Back to Product

Ws Retro Pile Marsupial

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 114 Reviews

Clear All

Ws Retro Pile Marsupial

4.4/5
Kinda Large
November 19, 2021

great city sweater!!

Hi!!!! I was gifted this fleece for my birthday, and I must say I love it. It kept me warm against the cold city weather, and honestly i did not need any other layer on top of this. Super fuzzy and warm, love this. However, after around 10 wears i noticed a rip in the seem of the arm sleeves. It wasn't noticeable, but it made me upset because... Read More of how expensive it was. I sewed it up and its good as new, and i cannot wait to wear it in the future!!

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

Hello Ruby, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for the DIY repair. In the future, if a Patagonia item needs fixing, our [Repair Team](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) is also happy to help.

November 11, 2021

Very cosy

The fleece is gorgeous. Very warm. It’s very true to size. Certainly does not run large as some mentioned. I’m 167cm and approx. 55kg, slim straight built. I like outdoor clothes to be a bit baggy and size S fits perfectly, but certainly isn’t baggy. I hope it doesn’t shrink when washed. Quality is great. Just ordered hiking pants. Love the brand.

November 8, 2021

Cozy, warm and stylish

Theres a lot to love about this cozy, warm, and attractive fleece. The large marsupial pocket has functional storage space and a warm place for your hands. The chest pocket is big enough to fit an iPhone 13 mini. This has been a staple for chill autumn days and pairs great with tights for casual wear, walking the dog, or lounging. It runs a bit roo... Read Moremy with a modern square shape. The one issue I have with it is the fabric, which sheds a trail of fleece fuzz behind me wherever I go and pills significantly.

November 5, 2021

Best Pullover!!!

I bought this three days ago and have been wearing it since - thus far no issues with fabric shedding. It's a loose fit, but snug enough around the waist to keep the heat in, but relaxed throughout the body, very cozy and comfy fit. It's very warm. Highly recommend!!

November 3, 2021

Cozy cold weather staple

Incredibly warm, soft and cozy! I l love the boxy and slightly oversized fit and the generously sized pockets. This is a great cold weather casual staple that looks great. Only downside is it pills and sheds easily, so Im constantly leaving a trail of fuzz behind me.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

Hello Johanna! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback and we're happy to hear for the most part you're happy with the pullover. Some shedding is expected with a newer fleece but after the first few washes that should stop. If it doesn't stop and becomes a larger issue you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under warranty.

November 1, 2021

Too small overall

This garment was very disappointing in overall fit. It runs small across the shoulders and is rather tight fitting. It does not feel cozy, it feels small. The armpits on the sleeves were so low I had about 3 inches of fabric there and could barely raise my arms. I wear a medium in all of my tops and it fits perfectly. Patagonia seems to have straye... Read Mored from realistic design on this one. I am 5'3'' and around 125 pounds so a medium should have been just right. A larger size would not have helped the low armpits and overall fit would have been off. The fabric is great and I loved the longer zipper opening. The previous model and a rather small neck opening which was weird. I hope you go back to the drawing board on this one. I did try a full zip one this summer and it fit the same way. I am sad this didn't work out.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2021

Hi Molly! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the pullover. With that said, this feedback is much appreciated as it how we improve things for future seasons. We'll pass this along to our design crew!

October 29, 2021

Super comfy

I would say this fits true to size. I ordered a Medium for a more oversized fit. Love the color and the fit. I have been wearing this most days since Ive had it when its cold outside!

October 22, 2021

Super warm and cosy..

Thats about it.. and Love the colour

October 20, 2021

Sheds a lot

I really want to love this (its very cute) and would wear it a lot more if it didnt shed fuzz everywhere! Ive washed it several times and it still sheds Im afraid its gonna fall apart.

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2021

We're sorry to hear that the fleece fabric hasn't been durable for you. For [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html), we recommend closing all zippers and snaps, machine wash on gentle cycle in cool water with a mild detergent and no fabric softener. You may hang to air dry or tumble dry on low heat, again with no fabric softener. If that doesn't help, you're welcome to return it under our Ironclad Guarantee!

September 24, 2021

Nice fit and very cozy

This was my first purchase from Patagonia. I had wanted a jacket from the Retro line for a long time. I ended up choosing the marsupial version. I am petite, and the size XS fits me well, just a bit longer. I really like the colour, the cut and the feel of the fabric.

September 24, 2021

Cozy and stylish

This was my first Patagonia purchase. Honestly, I I didnt need the Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial Pullover, I just wanted to support a company that gets under Tucker Carlsons skin. The pullover really is comfortable and the fit is great. I plan on adding more pieces to my wardrobe. Thanks for being an upstanding company!

September 22, 2021

Really beautiful and practical fleece

This fleece has a lovely design and I like the pockets - very practical. I went for a medium for an oversized look (I am a size 10, small) and so I can layer up in winter. The Abalone blue colour is gorgeous :). Will get lots of wear outdoors, work and casually.

September 15, 2021

Ws Retro Pile Marsupial

I bought this for my daughter's birthday and she loves it. Its warm, soft, cosy, light weight and looks great. Ideal for cooler evenings. I want one too. My only preference would be for a slightly longer body length.

September 14, 2021

Very warm and snuggly

Runs large, size down one size, I kept my large but med would be a better fit. So far no pilling, washed once. Highly recommend if u are cold alot, it very toasty

September 14, 2021

Comfy and cozy

This fleece is very cozy and will be perfect for colder months. The pile felt a little thin but feels great when you put it on. I had to size up from my down hoodie to a size medium.

September 10, 2021

Comfy but pilled quickly

I've had this fleece for just about a year now - the fit is great, color was just what I was looking for, but sadly - it has pilled all over to the point where it does not look good anymore. I wish I could attach a photo... The pilling makes this fleece look really worn out and like it hasn't been taken care of - it's a little embarr... Read Moreassing to wear at this point. I was hoping to wear this for years... I haven't experienced the shedding that some other reviewers mentioned, but this pilling is unlike anything I've seen on any of my other (and much older) fleeces.

Response from Patagonia
September 16, 2021

Hi Lidia, we're sorry to hear about your experience with pilling. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your jacket can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Just give us a [call or chat in](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can set that up for you.

September 6, 2021

Fits true to size

I always wear a size medium in Patagonia fleeces and was weary after I read the reviews but if you normally wear a medium, get a medium. Cozy, comfortable, will last forever. I got the blue color and I love it. Soft on inside and outside. Glad I made the purchase. Definitely keeps you warm

August 29, 2021

High quality. Very warm. Can’t

High quality. Very warm. Can’t wait for winter hikes to come.

August 26, 2021

I miss the classic fleece marsupial

I purchased this marsupial and also the vest last season because of the simple one fabric almost one color design. It is nice and warm which is great, but I agree with other reviews on the fabric. It just has a messy look after washing (a little like the dog with wet fur after a bath) and yes it pills. The fleece I loved and lived in for years was ... Read Morethe classic fleece,I still have several marsupials that have been heavily worn and are over twenty years old! They were basic in color and design I'm still trying but I miss the patagonia that wasn't so stylized.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Thank you for your call outs on the fabric Gale. We think you might like our [Synchilla® Anorak](https://www.patagonia.com/product/synchilla-fleece-anorak/22980.html) as it has a different fleece style.

August 25, 2021

Stunning colour & superb in comfort

I purchased the Women's Retro Pile Fleece Marsupial in Abalone Blue. Absolutely love it. It's so cosy and the perfect everyday jumper.

August 21, 2021

Lovely warm fleece

This fleece is so lovely and snuggly. Great for keeping warm on colder autumn days!

July 20, 2021

Super Soft

I LOVE this sweater! Its super soft and warm. For me, it does run a bit loose but I still wear it all the time!

July 14, 2021

Soft and warm

This fleece is lovely. It runs slightly small in my opinion. I usually wear a small but sized up to a medium and it fits perfectly. The fabric is so soft and warm. Great for a cool summer night.

July 9, 2021

Lightweight, warm and spacious pockets!

I sized up with this fleece because I wanted it to be a little bit oversized and layer underneath it, but I think a medium (my regular size) would have fitted very true to size. This pullover is very soft and warm without being heavy, and it also has ample pocket space.

May 27, 2021

Stiff, very pilled fabric

Bought two colors, both became very stiff and pilled after washing. Very disappointed, not up to Patagonia standards.

Response from Patagonia
May 27, 2021

Hi Emily, thank you for taking the time to write a review on this pullover. This fleece is double-sided and definitely meant to be thick and warm. We apologize for the stiffness and appreciate your comments on that. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

April 29, 2021

Very Soft

This is a very soft and comfortable sweater! I bought it in a large and xl because they were out of large in the color I wanted at first so I tried the xl. I preferred the xl over the large. The large seemed quite a bit smaller than the xl and I was going for an oversized look. I returned both because neither seemed to be exactly what I was looking... Read More for and for the price, I wanted it to be exactly what I was looking for. I'm 5'5, 160lbs, althetic build.

April 20, 2021

Best fleece

I own several Patagonia fleeces.... but cant seem to take this one off! Its comfy and looks cute. Going to order another one in brown

April 12, 2021

Super cozy!!

My new favorite fleece! Medium to light weight fleece with a relaxed fit at the waist (ie not tight). I am 5'1" and 102 ish and the XS is a perfect fit for my frame. Meaning it sits at my hips and does not hang past. The 3/4 zip is nice and deep making it easy for pulling on and off. Chest zipper is well placed also! Love this piece!

April 12, 2021

Retro Pile Mess

I like this pullover, I don't love the little fabric pills that come with wear, its looks terrible, and a not a happy when I put it on.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Hi Kelly, thanks for the feedback on the material and we are sorry to hear about the pilling. Sadly, pilling can be common on fleece garments as it is the nature of nylon fibers. With that in mind though, we'd suggest using a tool like a sweater stone, to remove the pilling. If that doesn't help, you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us.

April 11, 2021

Great for Hugging People

This Fleece Pullover is great! It can be used if you need something while camping or are just out and about. It is soft and has multiple pockets! I like hugging people with it so I can spread softness.

April 2, 2021

Love this

It's perfect and warm. Great for a dog walk, just as good for a cross country ski. Just as good for curling up on the couch

March 16, 2021

So soft and cute!

I love my fleece! Im technically an XS but I got a small so it wouldnt be tight and it fits great. I accidentally shrank it in the dryer and it hardened all the soft parts and I was DEVASTATED but the store exchanged it for me which was awesome! Im now a loyal customer since their customer service is so great.

February 21, 2021

Great sweater, awful fabric

When I was gifted this beautiful sweater, I immediately loved it and lived in it for weeks. Ive had a handful of well loved Patagonia sweaters over the years and they have honestly looked almost new after almost a decade of use. Though the fabric on this started to pill almost immediately, I thought washing would help, but it sheds so much its alre... Read Moready showing signs of wearing through the arms... the amount of pilling and shedding it does leaves a lot to be desired, despite how great it seemed when I was gifted it. Mine looks so bad, Im sadly considering donating it. You might get a little wear out of this, but not the Patagonia quality youre accustomed to... I would steer clear on anything from this fabric line.

February 11, 2021

it's okay

I am not crazy about it because in the color I purchased it on, it sheds and I haven't even washed it once. It sheds a lot on to other clothes. And it runs kinda big

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Thanks for the feedback. A good wash and tumble dry in a guppy bag should help the shedding.

February 11, 2021

Warm

Love it, but its thinner than I expected it to be. For how much I paid, the quality wasnt what I was expecting.

February 10, 2021

Favorite Fleece

I'm obsessed with this jacket! Keeps me super warm and cozy and is very comfortable to wear. It also looks very good, love it!

January 31, 2021

So so so cozy

This fleece is everything i have been wanting! I haven't taken it off for days.. I am 5'8" and 130 lbs so i typically wear a medium, but I sized up and im glad I did. Size up if you want an oversized look!

January 30, 2021

So warm

I was hesitant to order this fleece but so glad I did!I live in older classic fleece marsupials that are wearing out. This is a new favorite and very warm. I was concerned it might shed but have had no issue.

January 25, 2021

Comfy

I bought this for daily wear inside and out and it does the job. It fits loosely in spite of my DD bust and keeps me warm even below zero. It has a timeless Sherpa like look that goes with most things.

January 24, 2021

Very Warm - Cute, Trendy Fit

I really like this sweater. It is perfect for walking on chilly mornings and very cute (I got the ivory color). It's definitely the warmest sweater I own - but living in Southern California I don't need much :) I am 5'10" and ~130 - I am a solid Medium in the Better Sweaters but this fit me well in a Small. I could have gone to ... Read Morea Medium for a more relaxed fit, but I wanted something that hit higher on my hips to wear with high-waisted leggings/pants. I am a little worried about getting it dirty, mostly because I'm notoriously clumsy and likely to brusk against something or spill, but so far it's been ok!

January 23, 2021

Comfy and warm

Material is soft and very comfy. Great for a pullover. Runs a little big

January 23, 2021

Super warm, great fit!

The color, size, and warm material are perfect for whatever activity arises!

January 16, 2021

Fuzzy, warm and comfy

I love everything about this fabulous quarter zip!

January 16, 2021

Very comfortable

I love the color and it fit really nicely. Its also very warm and I can wear it comfortable just around freezing temperature

January 11, 2021

Versatile and easy to pack

Haven't bought a Patagonia fleece for years and this is my first since 2016, I noticed the sizing has changed a bit. I was a M but now I'm definitely a Small. I had the chance to try on in store and although the M fits, it is too long sleeve wise and too bulky in the shoulders. The small is just right, fits like the model, but if you want... Read Moreed to layer a big bulky sweater underneath I think it would be too tight. I'm 5'7" 145 lbs, athletic type build with some waist curves, 36B. I love this fleece since it's perfect for so many activities. I take it hiking in upcountry for 55-65 degree conditions it's perfect paired with baggies shorts, I wear it while sitting on the beach in the morning before or after surfing and also at home when it's a little chilly. I like the long front zipper, makes it easy to take on or off without catching in my hair and also allows for some air flow while hiking. I also like the pockets since they are linked, like a muff. I purchased Twig tan and I love the color. Overall a great soft and versatile fleece!

January 4, 2021

Super cozy and fits great!

I ordered this through REI it took 2 weeks but it was worth the wait! I got an XS. I weigh around 110 and Im 52. The XS fits my petite body perfectly. I didnt know if it would be too small and debated sizing up to a Small however the XS is just roomy enough and not too fitting! It is super cozy and flattering as well. I enjoy the extra pocket space... Read More as well. I am very pleased!

January 4, 2021

Great sweater!

I got this sweater for Christmas and I really like the way it fits on me. Its not too snug but keeps me very warm when only wearing a thin layer underneath. It is true to size (I wear a M) unlike some of Patagonias other sweater (e.g. Recycled material clothing) so I am happy with it overall. Ive already washed it once and I did not see damage or p... Read Moreilling to the material.

January 2, 2021

Perfect!

Bought this as Christmas gift for daughter. She says she has received many compliments!

December 26, 2020

Super Snuggly

I received this & wore it on Christmas Day. It kept me warm & cozy on a very chilly day in Central ILLNESS. I would certainly make room for another in my wardrobe!!

December 22, 2020

Super Warm Cozy

The only thing missing is a chin guard from the zipper. Some might want a pull at bottom to tighten it up a bit although I like that as is. I love marsupial pocket and an extra chest pocket. Its so cuddly! I have 5 newer recycled fleece Patagonias. Its my kind of company.

December 18, 2020

Favorite Fleece Ever

This fleece fits perfectly and true to size. Not too snug, but not too loose or baggy. It's super soft, cozy, and very warm. The zipper works great. The sleeves just the right length. And I really love how it looks! It's my favorite fleece ever.

December 15, 2020

Cozy Sherpa

I bought one size up from what I normally buy from Patagonia as I prefer to wear this sherpa fleece slightly bigger. It is comfortable fleece and I have been wearing it almost every day since I received it.

December 2, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

highly recommend this jacket. it is a very relaxed fit that i can't seem to take off! so comfortable and the pockets are very handy.

November 21, 2020

Really Cosy

Warm, comfortable and easy to wear with pants or jeans. Very cosy feeling.

November 7, 2020

Get this pullover!!

I absolutely love this pullover. Do not hesitate- get it now! It is incredibly warm, stylish and my favorite go to! As noted in other reviews it has pilled under the arms somewhat but Im more of a function first kind of gal. This will be a longtime favorite and currently beats out my favorite hoody!

November 3, 2020

Sheds everywhere!!!

I wanted to love this pullover, however it sheds balls of puff everywhere! I've tried washing it a couple of times hoping that it would help, but unfortunately it didn't. I'm unable to wear anything dark colored with this as after a couple hours, as it looks like I've been cuddling up with a polar bear shedding its summer coat. ... Read MoreWish I could return!

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on the shedding of this fleece. Everything we make is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to our customer service team and we'll help you get that returned.

November 1, 2020

Very warm

The fit is true to size and very comfortable. It keeps you warm.

October 30, 2020

LOVE

If I could wear this fleece every day, I would! Super comfortable and warm.

September 19, 2020

Super comfortable and great for everyday

I absolutely love my fleece - it's super comfortable, durable and fits true to size. Great for fall weather or for layering in the winter. I wear it daily for work and when I go hiking and it's been one of the best purchases I've made this year. I highly recommend!

September 14, 2020

Super Warm

I love the color and it's just wanted I was looking for. It will be great for snowy weather.

September 13, 2020

Perfect for chilly nights

I love how fuzzy this is and that the pocket is a zip kangaroo pocket. Ive worn this camping and love it. Fave Patagonia fleece.

February 24, 2020

Cute but very dissatisfied with the quality

I LOVE the looks of this pullover however Ive had mine for roughly a month and a bunch of the stitching is unraveling around the ends of the sleeve and its piling like crazy which is disappointing considering how much I paid for it! Ive only worn the pullover about 5 times and have followed the care instructions as well.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi Kristen! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the stitching coming unraveled and that your fleece is pilling. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

February 19, 2020

Seams / Pilling

I really wanted to love this jacket but about two weeks into my purchase and 2nd time wearing it, I realized that there was a seam that was loose right at the cuff of my right sleeve. Obviously this seam constantly gets snagged on things and now have gotten more unthreaded. It does pill easily as others have said and although it is annoying, I full... Read Morey expected it when I bought it. However, I am very disappointed in the loose seams especially since it was expensive and I'm a college student and now that I've worn it, I can't even get it exchanged. My first purchase from Patagonia and it was a bit disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the loose seam and pilling on your fleece. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

January 3, 2020

Could It be softer?

No. Its perfect.

December 29, 2019

So awesome

So awesome

December 28, 2019

5'2" Petit Woman, Small sizing

5'2" Petit Woman, Small sizing has space to layer, if looking for more direct/tighter fit XS would work too.

December 27, 2019

women's retro pile marsupial

Appreciate that a missing delivery was located and delivered within 6 hours. Thank-you Emma. Gift for my daughter who is going skiing in the Alps. She loved it, loved the color and fit, just a tad loose in size small. do not know how it will wash as yet.

December 26, 2019

The coziest pullover!

Wonderful flattering fit- keeps me warm with room for layering but it remains true to size. I have worn It for two weeks straight because it has become my go to conduit for keeping warm. My only issue is that it sheds like crazy and leaves fuzzies around everywhere but I can overlook it due to the fit and comfort.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

December 22, 2019

Not quite the Patagonia standard expected

Not quite the quality I was expecting. Piling a bit on the arms within 2 times wear, the stitching is a bit off on the shoulders. It is very comfy and I like the look so I am keeping it regardless :) I got a size up and wear it over sweaters, looks great!

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

Hi Hannah, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the pilling you've experienced. A small amount of pilling is typical to experience with fleece but we don't expect it after only two wears. We'd suggest trying a sweater stone to remove the pills. However, if that doesn't help you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) under warranty.

December 18, 2019

Quality never disappoints! Just wish

Quality never disappoints! Just wish there were petite sizes available. I'm still a big fan of Patagonia!

December 15, 2019

Love the way that this

Love the way that this looks and feels, but it pills and sheds like crazy! I did read this in the reviews, but I thought no way-its Patagonia. Sleeves are shorter for the size than other Patagonia coats I own.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2020

Hi Nicole! Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the pilling and shedding you've experienced with your fleece. To cut down on this, we recommend washing it either by hand in cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle with a powdered detergent. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. Please also refrain from using fabric softener or bleach, as these can break down fibers of the fleece and cause it to pill or shed. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your fleece, you are absolutely welcome to initiate a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 12, 2019

Incredibly comfy

Loved it even more than expected. This style runs a little bulky so I sized down and it fits perfect.

November 30, 2019

Can’t Have Just One!!

I’m 5’8”, 165 lbs. Ordered size XL color molten lava. It’s gorgeous. Perfect fit. Then I had to have another one. So I went shopping and bought another one in the feather grey color. A perfect pair that will work with so many colors in my wardrobe. I’ll definitely be a return customer soon.

November 23, 2019

So Comfy - But it sheds

As much as I love Patagonia I have a hard time fitting in most things because I’m an XS petite because I’m a shrimp, so XS with Patagonia can still be too big since they don’t offer petite. This one actually fit! It’s not fitted so I have room to layer under it. I haven’t washed it yet so I’m terrified of what it’ll look like out of the wash. My... Read More only issue is that it SHEDS. Holy crap. It covered my seatbelt in 4673829 of little orange fuzzies. My black jeans, my car seat. That’s my only issue. But I’m wondering if I put It in the dryer on low if it’ll help get off any loose fuzz. My only other issue is the lining of the kangaroo pocket. It’s the same as the lining in the other Pile products but I have workers hands, that can be dry and every time I put my hand in the pocket it feels like the fabric is catching on every single piece of dry skin on the back of my hand And it’s so gross. Other than that, I’m just grateful it fits and it’s warm!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

November 21, 2019

Love!

So cute and warm! I love it. I'm generally between an xs/s and went with the s for a bigger/cozy fit. I only gave it 4 stars because it's starting to pill a bit on the arms after only a handful of wears/no washes, but it's not a big deal. Still my new fav!

November 20, 2019

Cozy

The pullover is very comfy and perfect for everyday wear around the house or to run to the store. It has the classic look and go with preppy or comfy styles. It does attract lint and pills rather easily, but that's to be expected with this type of material.

November 20, 2019

Good, not great

After wearing the fleece for less than a month (and not wearing it daily) The cuff on the right wrist already ripped! I am really upset, I have another fleece that I have had longer and this did not happen.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Nicole, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're truly sorry to hear the the cuff ripped after under a month. We'll reach out to you directly with options for return!

November 19, 2019

Unbelievably comfortable

The coziest thing I own. My mom bought one and couldn't stop raving about how great it was, so I had to get them for myself and my sister.

November 17, 2019

The fit is perfect. Awesome

The fit is perfect. Awesome product.

November 12, 2019

Soft and comfy but sweater

Soft and comfy but sweater sheds

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Zahara, fleeces do have a tendency to shed. You can slow this process down by washing with cold water and using a gentle powder detergent. Please do not use fabric softener and bleach, as this can break down fibers of the fleece and cause it to pill or shed. Air dry the jacket on a flat surface, as this allows the jacket to keep its original shape. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund if the problem persists.

November 12, 2019

I've worn this every day

Cute, cozy, and warmer than your average fleece. Love the zip pockets, great for hiking/camping and keeping things safe while traveling.

November 10, 2019

Love this pullover!

The warmest, coziest, comfortable thing ever!! I love it and it looks and feels great!

November 10, 2019

Great, but flawed

I love this item. Soft as all get out and recycled, but it started pilling the first time I wore it. Not sure how long it will retain it's look before it starts looking worse for the wear. My guess is about a month.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're already experiencing pilling issues with this, Jaclyn! To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Retro Pile, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty.

November 10, 2019

Warm and soft!

Love this fleece! It keeps me nice and cozy in the cold months. I wear a tank top under it while in the house or a long sleeve shirt when I go outside and it’s perfect for running errands. I even find that I am able to breastfeed in it so if your a momma of an infant and want to stay warm this fleece can help you out!

November 9, 2019

Warm and comfy!

A little eye watering putting in my card details at the checkout but now I've been wearing them, they are worth the money. Not too bulky so fit nicely under my Patagonia down sweater, will definitely be warm enough for a Cumbrian winter. Only problem I've had with them is a little pilling from backpack straps. These came off easy and have... Read More not really altered the look. More the bags fault than the fleece but just be careful with rough edges. 5'3 111lbs and bought XS.

November 6, 2019

Product arrived when expected. Fit

Product arrived when expected. Fit perfectly

November 5, 2019

I am obsessed with it!

I am obsessed with it! I have not taken it off since I have gotten in! It is perfect jacket for the transitioning fall and winter months! I have gotten so many compliments on in, love the marsupial pocket and how warm it is!

November 5, 2019

loooooove this!

I got this in the pelican color in a size medium; I usually wear all Patagonia fleeces in a size medium, im about 5'4, 135 lbs, and this definitely is on the bigger size, I wish I had ordered a small, but I still love it so much, its cozy, not too warm and a very comfortable weight. It also sheds, but im hoping that won't be the case afte... Read Morer a couple of washes. high recommend! just downsize!

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your fleece is shedding. We will pass along your feedback to our product team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed, so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the item to us for a full refund.

November 5, 2019

Nubby and Losing Fluff

I love the look and feel of this jacket. It’s comfy, cute and warm. But I’ve worn it a few times and I’ve noticed the sleeves have already started to get matted down and I’m constantly shedding little bits of fuzz. It’s pretty thin so I wonder in a year will this be a shell of a jacket? Zero warmth left. For the price I thought this would last me a... Read More few years so I wouldn’t be contributing to fast fashion. Kind of disappointing for my first Patagonia purchase.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Hello Nikki. We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this fleece so far. If you find that it isn't holding up or performing up to your satisfaction, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty. For a similar look and feel, check out the [Women's Woolyester Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-woolyester-fleece-pullover/26950.html?dwvar_26950_color=OAT&cgid=womens-fleece).

November 4, 2019

Super Comfy

This fleece is super comfy. I ordered a size up because I wanted it to be loose fitting, but I probably could’ve gotten away with my regular size.

November 2, 2019

Retro Marsupial

Love it! The color is awesome. Super soft and comfy!

November 2, 2019

Classically amazing service

True to form, my Patagonia products are well crafted, well packaged, and perform second to none. Thanks for another great group of products! I absolutely love and love in my marsupial pullover and polartec leggings!

November 1, 2019

Eh

Very cute fleece pullover. Also very comfortable. The pockets are also a nice addition. Unfortunately, this fleece is not insulated well and you can feel every cool breeze through the fleece. Also, the fleece shedded like crazy on the first wear. I feel like I am always returning products back to Patagonia because they either don’t fit well or they... Read More are ineffective and its tiring. Customer service is great though.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced and that this jacket didn't seem to be a good option for you. Feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us. Please note, this jacket will not be a good windproof option as it is a pretty breathable item. If you are looking for a windproof fleece, we'd recommend check our our [Retro-X Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23074.html?dwvar_23074_color=NAOW&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=retro-x%2Bjacket&lang=en_US&start=1).

October 31, 2019

I love the design, but not on me.

The quality is great, the fabric is so soft and looks durable. Unfortunately, the boxy oversized shape of this fleece is not me. It hardly fits under my coat because the sleeves are wide and loose. 5'2 ", 120 lbs, x-small would have been better.

October 29, 2019

More colors

I have tried this on in store and love it, but I’m not a fan of the color options and I want to wear it til it’s worn out. i would love to see a forest or olive green option.

October 29, 2019

soooooo cozy!

I love this piece so much! I was debating between this and the hooded version and am so happy that I went with this one. I love the marsupial style pockets and it's a great layer to throw on when chilly in the house or going for a walk in the beautiful fall weather! It runs just a tad large - I'm usually between an XS and S in Patagonia&#... Read Morex27;s sweaters and jackets, and the small was just a little too baggy. I'm 5'6 and 125 and the XS was the perfect looseness. The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because I'm skeptical on the durability of this piece. Anywhere there is frequent rubbing/friction (between torso/arms, elbows from resting) there is lots of pilling where little balls of the fuzz are coming off. I've had this for almost two months, so I'll have to report back after a full winter of wearing it to see if this was just the break in period or if it's the beginning of a bigger problem. Fingers crossed that it will be a-okay!

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi Rachel! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such an awesome and detailed review. We're sorry to hear about the pilling you've already noticed on your fleece. We encourage customers to air dry their fleece as it can help to prevent pilling. Nevertheless, if ever in the future you find you need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) you're welcome to!

October 28, 2019

Super warm

Extremely warm. Blocks wind very well. It has an easy fit.

October 28, 2019

Love this fleece

I love this fleece so much. The marsupial pocket is great, the chest pocket is perfect size for my cell phone. It's super warm, perfect for temperate to cool weather. The ultimate north coast beach fleece: keeps you warm, unzip the pockets for a little ventilation, and the pockets are made of mesh, so sand falls through (no pocket sand!). I im... Read Moreagine this would be lovely for a laid-back camping trip. Runs maybe a tiny bit large, but that makes it even more cozy. The color was a little bit different than what appeared on the website, but I still love it. I was anticipating the Feather Gray one to have a more browner tint on the accent trim, but it's actually like a purple-ish mulberry color. Still looks awesome though! Definitely a wear-everyday-for-fall sweater in my opinion!

October 26, 2019

Love this sweater! Worth the money!

Just received this sweater. It is SO soft, and SO comfy! An xs probably would have “fit” me but I ordered a medium because I wanted to have a baggy sort of sweater to wear with leggings and be comfy. This is the sweater! I got the cream coloured and it’s so flattering. Would repurchase this and I highly recommend it. Perfect for winter and shoulder... Read More season!

October 26, 2019

LOVE IT

I love this !! Super soft & cozy & warm !! True to size & a must buy !!

October 21, 2019

no hesitation...buy this fleece

I own multiple styles of fleece pullovers but this is my absolute favorite for a few reason. The FIT is loose and comfy. Not exactly figure flattering but you are wearing a fleece so you're not going to be showing off your abs. The FABRIC is soft and cozy - its like being wrapped up in your favorite blanket. The POCKET hits the jackpot! I love... Read More all things pocket. I wish all my pullovers had a pocket. Patagonia...are you getting the message....POCKETS POCKETS POCKETS! Only thing that would make this better would be thumbholes (hint hint next season). Can you imagine pocket and thumbholes? I die

October 19, 2019

In love, but it breaks my heart it's already pilling

I received this for my birthday about a week ago. It's my first Patagonia product and I absolutely loved it the first day. It's so warm and comfortable. However, after wearing it for about 3-4 days, the fleece at the sides of the sleeves is already pilling to the point where small pieces of fleece break off the sweater. It hasn't eve... Read Moren been washed once. I already took the tags off so I can no longer return it. I'm heartbroken because a loved one spent so much money to purchase this for me, and the quality of the fleece is not up to par with the price tag. I definitely agree with the other 5-star reviews regarding the comfort but for some reason, mine is not holding up.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2019

Hi Claudia! I'm very sorry to hear that your new pullover is pilling so much! We would be happy to help you out with a return on that item, despite the tags being removed. I went ahead and followed up privately with further return instructions.

October 14, 2019

New favorite fleece!

I have several fleece jackets, including a few others from Patagonia, but this one is my new favorite. It's extremely warm and comfortable, but also more flattering than the Synchilla (in my opinion) without being form fitting or restrictive. More of a casual fleece than a performance fleece, but great for walking the dog, casual outdoor activ... Read Moreity, etc. The two front "pockets" actually open into one shared kangaroo pocket, but I don't mind this for hand warming purposes! Might be annoying if you need to store several small things in your pockets (chest pocket is better for your phone). Bought the same size I always do in Patagonia (S), and it's a relaxed fit, but not as relaxed as the Synchilla (which I get in XS). Already wanting to buy it in a second color with how much wear I expect it will get this winter :)

October 10, 2019

Classic cozy fleece

I love this fleece. Broke it in on a -40° camping trip. The cut and style are perfect and I love the collar its deep shade of red. My only personal problem is that I worked my SAR dog in tall dry grasses. Afterward he curled up on top of my new fleece in the truck. It will take me hours to remove all the burrs and stickers embedded in the fleece be... Read Morefore washing. My bad!

October 7, 2019

Favorite Patagonia fleece EVER!

LOVE LOVE LOVE this thing! It's super soft inside and out, has a sweet kangaroo pocket, and the zip neck is really nice. I own the T-Snap, the lightweight Synchilla, and the Retro-X and this is BY FAR my favorite fit, comfort level, and look. I will 100% live in it this fall and winter! I'm 5'6, 140lbs and I'm stoked on the easy... Read More fit of a Medium.

October 4, 2019

Love it!

This jacket is so soft and fits perfectly. I need it in all the colors now.

October 3, 2019

Love the color and feel

I bought this Retro Pile for winter weather in Wisconsin and have just tried it on, but it is still too warm to enjoy it. I love the zippered pocket and the kangaroo pocket in front to warm hands in cooler weather. The red is bright and cheerful! Can't wait to wear it!

October 2, 2019

“I love my Patagonia “

“I love my Patagonia “ wrote my grand daughter. The Patagonia was a birthday gift.

October 2, 2019

So soft and comfy, but boxy

I sized up because I know these run small and I'm glad I did; however, like many Patagonia fleeces I've tried, the bottom is boxy and too long on women's bodies (except maybe longer torso ladies). Still love it, just wish it fit better.

September 21, 2019

perfect fleece

warm and comfy without unnecessary bulk. big enough to cocoon in but can still fit under a shell. love it!

September 10, 2019

So Comfy!

I ordered both the medium and the large and I went with the medium, which is still pretty loose on me. I’m 5’6”, 160lbs, and usually wear a size 8. I read the previous review about the seam being crooked, but the seams weren’t crooked on either of the ones I ordered. I love this fleece! It’s reallllly warm and super soft, so a couple of times when ... Read MoreI wore it in like 67°, I started sweating and had to take it off. I just can’t wait for fall weather to wear it all the time!

September 3, 2019

Most loved Patagonia fleece I own

I own a ton of Patagonia fleeces and sweaters. We live in Wyoming and we love being outside. I bought this for a camping trip recently and didn’t take off the 4 days we were in the mountains. It is significantly warmer than my re-tool or quilted snap. It is comfortable and has enough room to wear long sleeves and layers underneath. If you want a ti... Read Moreghter fitting fleece I would size down. 5 stars for this beauty!

August 31, 2019

Perfection

I’m 5’5 and 105 lbs and the XS fits perfectly. The material is extremely soft and warm. Worth every penny!

August 12, 2019

Soft and comfy but poor workmanship

Super soft and comfy but the horizontal seam across the chest is so crooked - as someone who works in the industry I am surprised this was allowed to be shipped as it is definitely out of tolerance.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches