burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Insulated Snowshot Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Insulated Snowshot Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
September 16, 2022

Really big in the arms

Im 5 ft 10, 215 pounds, not an athletic build. The arms/shoulders were very large, I ended up returning the jacket. Im normally and XL but this was just too big. Quality and comfort of jacket was exceptional just wasnt the right fit.

July 22, 2022

Comfortable and Warm

Bought this jacket 6 years ago for snowboarding and its been amazing. Super warm and comfortable giving me full range of motion. Highly recommend!

June 29, 2022

Replacement

Good quality jacket with sufficient storage options. Internal mesh pocket would benefit from being larger and a ski pass pocket on the right arm useful. Sizing very generous compared to last Torrentshell insulated jacjet

May 29, 2022

Excellent

Nice color. Excellent fit.

April 18, 2022

Excellent Insulated Ski Jacket

I have 45 days this ski season wearing this jacket. Super warm with all the key features ie powder skirt, helmet compatible hood, pit zips and great pocket layout. Great value, high quality

April 13, 2022

Great midweight insulation

This is an ideal midweight insulated jacket. Proper pit zips and hood make this a go-to for me on slightly colder days when i'd be wearing a pack and/or touring.

March 30, 2022

not for big shoulders

This jacket seemed well made, better than a similar competitor (with a giant NF mountain logo). Fit was a problem. Length good. Waistline good. Shoulder's fit too tightly. Went to XXL and it was baggy overall. Had to return both XL (small shoulders) and XXL, too baggy overall.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2022

Thanks for the feedback Mark! We're sorry to hear that you weren't able to find a size that worked for you. If you find another jacket you're interested in, feel free to [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) for measurements to ensure it will work.

March 24, 2022

Excellent product - flexible - warm - functional, easy access pockets.

I have not used my new jacket enough yet to complete a good review - Sorry

March 18, 2022

Good snow sport jacket

Have used the jacket 3 times skiing, happy with it so far. Fit well over my layers and kept me dry and warm throughout the day. Hesitant to buy at regular price, glad I got it on sale. Selected true to size but may run a little large, my medium fit well over 4 layers, Im 6 foot, 180 lbs.

March 17, 2022

Way big

This is a perfect ski coat but runs very big and baggy. I had to return the coat and was nervous to reorder a large. The coat would be a perfect all around ski coat except for the very large fit in length, arms, and middle. Fit like an XXL on me.

March 17, 2022

Jacket seems warm and awesome but too big

The jacket was super comfy, seems really warm and I would have loved to keep it. However, the jacket was really large and I was swimming in it. I was trying to decide on sizing because I typically run between a medium and a large in Patagonia jackets (depends on the fit) but this one was just too big and the arms are long. Im still giving five star... Read Mores because the jacket seemed great and it was my mistake getting the wrong size. Just wish they had more in medium but unfortunately size medium was sold out.

March 16, 2022

Great bright color for early morning walk

I wanted a lightly insulated jacket for my early morning walks. This jacket was a replacement for an older nano storm which had begun to lose it's waterproofing. The orange color gives me visibility on dark early mornings. The light insulation works very well for active walking in weather from about 30-15 degrees F. Very pleased with the perfo... Read Morermance of this jacket.

March 15, 2022

Warm

I was in-between this jacket and the uninsulated Snowdrifter. Ultimately I went with the Snowdrifter, but it was a close call (I run kind of warm and decided the flexibility of an uninsulated jacket would work better for me). I thought this jacket fit well (Large, 6ft 220 lbs), if maybe a bit loose. Though provided a nice amount of room for extra... Read More layers if needed. Pocket layout and warm all felt nice, only thing I wish it had for a resort jacket would be a lift pass pocket on one of the sleeves.

March 14, 2022

Warm and Comfortable

After wearing shells for years I decided to buy an insulated jacket for skiing. Great decision! A week in the Rockies in single-digit temperatures made the insulated Snowshot a new favorite.

March 6, 2022

Great Ski/Snowboarding Jacket

I'm 6'0, ~170lbs and this jacket fit great for snowboarding. The jacket is warm by itself and you can comfortable fit a few layers underneath. The color (forest green) was unique and looked great.

February 21, 2022

Deceptively warmer than it appears

Been riding in this during some frigid negative-temps past-sunrise days in New York and Southern and Central Vermont this season. Seems to be far more versatile than your normal "insulated" shell. On the coldest of mornings I've worn this with a base layer and a fleece and have been just fine, which was surprising at first. If you&#x... Read More27;re looking for that one-jacket quiver for your North American Northeast winter this is the one as long as you have the layer underneath. Riders should know this is not that "roomy" fit you may be used to with other shells you've ridden, but it's surely not a "snug" skiiers shell either. Not too loose, not too tight...

February 18, 2022

Runs Small

This jacket is made for really thin people. Its really tight in the chest. If you workout at all then this jacket is gonna be tight. Length is great but its just too tight and restricting. Going up a size makes the jacket too long. Great comfort though! Please make this jacket wider!!

February 10, 2022

Stoked

Wore on a 4 day trip to Winter Park CO. Was -6 at the peak, and this thing was a dream. I wore a tight base layer, a fleece and this jacket. It was great & not bulky.

February 4, 2022

Super worm and incredibly comfortable.

Great for biking. The Velcro on the cuffs is great for a see cute fit, the pit zips provide great levels of airflow. The arms have good stretch to them when on a bicycle. Hoody also fits great over a helmet.

January 23, 2022

nice but not warm

This is a nice jacket which is up to the usual Patagonia high quality standards. However, the insulation is barely there. I am having a hard time thinking of conditions where this jacket would be useful instead of the uninsulated version or a different shell. My kid has the kid version of this which is double the insulation and is a great choice fo... Read Morer cold weather snowboarding. I should have looked more closely at the specs.

January 4, 2022

Warm and cozy!

Perfect size - room for layers on really cold days. Hood fits great over ski helmet.

December 25, 2021

GREAT SNOW SPORTS JACKET

GREAT JACKET, I USUALLY BUY A SIZE LARGE IN MOST BRANDS BUT THE PATAGONIA SNOWSHOT AND POWDER BOWL TEND TO RUN LARGE FOR A 6'1 165 SKIER. ALL THE KEY FEATURES : PIT ZIPS, POWDER SKIRT, HELMET COMPATIBLE HOOD, GREAT POCKETS.

December 22, 2021

You get what you pay for

This jacket is the lightest and warmest jacket that I have ever owned. The opening side panels are super convenient if you get a little too warm. The jacket has plenty of pockets and the headphone pass through in the front pocket is handy.

December 21, 2021

Needs better pockets

The jacket is very nice, light weight and warm. The fit is perfect. The only thing missing is a pass pocket on the sleeve. Add this to the jacket and maybe an additional zipped inside pocket and the jacket would be even better.

April 15, 2021

Best Ski Jacket

I've used this hard for two seasons, and it still looks new. Have washed it a few times. Very stylish, and nice slim fit. I ski in the Sierras, so not that cold. Usually wear with just a base layer, and I'm plenty warm. With a mid layer, this would be warm enough for a cold day in NH/VT. Good trade off between waterproof and breathable.... Read More There may be better jackets if you expect to get rained on, but then you would not be buying an insulated jacket

February 27, 2021

Well done

The jacket is well done in my opinion. The jacket insulation is nice ratio, not to little not to much. I like that there is less fill in the arms versus the torso. Most days skiing is a Patagonia capilene cool long sleeve shirt, Patagonia better sweater vest and this jacket carry me through most days with the vest coming on and off as needed, bit h... Read Moreot natured. Even with quite a few layers the slightly large fit helps for the really cold days. Collar material for your face is nice. Hood is big enough and fasteners work great for a no helmet fit. Will attach to pants and powder skirt is nice. Pockets are really well thought out with the front pockets being loaded vertically versus horizontally saves a lot of drops on the chair lift. I have had the H2No ski pants for a couple seasons and have been happy with the water protection for what we do hoping the jacket performs like the pants. Well done Patagonia!

January 31, 2021

Perfect Resort Jacket!

I was always a technical shell guy, but my wife got me this jacket for my birthday after watching me layer up for a cold day on our local hill, Stowe. I absolutely love it. At first I thought it would be too heavy- but it is the perfect weight for a full day of snowboarding with my kids, or the rare day of lapping with the grownups. The fit is clas... Read Moresic: not too baggy & not too snug, so its not out of place as an everyday option. It breathes surprisingly well for an insulated jacket, & the simplicity of the pocket design makes stashing a binding tool, a large Laughing Moon salted-dark chocolate bar, hand & foot warmers for the kids, goggle wipes etc. without getting overly bulky. The collar seals in heat very well, & the powder skirt both grips well, & disappears when not needed. Zippered pits are a great size for dumping heat & every zipper is easy to pull with gloves or mitts on. Its about a year old now & sheds snow & light sleet/rain as well as when it was brand new. This jacket is a quiver killer! Merino wool base layer is all it takes in warmer temps (25F+), but adding a fleece makes it possible to stay warm and comfortable when its bluebird & single digits. Highly recommend!

September 30, 2020

Great jacket

Super warm and comfortable

February 20, 2020

Great Ski Jacket

No complaints here. I primarily ski in the Northeast and this jacket does the job. Warm enough with only a base layer on sunny, calm days in the 30s. Plenty of room to add a mid-layer on colder days. It runs a bit large, but the size is perfect for skiing because it allows layering and mobility. Waterproofiness is 100% and it keeps out the wind as ... Read Morewell. Good pocket placement, though i wish it had an inside zip-up breast pocket because I love those types of pockets. Also maybe a small zipper pocket on the sleeve to put your lift card in (I've never seen this before but it would be a nice add-on for ease of card scanning). Hood is plenty big to get over your helmet if needed. Overall great ski jacket. Probably gonna be too big if you aren't using it for skiing though.

January 5, 2020

This is a great coat

Warm , waterproof and fits very well. My son never wants to wears a jacket .This jacket is so comfortable and warm enough without over heating him , I find he wears it regularly

December 27, 2019

It's a good jacket. Expensive,

It's a good jacket. Expensive, but worth the price tag.

December 23, 2019

Perfect!

Way better then the 3-in-1 Snowshot. I appreciate your understanding in swapping out this item for for me. On my way to Jackson Hole!

November 15, 2019

Jack of all Trades

Used it on a 50 degree day with pit zips down. Venting on this jacket is very well done with lighter insulation to help keep warm when its colder.

November 6, 2019

Sleaves are just a little

Sleaves are just a little too long, but the jacket itself has room for layers if needed. So far it’s too early in the season for a real test.

October 22, 2019

Great jacket, but really long

I got this jacket in the navy blue and it was beautiful. I am usually between a men’s small and x-small as I’m 5’5”, but have broad/athletic shoulders. I got the x-small and it had plenty of room in the body to layer, but still sat pretty close to the body. I can tell that the insulation of this jacket is right on for fall/spring temps (30-50 degre... Read Morees) or active winter pursuits. The only thing I didn’t like about it was that the body is extremely long, even with the x-small the tail covered my entire back side down to the beginning of my inseam, so I can’t imagine how long the small would have been on me. I understand as a ski jacket this is par for the course, I was just hoping to use it for more daily use as well and that length just isn’t the style I’m looking for. Great jacket overall, just too long in the body for a guy like me.

October 1, 2019

Ready for anything

This jacket is amazing and keeps you just like Goldilocks and the three bears, just right. I have had the uninsulated version for two years and use it for skinning and now have the insulated version for colder days at the resort. Fits nicely and allows for a great degree of movement

May 8, 2019

Perfect fit - can't wait to use it

I bought this jacket on sale during the End of Season sale, so I haven't had a chance to play in the snow with it yet. But first impressions were very strong. It fits perfectly and looks good. The moderate level of insulation is just what I was hoping for, and it's not bulky. The pockets seem to be placed well, and I like the design of th... Read Moree powder skirt. It's definitely got me excited for slope season again.

March 15, 2019

Returning due to fit.

Size small is for tall people. At 5'8", 31" waist, 36" chest, 145lbs, I'm size small according to their chart. Yet the sleeves go all the way to my fingertips, at least a full 4" longer than they should be. I have normal length arms (definitely not a negative ape index). If you're 6'1" and fit a size ... Read Moresmall or have +3 ape index, go for this jacket . If you're average height like 5'8" or 5'9" then skip it.

January 6, 2019

Not extremely waterproof

I did find that the jacket is an excellent ski jacket apart from not keeping me warm in freezing temperatures, where I was forced to wear a fleece underneath it most of the time. In rain, however, I found that the jacket became completely soaked in somewhat light rain, and when skiing the snow did soak into the fabric when it melted.

October 25, 2018

Runs rather large

I'm 6', ~170 pounds. I bought a medium jacket and have had it for almost a year. It seemed fine at the store, but in practice it feels like I'm swimming in it.. it runs quite large. I also don't find it to be all that warm, and need to layer up underneath to stay comfortable in freezing temperature weather.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches