Back to Product

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 290 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
January 22, 2022

Super warm.

I received this jacket as a present. Can't wait to wear up on the mountain hunting. I can't believe you don't make a matching beanie.

January 15, 2022

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable.

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable. Husband love it.

January 14, 2022

Amazing jacket

Fits really, I love The coloring.

January 14, 2022

Great Gift

Bought this for my husband. He loves it and is wearing it all the time. The jacket acts as a windbreaker and is very warm.

January 13, 2022

Size

The length of the jacket could not be smaller at all, im 6'1, but L size is still a bit loose on the arms. Otherwise quite happy with it.

January 13, 2022

It was an awesome Xmas

It was an awesome Xmas gift. I look forward to be stylish in the city and wear it during hiking, trekking or outside bouldering. Hopefully the natural colour will survive

January 7, 2022

Great first version

I have the earlier version without the unsightly contrasting outside pocket. I have used it for over ten years and its a great part of my outdoor kit for climbing, sailing and casual. Still looks great. BUT I am waiting for a new version, more stretchy for movement, without that ugly pocket !!

January 7, 2022

Wonderful

Very warm and comfortable piece. Works well in many outdoor occasions.

January 6, 2022

Love it

Comfy and warm my go to fleece jacket. Love the external breast pocket and the huge side pockets, I can get 2 1L water bottles in just one pocket (just a reference for how huge they are). In terms of fit I bought a large, I'm 6ft with a 42in chest. The fit is exactly what I would be wanting from this style (I prefer slightly baggy not skin tig... Read Moreht) . The elastic around the cuff ensure sleeves will stay on my wrists with enough material in the sleeves to cover past the knuckles when pulled over my hand. This is great as they stay in place even with outstretched arms reaching for things. The body of the jacket allows enough room for another layer underneath maybe 2 but I might start to feel like the Michelin man at that point. Overall very happy with it so far and would recommend.

January 5, 2022

Best heavy fleece out there

I have the retro x Large from back in 2000, and this is heavier and an improvement- better than ever. Nobody makes a jacket like this - I mean nobody. Not EB, REI,TNF, even commercial fishing outerwear companies. Wind proof, perfect for cold snowy days skiing as a mid layer under a shell. Down sweater jackets arent good for that. I also wear th... Read Moreis all the time in town and everywhere. My only issue is with size. The large was too large, I settled for the medium, which is tight with anything substantial under it. My old 2000 Retro Large was perfect for a mid weight sweater underneath. Still, I think this is the best Bomber fleece out there.

January 5, 2022

It's a no from me

I was really excited about this jacket, and if you're under 6' you should be too. Unfortunately I am not. The sizing of this is really weird. I understand its a retro design and sizing was different when this was first designed. But yeah, as some of the other reviews from tall people mention, this is way too short on me. It's also ba... Read Moreggie is very odd ways. The arms, especially around the biceps are huge for example. and yeah this did not look good on me at all. I wish Patagonia made a tall version of this. This is also a stiff coat, but if that's what it takes to be windproof, which it does seem to be, then I can't personally complain about that. But yep, this is going right back to Patagonia unfortunately

January 5, 2022

Efficient Cut and Toasty Insides

I compulsively purchase fleece products - I first bought this item in the Pelican colour, and liked it so much I also bought the navy, black and natural versions as well. A real sickness. (Note that the Natural colour does look like . . . well, like one is wearing a sheep (or a mod vicuna), so wearing it out in town for errands or a drink may yield... Read More hurtful/inappropriate comments, depending on the crowd). But this jacket is awesome outdoors or on the couch taking an unscheduled nap. Feels sort of cold when I first put one on and then, a few minutes later, just the right touch of warmth. It is cut at the waist just below the belt, so it is great in a car or in a large suv. The sleeves are generous in length.

January 4, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Great jacket. I have been wearing to to walk to work in the cold New England winter. Much warmer than you would think and super comfortable. I particularly like how it has a protector on the zipper so you dont scratch your neck when its not fully zipped up.

January 3, 2022

Too short

The jacket is very short. The XXL fits my brother, who is 65, but both the body of the coat and the sleeves are inches too short. The sleeves are above his wrist bone when hes standing with his arms straight at his sides. The body of the coat almost reaches his belt. It looks like a petite coat. We will definitely return it. (That being said its a ... Read Morecool jacket and seems to be nice quality.)

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry the fit was disappointing. If you haven't already returned it, please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 3, 2022

Best Item of Clothing Ever.

This jacket is my daily driver of outerwear. The build quality is second-to-none. It’s super warm, looks great and you can fit a bottle of wine in each of the side pockets. (I’d recommend buying on the larger side so you have room to put hoodies and smaller fleeces underneath!) honestly this is like the only thing I wear now.

January 3, 2022

Great Jacket

The jacket is much warmer than it looks because of the lining. Fairly boxy fit and very warm and cozy. Washes and wears very well. I thought the price was high, but it is worth every penny and I am sure it will last for many years.

January 3, 2022

Super warm

Really good and wants to give as a gift to family and friends.

December 31, 2021

Great jacket

Stylish, comfortable and warm.

December 27, 2021

Amazing

Amazing

December 27, 2021

Cozy, stylish, and comfy

Fits comfortably throughout, warm, and looks great. Instantly became my favorite jacket!

December 26, 2021

Love it

Much warmer than I had originally imagined, which is amazing. They weren't lying about it being wind resistant. I was thinking I might need a more true winter jacket living in Michigan, but so far this covers all my bases.

December 25, 2021

A must have

So thrilled with my Christmas gift this year. Got the Nena Blue in Medium and it fits me perfectly. This fleece jacket is like a Swiss army knife of fleeces.

December 25, 2021

Super comfortable & nice quality

The brand is exactly what they say it is. It does run a bit small for men with broad shoulders. I bought this item for one of my sons who swears by the brand. The one positive outcome is the other two kids decided to purchase similar items and no returns.

December 24, 2021

Cozy

New to Patagonia for the most part. Been trying different fleece jackets from different companies. I was impressed with the amount of loft in this one and the warmth it gives you. Not all fleece jackets are created equal. My only complaint is the inside liner which may have plastic in it ? It is somewhat cool to the touch. Would have preferred some... Read Morething warmer. Jacket fits just at or below waist level. Not for big bellies or buy one size bigger in that case.I am 5' 10" 152lbs size small was a good fit for me.

December 21, 2021

Great Addition to the Winter Wardrobe

Comfortable, TTS, and super soft. Keeps me warm in the NYC winters

December 20, 2021

Decent jacket but needs to be roomy!

Bought the XL and it fits relatively well, though the shoulder/armpit area is somewhat tight. The upper portion is more form fitting while the bottom half is slightly roomier. Sleeve length is fine and extends to the wrists. The length extends around the waist instead of below the waist. There is no cinchcord in the waist which is needed considerin... Read Moreg the price! You can wear a base layer shirt and a lightweight fleece/wool sweater and even a lightweight vest underneath though the vest may make a snugger fit. That'll help block any updrafts since there's no waist cinchcord. There are no inner pockets, only the zippered pockets outside, which are relatively roomy enough to store gloves and a small hat in the hand pockets. The zippered chest pocket can store smaller items like keys or money. There's a stiff mesh membrane that's sewn together with the fleece that blocks the wind. The jacket is relatively warm and will block most of the wind but it won't provide that much warmth when temps drop to the low 30s F or below. Visit New England during late autumn & winter when the cold, wind & wind chill cuts through your bones, hence bone chilling weather which New England is known for. No way you're going to wear just a regular shirt underneath in freezing temps, despite what some people state in their reviews. Best to wear under an insulated or shell jacket/parka in freezing temps. If you move around in the cold, your inner body will feel hot so it does provide some warmth. The jacket is somewhat stiff & heavy because of the membrane lining and the fleece may even get a bit hard over time. Patagonia needs to update the jacket to make the shoulder/armpit area Looser and include a waistcord! It should consider making a hooded version but with a bit looser fit. For comparison, the retro-x vest is More snug fitting than the jacket. Buy when it's on sale at it's expensive at regular price.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Michael! Our classic Retro-X is windproof and not particularly breathable, so we don't recommend high-output activity for this item. It will work well with a light layer underneath, and a waterproof shell outside of it if it's raining or snowing. You might prefer the fit and features of some of our other [fleece jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece). Thanks for your review!

December 19, 2021

Brilliant!!!

Brilliant!!!

December 18, 2021

Pretty good jacket

Fleece jackets are usually not that great once the temperature is below 40 degrees. This jacket is good below the freezing point. The difference is this jacket has a wind proof layer. It works really well! This fleece jacket is actually functional. I just love it! I got four different colors so far!

December 14, 2021

Love this jacket!

It is super warm and windproof, exactly what I was looking for so I can be comfortable on those cold days while hiking or shooting pictures.

December 13, 2021

PLEASE MAKE PANTS

Hello development team. My husband bought a pair of pants that are this EXACT material when he was maybe 15. They are still his favorite pants at 41yo. The only wear and tear they show is where coals burned through, and he did bachelor-style repairs. I have now been looking for the past 3-4 years for pants in this material--just thick, draw-string,... Read More comfy fleece pants. I have ordered from REI, brought them in to Cabella, called folks at BackCountry Gear. Whenever I show them to people, they say "I want a pair!" When I had babies, I told him I wished I had a pair that fit me to wear to be cozy. You would sell zillions of them. Pants. Make pants in this. I promise, I would buy 5 pairs and most people I know would buy them too.

December 8, 2021

Super warm and soft

Very well made, and it keeps me super warm

December 7, 2021

Super Warm

I owned one of the originals in the 90s -- and lost it and was so sad and always missed it -- thank you for bringing it back! Love the nubby texture of the fleece -- very cozy looking. The fit is the same, which is OK, though it is retro -- the body is slightly cropped relative to the arm length and the arms are cut very roomy relative to the chest... Read More which is a normal to slightly snug fit. It does make you look kind of like a gorilla -- like you have really muscled, long arms. But it's nice to have it not feel tight in the arms and not restrict your movement. And it's SO warm, because it's windproof. Literally I can wear a tee shirt and this jacket and be comfortable outside in 40 degree weather. Some people may not care for the feeling of the lining since it's not fleece inside, especially if they want that snuggly soft fleece feeling against their skin, but it's worth it to have the wind proofing and you are probably layering under this anyway.

December 3, 2021

Warm and windproof

This fleece is more a jacket really than a fleece sweater since its quite thick and heavy. Love the retro design and have used it a lot over a flannel shirts. The collar is a bit stiff and it takes a few washes to even out, but once its there its fine.

December 1, 2021

Perfect

Website to purchase was very user friendly. Received emails on the purchase and delivery. COAT fits perfectly and super warm.

November 29, 2021

Good design and quality

So comfy and warm.

November 25, 2021

Arms too long. Waist was fine.

Arms were too long. Other wise fine..

November 25, 2021

Definitely cuts wind, but not super warm

I bought a medium mens jacket for my daughter who is 58 and 130# and she could have went with a small, however she likes it oversized and can layer a hoodie or vest under it. We went with the mens style because she liked the color better and didnt want a fitted jacket. Bonus her mom can wear it too, Im 59 and 155# and it fits great!

November 25, 2021

Perfect All Around Fleece

I was eyeing this fleece for some time. I get cold very easily and always like something with a little more protection. Having the wind proof feature also made it extra alluring because theres nothing worse than commuting to work on your bike on a windy day. This really hit home. At first I was a little reluctant about the stiff interior but this i... Read Mores what keeps it windproof. I also must say that the staff at Patagonia were extremely helpful. Initially I was looking at the womens style but the associates told me a lot of women go with the mens because of color, cut and overall fit. I took their advice and went with the mens as well. I normally wear a medium but went with the mens small. It has a little more room in the arms which is perfect when layering. You cant go wrong with this jacket!

November 21, 2021

Surprisingly warm, plus it block the wind!

I am very happy with this purchase! The classic retro X jacket cozy, light weight, and surprisingly warm! ️️️

November 21, 2021

Super Warm

The jacket is warm and stops the wind from coming through it. I love the navy color and the softness of the fleece.

November 18, 2021

So Sharp!

Bought this for my boyfriend. We both absolutely love it. It is nice and warm, suuuuper sharp, and stylish. The fleece softens after a few uses. Overall just very very sharp when he wears it.

November 18, 2021

super warm and comfy

i ordered small size, it perfectly fits and super comfy and warm.

November 17, 2021

A++++

Im 511 185, with pretty broad shoulders and a Large was to small, so gave to my son. Xl fits like a glove!!!!

November 15, 2021

Warm, but stiff

I bought this jacket to wear mostly in the time where multiple layers are not really necessary, but its chilly enough to want a single warm jacket that fits well. While this jacket is certainly warm, the wind proof membrane lining inside is actually quite stiff, and holds the shape of the jacket. This makes it a bit uncomfortable to wear over a pol... Read Moreo or t-shirt, and basically requires a sweater or pullover or thick long sleeve shirt to wear comfortably. Also, because the lining is hard and holds its shape, the jacket runs a bit large around the shoulders and is more baggy around the armpits than I anticipated. The outer fleece is also not quite as soft as some of the pictures might make it seem.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2021

Hi Afsayh, thank you for taking the time to write a review. That windproof barrier is no joke on the Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket, it's burly to keep you protected from the elements. Also, it does soften a bit with wear and washing. However, if you're looking for something softer with the same look, check out the Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket: https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=DBGR&cgid=root. It's extremely warm, so multiple layers are not needed. It might be just what you're looking for!

November 10, 2021

Great Winter Fleece

This is a great fleece for the times where you want to wear a fleece, but a snap t or better sweater style fleece might not provide enough warmth. The liner in it does a good job of blocking wind and making it more of a jacket than fleece. The liner also makes it easy to get on and off when you are wearing another cotton or wool layer underneath it... Read More. The fit is perfect for me, it's a combination of being a little shorter and a little boxier, more similar to the fit of the snap t. I wear small (flannel, sweater) and medium (snap t, better sweater) and the medium in this was perfect for me. It is definitely a high pile fleece with a lot of texture, which in my opinion is a pretty cool look and adds to the coziness of it.

November 10, 2021

Stylish, light and practical

This was for my son who wears it to school. Stylish, light, soft and very practical. Perfect for the autumn season when it's too warm for down jackets but too cold for hoodies. Highly recommended!

November 5, 2021

Fleece Perfection

This piece fits well, stops the wind, and looks great all the time. Some fleeces look like you dried them with your girlfriends cat when you pull them out of the dryer, but not this one! I had my last one for twenty years, and lost it recently. I recommend getting a vest and jacket, you will want both.

November 5, 2021

Excellent Jacket

I owned the old fleece jacket years ago but lost it somewhere. The Retro-X fleece jacket is even better than the old fleece. It is an excellent jacket.

November 3, 2021

Better lining than expected

Great jacket, as expected looks-wise, with a better, more structured, more breathable lining than expected. Could be an inch longer in the back -- or I could simply wear longer shirts or pull my pants up more. But otherwise I'll live in this for the next ten years.

November 2, 2021

Barn red coat is giving me life everyday , durable, warm

Wonderful item. Fits short on torso , I am 6 foot 3 needed the xxl

October 26, 2021

Great wind block with liner

Love the internal wind block liner makes all the difference in a cold wind.

October 18, 2021

Perfect oversized look

I'm 6'0 165lbs and this jacket fit my style perfectly. I prefer the oversized look and this jacket was perfect for that.

October 13, 2021

Comfortable, Warm, Good quality

Received a lot of compliments for this piece. I like it. I'm 30lbs bigger than others and I usually wear a M in their pullovers but the jacket fit me pretty good without being overly snug.

October 11, 2021

Honest Review

Super warm and will definitely keep you warm in the winter. Also is wind resistant which comes in handy when you live in Chicago. Looks great and goes with a lot in my wardrobe. This jacket is a little pricey but when you consider the life time warranty and the eco friendly aspect of this item its totally worth it.

October 5, 2021

Choose your size wisely

I purchased a large since people say its run true to size but dont believe that. The sleeves are perfect but they make the chest/torso area tight and slim for skinnier men. Im not heavy or have a belly but, I prefer comfort. I ended up returning the large for an XL. BEST DECISION!

September 26, 2021

Really great and versatile fleece

Bought a jacket for myself after having gifted one for my wife. Really impressed with the quality and versatility with this fleece, escpecially since it is windproof.

September 8, 2021

Really nice fitment and the

Really nice fitment and the inside of the jacket makes it perfect for colder autumn weather.

August 18, 2021

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

Wonderful, extremely well made fleece jacket.

August 14, 2021

Fits great

I bought this because of the liner to provide protection from the wind from what I can tell this will work great. Size and quality are excellent.

July 14, 2021

Awesome Product

Very happy with this purchase, which was on my list for quite some time. Surprisingly warm, comparable to my down jacket. Wind and cold do not penetrate this fleece jacket AND it's got a cool factor to it whether I'm on a hike or at work.

July 11, 2021

I love it!Perfect!

I will buy some other things.

June 25, 2021

Great quality of product.

Can't expect more really. All abut it is just as I wanted.

June 24, 2021

Great Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and super stylish. Enough for cool Bay Area nights.

June 19, 2021

I love it!

It will be good for the winter

June 15, 2021

Fab but small maybe a little smaller than version from 5 years ago?

I got the purple/blue, and it's killer in an I'M WEARING PURPLE AND BLUE WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT kind of way. I think it's a bit smaller / slimmer overall than the cream/blue version I got a few years ago, which works fine for me. I'm a 5'7, 125 lb woman with no hips. If you have hips, you may want to size up or go with ... Read Morea cut for women.

June 8, 2021

Classic Retro-X jacket

Love the jacket Very comfortable and warm

June 2, 2021

Decent but sizing/cut needs work!

Bought the Men's XL natural with blue trimming/pocket on sale during the spring holidays. As a male with an average build, broad shoulders and 6' ft tall, the jacket just fit. It's very warm, a little stiff and somewhat heavy probably due to the meshlike barrier that's sewn into the jacket to make it supposedly windproof. It&#... Read Morex27;s warm for cool spring nights while wearing a short sleeve shirt underneath. Let's see how it handles in the upcoming autumn/winter months later this year. The sleeves' length goes down to the wrist while the jacket's length goes down slightly below the waist. There are no inner pockets and the hand pockets appear to be warm since the barrier material is in front of it to block out the cold/wind. Hope the fleece stays soft and warm after repeated washings. The issues found: 1. The armpit seams are sewn up so it stands UP INTO the armpits. It should be sewn Flat instead! - Also, the armpit area needs to be Wider! - The armpits' shortfalls are Very obviously when you try on the jacket! 2. It's not that roomy inside! - It's very warm when worn with a short sleeve t-shirt and has room for a long sleeve t-shirt for the sleeves. - But it's a Little tight if a lightweight fleece sweater is also worn with a shirt. FYI.. the vest version is Much more slim! Barely enough room to wear a shirt and lightweight fleece sweater underneath it. The armpit holes need to be widened as well! 3. Need a cinch band around the waist! Not everyone is thin and Patagonia's designers Must make their clothing for the average person instead of skinny people! The sizing of Patagonia clothes have been 'off' in the last few years in that the older clothing fitted Much better while the newer clothing are inconsistent and made for thin people! It's a bit too big & fluffy to wear the jacket underneath a shell jacket in bad, wet weather. The vest version just fit underneath a shell jacket.

May 21, 2021

Great jacket

Very nice jacket, warm and windproof. The length is however a little bit short compared to the rest of jacket, this could be longer. But overall it's a must-have for people who love Patagonia.

May 20, 2021

Great for cool days at the playground.

I primarily bought this because I found that most technical layers arent warm enough when you are watching your children at a playground. (I try to do this everyday as I have outdoor kids) Its windproof and warm and your kids dont just slide off you when you pick them up. Besides I look like a sesame street character!

May 20, 2021

Fits short and boxy

As a tall but fairly slender man, this jacket runs too short and wide. Ordered online but returned because of this issue. Bummed out because it feels like such a great fleece, but the size/shape isn't right for me!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Thanks for the review and sorry it didn't work out with our Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Since you have a slender build, we'd recommend checking out our slim fit options for fleeces. You can check these out by using the filter bar on the left-hand side of the screen under any category. The [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=mens-fleece) will be our most similar slim fit option, check it out!

May 19, 2021

Good jacket

The jacket is really nice and it fits very good

May 9, 2021

Cozy and fun

I bought one of the original, classic, ugly pile jackets back in the seventies. Ive had a couple of other versions over the years, and I love them for their warmth, wind blockage, and fun look. This will undoubtedly last me the rest of my life. Love it!

May 5, 2021

Best Fleece jacket

I dont usually like synthetic fabrics, but I love this jacket so much!! Super comfy and worm. (Best windproof fleece jacket) Also I like the look. Very simple and classic.

April 26, 2021

My new go to jacket

Although it's a bit thinner than I expected, the material and the stitching certainly feel durable, which is exactly what I wanted. It's held up so far in windy and wet conditions of England. I also think it looks stylish, which is a plus.

April 23, 2021

Now I Have My Own

I have had a Retro-X for many years. It is my favorite go-to jacket. My son also discovered that he liked this Retro-X....so he "borrowed" mine all the time. Now that we have 2 of them, I get to wear mine again. Would love to see this in even more colors - keep up the great work.

April 17, 2021

Great product and quality, fits

Great product and quality, fits both men and women, very versatile

April 12, 2021

Great Jacket!

Great jacket warm and windproof!

April 12, 2021

Very nice

It’s all I expected from it. The zipper gets stuck on the same spot every few times when I take off my jacket, but otherwise it’s a great jacket. The pockets are huge, and the jacket itself is very warm and comfortable.

April 9, 2021

Classic Retro-X Jacket

Classic Retro-X Jacket

April 9, 2021

Perfect fleece

Warm and windproof, I now wear this fleece where before I would have worn a jumper and jacket. I usually have trouble with fit because I have long arms, but this fits perfectly. Worth the investment!

April 9, 2021

Great jacket

Well made wind prof warm. Fits like a glove. This is the second one I have bought for personal usage I truly love it.

April 7, 2021

Excellent wind proofing and well fitted

Good gear the second one I have purchased in the past six years.

April 6, 2021

Break the Wind

I wanted a fleece that was windproof. This definitely fits the bill. It's soft on the outside, a bit stiff on the inside. Nice and warm and a true wind proof fleece. Not a light coat by any means, but I'd recommend it to my best friend....

April 5, 2021

Just love it

Replaces a 20 yo version. Tested for two weeks in cold and Gail force winds. Wouldnt trade it for anything.

April 2, 2021

Built to Patagonia standard

This is, bar none, the best fleece Ive owned. It is incredibly warm, comfortable and the pockets are deep, and perfectly placed; I think. Everything is of the highest caliber, which one would expect given its a Patagonia. I bought the blue jacket, and it is really sweet I must say.

March 31, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Wonderful Fit. No need for multi layering. Many compliments on style & overall look of the jacket.

March 24, 2021

Great all round jacket

In a short space of time this has become my go-to jacket, it's just really functional, comfortable, well constructed, warm and versatile. It also sits well with whatever I'm wearing... jeans, jogging bottoms, hiking trousers, shorts, salopettes etc, and over a tee, hoodie, shirt, additional mid-layers. I like to wear things slightly baggy... Read More and oversized so the fit works well for me too. It may feel a little stiff at first but it quickly loosens up and softens. Worth it.

March 24, 2021

Comfy jacket

Customer service was superb. She was beyond helpful. Will definitely continue shopping with Patagonia

March 23, 2021

👍

👍

March 23, 2021

Brilliant Retro-X

I tried my new jacket on a cold and particularly windy day it was brilliant. The only slight issue is the length of the jacket. However it’s is superbly warm and great looking too.

March 23, 2021

Awesome jacket

Bought the jacket a few weeks ago and it’s been awesome. Really nice quality and durable working jacket and also comfortable at the same time.

March 23, 2021

Warm and good looking jacket.

Warm and good looking jacket.

March 9, 2021

Exactly what I expected

True, warmth, fit and function... exactly what I expected

March 8, 2021

Great at stopping the wind

Great jacket, has multiple uses.

March 4, 2021

A Must Have

Super solid piece of warmth. Great to throw on getting out of the surf or the hot tub as it functions well in the wind and when wet. Wish the zipper was stronger...

February 25, 2021

Cozy and timeless

I have had several Retro X vests, but never the full jacket. I'm very glad I decided to get one because it has quickly become one of my go to everyday jackets. It is a very warm and cozy windproof fleece, and the wooly style is great because it doesn't pill. It is a nice casual piece that can be layered up or down underneath easily. I tho... Read Moreught it would be more of a shoulder season coat for me here in Maine, but I have worn it all winter. If it's cold, then I wear a flannel and vest underneath. This is a great jacket all around and a timeless Patagonia classic.

February 25, 2021

Just different

I have a couple of zip down sweaters that I really love I was looking for one in black and I thought because its extra warm it would be great however I did not like the cardboard feel of the inside and I thought the waist line could be a little longer basically what I wanted was a warmer replica of the other sweaters that I had. Dont worry! I do ow... Read Moren many Patagonia products and I will continue to buy them

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hello Jim! We're truly sorry that this jacket was not what you expected in terms of length and feel. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so we truly appreciate you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Thanks so much for your review!

February 25, 2021

Quality product

Comfortable and versatile!

February 19, 2021

Could be an inch longer around the waist length wise also the front pocket needs to be made of better material already have a hole/slight rip. Possibly might return due to manufacturing default?

Other than the material on the front pocket love the coat. With living in Michigan it has been keeping me warm through these cold months.

February 19, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket! It fits well, looks great and keeps me warm. I live in the Northwest and go hiking frequently and its been more than enough for hiking in most weathers.

February 14, 2021

Warm

This is my favorite jacket in my closet. 10/10

February 14, 2021

Absolutely amazing jacket

I love my new jacket so much. It's warm, it feels so great to have it on, it's stylish. I have nothing to object here. Maybe its too warm haha, sometimes I have to take it down. Perfect!

February 14, 2021

warm and comfy jacket

I've been wearing this jacket for my commute on foot, recently with temperatures between 0° and -10°C with wind. Together with some wool layers under it you're well equipped for the frost, at least for an hour or two. The windbreak works well. The chest pocket is super practical for a mask and such items these days. Only remark, for someo... Read Morene tall and slender, like me, the boxy cut might feel a bit loose, when you're not layering under it.

February 13, 2021

Excellent, but...

I have purchased Patagonia products for DECADES; I have Baggie, Hoodies, etc. that are 25+ years old that look almost new despite rigorous use. This is the first Patagonia product where the zippering function is "intermittent" i.e. it catches at the neck. I find myself having to be "extra" precise in lining up the zipper to prev... Read Moreent locking...

February 13, 2021

Excellent craftsmanship

Another great Patagonia item! The wind resistant liner/interior makes it different than other fleece jackets, but also gives it a sturdier feel. Likely takes a few wears in order to break in. You can size up if you intend to layer, but fits true to size and is warm enough to not need a thick layer underneath. Beautiful and highly recommend!

February 4, 2021

Cozy

Bought for my son. He loves it. Perfect for. Quick service.

February 3, 2021

Warm

Wish the inside of the jacket was soft as the outside.

February 1, 2021

Warm

It works very well to keep me warm that sometimes I have to take it off to cool off.

February 1, 2021

Great purchase

Fantastic Patagonia retro fleece. Superb quality. Fast delivery!

January 31, 2021

Super Duper Warm!

This is the warmest fleece I have ever worn. Perfect for cold weather!

January 31, 2021

Super warm

Im able to use this jacket as an outer layer even during winter on the east coast

January 31, 2021

All Around a Great Piece

I love this jacket! For the price you're getting a great bang for your buck! I a bit large of a gentleman and it still fits great. I would purchase true to size.

January 29, 2021

Won't let you down!!

It's currently 23 degrees Fahrenheit where I am at and wind gusts of 15 mph. This jacket is amazing. Considering that I am only wearing an under shirt when I decided to go out with my dog for a walk. I managed to stayed warm with the jacket and it did exactly what it was meant to do. Protected the upper body from the wind and kept me warm. To ... Read Moredate, happy with the purchase.

January 27, 2021

Retro Fleece

So warm, so soft .. just the best fleece/jacket I’ve ever bought

January 26, 2021

Great product

Great fleece warm and cosy :)

January 26, 2021

Just awesome

Nothing but love to this product

January 24, 2021

super warm

Fashionable and super warm

January 24, 2021

Super warm

I bought this for work and it keeps me warm down to freezing so far. It offers moderate wind protection, but after about 15 mph, some air gets in. If I were to hike in this above 30 degrees or so, Id get too warm. The jacket is well built and is made of quality materials. I highly recommend the Classic Retro-X.

January 23, 2021

Warm and Windproof!!!

Almost too warm! Fantastic in windy conditions. I find myself wearing less underneath this fleece than I anticipated. Retired several other older coats that I had considered to be heavier. Size is great.

January 22, 2021

First purchase

I bought a Patagonia product for the first time and loved it.

January 21, 2021

XMAS GIFT

I bought this for my husband for xmas. I bought him the xl but it was a snug fit, probably the fit that some people would want. We swapped for the xxl as he likes a bit more oversized. quick and easy exchange :).

January 21, 2021

Warmth with Retro vibes

I bought this for my boyfriend after I saw him eyeing my retro-x jacket. Now its the only jacket hes been wearing. He still wears the heck out of his nano but loves how windproof this is as well as street forward. Also, thank you Patagonia for your AMAZING customer service! You are one of a kind

January 20, 2021

Zipper sometimes gets stuck

Sometimes the zipper gets stuck because it rolls over the inner lining. you have to pull the lining fabric out of the zipper to get it to move. Also its not as soft/cozy as I had thought from pictures. The inside is not at all like the outside, not soft or fuzzy. Jacket is very warm though and looks great in my opinion, so I still wear it often. ... Read MoreJust have to move the zipper gingerly.

January 19, 2021

Good fit

I like it

January 17, 2021

Very Nice Fleece

A very nice fleece that I ever owned. Torso runs little bit large but true to size in general. You won't be disappointed

January 13, 2021

Super warm and cozy

Cozy

January 12, 2021

Awesome look, great fit, and super warm

The initial reason was the great retro look. Im in love with this jacket. Its warm and cozy and looks great

January 12, 2021

Super Cool and Classic!

You guys have the right stuff. Keep going.

January 10, 2021

Great jacket. The new work line is fantastic. Boots are amazing. Jackets fabulous.

Great jacket. Good fit. Handsome design.

January 8, 2021

So comfortable you can't pry it off.

I really dig how comfortable the jacket is and its crazy warm yet breathable on a brisk winter walk. My only downside is the fit around the chest is a bit wide. Not sure how to change that though as the back allows me to have a large range of motion. Also, the change in color on the chest pocket is a bit weird and would look that much slicker if it... Read More was more subtle.

January 5, 2021

StapleWear

Great color and look. Extremely functional, I know it will take a beating. only drawback is the fit. Fits in shoulders, too big in waist.

January 5, 2021

LOVE IT

Super warm, comfortable, exactly what I was looking for.

January 4, 2021

Amazing

I wear this almost everyday!

December 31, 2020

Second one owned

My original retro x jacket was purchased in 2000 for myself and along with all of my Patagonia gear I loved it from the start. Fast forward 20 years and my 17 ear old daughter has hijacked mine (its a size lg and too loose for her but it didnt deter her). I ordered a medium for her and she loves it. Its awesome to see the quality Has not wavered in... Read More 20 years as many other companies do. Its identical to mine, except for size and color. For casual wear or as a mid layer under a shell you cant beat this jacket.

December 30, 2020

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

December 29, 2020

Super warm

Purchase to give as a gift, liked it a lot. Impressed with the fast delivery of the product Patagonia is good!

December 29, 2020

Great Jacket

Only gripe i have is that the sleeves are pretty huge both in length and width but super cool jacket

December 29, 2020

Super warm jacket!

Really happy with this purchase! Jacket fit perfectly and will be nice for Minnesotas cold weather.

December 28, 2020

Excellent jacket

Exactly what I was looking for in both fit and performance. I dislike jackets that drop to low below the waist, this hems right where I like it. Wind proof interior makes a huge difference in overall warmth of a fleece jacket like this.

December 28, 2020

The BEST Pile Jacket

I absolutely love this jacket. Its incredibly warm and very stylish. I see some people complaining about the fit in the comments- it is supposed to be a tad shorter in length because its retro. Personally, I love it. Patagonia has the best stuff, period

December 26, 2020

Size alert

Careful with size selection if you are tall

December 26, 2020

Good

Service was very good

December 23, 2020

Comfiest Fleece Ever!

I am absolutely obsessed with this fleece! I wear it every day. I live in a cool/cold climate (Ireland) and this fleece keeps me warm enough outside the house with only a t-shirt underneath! the only downside is there's no drawstring on the waist so drafts sometimes blow up & inside the fleece. The lining isn't cuddly, but that'... Read Mores okay - the lining is windproof and you can really tell that on windy days as you stay nice and cosy. I always fall between M and L with every brand, and went for M with this fleece. The torso runs normal if ever so slightly short, with quite long arms. I'm 6ft and skinny, so the fit works really well for my body. The pockets are really big, the zips keep everything secure and the chest pocket is super useful. I do wish there was a pocket on the inside surface of the jacket however. Over all I am in love with this jacket and I look forward to wearing it for years to come!!!

December 17, 2020

Very cuddly

Very soft and warm

December 17, 2020

Super Warm

I really love this jacket! I ordered a M and the torso fits well, but the sleeves are kinda long and baggy. This makes it perfect to throw over a sweatshirt for extra warmth. But overall, its a great quality jacket and I wear it all the time now.

December 16, 2020

Warm, attractive , and durable

This is the 2nd jacket I have owned from Patagonia. The first one I "borrowed" from my daughter for a few years (!) and when she wanted it back I bought a new one. It is actually a men's small, like the old one. Don't know if the ladies' size is better but I am happy with the fit of the mens' small. Nice and warm and a... Read Morettractive an for sure durable. The new one is a bit stiff but I expect after I wear it a bit it will soften. Maybe a washing eventually will soften it too.

December 10, 2020

Warm

While its a very warm jacket, I feel like I am wearing cardboard. The inside feels a little strange to me compared to the other jacket that I have purchased from Patagonia.

December 6, 2020

The Best.

My first Patagonia fleece, and I was amazed how warm and insulated the jacket is. It is true to size, and as noted, a regular fit. If you want to have an oversized fit like I do, I recommend getting a size up, but remember that it'll look a little big instead of the oversized look. If you know you know. This jacket is designed to fit true to s... Read Moreize. I still love mine.

December 6, 2020

Amazing

Bought myself the female version of this jacket and its so incredible I bought it for my boyfriend for Christmas as well! They are so warm and perfect for chilly weather and being outdoors since the inside lining is basically wind proof. The look is great and the fit was excellent (I did size down in the womens for a more fitted look but mens was t... Read Morerue to size). I would totally recommend this jacket and we are so excited to have these great Patagonia fleeces for years to come.

December 6, 2020

uncomfortable

It is a beautiful coat, but interior windproof material was both stiff and uncomfortable. The most uncomfortable thing I've purchased from Patagonia, with exception of the small arm sleeves on the better sweater jackets. Returned it today.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches