and because the shoulder seams fall down onto the upper arm, it creates a bulky silhouette up top. I'm 5'10&q... Read Moreuot; and the sleeves come far above my wrists. I put it on over a sweater and the fleece is much thicker than I expected (which is great in colder weather, I was looking for more of a fall jacket), so I looked like a big ol' pumpkin! And I'm afraid that if I go up to a L, it will be even worse and the sleeves won't be much longer. Anyway, the high collar is so adorable and the rest of the jacket is great, but probably best if you're on the shorter side... will be returning this one, sadly.

October 19, 2020

Made for "shorties"!

I absolutely LOVE this jacket because it is extremely warm and the funnel neck keeps me extra cozy on windy days. It's impervious to wind but the arms do run a bit short (even for me; a short-limbed person). I would also say that it will probably fit shorter torsos better than those you are tall/long-limbed. I normally wear a size XS but I wan... Read Moreted there to be enough room to be able to wear large sweaters underneath and not be suffocating, so I sized up to a Small and it fits perfect. (For reference: I have a chest size of 34", waist is 29" and hips are 33-34".)

September 25, 2020

Warm, cute, on the short side

I just got mine in the mail and I LOVE IT. It's very warm but light, and the fleece is super soft. The retro style is cute. Too hot to wear it now but I'm looking forward to using it in winter. This is probably not a great option for taller folks if you want it to cover your whole arm. I am 5'1" and the sleeves are a great leng... Read Moreth on me if I stretch my arms out the cuffs end at my wrist and if my arms are at my side there is just a little bunching. I have approx a 38" bust, 30" waist, and 40" hips and the medium is a good fit. I'm able to move comfortably in this size, but I think it would be stuffy to have a thick sweater or hoodie under it. You should probably size up if you want a baggier fit.

September 14, 2020

Old school classic

This jacket is exactly what I was hoping for. Fleece inside is soft and warm, pockets are big and also lined. The subtle color green is exactly as pictured. Im typically a small in Patagonia jackets but had to exchange for a medium and it now fits great.

September 8, 2020

Perfect...except for the collar

The retro vibes of this jacket are hard not to fall in love with but---this collar is unreasonably large. When left open, this jacket is a perfect throwback fashion statement. However, when zipped closed (as one would usually wear a cold weather jacket), this collar is way too large and in charge to be functional or fashionable. I can't turn t... Read Morehe collar down and have it lay flat, leaving the collar popped up covers up nearly all of my face, and keeping it zipped partly open makes this collar function more like wing. I nearly kept the jacket despite this just for its Marty McFly-esque qualities but alas, I must return it. I will definitely be keeping my eye out if this style every gets a 2.0 though! It was super warm and the color is so lovely.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hi! Thanks for your review on the Women's Shelled Synchilla Fleece Jacket, we're happy to hear you were a fan of the color and warmth but sad to hear the collar wasn't doing it for you. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) for comparable jacket recommendations and measurements. Cheers!

September 3, 2020

Old Skool Vibe

I Really love this jacket it reminds me of my old school Patagonias growing up. Especially love the wider neck coverage. This seems like its going to be nice and warm for the fall. It has a nice relaxed fit I love the green color I got :-)

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches