burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Black Hole Duffel Bag 55L Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 377 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Duffel 55L

4.8/5
Kinda Large
January 31, 2023

Great bag

Very spacious, but not too big, easy to pack up for storage, and holds up well in inclement weather.

January 29, 2023

Everything Bag

Love! Works for everything, this is my weekend getaway/travel bag. Also is amazing camping and hiking and carrying everything, lives up to the black hole name.

January 26, 2023

Second duffle bag Ive purchased!

I loved my 100L black hole duffle so much that I purchased this 55L. This smaller size is perfect for weekend trips, but probably a bit too big for day trips. The material is very durable! Patagonia, if youre reading this, could you please make matching luggage tags for these bags? Would buy them in a heartbeat!

January 25, 2023

Love the bag, durable and dependable

I love these bags I have had one for 5 years and it looks brand new I bought all of my groomsmen these as a gift so they will have some thing to use in their daily lives that is of the utmost quality. Cant say enough positive things

January 22, 2023

I love this bag. I

I love this bag. I am going to buy another one for all my fishing gear. I use this one to travel on the weekends for skiing. It holds all my clothes for weekend and ski gear. It is very strong. And some what weather proof

January 22, 2023

Fits everything!

A fantastic durable duffel bag that fits a lot of stuff! It collapses and makes it easy to carry around. One thing is the backpack straps are tricky to pull off (my hands always get into the handle).

January 21, 2023

Great travel bag

This bag is perfect for travel. It can be packed in the suitcase and then used as an extra bag

January 19, 2023

This bag is amazing

I Purchased this bag because I am on the go for a couple of months in my tiny little Acura. This bag is super durable, waterproof, and fits so much. I love the fact that it has backpack straps. Really great purchase that should last for years!

January 17, 2023

Perfect Carry On

Got this for a 2 wk trip to Costa Rica. It has loads of space, was able to pack a pillow, hiking boots, 2 extra pairs of walking/water shoes, and all the clothes you may need. I had left over space too. The color is perfect, the bag is going to be an heirloom.. I cant imagine anything out of regular use that would destroy it. I adore that its t... Read Moreear resistant and water proof. Those were necessary to my purchase. The back pack straps are great if you are needing to walk with it for awhile. The zippers are large enough to put a lock on it. No flaws. Wish I had found this sooner. I plan to buy more from this series. Thank you!

January 16, 2023

Great bag

I own multiple black hole bags and so does my family. Perfect weekend or carry on bag. Years ago I did a two week trip to Alaska. I got picked up by a friend at the airport and threw my black hole bag in the back of their pickup truck in the rain. 2 hours later when I got to their house everything was still dry.

January 13, 2023

Awesome quality

My Family has three of these, (one for each of us). Our life is always on the move and these bags are always full and ready to go at the foot of the bed. We have been in and out of them (literally) every day for the last 3 years, and with the newest addition to our family it was only fair to get him his own. He doesn't even know how much he go... Read Morenna love it :)

January 11, 2023

Sailing gear

Love this bag for travel to events and on the yacht. Waterproof, fits all my gear, and love that its also a backpack.

January 10, 2023

Love the blue hole

I recently bought and used the 55 liter black hole for a week long trip. Worked out very well. And I love the blue..

January 10, 2023

A perfect duffel bag

I'm in love with my Black Hole Duffel - it's durable, fits more than you'd expect, and looks great! I'm thrilled with the color and quality, and would happily purchase other sizes when I need other luggage options.

January 10, 2023

Great for hauling gear

Love the black hole bags, I have them in many sizes for various trips. So strong and durable.

January 10, 2023

Incredible!

This bag really is so much larger than you would think when looking at the folded / packed state. Its a robust and durable bag, yet lightweight and weather resistant. It is truly amazing and better than all my cheap travel bags I have had in the past.

January 9, 2023

Travel Essential

Only duffel you'll ever need

January 9, 2023

Bigger than expected

I did not realize that the newer black hole duffels are a whole lot bigger than older versions. My partner has had a 60L bag for years and I was excited to get the 55L expecting it to be a tad smaller. While I do love the quality of the bag, I am disappointed that this bag is actually significantly larger than the old 60L. Will probably keep the ba... Read Moreg but wish it was smaller.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

You're absolutely correct, Victoria; the 55L has larger dimensions than the earlier 60L version (26.7" x 15.7" x 11.8" vs 25" x 13" x 10"), but the capacity measurement is more accurate. We have changed the way we measure the volume of these packs, and the current pack really does carry 55L. If you do decide this won't work for you, we will be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Thank you for sharing this feedback!

January 7, 2023

It was a gift, and

It was a gift, and I was concerned, because it was on BACKORDER, BUT I did get it before Christmas, I WAS VERY HAPPY. THANK YOU.

January 6, 2023

All Around

Had for 3 years and love it! It fits a deceptively large amount of stuff so works for short or long trips- I've lived out of it for a little over a week with no issue. Fits in overhead bins and comfortable as a backpack. Only thing is I wish the water resistant material was on the bottom as well

January 6, 2023

Totally worth it

I got this after a cheap Amazon Duffel I bought broke mid trip. I love how durable the material is and how cool it looks. I'm excited to bring this aboard for an international trip next week knowing I can convert it into a backpack when I need to!

January 6, 2023

Plane Travel Backpacker

I have owned a "Worn Wear" Patagonia 60-liter "black hole" bag for 5 years and it is my favorite travel bag. It can be carried one-handed as a duffel or zero-handed as a comfortable backpack that easily fits in the overhead bins of airplanes with rows of 4 or more seats. If not packed too full, it will also fit under most airpla... Read Morene seats. The two shoulder straps detach when not needed like when it went kayaking. The fabric is 100% Polyester and is water resistant, if not waterproof. I recently bought the 55-liter version for each of my sons who travel regularly and seemed to like it, too.

January 3, 2023

Best all-around bag ever!

Impressed by the ruggedness of the Black-Hole bag, yet it's amazingly lightweight. The 55L has ample storage capacity for several days to a week (depending on how you pack...), pockets in all the right places, and the ability to carry as a duffle, shoulder, or backpack style, making this my go-to bag. Thanks, Patagonia, for another great quali... Read Morety product.

January 2, 2023

Great for Travel

Black Hole bags are great for travel or weekend getaways. I have bought several and they last a very long time. Highly recommend.

January 1, 2023

Great looking duffel bag

Duffle bag arrived as good looking as I had hoped and very functional. Will use it for camping and local/ car travel.

December 31, 2022

Terrible! Too difficult to carry

I was super excited to purchase and use the 55L black hole duffle. The reviews were mainly great and Patagonia products have always been fantastic. I love the color, the durability and the look of the bag. I did read the reviews regarding straps being an issue, but assumed the backpack option would work for me while traveling, as they have in the p... Read Moreast with other brands. However, it really was a terrible travel experience with this bag. I used it as a carry on, and it was not packed to the brim, just a couple if changes of clothes, small toiletries bag, swimwear, book and a pair of flip flops. It was not full at all. But, when wearing it as a backpack it was incredibly uncomfortable since everything shifted to the bottom and then bumped around as I walked. The bag straps do not easily slide over a luggage handle either, so if I wanted to roll it on top of my larger roller bag, it slid off very easily, making rolling through a crowded airport almost impossible. And today, my back is killing me after one day of travel while trying to maneuver this unwieldy bag. I hope to return it, as no one else in my family wants to use the bag, after seeing how terrible my experience was. I will talk to customer service about a refund after they return from holiday break.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2023

Hi Jenni, we were saddened to hear about your experience with the Black Hole Duffel Bag 55L. We want you to be comfortable with your gear, so we'd be more than happy to help out with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll reach out to you privately with further assistance.

December 31, 2022

Good quality

I like it !

December 31, 2022

A pricey bare bones offering. There are better cheaper options on the market for travel

Well built, but should have compression straps/flaps option and a wide shoulder strap. Adding another internal compartment would improve this bag further. As it stands this is a pricey bare bones offering for those who want to make a fashion/affinity statement. Patagonia, take a cue from Osprey on functionality and then make the product in your usu... Read Moreally wonderful way!

December 30, 2022

Perfect size

I've been looking for a duffel that doubles as a backpack and fits in an overhead compartment for when I'm traveling. The 55L is perfect for that and it looks cool too! Airlines conveyor belts have destroyed some of my favorite luggage but with this piece, I can go away for a week and still not have to baggage check. No lost luggage, eith... Read Moreer!!!

December 30, 2022

Travel bag

Great travel bag, can and have lived out of this for weeks.

December 30, 2022

Great carry-on travel backpack

Love this travel backpack as its large enough to fit your items for a weekend trip, no problem. It fits overhead too! Great colors.

December 30, 2022

Best duffel ever!

I own one of these and love it so much that it is my go to wedding gift. Everyone should own one of these. The 55L is the best size for Week long trips and car travel. I also love the backpack straps. Just an all around useful bag.

December 28, 2022

Amazing duffel!

This bag is incredible! Patagonia delivers with this one. As a fishing guide, I am looking for products that can take a beating and are useful in the field. This duffel is that and more. The coating on the outside of the bag is durable even in the toughest conditions. If you need something that is tough and stylish, you cant go wrong with the black... Read More hole 55!

December 28, 2022

Perfect Bag

My son and husband love love love this bag!!!

December 26, 2022

Great carry all

Perfect for all kinds of travel. Indestructible.

December 25, 2022

Love it

Love it

December 25, 2022

Doesn't have a shoulder strap?!?

Should have read more of the reviews. No shoulder strap?? On a traditional duffel???? Sure, the backpack straps are nice but that should be a bonus feature, not the primary option. What a shame. Really undermines a seemingly good bag.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

Hey Jordan, thanks for the feedback. That is correct, this bag has removeable backpack straps and the handle straps as well. We're happy to pass along this feedback to our product team. In the meantime, we recommend checking out the [Black Hole MLC 45L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html?dwvar_49307_color=BLK) which has the option to use it with backpack straps, as a shoulder bag or using the handle.

December 25, 2022

Ideal Travel Duffel

I like the design of the black hole duffel line because of the simplicity. The large stowe pocket makes storing essentials easy, and its got just what you need for an effective transport of your clothing or gear. Its super durable, Id feel fine carrying it in heavy rain or tossing it around in transit on a longer trip. Great bag, great design, love... Read More the choices of sizing for what you need.

December 24, 2022

Great quality!

Love the size and versatility of this bag!

December 18, 2022

Multi Purpose Perfect Size Travel/Carry On Bag

I had an old 60 liter that has been around the world and back. I updated with the 55L model and its superior when used as a backpack. Also the new design of the flap is more useful than the old two compartment set up. Large enough to carry personal gear and a weekends worth (or more) of clothing. Also, the top opening allows easy access to all your... Read More gear. Hard to go wrong with the 55L BHD.

December 12, 2022

Great Product!

You will not regret buying a black hole bag! I use it for all of my trips, and have even used it as a carry-on when flying. It fits everything you could possibly need, and then some.

December 10, 2022

Versatile bag, questionably sized

I have a 45L black hole duffel that has been the go to for plane travel for years. Tough, maneuverable, and perfectly sized as a carry-on. This new 55L duffel looks deceptively similar, but the extra space causes it to be a bit paunchy when under packed and a bit too big to carry-on comfortably when fully stuffed. Wish the 45L was still available. ... Read MoreThey can be more expensive than new on the secondary maket for a good reason.

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2022

Hey Grant, thank you for the review. We no longer make the 45L Black Hole Duffel, but we do have the Black Hole MLC 45L which you can check out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mlc-convertible-suitcase-45-liters/49307.html?dwvar_49307_color=SEQR&cgid=root). We also make the Duffel in 40L, both regular and wheeled. If this bag isn't working for your needs, we recommend checking out those options!

December 9, 2022

Great quality as always

Patagonia - I love you 😍

December 8, 2022

Perfect

This is my fourth black hole duffel - I love them! They last forever and hold everything. Great to travel with.

December 7, 2022

Lots of room

This bag is great. Its super big but very packable and the backpack straps are very nice.

December 6, 2022

Great bag, but..

I have always been a huge fan of the black hole series, I have a few. My only complaint with the newer model is that there are no more internal compression straps. They were so nice for keeping everything contained if you have a smaller load. I hope that Patagonia will bring back the internal compression straps :)

December 6, 2022

PLEASE bring back a proper shoulder strap; PLEASE!

I'm lucky enough to have bought a 40L BHDB after they added a shoulder strap but before they converted it to the backpack straps. I wasn't as lucky with the 55L. Everyone loves the BHDB. I use mine as a carry-on, which means it's part of my backpack/duffel combo. Which means I already have a backpack, and can't use the BHDB&#x2... Read More7;s backpack straps, leaving just the handles. So I'm out of luck which stinks because I love this bag. Patagonia, you're innovators! Create a strap that converts to either backpack straps or a single (long-enough) shoulder strap. Include proper centrally located strap positions. I personally just need the backpack strap, but some people want/love the backpack straps, so find a solution that fits us all. I'd re-buy my 55L if Patagonia came out with a new proper shoulder-strap option. Please?

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

Thank you for these suggestions, Matthew! We are sharing them with our product designers. In the meantime, some customers have had opted to add an aftermarket strap clipped to either the handles or the loops. Another hack option is to clip one of the shoulder straps diagonally across the top of the bag, possibly adding a wraparound pad where it sits on the shoulder. In any case, this is very useful feedback, and we will pass it to the right team!

November 15, 2022

Perfect!

Perfect!

November 15, 2022

Super Bag

Great material. Feels good that it’s recycled. Proud to use Patagonia!

November 14, 2022

Great durable bag!

I purchased this duffel bag for a two-week trip to Northern Spain, and it was the perfect size for all of my clothes and cycling gear.

November 14, 2022

Carry-On working fine and can fit so much!

Just flew with Air France and Viva Aerobus with this bad boy as carry-on no questions asked. It fits really a lot. It's too heavy for me to carry it for long but that's just normal - Now I want to find a small retractable trolley :)

November 12, 2022

Excellent luggage

I absolutely love the Black Hole 55 duffle. The shell material is that vinyl feel and its super durable. I get SO many compliments in the color scheme I got and I still look at it in wonder myself. The only downside I find is that there is no over the shoulder strap option. The backpack carry is fantastic but Id love to throw it over a shoulder if ... Read MoreI am wearing another backpack while traveling, which chances are I will be. This aside, this is an extremely durable and great looking pack.

November 8, 2022

10/10 bag

Ive had one of these for a few months now and my wife steals it all the time. The 55 L size is perfect and with the option of turning into a backpack its good for so many situations.

November 4, 2022

Excellent product, better than imagined!

I have purchased this duffel bag, being not sure about its size and I must say it's been a perfect purchase. Never regret about Patagonia!

November 4, 2022

Perfect

It is one of those Patagonia pieces that works even better than you could hope. So small for how much gear it absorbs into its depths. Seriously the all year perfect pack for clothes, i have baselayers to fleece in this thing. The water resistance is legit.

October 13, 2022

Great duffel bag

This bag is great. The 55L works well for 2 people for an extended weekend as long as you both pack organized!

October 12, 2022

Runs big!

Really great 55L bag, such a good color and so useful. I have the 45L and it's MUCH bigger than that one, even though I got the 55L. I compared it to my other 90L one and it's closer in size to that one, so bear that in mind! The new 70L is about the same size as the old 90L. But great bags as always. If you're buying outdoor gear th... Read Moreese days and you're not getting patagonia, you're making a darn mistake.

October 11, 2022

Great bag!

I really love this bag! It was big enough to fit my tent, sleeping bag, sleeping pad and a change of clothes for one night of camping. I was confused when it arrived and this 55L bag is larger than my husband's older 60L bag, but was told that Patagonia used to size their bags incorrectly so mine is an accurate 55L. Either way, I'm really... Read More happy with this bag and would recommend it to everyone!

October 6, 2022

Perfect for a cruise getaway!

I was going between the 55L and the 70L bag and decided to go with the 55L. The bag itself is sturdy and the zippers held up better than I expected! My husband and I took a quick 4 day cruise to Cozumel and the bag held up to two transfer flights and of course getting on the boat, without a scratch. Took a lot of clothes and two pairs of shoes and ... Read Morestill had a bit of room for some small souvenirs. The backpack straps also made this bag easy to carry getting from the hotel to the port very easy. Very happy with the purchase and will probably buy the 70L for longer trips.

October 4, 2022

Great and roomy bag

This bag was a gift and it is great for my weekend trips. It holds everything I need with space left over. I like the versatility to carry it as traditional duffle or as a back pack.

September 29, 2022

Holds a TON

Black Hole bags are awesome and rugged. They are lightweight and seem to be endless on the inside. They handle being tossed around, shoved into tight places and I've even had mine fall out of a truck on the a backroads highway. The zippers are sturdy and tight - never had one open on me and the stitching is tough. This bad will survive all kin... Read Moreds of unexpected scenarios and will last a long time. Well worth it.

September 28, 2022

Really good duffle bag!

I use this duffle bag as my practice bag for Rugby, holds everything I need and more!

September 26, 2022

Black Hole Bag 55L

Overall, like most all Patagonia products, the bag is sturdy and well made. What would have made me rate it at 5 stars would have been the addition of more nooks and crannies, like pockets, a couple on the outside, and a few inside to store those things you like to grab fast.

September 23, 2022

Amazing addition to the family,

Amazing addition to the family, collapsible and easy to carry

September 20, 2022

Great product. Used as a

Great product. Used as a walk in back pack and bag for various activities plus to keep things organized in my car rather than back and forth to the house and then back to the car. Tough bag. Only issue is in back pack use there is a need to keep the straps from coming off your shoulders while s rambling over talus etc. I just tried them together on... Read More the front on my chest with a slip knot for easy on off as needed. As said. Good product.

September 19, 2022

These bags are the BEST!

These bags are the BEST! work great for everything and fit in the overhead bin.

September 15, 2022

Larger than expected

Either person in photo is quite large or photo is with smaller 40L bag.

September 14, 2022

Nice big bag.

Good size for a week/weekend away

September 14, 2022

The most useful piece of gear

These duffels are simply the best for travel unless you need wheels. They are my go to gifts for weddings.

September 7, 2022

amazing bag

bigger than i expected carried everything i needed and more for my weekend festivals

September 2, 2022

Great size

I was going back and forth on sizes of duffel bags and I am glad I went with the 55L. Great for traveling and will fit all your necessities

September 2, 2022

Almost got a 5

I love the product but ended up returning because I found a competitive product that also had compression straps. Should add compression straps!!

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Alina. We're sorry this design didn't work for you! Feedback like this is vital to improving our products going forward, and we will share your thoughts about the lack of compression straps with our product designers.

August 23, 2022

Black hole long term review

Great bag for hauling tons of stuff. This thing has had me covered for fly fishing trips, ski trips, and everything in between. I bought it to accommodate fly rods and gear in one bag (9 foot 4 pieces are real snug, 8.5 foot 4 pieces rods fit better) and it does the job. The backpack straps are key to lugging this thing through airports. After 10... Read More+ years of use my only gripe is that the rubberized coating is shedding off pretty bad (started about year 6).

August 18, 2022

Love the black hole bags!

I have several of these bags, in a variety of sizes... and just ordered a couple in the new pitch blue color that is coming soon. I love the back pack straps, make it super easy to carry multiple bags in one trip. I've used these for over a year, 2 trips a month, no snags, tears, or issues with wear. They've been perfect!

August 17, 2022

My New Favorite

I bought this for a upcoming Alaska fishing trip and it work perfectly for all my gear

August 17, 2022

Nothing unnecessary

Backpack is super light, resistant and essential. Using it for my kitesurf with sand and water I needed it!

August 12, 2022

Great travel bag

Live in Hawaii and got x3 of these bags to travel to London for world outrigger canoe sprints with my 2 teenage sons. Able to fit all our gear for a 10 day event. Able to still put in overhead carry on. Like the addition of right and left labels on shoulder straps on current bags. I had purchased a 60 L bag several years ago and really liked it and... Read More got three more for the current trip. Current bags dont have Internal since down straps with my old bag had prayed would be great to bring those back but otherwise I would say a new bags are excellent!

August 12, 2022

Best bag ever

This is my 4th purchase of a black hole bag. I have 1 for myself, 1 for my spouse and 2 were gifts. They simply cant be beat. Best duffle bag on the market bar none.

August 12, 2022

Fantastic Duffle Bag

I love this duffel bag! The option to carry as a backpack is a great feature. Its durable and easy to clean.

August 7, 2022

Best bag ever!!!

Patagonia absolutely perfected the weekend bag with the 55L Black Hole Duffel. I love the backpack straps and the internal compartments. Can't live without it :) Fits great on airplane too.

August 3, 2022

Love these bags!

I have two sizes, one for packing myself and my kids when they were smaller and a 55L that I was able to use for myself for a 10 day trip to Italy. The back pack straps make hustling thru the airport a breeze. Heavy duty fabric survived international baggage handling without a scuff. But I needed a YouTube video to get them folded back up in the po... Read Moreuch for longer term storage. It was a small price to pay though. Couple them with packing cubes and youve got an efficient travel combo. Now that the kids are older, I purchased one for each of them so they can carry their own gear.

July 22, 2022

Excellent

55 liter black with Fitz Trout. Excellent duffel. First use as a carryon for long weekend to Rocky Mountain National Park/Estes Park with hiking, fly fishing and horseback riding on the agenda. Swallowed cowboy boots, vasques, chacos, jeans, fishing and hiking gear and dinner clothes, with a bit of room to spare for kids gifts on the way home. Way ... Read Moremore room than anticipated, and tough. Easy to haul with backpack straps , and easy to pack and live out of due to structure. Would love tie downs for a fly rod but other than that fantastic!

July 18, 2022

perfect size

I got this bag to pack clothes and equipment for the 400 mile supported bike tour from Buffalo to Albany. It was perfect (55L) and the mechanism for the shoulder straps made quick attachment/detachment a breeze. High quality fabric and mechanisms. Have an older and smaller bag which is a gem. The fact these are sold out speaks for itself, indispens... Read Moreable and completely reliable product. Don't know if I could lift a fully packed larger size, but others likely can.

July 15, 2022

2 week trip bag.

Bag has plenty of space for a 2 week trip! Packed it with hot, rainy, and cold climate gear. 55L had more than enough space for the trip. Even fully packed its easy to carry as a backpack, especially for a lot of small flight jumping! Bought the wife a 55L as well since her 90L is quite large and not as easy to handle when on the go a lot.

July 10, 2022

The best travel bag

This bag is fantastic! You can put more than enough clothes and whatever else you need. We are taking it on a two week European vacation and it holds everything. Highly recommend!! My family loved mine so much they bought their own.

July 5, 2022

No need for improvement

I have a couple of these great bags. No need for improvement!

June 26, 2022

The Perfect Travel Bag

I kept this bag in it's packed form for my trip back to my parent's and then unfolded it and stuffed it to use as a checked bag for my flight home. The bag still looks in new condition after being checked! This bag also makes a great weekender if that's what you're looking for.

June 18, 2022

Perfect

Perfect

June 1, 2022

best travel bag

Black hole duffle 55L is the best travel bag. We never had any issues on domestic and international flights as a carry on. Depending on how you pack, you really don't need to check in an airline bag and risk losing your luggage or the airline being rough with it. The bag can take a beating and is pretty water proof/resistant. As a family, we h... Read Moreave also have the patagonia 45L travel bag and an older black hole 60L( which is smaller than than the 55L for some reason). This bag has been to Alaska for halibut fishing, San Diego for bluefin fishing, snowboarding in Utah and Japan, and traveling all over internationally and domestic, and the bag still seems like there is very little wear and tear if any.

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2022

We are so stoked to hear your Black Hole Duffle has traveled to so many awesome locations! The progression of the Black Hole Duffle has changed including how we measure their capacity. This makes your older 60L Black Hole smaller than the revised 55L Black Hole.

May 25, 2022

WATCH OUT FOR THAT BLACK HOLE!!!!!

The black hole you do want in your universe! I purchased this bag not really knowing its capabilities. The more trips i took it on, the more i noticed how it just gobbles up whatever you put in it. It seems to expand and contract exactly to it's contents - so well that i often use it as my airline carry-on. My favorite feature has to be the du... Read Morerability. The bag has gone to every climate and on every vehicle imaginable. It's collected a few scratches & scrapes but most seem to have been able to be buffed out (mine's white - eek!). My next faorite features are the large zipper that makes zipping up very easy and the daisy chains that are on either side of the bag. i always carry a few extra carabiner's because you never know what you're going to want to attach. The last favorite feature of mine is the backpack straps. Whenevr my hands end up full, the straps have come in major clutch!!

May 23, 2022

Nice size

Should work great for weekend travels

May 19, 2022

My Favorite Bag

Replacing my favorite bag that I cannot live without! Somehow I lost my original one in a recent move and this is my go-to travel and camping bag.

May 7, 2022

Great bag

Incredible bag - tons of room, functional and durable.

May 7, 2022

Perfect Size

I have the 55L Black Hole duffel and I can't say enough about it. It is my go to bag for an overnighter to a week long trip. Add the fact you can add the straps super quickly to make it a back pack. Which is quite comfortable. Can't recommend this enough for someone looking for a durable bag capable of holding allot more than you might th... Read Moreink. Plus it is made of recycled materials as well.

April 29, 2022

Strange size

Love these bags and have used them for over a decade. Had a 45L previously and found that to a great size for clothes to not shift around or sink to the bottom when carried as a back pack for carry on. Find this bag is just a bit too wide and long. When bag isnt very full, when carried as a back pack weight shifts to the bottom making it feel uncom... Read Morefortable. Would like to try the 40L but havent had luck finding inventory.

Response from Patagonia
May 2, 2022

We're sorry that the larger bag has been disappointing. Please reach out to our Customer Service team for updates on our inventory. We do expect to have more of the [40L Black Hole Bags](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-duffel-bag-40-liters/49338.html) very soon!

April 27, 2022

55L Duffel must have

So pleased with this purchase. This 55L is just the right size for traveling. Very nice material.

April 24, 2022

My go to wedding gift

These are the most useful piece I own. Ive chosen this to give as wedding gifts as I know they will be long appreciated and oh so useful.

April 21, 2022

Great bag

This bag is the perfect size for traveling. I can fit about a weeks worth of stuff in it and the straps are made to be super comfortable for carrying around.

March 17, 2022

Great Bag

This is my 3rd Black hole bag... I now have multiple sizes and bought one for my husband. They are virtually indestructible, repel water and have great zippers. The 55L is great for weekend or several day-long trips and I use the 40L as a gym bag. The backpack and carabiner loops are a bonus.

March 16, 2022

Adventure bag

We have two of these 55L Black Hole bags and have used them for both snowboarding, holding camping gear, and travel. Love that they stack on top of each other in the car since the bottom is a rougher material that grips the top of the other Black Hole 55L bag. We have used every handle in this bag. The side handles make it easy to adjust and drag w... Read Morehen were pulling out gear from the back of the van. The top flap is big enough to easily access everything and also holds a lot of smaller items w/ its zip pouch. We dont unpack our bag, even if we are in a hotel or Airbnb, since it keeps everything super accessible and organized during travel, especially for our teenage boys. The backpack straps are great when we are jumping in and out of Tube stops, up stairs at train stations, over cobblestones in older cities where wheeled suitcases are a hassle to roll. We are not easy on our gear and these bags still look brand new. I have a feeling our kids will be taking these bags with them on their college trips and outdoor adventures for many years to come. Tip: If you do want to pack it back into its original self-contained bag, I recommend recording yourself unpacking it so you know how to repack it. Its a pretty tight fit.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi Aislin! Thank you for writing us such a detailed review. We love to hear that your duffels get so much use, and we hope they see your kids all the way through college. This feedback is greatly appreciated so we'll share it with our design crew. Wishing you and your family well on all the future adventures!

March 15, 2022

Best Bag Ever

This most recent Black Hole 55L duffel I purchased for my youngest son. I bought mine about 5 years ago and I have been using it constantly ever since for all of my travel. My job requires me to travel overseas about 30% of my time and this is my only bag. I can fit enough to basically travel for several weeks assuming a few opportunities for laund... Read Morery at hotels. The bag is a great, simple design. It is easy to carry with the backpack straps and can be stuffed into any overhead. Even small regional jets or jammed under your seat if necessary. For me it is perfect. Thank you.

March 13, 2022

Great bag

I have a few of these. Theyre perfect for travel. They hold up and they shed water well.

March 10, 2022

Patagonia High Standard

Own every size in this carry all. I love the new colors and the easy wipe down and wash. Perfect for travel and camping. This size can be worn as a backpack with the carry straps.

March 6, 2022

Fav gear bag. Bought this one for my sons sailing gear.

Love the black hole bags. I use one daily for trail running gear and just got another for my son. Super durable.

March 5, 2022

Solid Choice for a 55L Duffel Bag

Great bag, all its missing is a removable shoulder strap and end pockets. Because I think those two upgrades would improve the bag dramatically, 4 stars.

March 1, 2022

Great bag

Great bag. Durable, tough, looks great, and holds everything I need for a short trip! One recommendation - add a few small pouches inside. I like small pouches attached to the interior sides or ends to throw little things into...helps keep them from getting lost in the cavernous bag. otherwise, awesome product!

March 1, 2022

Great but want softer shoulder straps

Took this as a backpack so i didnt have to check a bag while on a week vacation. Stuffed it full. Walked through several airports and it chaffed my shoulders so i loosened up the straps but didnt feel as secure. Maybe its fine for a big guy but as a woman (who works out several times a week) it was uncomfortable on my shoulders. It truly needs soft... Read Moreer shoulder pads towards the top of my shoulders. Id be happy to pay extra to upgrade or purchase softer straps.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with the straps. This feedback is immensely helpful to our product designers!

February 26, 2022

Waterproof, durable

I got the 55 liter version, good for a weekend travel bag, a big gym bag if you carry lots of stuff. I use mine primarily for skiing, where it holds my pants, parka, extra socks, extra gloves, a down mid layer and a synthetic mid layer if there might be rain. Everything that doesnt fit in my boot bag. Its waterproof so your stuff stays dry if you ... Read Morethrow it on wet or snowy ground, and durable mine shows no signs of wear after being repeatedly thrown into and out of the truck many times.

February 25, 2022

Rugged Black Hole Duffle

Rugged travel bag, a little pricey but should stand the test of time and wear/tear that comes with travel.

February 25, 2022

Duffle Bag

Love this bag. Perfect for a weekend get away. Fits nicely on planes and easy to carry. Highly recommend it.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2022

We're so happy to hear that you've been able to use this as a carry on! Please be sure to verify carry on restrictions with specific airlines, as the measurements can vary by company.

February 9, 2022

good quality bag

I use the bag for my work gear and carrying my coastguard PPE when on shouts. Very useful

February 5, 2022

My trusty travel companion

If my trip is 7 days or less, this is the only piece of luggage I need. I can get all my work clothes, workout kit and two pairs of shoes in easily. It fits well in overhead bins in all but the smallest puddle jumpers, where I cram it under the seat instead. I once had another passenger spill a full coffee on it once. There was no damage to anythin... Read Moreg inside and it was a quick clean-up with a paper towel. I cannot imagine a better bag!

January 19, 2022

Best quality. Best brand. Awareness

Best quality. Best brand. Awareness for the planet and true action. Love U!

January 7, 2022

Surprisingly large

The 55L can carry so much stuff the backpack straps come in super handy when its very full. Great bag for travel and weeklong trips.

January 6, 2022

Great all around bag!

This 55L bag is a great weekend bag that is the perfect size. I like that its durable sides can be wiped down, or layer on a wet grounds and still keeps the contents dry. I love the 3 sided top opening which makes it easier to use and not need 2 hands to pack/unpack. Fun colors too!

January 5, 2022

excellent

excellent

January 4, 2022

Great travel bag!

Love the Black Hole duffel! Have had one a few decades, bought one for my son now.

January 4, 2022

Sturdy and comfortable to carry

Versatile, comfortable and sturdy duffel.

December 31, 2021

Duffle bag 55 l

Great Material, just used ist on a boat Trip on the Bavaria Lakes. Just love the Design and the ideale of Patagonia.

December 24, 2021

Very good product.

Very good product.

December 7, 2021

Black Hole Bags are the Best

This is my second black hole bag and more of a mid-size that my previous larger black hole bag. Bar none, these are the best bags and the backpack straps make it super versatile.

December 7, 2021

Bigger than the old 60L

I grabbed a 55 because the 60L I had was so useful, and was somewhat surprised to find that it is larger - quite a bit - than the old 60L model.

December 5, 2021

Excellent size and ruggedness

The bag is everything you need. The 55 is good for multi day adventures or long weekend travel. Many pockets to divide up dirty and clean stuff too. Durability is second to none.

November 30, 2021

Totally a black hole! Love it!

A car travel must- yoga gear/ anything inside well protected from our stinky wet dogs in the back seat. I have 3 of these!

November 26, 2021

Nice bag!

So lightweight and durable just cannot say anything bad about the black hole bags.I want another one!

November 17, 2021

Duffle Bag

Thx duffle is great with zippers that actually work consistently.

November 10, 2021

Great bag for traveling

I bought this bag for myself, and I primarily use it for 7-10 day vacations. When I was on vacation my siblings saw the bag and said they wanted one, so here I am buying them duffels. I personally really like the thickness and durability of the material, and the backpack straps really help when u have a lot of gear to unload. The best feature of th... Read Moree duffel is the compact size when folded up, however it does take some practice to fold :)

November 8, 2021

Outstanding Construction

This bag is perfect for carryon and is extremely well built.

November 8, 2021

Perfect

Great size for carry-on

November 5, 2021

Awesome bag

We really like these bags, weve bought several for different things. Travel, storage, sports gear, etc. I would def recommend.

November 4, 2021

Love these bags

I bought my first black hole bag a few years ago, and found myself needing another bag on a recent trip and knew I needed another. Perfect for carry on, fits like a large back pack. Easy to assemble, though not as easy to place it back in its perfect pocket it ships it. Best bag ever.

November 2, 2021

Fantastic Duffel

This duffel is amazing, and being able to convert it into a backpack is very handy. I bring it with me everywhere -- to the gym, to the crag, through the airport. The material of the fabric is incredibly durable and overall it's a very stylish bag.

November 1, 2021

Great for weekend trips

This is a great product for those weekend trips, camping and long hiking trips.

October 28, 2021

Useful

It's a really nice duffel. Thats about it. I use it to store my gear on trips and everyday adventures. Its well built and should last a while.

October 28, 2021

Great Quality

This is the perfect duffle for a weekend trip. I am extremely pleased with the build quality and durability.

October 27, 2021

Perfect for keeping my gear dry

As do most Patagonia customers, I do a lot of outdoor activities - rowing, fishing, kayaking, etc. The Black Hole 55L bag works well for protecting my gear and ensuring I have dry clothes to pull on after a busy day on the water. The small interior pouches are great for keeping things like wallet, keys etc separate from the rest of the gear. The on... Read Morely things that could be improved: The attachment of the back pack straps is not very intuitive (I'm a guy and tend to avoid instructions). The real missing thing is a long shoulder strap with attaching D rings evenly spaced at each end of the bag. I far more often carry my duffels over my shoulder than on my back. I have resorted to using only one of the back pack straps to carry the bag and that is not very comfortable. overall I still give the bag a high rating.

October 22, 2021

Perfect Carry On

Death. Who know the thought of it could excite me simply by knowing that my slick oily body could be buried in a duffel such as this? I drip for the forest and this duffel holds my moisture. I flash a toothy grin at the ominous glowing future and this duffel waits beside me, coldly. I prowl the frothing banks of Lake Sadness and mock its solemn dep... Read Moreths with my crooked bones comfortably shielded in 20 denier ripstop nylon. I also like how it conveniently folds up into its own little pocket for easy storage. Def recommend

October 20, 2021

Great travel bag!

Got this for a weeklong international trip and it worked great! Clothes, toiletries, and 2 extra pairs of shoes filled about 2/3 the bag so it easily fit as carry on for the trip there. I had plenty of room for gifts to bring home and checked it on the way back.

October 15, 2021

Good size

The 55L Black Hole Duffel is a weird size. It will fit gear for a 3 or even 4 day trip but I am not sure it will pass for carry on as some have suggested. That said it could get a little tight on weeklong adventures. If you are looking for something for carry on, size down, if you need something for week long trips size up. Needless to say it check... Read Mores all the other boxes: it is well constructed, the compartments are useful, and it looks great! Would definitely buy again, but maybe a different size, I think.

October 13, 2021

Great bag!

This is a great bag which I use as an all purpose for any occasion!

October 11, 2021

Reliable and Sturdy

I packed this bag for me and my partner for a week-long vacation (camping/hiking/mtb/city) and it was PERFECT. So sturdy and spacious. Was considering buying a second one just so I could have one bag to myself!

October 10, 2021

Awesome Bag

Loved having this bag on a recent trip to Colorado. I was able to fit everything I needed for a 5 day trip in the duffle. Great purchase!

October 8, 2021

Fits in the overhead bin (55L)

Took this bag to Tahiti for a 2 week trip, along with one of the black hole bookbags. It fit in the overhead (even stuffed to the brim inside) on all the normal planes. I bought it in bright purple which I love and would buy another when it comes out in another bright color. I wear it as a backpack when I travel and have no issue. I also use packin... Read Moreg cubes/bags to keep my items sorted.

October 3, 2021

Great size (for long weekend) with room to spare!

I have both sizes, the 40 and the 55. Where I could have used the 40, it was nice to have the extra room of the 55. Fit nicely in the overhead compartment on my flight, so I was able to carry on. Also wore as backpack through airport. Nice and comfy. Used it for a 3-4 day trip packed with outdoor activities and dinners out, and still only filled ab... Read Moreout 85% of the bag.

September 30, 2021

Black Hole Duffle

I have owned my black hole duffle for 3 years now. I use it every day for work and on work trips, and its held up like no other! Cant rave about the bag enough

September 27, 2021

Great

Simple, practical bag for traveling. The 55L can fit under an airplane sit and easily fits in an overhead bin

September 25, 2021

Great Bag

This bag holds tons of clothing and gear. Very durable and easy to throw on your shoulders if you need to carry it for distance. Just buy it!

September 24, 2021

Perfect size. Needed a new bag for weekend trips and ski gear.

Bought this to stop overpacking my smaller duffle and this is such and upgrade it makes me wonder why I did not do it earlier. Great bag for long weekend trips and definitely capacity to hold plenty for cold weather weekends or 5 day warm weather trip with ease.

September 22, 2021

Crazy utility with Black hole bags.

This is my third black hole bag. I have one larger and one smaller. The smaller bag I use for cycling and running gear. The largest bag I use as a travel suitcase. I purchased this bag to have a slightly smaller than the larger one for my girlfriend to use as a suitcase also. (Suitcase means clothing and/or gear hauler to me) They throw over your s... Read Morehoulder easily either with the backpack straps or with the regular carry handles. They have been through a lot of weather and always keep my gear dry and clean. I especially appreciate the use of recycled material. my oldest bag is six or seven years old and is a bit scraped up but still looks pretty darn new. There are competitors bags out there that try to imitate this bag but Black Holes are worth every penny when you compare them.

September 22, 2021

Great Quality

What a great purchase fits a lot and the backpack straps are the best. Will last for years

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches