Back to Product

Ms Capilene® Thermal Weight Crew

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 58 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Capilene® Thermal Weight Crew

4.8/5
True To Size
August 17, 2021

So nice to wear

Great comfort and fit.

June 21, 2021

Very light and very warm

I've been buying capilene tops and bottoms for years for a range of sports. I hadn't needed anything new until this past winter. I bought this top sight unseen and was amazed at warmth it provides while weighing so little. I highly recommend it.

May 31, 2021

Comfy and good fit.

Very nice and comfy crew, and perfect size.

May 25, 2021

Amazing thermal!!

Bought for my boyfriend as we run an outdoor food/drinks venue and he LOVEDDDD it!! Super lightweight, so fits under most layers comfortably without bulking you out. Also perfect amount of warmth for spring evenings, might want the stronger thermal for colder spells in the year but so ideal for what we needed Got in black and crater blue - both ... Read Morelook great!!

April 9, 2021

the best base layer

I have used capilene as a base layer for years. the thermal weight version is the best I've used, it very warm, fit is true the size. Patagonia has make a good product even better.

April 9, 2021

Very light and cozy

This is my one of the very favorite crew tops. this is very light and cozy and I wear in winter or when it is cold. It is little snug but fits well.

April 8, 2021

I thought this was a joke . . .

I have owned many Patagonia base layers, and while they all did the job, they were think and bulky. So when I ordered this, expecting the same, I thought I ordered the lightweight version. But after just a few minutes wearing it, I fell in love. Perfect lightweight feel, ultimate warmth.

March 23, 2021

perfect for cooler conditions

These vests are perfect for cooler days outdoors. lovely soft fabric. washes well. drys quickly. doesn't smell when sweaty.

March 4, 2021

Patagonia redesigned the Capilene line of clothing in 2017 / 2018

I purchased five Patagonia Capilene crew long sleeve shirts between 2017 and 2018. The old designs were the perfect base layer. I could only imagine it was in an effort to maximize profits that they hired a new design team, or so it seems. I say this because these new Calipene base layers are of very poor quality. I suggest anyone reading my review... Read More go to a local outfitter and see these for yourself before purchasing them online. This is made of very thin material and much less sew pattern than the previous designs. If someone at Patagonia actually reads these reviews, please contact me and I will personally beg you to remanufacture your original product. I have yet to witness a clothing company go back to making the products that have given them the reputation that made them great. Usually once they start to reduce quality, they never return to their initial sense of concern for quality. Please Patagonia, don't become one of these companies! Bring back the Capilene base layer that you made in the past!

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hello William, thanks for your detailed review! We are not looking to maximize profit and are always experimenting and changing our designs based off of feedback. The 2017 and 2018 versions of this crew are the same as this season's, but we have reached out to you privately for more clarification.

February 23, 2021

Superbly light

I was surprised how warm this piece is, considering it’s extreme lightness. Great base layer, it’s so awesome I wear it daily.

February 15, 2021

Keeps you very warm &

Keeps you very warm & comfortable

February 12, 2021

Great undershirt!

Very nice and loose fit but still keeps the warmth great AND looks good, only downside for me is that it arrived smelling very strange and after two washes the smell is still faintly there.

February 3, 2021

soft, warm, snd breathable

Pretty good base layer. Decently warm and it also allows good evaporation. Has a slim fit, which is nice for layering in cold conditions.

January 26, 2021

Thermal Crew

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. Colour , feel and light weight fabric.

January 20, 2021

ALL-TIME FAVORITE SHIRT!

I own Smartwool 150 & 250, Woolx 400 and Patagonia silkweight & midweight and the thermal weight just feels the best of any of these on your bare skin. It has the perfect fit which allows air next to the skin to warm your body up the quickest and is surprisingly warm for the thickness and weight. It breathes well when you're moving fas... Read Moret, dries quickly when you stop and just plain holds more warmth when you're layering. This is almost always my go to layer unless it's too warm outside.

January 10, 2021

Perfect for cool weather MTB rides

i used it daily mountain biking in the harsh (!) California Winter. It is my base layer under a full sleeve jersey in 5-15C (40-60F) temperatures. Perfect garment: it keeps me warm and dry. Can't wait to take it backpacking!

January 6, 2021

Love this shirt

I wear this shirt just about every day. Its perfect as a base layer, running shirt, and dries SUPER fast. I wish I could give this 6 stars.

January 2, 2021

Slight variation in size

Got two of these because i liked the first one i bought so much. second one fit much more snugly, bordering on being too small. kind of a bummer, but would recommend anyway. Only downside is that the material seems to need to 'off-gas' for a while, has weird smell thru first few washes.

December 31, 2020

So Long

Patagonia products are long cut which perhaps sized on N.European, White American anatomy, although my wife want to were mine as long underwear to sleep with. However this can be improved by mixing height on tall and medium size body kind of happy medium.

December 26, 2020

Good for layering

I need a base shirt that keeps me warm and wicks away the moisture while running in northern Michigan in the winter and the Capilene thermal shirt does great as a layer.

December 17, 2020

super fit

I have some older medium weight cap. long underwear and this new product I really like as it is nice and long a little stretchy so it fits better and the little loops in the sleeve work well AAA rated from me

November 30, 2020

Just perfect-- Indoors & Out

My spouse loves it and so do I! We use it under outdoor clothes---we use it as indoor clothes as we work from home. Fit is great for comfort and for exercise. Take your pick...

November 20, 2020

Great All-Around long johns !!!

I wear them for all kinds of activities! Great fit! Very comfy! And they keep me warm & last forever !!!

September 26, 2020

Versatile base layer

I wear this mainly as a base layer under a bicycle jersey. Breathes very well, keeps you warm without overheating. I also like to wear this as a standalone casual shirt. comfortable and looks nice.

January 31, 2020

Best base layer I have

Best base layer I have

January 7, 2020

Great warmer

Very light and comfortable. Heats up as you move, exercise or work out.

December 31, 2019

Kept me warm while out

Kept me warm while out snowboarding. Perfect base layer!

December 30, 2019

Cap Thermal Weight Crew

Perfect base layer, fits great, does exactly what its supposed to, might be my favorite piece patagonia makes.

December 27, 2019

So Far So Good

Very comfortable and warm for mid-wt.

December 24, 2019

Great

Comfortable, warm, and looks great

December 13, 2019

My go-to baselayer.

Patagonia's capilene thermal weight layers are so phenomenal. The cut/fit is great, really comfortable, no bulkiness, the thumb loops are incredibly welcome, and the fabric is much warmer than one might think just holding it, but with an outer layer and/or shell it really does provide incredible warmth, but even more importantly to me: incredi... Read Moreble breathability. I tend to run hot and sweat easily during medium-to-high output activities, so I absolutely need breathability in cold weather and the cap thermals breath SO well and I'm able to perfectly manage heat buildup. I wear this regularly for outdoor activities, but the crew neck version is my go-to for cold weather snowboarding when I'm wearing my R1 on top of this under my shell. Home is Vermont so it gets cold. The crew neck version keeps the bulk away from my neck with the R1's collar. Just perfect.

December 8, 2019

Very happy with the item

Very happy with the item I got what I was expecting

December 8, 2019

Light and airy but warm under layer

I'm 5'9'' 175 and fit is close fitting but not snug, moves overhead or reaching forwards well despite kayaker shoulders. Not quite as soft as the old, old stuff but packs small for it warmth due to the waffle. It's a really airy shirt - like not very warm on it's own but then way more so under a T-shirt or shell. It&#x... Read More27;s a great first layer on a chilly morning before you know what they day will be like. Zip a Houdini or puffball over it for the start of the adventure, Drop the zipper... then shed the jacket along the way to feel the cool wind blow the sweat out, zip back up for the sunset snacks with friends at the day's end. Holding up well so far but I'm pretty careful.

December 2, 2019

Great base layer!

I like this thermal so much that I will buy another one soon, thanks

December 2, 2019

Capiline thermal long sleeve

I love this shirt! I wear it as my main base layer for snow boarding. It’s amazing!

November 26, 2019

Great pullover

Excellent piece of clothing. Technical and comfortable all in one. Highly recommend

November 23, 2019

Slick Nick

Best ever active thermal underwear

November 19, 2019

True to size and kept me warm in frigid 11 degree weather!

I'm 5'1 weighing at 136 lbs. medium build. What I like about Patagonia is that XS fits me with no alterations needed! I don't have to go and get this tailored which just time consuming and more money. I'm really sick of having to do this. Patagonia is just one of those rare companies that doesn't just develop for the avera... Read Morege person, they know how to size across different builds/body types! At the time of this review, Missouri had just gone through its first day of 11 degree weather accompanied with a snow storm! I had just moved from California three months ago so getting adjusted to the weather can be a lot of "fun". Luckily, having this thermal weight crew top and bottom helped to keep me warm at work and when I'm adventuring/exploring Missouri wilderness. When combined with the Nano Puff jacket, I stayed warm!

November 15, 2019

Great!

Kept me very comfortable, dry, and warm but not too hot. Huge upgrade to have as a baselayer.

November 14, 2019

Capilene Thermal Weight Crew

It;'s a perfect base layer. Soft feel on the skin, very warm. So good, I bought two thermal weight zip-Ts to go with it. Purchased it to use as a base layer for outdoor photography in Alaska and Northern Canada.

November 10, 2019

Awesome, warm, comfy

Warm, fit is standard.

November 4, 2019

large fit right. also got.

large fit right. also got. hemp sweatshirt. large much too big

November 1, 2019

excellent and warm

These are fabulous for that added touch of warmth and layer between you and the cold!

August 15, 2019

So comfy

This is my second thermal weight cap shirt. These shirts fit so well and are so soft. I’m 5’10”, 165 lbs, and I have 2 size larges. The mediums fit too much like a base layer and I wear mine like sweaters, over a next to skin base layer, during the ski season. And wear them as a light long sleeve during fall and spring backpacking. I wouldn’t chang... Read Moree anything about these.

March 26, 2019

Great warmth to weight ratio, very breathable

Great cold weather base layer. Breathes well when things start to heat up too.

January 4, 2019

Great Baselayer, but Generates a lot of Static!

Got this baselayer and loved it so much I purchased a second one in a different color. I use this for rock climbing when the temps dip below 60 and a t-shirt is too cold, but an R1 fleece is too thick / restrictive. Fit is nice and snug, and think it feels better on skin than wool, which I've always found to be a bit itchy. I throw a houdini o... Read Morever this when doing activities in the cold or if it's windy, and it is super warm. This is also a great piece for multi-pitch climbs since it's super lightweight. The only thing I don't like about this thermal is how much static it generates! I feel like I'm shocking things or people all the time when I wear it. Whenever I coil rope I can feel the static build up. If the designers at Patagonia can figure a way around this that would be huge!

November 3, 2018

Great for old while active

At first I didn’t like the tight fit. I was use to older designs 1,2,3,4 weight. After a few uses, I understood how the form-fitting function pulls moisture from my body without having air pockets. This is really important when active in cold temps. I use this while winter cycling/daily commuting, so I’m constantly moving and need layers that help ... Read Morewith moisture management. It dries quickly and and is comfortable against skin. I typically choose this layer when temps are 15F and below. It’s more of a functional piece and not a shirt I wear on the town.

October 20, 2017

Great fit and feel

I really like how the XS fits me (I'm 5'6,140lbs). I wear it under my office shirt and feel so nice and cozy. I would buy 5 of these if they weren't so expensive!

September 27, 2017

Super fit

Material,functionality and comfy. Absolute satisfaction!

August 5, 2017

It's Patagonia. Duh.

Excellent thermal. This is my second as over the course of two winter my first finally broke down around the elbows where I always rest them on my desk.

February 25, 2017

Men's Cap tw crew

I bought this base layer about a month ago before a 3week long snowboarding trip. Best base layer ever,super warm,flexible,dried fast after a wipe out and snows down your back,and best feature is the thumb straps to keep them locked in with the gloves.

January 22, 2017

Comfortable and versatile

Can wear it 24 hours a day. For outdoor activity as well as comfortable enough to sleep in as pjs!

January 12, 2017

great top layer.

the fit is good. i wish the arms were a little longer (maybe 1"),but they are enough. i love the thumb loops at the end of the sleeve. they are minimal,but really effective . i'll have this top in my quiver for years. it was a great purchase for me.

January 11, 2017

Outstanding function for cycling!

I can wear this thermal weight product out cycling for 3 hours in low to mid 30's temps with just this and my Adze jacket and stay totally warm. It is a marvel!

December 3, 2016

Wins Warmth to Weight World Series

I wore one today on a cold blustery day of fishing out on Cape Lookout in North Carolina. This thing is ridiculously warm for its feather weight. Finger stirrup is a nice touch. Time will tell how it holds up,but after one trip I am very impressed.

March 6, 2016

Very versatile

This Capilene 4 crew is phenomenal in the sense that it's not only very warm and technical, but also because it's so good looking (at least the black version that I have) that it elegantly replaces a more urban garment you may take to go to a restaurant during a trip. It's also excellent for intense activities like running in cold co... Read Morenditions. I love to wear it in my tent either in the evening or early morning and I also use it a home as a transition between my bed and the day while having breakfast.

January 24, 2016

Warm layering piece

I disagree with an earlier review which stated that this thermal weight crew is not warm. This shirt is a tight fitting base layer piece designed to be worn under other layers, and can be quite warm. This thermal layer is not very warm worn alone or under a loose jacket, and wind will cut right thru it... the shirt is designed to be worn as a base ... Read Morelayer, not as a sweatshirt. I think this shirt should be quite useful as a thermal layer for being active outdoors in the cold for hours. Less useful as a casual piece. This is tighter fitting than the "midweight capilene", not sure why the price is so much more, but the shirt is durable.

January 12, 2016

Not Warm Enough

I work outside year around and bought this baselayer for that reason. I have been wearing Patagonia baselayers for at least 20 years and still own some of the original ones I bought. This is the first time I've been disappointed. This is suppose to be their warmest baselayer but I would not recommend wearing it if it's colder than 40 degr... Read Moreees out. I have capilene 3's from a couple of years ago that are much warmer. You can hold this shirt up to the light and see through it. I guess that would be great if it kept you warm but doesn't. It doesn't even compare to the capilene 4's or expedition weight baselayers from a few years ago. To much effort to make this shirt high tech and very lightweight took away the most important feature - warmth.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches