Back to Product

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 384 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

4.7/5
Kinda Large
December 3, 2021

Too early too tell

I have not had time to wear it yet, so I have no comments on usage, but it is very well made.

December 3, 2021

Rain jacket superstar

Perfect for rainstorms to snowstorms...versatile

December 3, 2021

Not quite windproof

I bought this to replace a pullover version of approximately the same material that I bought from Patagonia over 10 years ago. It has served me very well but I've "outgrown" it. The new jacket seems lighter. I believe it is also of a less tight weave because it doesn't provide the winter wind protection I've had and that I ... Read Morehad hoped for. One thing that it does provide enough of is mobility and that is VERY important to me. A heavier material is easy to come by but I need the freedom of movement that this jacket provides. Haven't tested it in a downpour. There's always next year.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2021

Thanks for your feedback, Bob! In Spring 2020, we released a revised Torrentshell design with improved durability, better water-repellency, and slightly heavier fabric weight. With great [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#product-care) and storage, this jacket should easily last a decade or more. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions!

November 30, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

I love the jacket and it has proven to be water resistant. Moreover, it is light and can easily packed when needed. The Large size fits well and leaves some room in case I need to wear a warm sweater underneath. So far, I dont have any complaints or suggestions for improvement.

November 30, 2021

Out of proportion

Jacket runs small through chest for any under-layering and sleeves are ridiculously too long. Not sure who or what was used for the size model.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hello Charles, we are sorry the sizing did not work out on the jacket. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. For reference, we can provide garment measurements if any sizing comparisons are needed.

November 30, 2021

Great Fit and Quality

Purchased this for casual wear and occasional hike or run in the rain. At 6 and about 168lbs, I can comfortably fit the Patagonia Down Sweater Jacket underneath and still have plenty of freedom and movement. But even without the Down Sweater Jacket and just a t-shirt or base layer along with a lite to mid-weight sweater, the rain jacket fits nicely... Read More.

November 30, 2021

Great Fit and Quality

Purchased this for casual wear and occasional hike or run in the rain. At 6 and about 168lbs, I can comfortably fit the Patagonia Sweater Jacket underneath and still have plenty of freedom and movement. But even without the Sweater Jacket and just a t-shirt or base layer along with a lite to mid-weight sweater, the rain jacket fits nicely.

November 29, 2021

Great rain coat

Nice looking. Packs very well. Perfect for travel. Thankful for Patagonia!

November 28, 2021

Classic

Love this jacket. Super light weight but perfect for walking the dog in the rain.

November 26, 2021

Dry

The best rain gear I've ever owned.

November 24, 2021

Solid rain jacket

Great rain jacket for everyday use. The 3 layers are a good improvement from the older version. Also appreciate the ability to stuff it into the pocket for travel. I'm 5'9" and 150 lbs. A small is a perfect fit. Still offers some room for a warmer layer underneath.

November 24, 2021

Great rain jacket let down by the details

I was really looking forward to trying a quality rain jacket from Patagonia after my Marmot Gore-tex gave up after 8 years of daily bicycle commutes through every weather pattern. Right off the bat, the jacket doesn't feel comfortable to the touch. It's very stiff and noisy. The lack of waterproof zippers is a big let down as was the non-... Read Morebreathable 'breathable' membrane. Even with the finicky two zipper pit vents there was very poor interior climate control. The final straw is the lack of chest pocket for your phone. Last thing you want to do is go fishing under your waterproof outer wear for your phone.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2021

Hi Filippo, we're sorry to hear that the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket didn't meet your needs. Try checking out the Men's Triolet Jacket, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-triolet-alpine-jacket/83402.html?dwvar_83402_color=BLK&cgid=root. It features a 3-layer GORE-TEX fabric and has two roomier pockets on the chest. It might be just what you're looking for!

November 23, 2021

An inside pocket please

Just a pocket, inside, high chest

November 22, 2021

Extra Dry

This rain slicker will keep you dry in rainy weather. I wish the zipper would separate from both ends.

November 22, 2021

Needs to be re-designed

I bought this because it was so highly reviewed.... it looks like it will fulfill its function, but there are a couple of particular details that need to be re-designed: 1) I'm surprised at how tight the shoulders are: When I put it on, my arms have to go WAY back to go into the sleeves. 2) The hood is too tight: The brim doesn't have roo... Read Morem to reach out over my glasses... heck, it barely lifts off of my forehead. NOTE: I am 5'10", and weigh 190 pounds. I do not think I am on the extreme end of what this size is supposed to accommodate.

November 21, 2021

Did not like it.

I returned it because the material felt cheap.

November 21, 2021

Waterproof Boating Jacket

Well constructed rain jacket that I will use for boating and other activities when it is raining. It is stiff in texture because of additional layering as previous models lost their waterproofing. In addition to a specific product , one receives the best warranty in the business coupled with dealing with pleasant , knowledgeable Patagonia staff dom... Read Moreiciled in the U.S.

November 21, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

I got one for me and liked in enough to order another for my son. Perfect fit and is a super wind breaker with sleeve vents. Let you work with out sweating too much. Id buy it again!

November 21, 2021

Excellemt

Excellent rain jacket. Lives up to the description and more!

November 20, 2021

Tight in the shoulders

The rain coat is tight in the shoulders and doesn't have the flexibility I was hoping for.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2021

Hi Timothy, we're sorry to hear that the fit on the Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket isn't working out for you. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

November 20, 2021

keeps the rain out

I need a large size for my shoulders, and wearing something underneath.

November 20, 2021

Lightweight and packable

perfect for fishing in warm weather. Stay dry and not heat up. The only thing to improve is make the zipper open up on the bottom for sitting down

November 19, 2021

Great Jacket

A very well made jacket/shell which is definitely waterproof and windproof. Good for layering underneath!

November 19, 2021

A good title as is

Everything worked except how noisy it is! Loved the color. Loved the breathability.

November 18, 2021

Rugged and waterproof rain jacket

I purchased another brand with a softer shell and after 4 years the coating in the hood was worn out. I decided to go with Patagonia because of the XS size. The sleeve and jacket length fit me well. The only area that could use a bit more room is the under arm area. I am 5 2 with broad frame.

November 17, 2021

Great top layer

Love the fit as I am a little heavy but still allows me room to layer. It's very efficient in cooler nights when rain could be a threat. I recommend this garment.

November 17, 2021

Perfect Shell

Great jacket- runs a little large on me but Im 175lbs- great for layering underneath. Durable as any shell on the market.

November 16, 2021

Good in rain and cold

Fits well, good zippers

November 15, 2021

Fabric needs work

Fabric is stiff, boardy and makes too much noise. Patagonia needs to use a finishing plant with more expertise. Unsuitable!

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2021

We're sorry to hear that this jacket has been a disappointment. We do offer many other [rain jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-waterproof-rain-jackets-vests) and would be happy to help you with an return. Thanks for the feedback, Scott!

November 15, 2021

Made walking in the rain enjoyable

I never liked being outside during the rain, but while wearing this my wife and I walked around downtown during the rain for about an hour with no issues! I haven't had it long enough to see how it holds up after a few washes but as a new jacket, the water proofing is amazing and it's super light and compact

November 15, 2021

Super waterproof

Quality product, great fit

November 14, 2021

Love it so far

Just want to comment on fit. 62long arms, 195 pounds after Covid :(. M fit looked the best and feels great, but if you were trying to layer anything more than a sweater of fleece it might be tight. I had assumed Id be a L but M feels much better for a warm warm weather hiking jacket.

November 13, 2021

Great except the hood

The hood falls down so far over my face it covers my entire nose, making for zero visibility. I have to fold the edge of the hood up, which is annoying. I wouldn't mind folding the hood if it was designed to do so. It needs design work to allow adjusting it to cover the head without covering the eyes.

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2021

Hi Charles, we appreciate your feedback! The M's Torrentshell 3L Jacket will have a two-way adjustable hood to provide a more customized fit. However, if you are still finding the hood is not working for you, please know you are always welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 13, 2021

Stay cords on hood

Stay cords do not stay tight around the hood area. But the product is very dry over all. I am still pleased with your product.

November 12, 2021

Nice rain shell. Works well. I only wish it had an inside pocket.

Nice rain shell. Works well. I only wish it had an inside pocket.

November 12, 2021

Super light and comfortable.

Very light and comfortable. You hardly know you are wearing a waterproof jacket except that it is a bit crinkly! I would have liked one or two inside chest pockets for phone or wallet as the only pockets are hand-warmer side pockets.

November 12, 2021

Keeps me dry

It keeps me dry in the rain. Thats all I really needed.

November 11, 2021

Great update to a classic!

Fits a little larger than the original Torrentshell, but that's not a bad thing. It will be much easier to fit a bulky down jacket than the original. I love the marginally thicker fabric.

November 9, 2021

Why no inner pockets!

I like this jacket a lot, (mostly) keeps the rain off my glasses and the rest of me. Sort of wish there were more fun colors though and really wish there were inner pockets. Such a waste of the interior space. (I always want more zippered pockets in everything i buy)

November 9, 2021

Water proof

Excellent water proof jacket

November 8, 2021

Best rain coat I ever owned

This is the best raincoat I ever owned. Never fear getting wet. True to size. Highly recommend.

November 8, 2021

Inca Trail test

Purchased the coat for a trek on Inca trail, and true to the advance reviews, the coat performed perfectly without water intrusion during some heavy rains. Great fit, stylish design, unique color, durable and waterproof. A winner.

November 8, 2021

Torrenshell

Great for the rain. I also bought the Torrentshell pants to go along with it. I wanted something lighter than my shell jacket for skiing and this fit the bill. I love that it has adjustable hood and waist. Great job on this design. I wear a large at 5'10" at 160lbs. I have large shoulders and large hips so I always size up for comfort and... Read More movement.

November 6, 2021

Great rain gear

Unlike many other proclaimed breathable rain jackets I have owned, this one actually breathes and does not make me sweat of feel clammy. It also does not cling to me when wet. It is well vented, has an adjustable hood and fits well!

November 5, 2021

Just great!

I bought it super large and roomy. I love it but I am missing the inside pocket and not crazy about your logo on the front. But still great!

November 4, 2021

The Jacket and the Pants Perform as advertised

I usually don't write reviews, but after returning from my daily 5 mile walk with my Border Collie, I felt compelled to highly recommend the Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket and Pants. I live in Pacific NW. Today, for the first time after receiving the jacket and pants, the entire walk was in a moderate to hard rain. I returned from the ... Read Morewalk with my clothes completely dry. The jacket and pants were both waterproof and breathable. The only issue I have with the jacket and pants are that they are a tad too large for my frame. This issue is not enough to keep me from highly recommending both the jacket and the pants.

November 4, 2021

Exactly What I Wanted

The first week I had this jacket, it rained almost every day. Even though I was walking from home to office, I always arrived dry. Its lightweight but does the job.

November 3, 2021

Retains warmth

The hood could be a more fitted

November 3, 2021

Nice Improvement

I traded in a 10-year-old version of this jacket which ceased to fend off the rain even with a double application of DWR. I have put the new one through two downpours with no leakage. Plus it's more comfortable and better looking. Additionally, the old one had a lot of velcro which caused the arms to tangle with other parts. No more.

November 2, 2021

Very warm and rain proof

Shoulder fit is good. Garment is too long however .

October 31, 2021

Good

Tight at the arm pits. Otherwise true to size.

October 31, 2021

Fits well as a casual wear raincoat

The sizing is correct and the features are appropriate to the use. I wish that it had a chest pocket for a phone and was slightly lighter weight. Patagonia made a superb ultralight raincoat with all of the right features back in 2017; for some reason, that coat is no longer available. This appears to be the least objectionable alternative. Good eno... Read Moreugh.

October 30, 2021

If It works in Costa Rica, it works everywhere. Best rain jacket.

Great jacket. Im from Costa Rica which is in the tropics with lots of rain. I been under heavy rain for hours and this thing keeps me dry and comfortable to move during my inspections. Pura vida.

October 27, 2021

Great basic rain jacket

Sometimes you just need basic rain jacket that will keep you dry without tons of bells and whistles. Hood seems a bit tight over a helmet.

October 27, 2021

Awesome rain jacket

I read reviews about rain jackets and this one was rated best overall. I purchased one and have used it twice already in pouring rain and it works perfectly. Im very happy with this purchase and am waiting for one in the size and color for my wife right now.

October 27, 2021

Simple and Built to Last

Simple design and well built. Good hood adjustment makes for a nice fit with head, hat or bike helmet. Oversized underarm vents help keep me cool in warmer weather. Very happy with this purchase.

October 26, 2021

Perfect fit!

Perfect fit and works exactly as described! Inadvertently ordered an XL at first, but it was too large. Contacted Patagonia via their chat option and they quickly shipped me the L size. Excellent customer service. Will definitely be back!

October 26, 2021

Keeps me dry!

It fits perfect on me, and accomplishes its mission to keep me dry.

October 26, 2021

Light and windproof

Obviously rain proof. It fits perfectly. Sleeves are a bit longer and nicely cover all under layers. Hood is too large for naked head. It's fine with a hat. It has a bit weird adjustments in front - two straps that can't be fixed anywhere. Love the huge pockets.

October 26, 2021

Hood sucks!

Great for repelling the rain but I absolutely hate the hood. The hood doesnt fit, tightening the cords doesnt help. The hood tends to drop down over my eyes and the only thing I can see is my feet. I bought this coat to prep for some wet weather during hikes through bear country. However in bear country (or any hikes in general) it removes all peri... Read Morepheral vision and does not feel safe. I would not buy this product again or recommend this to others.

Response from Patagonia
November 3, 2021

Thanks for your feedback about the hood fit Maxwell. We're sorry it doesn't work for you. You may prefer our [Men's Calcite Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-calcite-jacket/84986.html) That has a bit of a different hood style and adjustment.

October 25, 2021

Great Fit

Great fit based on size and height of the model. Extremely light and easy to pack/carry. I bring it everywhere I go without feeling like I am adding weight to my pack.

October 25, 2021

Much needed and exchange process was smooth

Needed this for the upcoming rainy season. Originally got an XL and was way too big. Exchanged for a L and was perfect. Smooth exchange process with no issues.

October 25, 2021

Complete rain jacket

I only recently bought this rain jacket, and actually have only worn it a couple of times, but did wear it today in very heavy rain, just as I received this request for a review. Based on todays heavy rain I am very impressed. I especially like the neck protection, and the way it holds the hood down. The hood would always blow back on my previous r... Read Moreain jackets. Also, the pockets are slanted just right, and deep enough to be useful. Overall, Im very pleased with this rain jacket, and would definitely recommend it. Plus, its priced right!!!1. Thanks, Patagonia!!! Great product!!!

October 23, 2021

Nice Improvement

Just got this upgrade over my 10 year-old version. It wouldn't take waterproofing anymore, so Patagonia took it back in trade. Although I haven't tested the new one for water, I can tell the 3L is a huge upgrade and I have high expectations. And it's made out of old fish nets. Wow. That's a big deal.

October 23, 2021

Great waterproof jacket, would love an inside pocket though

Im 58 140lbs and I have a small in the down sweater jacket- this fits the same. If anything, this jacket is very slightly roomier, but thats totally fine as you can layer underneath it. I live in Seattle and this jacket is perfect for rainy days; it keeps me completely dry. The only thing I would have liked to see is an inside pocket. I love the hu... Read Morege inside pocket on the down sweater and Im not sure why that wasnt implemented on this jacket. But other than that, couldn't ask for much more here.

October 22, 2021

Skied in it all season

Perfect around town in the rain and I was I was also kind of forced into wearing it as a ski shellit made me wonder whats the point of spending 4x more on most ski shells. I wore it over 40 days skiing in Tahoe and Utah from very cold to heavy snow to spring in the 50s. Held up in the trees and everything. I guess the design of the waistband area i... Read Mores why its not ski specific but I wear bib pants and I was fine in 2 of powder. It even has pit zips. Seemed to breathe fine in hot spring but when it wasnt that hot I just wore my nano air or no jacket.

October 20, 2021

Water proof and comfortable

Great jacket. Simple, functional and really waterproof. The Hood is adjustable and if you zip it up your neck will be protected well. Ordered size M first but it was way too big for me. Size S worked and I love it.

October 18, 2021

Great rain jacket, keeps you dry!

Great rain jacket, I wanted something good quality and something that will last a long time. The torrentshell definitely fits the bill!

October 15, 2021

Good fit

Great fit and nice color. Perfect for windy or rainy day. Nice jacket for autumn or spring

October 14, 2021

The small works!

Usually a wear in most Patagonia stuff, but at 6 foot and ~150lbs the small works! Like the updated jacket (last one was purchased over 10 years ago)

October 14, 2021

Amazing product!

I'm very happy with my purchase!

October 11, 2021

Great Jacket

A great simple, light waterproof. That is really waterproof.

October 5, 2021

Great Quality and Fit

I had purchase a Torrentshell Jacket about 10 years ago. I was due for an upgrade. I was really impressed with the improved quality of the jacket of the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket. The membrane is much more durable. The fit remains is consistent. It is refreshing to see a company continue to improve their product year after year... Although, this ... Read Moreis not surprising with Patagonia. I highly recommend this jacket.

October 5, 2021

Perfect waterproof layer

I love this jacket and live in it most days! It's a perfect waterproof layer, but that's all it is. There is no insulation to it. Perfect for summer showers. It's also good at blocking the wind, so I can continue using it without a mid layer in the autumn.

October 4, 2021

Super dry

Great fit, have not had it in extreme rain Yet, but I will! Weather down South changes in a blink, cant wait to take it up to 8750 in Telluride️️

October 1, 2021

Excellent Rain and Wind Jacket

I bought this jacket because I have gone through several "rain jackets" that don't actually stop water seeping through during a down pour. I finally ordered this jacket. It's a great jacket for both rain and wind protection! I especially like the blue color I got. Too many men's clothes are bland these days, so it is nice t... Read Moreo add a pop of color. The sleeves run long. If you're our height (I'm 5'6), you'll know most jackets do. The cuffs extend to about the end of my palm.

September 29, 2021

great jacket

really like new design of this jacket . seems way more durable and better zipper that doesnt get stuck. i live in hawaii and had trouble with previous jackets holding up. thank you for redesigning it.

September 29, 2021

I just bought two of these jackets.

I love the feel and fit. I'm about 5 foot 9 inches and 180 pounds. The medium is my size. Love it. Will buy more.

September 28, 2021

Great jacket!

Great jacket!

September 26, 2021

Perfect for autumn in Sweden.

Perfect for autumn in Sweden.

September 26, 2021

very nice jacket

very nice jacket

September 26, 2021

Rain protection

The lighter weight of the coat is something I really like. fits over a sweater or vest with room to move freely. The hood also fits well over my cap. However, I have not as yet had to test its ability to keep me dry. I do like an inside zippered pocket when using it for travel.

September 25, 2021

Nice jacket

Lovely jacket. Sleeves way too long for me but it is a man's fit because the ladies don't go big enough. Please make some larger ladies sizes. Curvy women do walk.

September 24, 2021

Just a great rain shell

I buy these jackets because they last! I use them for work and play, they outlast the other jackets Ive bout in the same price point. I feel they breath better too.

September 24, 2021

Great rain gear

Great rainy protection on any given time, light and easy to pack and carry around. Warm if its cold but in warm weather breaths well so youre not sweating, comfortable in all means.

September 21, 2021

Great for rain

Really is waterproof, water hasn't bled through while wearing it in some heavy rain so good for me

September 20, 2021

Warm

It is good to protect rain.

September 19, 2021

Best rain wear there is

Keeps you dry without feeling like youre in a plastic bag.

September 19, 2021

Nice jacket and good quality.

Nice jacket and good quality. It feels a bit too much like plastic, even for a hardshell, and it seems a bit less breathable than a goretex equivalent

September 17, 2021

AMAZING

My husband LOVES this coat. Says when we go north, WA state, he will wear this and a fleece underneath. Bought it bigger so he could wear sweatshirts/etc underneath and still be warm. Amazing coat.

September 17, 2021

Works well even in Hurricane like conditions

It is what i needed to walk my dog in bad weather.

September 15, 2021

Best rain jacket

Keeps me completely dry while walking the dog in the rain

September 15, 2021

Dry and comfy

I bought this jacket to replace an old and heavy raincoat before an annula canoe/camping/fishing 6 day trip. My joke with my friends was tgat if I came prepared, then it wouldn't rain. That didn't work! The remnants of Tropical Storm Ida dumped on us for about 12 hours. I stayed dry and comfortable in the jacket whether sitting or sawing ... Read Morefirwood to keep us warm and entertained. The hood is big for fitting a helmet, but I found an adjusted fit that made it less cavernous. All in all! I'm glad I bought it. I just wish they had had the color I wanted in my size

September 15, 2021

Really good rain jacket!

Nice and light rain jacket, gives lots of freedom to move.

September 15, 2021

Great quality

Although I havent had this jacket in a downpour yet, the quality appears good. Time will tell if its waterproof.

September 14, 2021

Super Dry

Bought this jacket after reading a CNN review. I am 6 tall and the sizing seems just right without thick clothes underneath. The jacket and lining work well as a windbreaker. Got caught in a big rainstorm once and the water beads off the jacket. Kept my upper body totally dry although the water dripping off the jacket got my pants a little wet. Def... Read Moreinitely recommend this jacket for anyone looking to stay dry in the rain

September 14, 2021

Warm, Good Water Resistance, Doesn't fit my build

The jacket is warm, water resistance, and looks good, but it is to tight around the shoulders for my fit. The sleeves fit fine, but it feels restrictive for full arm motion when you rotate your arms above your head.

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on fit, fabric and function. We're sorry to hear this one didn't work for you. We encourage you to return it with our easy online process, or reach out to our Customer Service team. If you're interested in a water-resistant, relaxed fit jacket you might like our [Men's Steel Forge Windbreaker](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-steel-forge-windbreaker-work-jacket/27545.html?).

September 14, 2021

Great partner for the mountains

The jacket works great. I've gotten wet in the mountains several times already and everything under the jacket always remained dry and unobtrusive.

September 14, 2021

The Best

So incredibly well made and it fits perfectly.

September 4, 2021

Great light rain jacket

I bought this for my youngest son because I found out that he was outside in the rain without a jacket. Now he has this and I don't worry about him getting soaked. He's 12 and is prone to lose stuff because, well, he's 12. Guess what? He doesn't lose this jacket. It's light, it's useful and he doesn't feel like hi... Read Mores parents dressed him up when he wears it, so the chances of him actually using it are quite high. He's happy, I'm happy, even his mom is happy and that's is an accomplishment. This jacket will last until he's in his thirties. So he has that going for him.

September 3, 2021

Nice overall jacket

Overall, the jacket is nice. Id say an inner pocket would enhance the jacket wearing experience.

September 2, 2021

3l is what we all

3l is what we all has ben writings for. I bought the red one for my husband, he's 174cm and slender and the fit is just right : it is fitted enough for him not to feel sunk into to much fabric yet large enough for it to be comfy to hike and and bike in it. The texture is not as thick as one could imagine for a 3l jacket it is in fact pretty t... Read Morehin and sleek looking enough to be worn to go to the office with ( he works in banking). The red is quite soft and earthy like, not at all too bright to look " serious" if one may, and by that I mean look ridiculous in any other setting than hiking and going about in nature or working out ones.

September 1, 2021

Nice waterproof shell

I finally had to give up my old SST fishing jacket due to a slight increase in my weight and a desire for a simpler, lighter, rain jacket that would give me greater mobility and better water repelling qualities. I did order an XL and tried it on but decided I would need the XXL if I was going to layer up under it with possibly a fleece jacket and a... Read More sweater for cold rainy days on the river. Im 6 ft 2 and about 230 lbs to give you an idea of the fit. Overall I think its a great jacket!

September 1, 2021

Basic rain jacket

Received this as a warranty replacement for my older Torrentshell jacket. In comparison to the old one, the hood fits better (more roomy). The pockets however are smaller. The inside mesh pocket is gone, as are the velcro closures that flanked the zipper. This becomes apparent when you want to just quickly close the jacket without fumbling for with... Read More the zipper. For example, when getting out of your car during a rain storm. Material feels thicker, and less breathable. Water repellency is decent.

August 27, 2021

Oversized

They are oversized. I bought XS as Patagonia XS (34-35) usually fit right for me. They looked oversized when I tried them out but I thought I was imagining it. But nope, measured it with a tape measure today and it looks it is sized as an M (38-40).

August 25, 2021

Good

Good

August 25, 2021

Excellent

Use for fishing. Keeps me totally dry and warm on bad fall days he in wy.

August 24, 2021

Justified reputation

Bought this after reading and article on CNN. Jacket is just as reviewed - protects from wind & wet, yet 'breathes' so you don't overheat when active. Used it on some pretty strenuous NH hikes immediately after purchase. Love it !

August 23, 2021

Excellent fit and protection

I am 5'9" (160#) - the jacket fits perfect on my torso. Good room to move without restriction but not so roomy to feel baggy. Used twice already in a couple of thunderstorms in the Sierra, excellent water protection. I am happy with my purchase.

August 20, 2021

Excellent rain shell

The Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket is an excellent rain shell! Great materials and design, Huge two zipper pit zips for ventilation and durable material. This is an outstanding shell and at this price it is a killer value. Highly recommended.

August 17, 2021

Very well made

Very well made Extremely waterproof The zippered vents under the armpits are a nice touch Wish it had a inside breast pocket for phone, etc

August 16, 2021

Great Jacket

Purchased as a gift for my husband. He loves the fit, style and weight of the jacket.

August 16, 2021

Amazing lightweight jacket

The item arrived in excellent timing and was a great fit and superb feel. I was able to enjoy my event a whole lot more.

August 16, 2021

Very comfortable and fits very

Very comfortable and fits very well

August 11, 2021

well constructed

Great rainwear, however, for an XL it is slightly snug. Still looks great!

August 11, 2021

Nice

Lovely snuggly jacket. Pockets to sandwiches and screwdrivers in Will look amazing at my tea dances I’m pretty certain I’ll pull the totty wearing my lovely new Torentshell jacket

August 9, 2021

Great fit, great style, and the right features!

I am 5'10" and 165 pounds and Medium is a perfect fir for me. During a downpour today I wore my Torrentshell for the first time. The water resistance excceded my expectations. I really appredicate the large hood that fits comfortably over a baseball cap. The pit-zips are large and easy to zip open/close. I really like this jacet it will b... Read Moree one of many go-to weather specific jackets.

August 8, 2021

Perfect for outdoors in the rain

Perfect for outdoors in the rain

August 6, 2021

Good and cost effective

Bottom line: A well priced and hardwearing waterproof rain jacket. Not built for harsh conditions but still surprisingly capable. Attribute Ratings (1-10): Waterproofing: 9 Breathability: 7 Features (pocket, hood, etc): 8 Sustainability: 10 (as always) Fit: 7 Price: 10 Overall: 9 Detailed Review: I purchased this jacket about a year ago ... Read Moreand I have used it regularly since for a wide variety of activities. This jacket has, generally, preformed well throughout all of them. It has a slightly large fit which permits layering but still fits well on its own (for reference I'm 5 foot 11 and 155 pounds, I got a medium). The waterproofing is good and I have yet to experience any wet out. With that being said, I haven't worn it in hard rain for more than 30 min so your mileage may vary. I have also used it as a stand-in hardshell when I forgot my normal one cross country skiing in harsh winter conditions. It held up surprisingly well considering it isn't built for that but let in more wind than I would have liked. Its breathability is alright and close to on par with my Gore-Tex jacket but not quite there. Its features are good enough. The hood design is well thought out and the pockets are generously sized. However I would have liked to see an internal drop-in style pocket. It has ways to tighten down the hem and wrists if need. Finally, the zippers are nice and won't be falling any time soon. Changes that could improve a future revision: - Add an internal drop pocket big enough to fit something like a stuffed puffy or folded up map -Add the same soft material on the back of the jacket (the part that touches your neck) to the zipper garage in the front (similar to a nano puff jacket) <-- not sure if this would be annoying when wet but the current revision can get a bit uncomfortable after long periods with the hood up and tightened.

August 5, 2021

great light jacket

nice jacket .. it could really use an inside pocket .. something simple, but a pocket inside would make it perfect..otherwise, great product. love the products.. love the mission.. Patagonia as a company is great, we need more like it.. JM

August 3, 2021

Nice Lightweight Jacket

This is a nice lightweight rain jacket, with a nice light liner. Plenty of room to wear a hoodie or heavier shirt under it. Sharp style as well.

August 3, 2021

Exactly what I expected

Comfy and great at fending off wind!

July 31, 2021

Trip to rainy Panama

I bought this jacket for a recent trip to Panama City , Panama. I knew it was rainy season but I did not expect 3 days of heavy rain. The jacket is light weight and the material is rain proof . The vents beneath the arm pits help in circulating air in the humid climate. This jacket travels well.

July 23, 2021

Perfect

I live in south Florida and work valet, this keeps me dry and its light and breathable. Usually wear an XL but went with a large and it fits perfect.

July 22, 2021

Very durable

These jackets are great. I use them extensively in Southeast Alaska in the summers and fall. We get tons of rain here and this jacket always keeps me dry. For breathable material its very durable and will hold up to almost anything but take note they are not bulletproof. Im very hard on my gear and I usually get at least 2 seasons out of it before ... Read Moreit gets shredded but thats a lot considering the amount of abuse it gets. If youre just prancing around town when its misty this thing should last years.

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2021

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Sam! Depending on your usage, we thought you might want to take a look at our more durable but less breathable Hose-Down Slicker Jacket or our less waterproof, but more durable [Steel Forge Windbreaker Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-work-jackets-vests).

July 22, 2021

Super nice

I like it a lot

July 20, 2021

Good raincoat

I&#x27;m very happy with my purchase. As expected for me (187 cm) it runs a tiny bit long both in torso and arms. It helps keep me dry even when stretching and moving around a lot, and the inner fabric does not chafe or feel &quot;sticky&quot; if one works up a sweat. The ventilation holes in the armpits are a very welcome edition, and I am happy ... Read Morethat the front zipper seems to be easily replacable if needed. A right-sided zipper is new to me, but seems easy enough once I get more used to it. The hood is also comfortable, both with the soft neckpiece and in overall size. The adjustable straps are easy to find on the sleek surface. The final velcro around the wrists are also a good addition. I have yet been able to properly try its waterproofing, but previous reviews and some tests in short, heavy rainshowers leaves me with a very positive impression

July 17, 2021

THE BEST!

This is my second Torrentshell rain jacket, the first one lasted me 12 years and is still going strong. It keeps me dry, not clammy, not hot in warmer weather and also has room to layer up underneath. I fish in this jacket, work in it and just always have it anywhere I go. Highly recommend it and the price is great. It will last you a long time....... Read More.Brian

July 16, 2021

great rain jacket

Been wearing Patagonia jackets for 25 years or more never disappointed. Keeps me dry and warm

July 15, 2021

Perfect

It is a great lightweight jacket, I will mention that the zipper is on the wrong side (for the men’s jacket) other than that it is perfect

July 15, 2021

So far so good

I ordered L and M sizes and the M fits me much better though I would prefer if it was slightly longer in the body. I&#x27;m 6&#x27;1 and about 82kg. Well made jacket and the returns and repairs policy does engender a sense of confidence. I&#x27;ve been out in heavy rain only once so far in the jacket, though not for very long; the jacket performed ... Read Moreadmirably. Looking forward to wearing it for a more extended period in the rain. Overall, very good jacket so far.

July 13, 2021

Great warm season raincoat

Ive been a fan of the Torrentshell for years. Just bought my third one. Very good rain protection under warm-to-cool weather conditions. Nice details in underarm ventilation, hood adjustment, and taped zippers.

July 12, 2021

Good quality. So far so

Good quality. So far so good

July 11, 2021

Very comfortable, great fit.

Would like to have an interior zipper chest pocket large enough for cell phone and ID.

July 11, 2021

Didnt fit see below

Ordered large it was to big reordered medium fit was to tight. Im 180 lbs and 58. Sent both back staff were very helpful. Bought a Patagonia MS Calcite Jacket gore Tex fit like a glove and ver happy.

July 8, 2021

Fit me weird

Material was extremely stiff. Tight around the chest and armpits, loose around the belly and waist.

July 8, 2021

Just... perfect

Absolutely love the thing. So awesome.

July 7, 2021

Amazingly waterproof

My partner and I purchased a pair of these for our trip to Iceland and they're amazing! Stylish and really worth it's price. We've walked through rainy days and many waterfalls and came out water free

July 7, 2021

Nice Jacket

I received the Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket as a gift from my son. I guess he grew tired of hearing me complain about my previous rain jacket. I really like the fit of the Patagonia. It's light weight, breatheable and does a great job of keeping me dry.

July 5, 2021

Waterproofness lost again

I have nothing to complain against the cut, fit and size of the jacket. It fits amazing with a t-shirt or hoodie underneath. BUT, after completely loosing waterproofness in my 2.5L Torentshell jacket WITHOUT EVEN washing it I had it replaced with a 3L version and after the first wash (without even using softener) I completely lost waterproofness ag... Read Moreain. I had it treated with Storm Proof solution as per Patagonia's recommendations and it still not repelling water like in the beginning. When it first happened I thought I was unlucky and got a jacket with defects but rafter happening again I'm a bit skeptical about this brand.

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2021

Hi Catalin, we're so sorry to hear that the Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket keeps soaking through. Every jacket has a maximum limit on how much moisture can pass through. When doing strenuous activity moisture can build up and soak through the layers being worn underneath your shell. It's important to remember to layer accordingly and this could possibly be what's happening. Nevertheless, it sounds like your disappointed with your gear and we never want you to feel stuck with an item that you're not confident in. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 5, 2021

Runs large!

I did the &#x27;What&#x27;s my size?&#x27; thing. I&#x27;m 41, 182cm, about 88kg, with average waist and slightly broader than average chest. It gave me 77% chance of being happy with L, with XL the next best bet (23%). I went with L. It was far too big. Is it possible that people are filling in the questions optimistically, so they get a jacket th... Read Moreat is bigger than would fit the dimensions they filled in, but turns out to fit their actual dimensions very well? Anyway, I am usually an L in US sizing, and an XL in UK. This jacket definitely runs large. Apart from sizing, I'm very happy with it so I'm returning it and getting the M. XL 23

July 5, 2021

Mens Torrentshell

Great update to replace my old Torrentshell, fits a little large but is more comfortable and warmer despite being so light and packable. Absolutely love it!

July 4, 2021

Just as good as I’d expected

Superb quality, fit is on the larger size (I’m 6’ 6” and 18st) I usually wear XXL and this comes up a little bigger. Great cut and it feels premium.

June 30, 2021

Great Rain Jacket

Great jacket for the price. All the features of the more expensive jackets at a reasonable price. Three layer. Not sticky. Pit zips. Two way adjustable hood. Velcro cuffs. Pockets. Thanks Patagonia.

June 29, 2021

Great Jacket

This is a lightweight, durable, and simple rain jacket. Love the added bonus of it being a good windbreaker, having pit zips and a packable pocket.

June 29, 2021

Clean classic styling, great quality

I bought the Torrentshell for travel, light and easy to pack. I use it for everyday work, errands and walking.

June 29, 2021

Great coat

Although I have had this for a short time, I love the fit, it works great in the rain and the color is awesome. Very pleased with the product, which is not a surprise as I have been a Patagonia customer from the beginning and still have and use the products I own.

June 28, 2021

Extra dry

The Torrent Shell is excellent for the pop up thunderstorms we experience in my local area

June 26, 2021

Great jacket!

I&#x27;ll start off by saying that this jacket is really waterproof. The first day I used it it was raining quite consistently and the jacket lived up to its reputation. I also love the ventilation zips, very useful while hiking or working. The fit is kinda large but I don&#x27;t see it as a problem; it actually makes the jacket more versatile as I... Read More can wear an additional layer in the colder months. It's also incredibly lightweight and feels very comfortable. I haven't carried it around in its packable state yet, but I had fun trying to pack it in its own pocket. It's all pretty straightforward and the end result is small and very portable. I couldn't be happier with this purchase. I highly recommend this jacket.

June 22, 2021

Very water

I bought this for Iceland, but I have used it the most during the rainy season here in Tampa. It works like a charm. Quick flick of the wrist and the water shakes off. Dry as can be

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches