Back to Product

River Salt Wading Boots

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

River Salt Wading Boots

4.8/5
Kinda Large
November 7, 2021

Outstanding Improvement from Ultralight Sticky Boots

These boots are easily one of the best pieces of outdoor gear I own. I've put a full season of wade fishing on mine now and have no complaints. Night and day difference from the previous generation of Patagonia ultra light sticky wading boots (which fell apart on me with less than 100 days on the water). The soles are holding up well and grip ... Read Moreis good in the water on varying surfaces. The River Salts are extremely comfortable, light, dry amazingly fast and will accommodate waders or a neoprene wet wading sock. I've even worn mine with just a thick pair of wool socks and it worked out alright. They feel more like standard tall hiking boots than a pair of heavy wading boots and are easier to hike in when you have a trek to get to the water. Bonus that they come with a spare set of laces and studs. Sizing and fit: I agree with some of the other reviewers, these aren't the easiest boot to choose a size. My advice: Choose your standard wading boot size. When you first put them on dry with waders they feel snug, almost too small. However, they stretch A LOT once they get wet. I had to stop and re-tie mine after wading a bit the first few outings wearing them. I sense they are designed more for the neoprene sock/wet wading or flats fishing scenarios but I've found they work great with waders as well for 3-season use. For winter fishing, I would go up a size or better yet buy the Foot Tractors/a different style of wading boot.

August 23, 2021

Comfortable

Bought these after another fishing brand failed me. I was pleasantly surprised. Wore them all day, hiked a couple of miles to and from stream. Sturdy and actually more grip over felts that I have used in past. Hoping these will be my last pair of wading boots I own ! Regarding the fit - they will loosen up once wet, no need to size up.

July 28, 2021

Super light!

Bought these to accompany the tractor foots which are superb build quality but heavy. Seem very well made and good grip on the sole aswell.

June 28, 2021

Runs narrow

I purchased both the Women's Swiftcurrent Waders and the River Saltwater Wading Boots together. The waders have a built in neoprene sock so I tried on the size 6 boots with my foot in the wader sock. My foot is a size 7 women's and I run on the wide end of normal in width. I can barely get my foot into the boot, even when it is completely... Read More unlaced and my heel slides when I attempt to walk in them laced. The boot seems to run long and narrow. The tightness is felt on either side of my foot in the upper part of the toe box where my arch begins. When I tried on the boot without the wader sock, I had more than ample room throughout the boot and would have had to size down. This boot would be good for someone with a narrow foot. I cannot comment on wear and durability as I barely got these out of the box. I would love if this boot could be made in a wide width. A Patagonia pairing with Danner was a dream come true, but not for me. Regretfully, I am having to return the boots. My rating of 3 stars is because of the overall construction and the company reputations that are associated with the boot.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2021

Thank you for the review on our River Salt Wading Boots. We're so sorry to hear that the sizing didn't end up working out for you, we would be happy to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team members. In the meantime, we'd like to gather some information from you to help you find a good replacement pair that are comfortable. Please reach out to our customer service team [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 23, 2021

Very comfortable wading boots

I ordered size 10 US which is my normal shoe size, these are great with the packable middle fork waders, very comfy and light, size was just right. The soles worked well without studs on land and wading in the river. Only thing to change would be to add the stud attachment tool to the package if one wants to use them. The studs were included.

May 25, 2021

Hands down best pair of wading boots I have ever owned!

Over the years I have owned multiple pairs of wading boots - many of them very good. But the usual: a little too heavy, soles so thick there is no way to feel yourself through a rocky river bottom, not so great traction or with felt bottoms - still my favorite but you know the deal there nowadays. These Saltwater Wader boots solved all that in a li... Read Moreght weight pair of boots, easy to walk in or out of the fishing spot, perfect to toe yourself along rocky river bottoms and lots of traction. Stud em if need be ... and a roomy toe box. Overall - best pair I have owned in 30 years. This is the second season I am fishing with them - bought them at a local shop. About close to perfect...

May 15, 2021

River SAlt Wading boots

Absolutely stunning and far ....FAR.... above all my expectations. Had them on my wishlist for quite some time. My best tip: Don't put them on a wishlist. Just buy them you never regret it. I regret I didn't buy them sooner. My best waders ever and I fly fish nearly 50 years.and used dozes of wading boots in my life.

March 25, 2021

Great Boot- crazy hard to size

boot is the best ive worn on the water- hands down. From simms to korkers it tkes the cake. However, these are near impossible to size. I tried on two different types of wading socks including booties but, like a lot in the reviews, the size didnt pan out. Pati coullldddd send a few pairs to shops for soaked sizing as the size 12's I got expan... Read Moreded crazy. just a heads up that these run true to size but the comfort features of the boot allows for a lot of expansion- much more than a typical wading boot.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2021

Hey there, thanks for the review. If you feel like you could benefit from a different size, reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we can figure out what would work best for you and help you with sending in the ones you currently own.

March 5, 2021

Consider 2 sizes up...

I ordered these boots to pair with the Expedition Swift Current waders. My fishing usually entails a longer walk to get wet and at a pound less/pair than the Foot Tractors, I was looking for a lighter weight boot. My foot is a size 8 but had to order the waders in a size LSM to accommodate the rest of me. Large wadres come with neoprene booties siz... Read Moreed for 9-11 feet. Needless to say there is extra neoprene around my foot. In anticipation of this, I ordered these boots one size up at the recommendation of Customer Service. One size up (size 9) was still far too small and so did the exchange for two sizes up (size 10) and they have just enough room to accommodate the extra neoprene. For what it's worth, I didn't see it mentioned, but the River Salt Boots come with studs that you can screw into the soles if you want that extra traction. That was a pleasant surprise that I didn't see mentioned in the product description.

December 9, 2020

Comfortable boots

While I haven't gotten to use them yet, I can't wait to use them next year. The fit is great, and the functionality is all there on the boot. I will update my review when I get in the water. Shout out to the customer service team. They were very quick in answering my questions, making sure I got the correct size and boot.

December 3, 2020

Outstanding boot!

I read a lot of the reviews here and on third party sites for these boots and a lot of others (Simms, Orvis, etc). I went with these for a number of reasons: Patagonia, Danner, made in the USA, great reviews. I wear a 11.5 - 12 in anything else and based on the majority of the reviews I read I decided to go with a size 12 in the boot. It felt a lit... Read Moretle tight initially with my waders on but after my first hike to the river and a few hours fishing the boots felt awesome. With the Yulex wading socks they feel a little less snug. They are VERY comfortable to wear and hike in. Traction in the rivers on the Olympic Peninsula w/o the studs was better than expected. I'm either buying a set of Danner hiking boots for my next set, or using these. However, on the second use, one of the speed eyelets at the top ripped right off. Not a show stopper, but frustrating none the less. I reached out to Patagonia and the customer service was OUTSTANDING. Problem=solved.

November 26, 2020

Go Big for perfect fit

I usually wear a size 10 so I went up one size in order for this boot to fit over the neoprene booties on my waders. The size 11 was too tight so I exchanged for a size 12 and they fit perfectly over my waders.

November 20, 2020

First pair, sole ripped off within 3 months

Theyre super comfortable. And light. they fit great. The sole ripped off within three months of me purchasing them?! I thought dander and Patagonia made better products.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2020

Thanks for letting us know your boots didn't hold up. We stand behind everything we make with our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to our customer service team and we can help you out.

September 19, 2020

Superb

Love these wading boots. Yes they are expensive but the quality oozes. Patagonia have scored a perfect partnership with Danner to create the best wading boot on the market. Having worn Danner on Military Ops I know I can trust them completely for comfort and durability. I love the fact that the boots are able to take new soles so they will last for... Read More years to come. Recently, I have tested these boots in Scotland - Both river and loch fishing and they were really impressive. I don't worry about my feet at all from walking in to wading peaty waters. The grip is impressive even though I have not put the supplied studs in. With the stud in even the most slippery conditions would be easy conquerable. Overall, superb boots which I expect to use for years.

September 8, 2020

Aesthetic, Style, Function

Aesthetics: As an Artist, I care for Aesthetics and Style first. I don't understand why fly fishing has such a boring everything is the same cookie cutter flavorless wack muted grumpy dumpy old man gadget dangling look. Any way the boots look FRESH. I've worn them off river with jeans and for a recent photo shoot for one of those style/de... Read Moresign magazines you see at the supermarket. Those boxes are checked. On and Off River...At that price they have to do double time. Function: I have a wide foot 3E 11/11.5 size. I usually buy a size up for Width. I did this with the River Salt. I got a size 12. Brand new it felt right but mind and gut was telling me NO! Don't do it. So I reordered the 11. Perfect fit. I walked around the house first. They were tight. I tried different socks and thought I had made a bad choice because they felt kinda tight still after 2 weeks of house styling. I took them out on the River and the dew from the grass seemed to loosen them up before they got really wet. The trail walks to the river are comfortable. You can get a good long hike in the River Salts no problem. No discomfort for me. The grip is good in and out of the water. The support for me is good. The boot flexes with my ankles and are just there in the pocket like an old friend. I don't feel like I'm fighting padding or heavily sloshing around. The boots are nimble and light weight. I feel like the fish know my boots look good so it makes my fly's look good and they just hop on my line. Plus, I clean my boots after every trip to remove the grit. I want them to last cause I know how to tear a product up. So I need the Patagonia warranty. The boots now look scruffy and fresh like a fave pair of Docs. Cons: I feel like I'm always wanting to re tying my laces every hour or so now that the boot has relaxed. I was planning on adding some blue or safety orange laces anyway cause aesthetics and style. I will see if that helps. I may also add a new insole to see if I can get even more comfort out of a very comfortable light weight stylish boot that does good work.

July 15, 2020

Fit Issues

I really wanted to make these boots work for me, as the quality is really unparalleled in the wading boot industry. Absolutely love that Danner is making wading boots for Patagonia. Unfortunately, they just don't fit my feet. I usually wear a 9.5 in normal shoes and a 10 in most wading boots. The 10's in these were excruciatingly tight an... Read Mored there was no way I was going to deal with that kind of pain. I then purchased these in 11 (as suggested by other reviewers) and my heel was slipping out because of the length. I also tried buying the Foot Tractors in my normal 10 and they didn't fit either, super heavy and my heel was also pulling out of them when walking. I guess I just can't win with these boots.

July 14, 2020

Super Durable and Comfortable

These are the best wading boots I've ever owned. As a guide, I rely on durable and comfortable boots every day and these boots are top notch. I've had these boots for about a month now and have at least 15 days in them and I've beat them up. Everything from rough freestones, to tailwaters with basketball shaped boulders that roll, to... Read More sandy flats, to 12 mile hikes, these boots have done everything I've asked and shown minimal wear thus far. I can't speak for longevity, but so far I'm impressed. Being American made is a huge plus and important to me as well. Note: They do run a hair small. I initially ordered a 12, which it what I typically wear in boots, but they were a bit tight. I went to a 13 and they are good, slightly big, but that's fine since I need heavy socks for 4-5 months out of the year in the Northeast.

May 26, 2020

Comfy Performer

This boot is incredibly comfortable and stable. I have had hiking style fishing boots in the past that were great for packing, but provided little in the way of comfort or support - especially for someone with flat feet like me. These are exceptional and well worth the price. You may find them a bit small if you like to wear thick socks along with ... Read Moreyour wading sock. I wear a size 10.5US so opted for the 11. This gave me a snug fit with just normal socks on underneath my waders.

May 19, 2020

Incredible Quality- Size Up

These are my favorite wading boots I have ever tried. Absolutely the most comfortable, lightweight and seemingly durable boots I have tried. With that being said I plan on using these mostly with waders and wet wading with neoprene wading socks. I typically wear sz 11.5 street shoes and figured I would be okay purchasing a size 12. Not the case wit... Read Moreh these. When wearing wader booties or even thin neoprene wet wading socks there was no way the 12 had enough volume. True to form Patagonia customer service was incredible and the exchange process was great. The 13 was a huge upgrade and fits perfectly. On a side note, I also tried the heavier Patagonia Foot Tractor Boots. These actually worked for me in a 12 and seem to be more sized towards wearing heavier socks etc. The lighter weight of the river salt boots is much more preferable for me however as I fish mostly on foot, rather than a boat and once I got the size right, I couldnt be more pleased with the boot.

May 17, 2020

Incredible Quality- Size Up

These are my favorite wading boots I have ever tried. Absolutely the most comfortable, lightweight and seemingly durable boots I have tried. With that being said I plan on using these mostly with waders and wet wading with neoprene wading socks. I typically wear sz 11.5 street shoes and figured I would be okay purchasing a size 12. Not the case wit... Read Moreh these. When wearing wader booties or even thin neoprene wet wading socks there was no way the 12 had enough volume. True to form Patagonia customer service was incredible and the exchange process was great. The 13 was a huge upgrade and fits perfectly. On a side note, I also tried the heavier Patagonia Foot Tractor Boots. These actually worked for me in a 12 and seem to be more sized towards wearing heavier socks etc. The lighter weight of the river salt boots is much more preferable for me however as I fish mostly on foot, rather than a boat and once I got the size right, I couldnt be more pleased with the boot.

March 28, 2020

Awesome wading boots

These boots are fantastic. I wear 10-10.5 shoes but I got size 11 here. I pair these with the Middle Fork waders and it's a perfect fit. In the winter, I add the fleece oversocks and they really help stabilize the boot and keep me super warm. The boots have been great for hiking into remote spots. Without waders, they're a tad big on me, ... Read Morebut nonetheless, I hiked 5 miles one day without waders and they still felt great. Really happy with these and it's great knowing that I can get these repaired easily down the road. Great product!

March 17, 2020

TOO SMALL; SIZE UP!

I was super excited to receive these boots today (and was so glad I placed my order before the coronavirus paused Patagonia's operations), so I could get them in the water this weekend. But like others have said, these boots run small. I wear a size 9.5 Danner hiking boot, so I thought the extra half size of a size 10 would adequately accommod... Read Moreate the neoprene stocking booties of my Rio Gallegos waders. Wrong. With a pair of wading socks and the neoprene boots, the size ten boots were crushing my feet. But because I was impressed with how comfortable they were right out of the box, and the Danner workmanship, I will be exchanging for a size 11. My only disappoint is knowing that I won't be able to get size 11 boots for some time. If they were available in a local store, I would consider buying a new pair and returning these. Unfortunately, that's not an option.

February 23, 2020

most comfortable boots I've ever owned

I typically wear an 11.5/12 street shoe and ordered these in size 12 to use wet wading with a 5mm neoprene sock and that combo has yielded the most comfortable wading boot I've ever owned. They are lighter weight than I expected and work well for locations that involve an extended hike in as well. I'm very happy with these!

December 19, 2019

Some of the best boots I have worn

I tromped around in various boots in various countries throughout my military tenure and I like to believe that my feet have seen their fair share of mileage. I recently had the pleasure of making a trip to Kiribati and Fanning Atoll in the Pacific. Needless to say, these have been some of the most comfortable boots I have ever worn. Endless miles ... Read Moreof stalking bones on the flats, navigating coral reefs for triggers & bumpies, to casting out of a panga to trevally and tuna, these boots handled it all. I have also utilized this boot fishing my home rivers as a hiking boot. Light and efficient. Can’t say enough good about this boot. I am a 12.5-13 street shoe and the sz 13 was perfect!

November 5, 2019

I’ve used river salt boots

I’ve used river salt boots on norshore of Lake Superior streams and Wisconsin’s Brule River. They seemed a little tight at first but after wearing them they fit great. Very comfortable and light enough to wear all day. So far so good time will tell how they wear and last

November 4, 2019

Wonderful boot

The sizing is accurate. Just order the size you normally wear in any other shoe. I overthought the issue and ordered a size up given the need for Neoprene Socks. They turned out to be a size too large. I feel the boots are just slightly larger than normal to comfortably fit with thick wool or wading socks. The exchange process was very convenient a... Read Morend I couldn't be happier with these boots. I wear a size 13 tennis shoe and the size 13 in this boot is perfect. Trust the sizing.

October 31, 2019

Light but tough

I love the fit and feel of of my River Salt Wading Boots. I wear a womens 9 so I orders a size 8. The fit is right on. They are comfortable and are exactly what I was hoping for.

October 25, 2019

Great fit

So far, really liking the fit a feel of these boots paired with my Middle Fork Waders. These boots are extremely light and rugged. Not much effort to break in as well. Worthy investment for my feet. Ordered size 10 . I typically wear 9.5 in a running shoe and boots. Plenty of room for winter socks.

September 13, 2019

Great Boots

Just finished my first week in the new River Salt boots wading in Montana. Great fit (ordered a size larger than I wear in shoes). Also excellent traction in mud and river bottom

September 5, 2019

River Salt

One of the most comfortable boots ive ever put on. from the second i put my foot in the boot till i took it off. Grippy with plenty of support.

August 14, 2019

Best wading boots ever...

... but as expected, due to Patagonia and Danner both being awesome companies in their own right! This collaboration caught my eye immediately as I wear Danner's in the mountains and pats boots in the wet wade realm, so of course I was excited to get these. Awesome boot! Looking forward to years of use!

August 14, 2019

Great traction, super comfortable

These boots are amazing, easy to hike in and great traction on slippery rocky stream bottoms. I agree with the other reviews that sizing up if you're wearing waders, I normally wear a size 13 but the 14 fits unreal w/ my new Rio Gallegos waders (w/ booties). Looking forward to years of trout slaying in these boots!

August 13, 2019

First Wading Boots and I couldn't be happier

I snagged these boots right before heading out on my first ever fly fishing trip... 8 days on the Aniak River. Patagonia's reputation for quality and the weight (light) of the River Salt boots sold me. Upon receipt I loved the feel and was excited to get them out, albeit a little nervous taking brand new boots on such a long trip. My worries t... Read Moreurned out to never be a problem. The boots fit perfectly and after 8 long days on the river, 12-14 hours a day wearing them, I never had a single blister or hot spot. The traction was great and the quality is not in question. I'll probably have these forever, but when it comes time for another pair of Wading Boots, I'll be getting another pair from Patagonia.

August 10, 2019

The Salt

The most comfortable wading boot I’ve ever owned in my 60 years of fly fishing. With the provided studs they provide extremely secure footing. And they are downright beautiful.

August 10, 2019

So far, So good

I'm hard on my wading boots. They get dragged on backcountry trips and hike/wading adventures more than anything else. The need to cover miles comfortably, work with waders or when temperatures climb wet wade all rank high. So far I can say the River Salt Boots have been up to the task. They took a a short break moment - Two days on the river ... Read Moreuntil I forgot I was wearing them. They felt great with waders and worked without waders when used for hiking on tundra/wet wading. The fact they can be rebuilt comes as a big bonus. I'd rather repair then replace. As with any product, they will have to withstand the tests of time, and hard usage, but reaction after a 2 week backcountry trip is that they are a big jump in quality and design from my last pair of wading boots.

August 4, 2019

My favorite wading boot!

I took these bad boys to Christmas Island, a place that destroys tennis shoes and my past wading boots in a week. We fished open ocean with coral, sand and rocks pounding on us. It’s usually a boot destroyer day, but my soles looked untouched after two weeks on the island. I didn’t even have to break in my boot. My first day wearing them was on t... Read Morehe island and they worked out perfect. I am a women’s size 8, and went to a men’s size 6: I usually like my boots bigger, but these fit perfectly. The boot fits so tight around my ankle in a good way! Keeping river sediment out as well as salt and coral on the saltwater trips I didn’t even wear a gravel guard and it worked out fine (I somehow didn’t pack my wading socks is the reason I didn’t wear any). I am now half way through my guide season and obsessed with the traction, durability and comfort I get every day. They do look worn, well loved and how a boot should look. But I have no doubt I’ll get many years out them. Couldn’t recommend a better wet wading boot.

June 17, 2019

Great for combat wading

I just put these to the test on the McCloud river for 5 days of combat wading - including bowling ball slick basalt, sharp edges, slimy rocks, and precarious trails up and down. They were super solid. Reports of them sizing small turned out to be unfounded for me. I wear size 10.5 in dress shoes, 11 in athletic shoes. Size 11 was perfect for me wit... Read Moreh wool socks and neoprene wet wading booties as well as neoprene stocking foot waders. The Megagrip soles were solid on everything except slime-coated smooth basalt.

May 8, 2019

River Salt Wading Boots (Built By Danner)

I have always been a huge fan of Danner boots and when I found out they made wading boots for Patagonia I definitely pulled the trigger and bought a pair. Very well made and Danner will fix them if they ever need it. These boots are absolutely the best wading footwear available. They are quite expensive but well worth the cost. I have put them thr... Read Moreough about 25 days of solid fishing since I received them in March 2019. Hiking in these boots is unlike any other pair I have owned and they feel like high quality hiking boots rather than wading boots. The soles stick to everything from steep trail to slimy river rock! I opted for the Salt River as I do tend to hike into secluded locations as well as run a drift boat so I wanted the lighter version. The boots fit exactly as described so pay attention to the fitting description for sizing up or down depending on the boot you choose. 5 stars in my book and I will most likely never need to buy another pair!

May 8, 2019

Get Em For These Reasons

1) If you buy the proper size, they fit like a combat boot. 2) The stability is incredible. 3) For the climbers out there, a bombproof Vibram sole. 4) and, admittedly, I’ve only hiked 50ish miles so far, the fit is great. Send it!

March 22, 2019

The River Salt Boot does it all!!!

From long walks into fabled trout streams, sketchy wades on steelhead rivers in the pacific northwest, and coral and marl of Caribbean flats these boots have handled it all! Find the right size for what you are planning to use them for most and they will provided good protection and comfort in a variety of situations.

March 12, 2019

Excellent boots but size up!

My twin brother recommended to size up on these boots and he was right. In the past I've worn 11's across the board in Patagonia and Simms. These definitely need the size 12 for me. The Patagonia customer service team is second to none and they helped me get them in time for a trip and I can't be more impressed with them and the boot... Read Mores. While they are a little pricey, I will say I feel that they have the wow factor and are made in America, so, for me, I can justify this kind of purchase. I promised one of the reps that I would write a review and I'm following through with that. They're rugged, well built, and feel like they can last the long haul. I usually put over 200 days on the water and I am anxious to put these to work over the next season and I'll try and do a follow up review at the end of the year. I wasn't too sold on the look of the other Danner models, so, I went with the River Salts. I am glad that I did. They are very lightweight and feel like a lighter and more stable modern combat boot. They mate well with my Gallegos and G4's and I feel like they are comfortable and not circulation restrictive like I find a lot of Simms Boots to be like. These boots don't have any notable flaws that I can see and after being in them for an hour hanging out and getting a feel for them I am 100 % confident that sizing up is the right choice. My brother said he tried the 11's on (we both have the same size foot) and he said they were much tighter on the toe box compared to previous models like the foot tractor or ultralight. Any smaller and they wouldn't fit right, so, if you are about to pull the trigger, I would size one size up and you won't regret it if you intend on wearing them with all season waders that have standard neoprene booties. If you only intend on wet wading with them without booties, then you would probably be safe going with the street shoe size. otherwise, I can't emphasize enough how they fit differently from previous boots you may have owned. The size up also doesn't feel sloppy or loose anywhere where I felt like I would slide out of them. I could easily get my thick wool socks on and the neoprene boots with room for another pair of socks if you need them. You will love the boots and I will hopefully be able to report a wonderful review at the end of the year for you. Great job Patagonia!

March 10, 2019

BUY THEM! BUT BE WARNED! SMALLER THAN PREVIOUS BOOTS, SIZE UP! READ BELOW!

So, my brother ordered these and I just had to try them on while he was out of town and I will say the build quality is absolutely top notch. However...they are DEFINITELY smaller than previous Patagonia boots. These are almost like they're sized for wet wading without neoprene booties. I HIGHLY recommend sizing to the next size up! I had some... Read More old thin socks on when I tried these on in my G4 waders and I will say they were basically crushing my feet on the toe box. 15 minutes afterwards and my feet were still aching. It was like I was almost putting on climbing shoes (okay, maybe not that tight, but still! you get the point). Imagine these on the river being compounded by being on your feet all day and think how much swelling you'll get. I cannot entertain the idea. Trust me. SIZE UP. Why haven't any of the beta testers mentioned this?? This would've been useful information, so, I figured I would help my fellow anglers out. In the old foot tractors and the ultralights I am a size 11. I also wear size 11 in the Simms G3 and their Sandstone model. I have to have a size 12 in these. Minimum. I fish a lot (sometimes in excess of 275+ days a year on the water) and I've worn a lot of boots before. Without a doubt, the quality construction build is unparalleled right now on the market. The added benefit is that the colors are spot on for my new gen Simms G4's and Pat Rio Gallegos Waders. If you can even contemplate spending this kind of coin on a pair of boots, bite the bullet and buy them..(SMH c'mon Patagonia! Too much $$ for these. I've never even spent HALF this much on any pair of shoes my entire life, and these bad boys cost TWICE as much as every other high end wading boot out there...I only justified the purchase because they are made in the USA!!) However, I will say this...they are worth it. Would I be more satisfied if they were at least..$75 cheaper? $100 cheaper? YES!. I would gladly pay a premium for some nice boots, but...this price?..It is excessive Patagonia...didn't even bother buying me a drink first. But I will say that now that I have them, I won't wear another pair. They're worth it. Trust me. Just buy them. They are incredibly lightweight, high quality construction, and look fantastic. They aren't bulky like their previous boots or other manufacturers. They even included a set of extra laces and some studs in the box! If you have been on the fence on whether or not you can justify buying them, let me ask the question that my Scout Master once posed: What is the most important thing about fly fishing?...Well the answer is obvious..."Looking cool". Which these definitely accomplish. But in all seriousness, these have a very high quality construction build with actually comfortable insoles as well as have extremely grippy rubber compound soles. If you have ever handled Danner's military boots they use comparable robust ballistic nylon webbing. The toe box doesn't look like goofy clown shoes that most Simms boots have either. TLDR. Size up 1 size larger than what you previously bought before. You won't regret buying them.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches