burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Barn Coat

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 100 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Iron Forge Hemp™ Canvas Barn Coat

4.6/5
Kinda Large
November 10, 2022

alternative to other work coats

Lots of pockets to lose your stuff in. Very warm during a cold spell in November (11°). runs very large. 5'10" 180 lbs.

October 24, 2022

warm and comfortable

this is an insulated coat, so has some extra R factor to it... this will be great for colder climates and as winter barn coat. fit is a bit roomy i could have gone down a size for a closer fit, but chose to keep the room for bulkier layers. quality is great.... expecting this to last for many years.

October 18, 2022

THE Coat

5 11 and 172 lbs , the medium fits fine with my 10 year Hoody underneath. Comfortable fabric and does not feel stale. Just opened the box and love it, you will too. Don't get a Carhartt

October 1, 2022

HBD gift for dh

I got this to replace my dhs old barn coat that is at least 25 yrs old. Great coat, but it was time. This is the perfect replacement. We tried a few other brands before finding this one. This checked all his boxes. He absolutely loves it. He will easily get at least 25 yrs out of this one! He received the coat on his birthday and a few hours later ... Read Morewe saw the wonderful Patagonia Purpose Trust announcement. We appreciate the great quality coat, and sincerely thank you for all you are doing for the planet.

October 1, 2022

Stylish autumnal coat which lets you take it beyond the barn

Ideal for the cooler autumn weather. Well made with plenty of pockets and the fasteners (zip & studs) are strong and secure. The canvas/hemp outer is lighter in weight than I expected but keeps the wind and rain out but not intended to be 100% waterproof. Nice colour and excellent fit with room for layers. Good autumnal/early winter coat but st... Read Moreays at home in arctic weather.

March 1, 2022

Nice jacket but short sleeves

I'm a somewhat burly 6'0" man with wide shoulders and slightly long arms. The body of this jacket in size L was perfect for my torso, but the sleeves are laughably short. Going up a size will give me an extra inch on sleeves but increases size everywhere else too much. So I'm stuck with a jacket that doesn't quite fit. Bumm... Read Moreer :( This is unlike Patagonia's other hemp coat they call a "chore coat". In Large, the chore coat fits and looks great and the sleeves are just perfect. Despite being similar--like a non-insulated version of the barn coat--the chore coat is designed to extend the length of the shoulders if need be. You can see special folds and seams on the shoulder blades for this. The barn coat lacks these, making for a very stiff shoulder that pulls the cuffs up the arm. With these relief folds, the Barn Coat would be perfect. Patagonia, update this barn coat with some more shoulder space. I'm gonna see if I can modify this coat or just live with it, or give it to someone else. Also, make the barn coat available in ink black like the chore coat. It's a beautiful and attractive color.

February 26, 2022

Very durable, warm, so many pockets

Work a farm in MA. Wear this coat in the shoulder season and winter. Can carry all my tools in this thing, they just disappear into the pockets. Brushed it up on all sorts of nails, thorns, rough metal corners/edges, and the coat's no worse for wear. It runs a bit big. Looks like wearing a large feed bag, but it's very functional. Feels l... Read Moreike it'll last a lifetime.

February 26, 2022

A nice insulated coat

I bought this for casual wear more than outside work. Although I believe it would hold up just as well as some of the other iron forge hemp clothing I have, I want to keep one in nice condition. The fit runs large ever so slightly in my opinion, but I wouldnt size down. Also, the materials in this jacket feel very high quality. The zipper and sna... Read Morep buttons seem to be intentionally picked to be as nice as possible, which helps the price point of this jacket seem justified. The details were definitely thought out. The only thing I wish Patagonia offered was a button closure like their chore coat for those who prefer not to use zippers.

February 22, 2022

Nice coat, tight fit

I like the coat and the material. I wish it was more roomy in the shoulders. There is not a lot of room for layering. The arms are slender and not as roomy as I would want in a work coat. A large double zipper would be an improvement over the small single zipper. You need to zipper up without gloves and the zipper tab is tiny.

Response from Patagonia
February 28, 2022

Hi Robert, thank you for sharing this feedback on this coat. Our product designers do read these messages, so your thoughts will be seen!

February 17, 2022

Perfect

Rugged, functional, and warm. I love to work outside in this coat. Well done. I look forward to many years outside in this coat.

February 17, 2022

Broken In like it was 10 years old brand new!

Soft, loose, great for layers and the Adirondacks. This is a work issued jacket and keeps me warm and will be a go to during off hours as the full pocket on the back is great for stuffing whatever you don't want to hold. My first hemp garment and love it. I wish the website was a bit easier to locate the jacket though. Not intuitive for me.

February 16, 2022

Very comfortable

Was looking for a work jacket alternative to your typical Carhartt and this fit the bill. The hemp canvas is super soft right out of the package, yet seems every bit as durable as duck canvas. The pocket layout is very thoughtful too. Im 59 205 lbs. I purchased the medium based on other reviews saying it runs a full size bigger, and that is true. I... Read Morem normally a large in everything, but even this medium can comfortably accommodate wearing a hoodie underneath.

February 14, 2022

Nice jacket full sizing

Im a 64 teen guy 175 lbs very lean athletic build and the jacket was good length but too roomy. Have to be thick to fill this one out. Will try another style.

Response from Patagonia
February 16, 2022

Hi Tedine, thank you for sharing your review of this jacket. In general our work wear products are sized with a relaxed fit, which may be too roomy for some customers. We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't right for you. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, so if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

February 10, 2022

Heavy, but not bulky and really warm

I was expecting a well made heavier coat based on my other Patagonia Hemp purchases. I was not disappointed. Grabbing it off the hanger it feels heavy, especially compared to poofy down filled jackets. Once on it is a comforting thing and feels nice, not bulky or overly heavy. It is sized for layers, but even without layers it is very toasty. I lov... Read Moree the hand warming pockets and the giant pocket across the back (no clue what I will use it for, but feel like I could stuff a small child in there). I am super happy with this coat, and may need to move further north to use it more!

February 3, 2022

Really comfortable.

This jacket is large for the size ,but not overly so, just slightly boxy. It has a nice weight and drops down a bit lower than many jackets. Warm and plenty of room for layers. I love the warming pockets and the giant back pocket! I will likely wear this whenever I need to be really warm, like tailgating with all the layers, and when just running a... Read Moreround....OK, so this is taking over as my all the time coat.

January 25, 2022

Amazing jacket

This is a heavy duty, rough and tumble jacket with all the pockets you need.

January 25, 2022

Good looking jacket

Sleeves are a little short

January 14, 2022

Warm, Good Looking, and Tough

I got this jacket right after Christmas. I opened it up and was so excited. I put it on and it fit great! I opened up the bottom right front button pocket and the button snap flew off! It was clear, upon inspection, the button hadnt been installed perfectly square so the crimp was crushed instead of neatly holding. I contact Patagonia after the h... Read Moreoliday break and boom brand new jacket is on the way with 2 day shipping! The warranty is real! The process was so easy. I have been wearing the replacement jacket everyday since and its awesome. The hemp canvas is flexible and breaks the cold Michigan wind excellently. The jacket fits exactly how described and pictured. I am 510 and 158lbs. Small fits me great and would probably fit people just a bit bigger than me great too. This jacket has so many pockets for tools and phones and all sorts of stuff. The pocket on the back of the jacket is a great catch all for notebooks or bigger stuff. The functionality is great and it looks great too. Im so glad the jacket works as good as it looks. Hoping to have it for a long time and I am very happy with my first Patagonia experience.

January 10, 2022

Absolutely Bob on

Absolutely Bob on

January 9, 2022

Great fit, hardy coat

I love the fit, the pockets are well thought out, it seems bomb proof. Extremely warm. My only complaint would be the weight of it, it's heavy! But usually heavy things are built to last... and no reason to drop a star for it. Highly recommended.

December 26, 2021

Great casual wear jacket

I have been wearing this for about one month and I am loving it so far. Its super warm and the material looks very durable. The pockets are big and deep and comes in more handy. Id totally recommend this.

December 26, 2021

Excellent fit / workmanship!

I'm 5'10, 170 pounds, broad shoulders and stuck right between sizes M and L on Patagonia clothing. In general, Medium is almost a very close fit and Large being a very loose fit for me. But the Medium (loose) fit on this coat is perfect for me. The build into loose fit allows for comfortable use of a thick sweater as a mid layer and not f... Read Moreeel squeezed by the coat. Again, I'm very happy how perfect this coat fits my build.

December 26, 2021

Excellent, tough coat.

Excellent, tough coat.

December 25, 2021

Perfect jacket, too big

Received as gift from wife for farm work . Excellent build quality, softer and more flexible than carhaart, perfect pockets. Bizarrely too big . Im 511, 170lbs. Have worn medium Patagonia in every single other product (dozens worn) This was inexplicably a full size too big: long in arms and wide in chest. Resulting in delay in wearing waiting for ... Read Morereturn .

December 22, 2021

Perfect!

I bought this jacket for my husband who works exclusively outside and needed a warm, durable jacket for those harsh winter days in the Appalachian mountains. It fits like a glove. He really enjoys and uses all of the pockets! It's warm, hefty, and in two months of hard use it still looks like new! Highly recommend!

December 22, 2021

Great Coat!

Im 6, 215 and the size L is perfect. Ive worn other brands of work coats prior to this one , and theres no comparison. The Barn Coat is by far the best Ive worn for a cold weather work coat. There is no break in period, no stiffness at all and the abrasion resistance is for real. I live in the App. Mtns if E. Tn and SW. Va and have experienced no p... Read Moreroblems after wearing for nearly 3 months. I own/operate a cattle farm, hay operation and raise pastured pork. Ive built fence, corrals, fed animals, worn to work, out to town, built fence and so on. I wear this coat daily and have yet to have an issue. Its tough, comfortable and warm. The slimmer sleeves are perfect to keep loose materials out of your way, esp when working. The tapered fit eliminates the need for a draw cord style lower hem. It is not extremely cold where I work, but is regularly into the low 20s/high teens F here and Ive had no issues, even with layering. You can move freely with this item on and have no real worries of getting snagged by things due to too much loose fitting material. All pockets are well designed and thought out and are very useful for daily chores. The collar is soft yet rigid enough to stand in wind and cold. Ive not dealt much with rain/snow, so I cannot speak to that but the coat isnt advertised as waterproof or resistant. Overall, this may be the best work coat Ive owned for the money and durability to date. I would normally wear an XL and returned an XL for a L. Size down and this coat is perfect!

December 18, 2021

Fantastic Coat

I work outdoors everyday and in the cold winter months this coat has really helped. Tough materials with plenty of pockets and a warm lining make for a great user experience. The fit is good although maybe a bit roomy although this does allow for extra layers. Overall a great buy, would recommend!

December 17, 2021

Sleeves a bit tight

I'm 6'1", weigh 175, with 32" waist. M fits okay, but sleeves are tighter than I'd like. To be fair, I am fairly muscly and have long arms, but I feel like most people who do manual labor are going to fit in that category, and a workwear jacket should be built to accommodate that. Otherwise the fit is perfect, but the restr... Read Moreiction in the sleeves is a huge drawback. Thought about sizing up to the L, but already returned M and L size of the ranch jacket bc M was even tighter than the barn coat, and L swallowed me whole (felt like jumping up 3 sizes instead of just 1). That being said, the material is unbeatable, the jacket looks really good, and the functionality of all the pockets is amazing.

December 11, 2021

Most comfortable jacket I have ever put on.

This is the only review I have ever submitted online for a piece of clothing, I felt like I needed to share.. I'm 5'11 240lb and this jacket fits me great. I wear a long sleeve cotton shirt on cold days and the lining allows the jacket to slip right on without having to adjust my sleeves. The cuffs when adjusted keeps out sawdust. I work ... Read Morein the woods most of the time and the large pockets allow me to carry everything I need and still be hands free to work. You cannot feel any wind coming through the jacket, it is built heavy and the exterior is very tough. The jacket is more expensive than what I'm used to working in but you get what you pay for. I plan to buy another as a spare incase they stop making them like this. I bought the dark ash green color because where I live you do not wear clothing that resembles the color of a deer if your working in the woods during the cold months. I would like to see a dark gray or dark brown color added to the selection.

December 10, 2021

Perfect fit

Coat fits perfectly, I normally wear a size large and bought a size large. It fits loose enough to add another layer but tight enough to wear with only a tee shirt. My only complaint is that it needs a double zipper to be comfortable when sitting in a vehicle.

December 3, 2021

Exceeded high expectations

Based on the description and other reviews I was expecting this coat to be great, and indeed it is. Feels very heavy and durable while still being soft and flexible. Its not rigid like some other name brand canvas coats when new. Im looking forward to seeing how it wears over time. Im 510, a stocky 210lbs, and a medium is a perfect relaxed fit.

November 29, 2021

Perfect Fit

6'0 190 Medium build. Unrestricted arm movement. Substantial warm coat with durable feel.

November 27, 2021

Heavy duty and versatile

I have had this jacket just for a month but have already gotten a ton of wear out of it. We are having a fairly cold fall here in the Northern Neck of VA. We are on the water just off the Chesapeake. I have been wearing this coat for everything from clearing brush and loading my trailer- sometimes laying on top to crush branches down- to other work... Read More around my property. Also for walks with the grandkids, sitting around the fire outside and generally just hanging out. The jacket is super warm and rugged. No snags in heavy brush. Lining is great as it just slides over whatever you are wearing underneath. Roll up sleeves were super used when I was shucking oysters outside. Love all of the pockets, especially the big back one wear I store my gloves so I can use the front ones to store other stuff. Hand warmer pockets are also a great addition. Thanks as always for the care you all take in design and production. I know I will wear this one for years.

November 18, 2021

Solid barn coat

I like the hemp fabric, and the look of this jacket. Quality build. Pockets are great. The fit is good for me. Improvements: Sleeves are a little short. Snap cuff are nice but should be a little wider. Maybe a little more cut in the shoulders. More room at the top of the chest. That said, I still find this jacket to be really comfortable and warmer... Read More than I expected. Much more of a jacket than other thin barn coats. Patagonia never disappoints.

November 4, 2021

Almost, but not quite

The jacket has nice aspects. Sizing: The sizing is good, but it is also quite obscure. Let me be more clear. This jacket can fit in many different ways for many different people (body size), this is a positive aspect in many ways as well. However, I believe it is a bit too obscure to the point where the buyer will never know exactly how this will... Read More fit unless unless try it on. The return process of course makes that not so much of an issue. But still. The sizing is not as straightforward as one might be used to. Materials: The canvas on this jacket feels very tough. And it is. The pockets are all ergonomically placed. The buttons are the best part. Which brings me to the zipper. I believe this zipper not only hinders the design, but it goes against Patagonia's environmental philosophies. This jacket is a work jacket, it is meant to be strong, and last, and be functional. It is almost all of those things. This zipper, if replaced with buttons would extend the life of this jacket. Zippers are prone to breakage and don't hold nearly as strong as a solid button configuration, possibly buttons made of recycled horseshoes. This is a good barn coat, but I think being open to practical and artistic improvements is what the people need.

November 4, 2021

Perfectly designed - beautifully built

I bought this 2nd hand after discovering Patagonias work wear range. I was looking for a decent work coat where it could be abused and take a beating, but also continue to provide warmth and practicality. Ive yet to discover how long this will last. The large pockets at the front are perfectly placed to drop your tools in without having to look for... Read More the opening of the pockets. You just reach in and WHALLA youre in. They also hold a 22cm speed square easily. The material is super comfy but also mega tough. Im yet to feel cold in this coat the more you work the better it works for you. Im really happy with this coat and will be getting more from Patagonias work wear range.

November 3, 2021

Really is super warm

Great work coat, not too heavy and keeps you warm. Tons of pockets to help carry items

November 2, 2021

Nice Casual Coat

Luckily I had tried one on before purchasing because they seem to run a large. It's a nice casual rustic coat and Patagonia's hemp clothing seems to be fairly durable.

October 29, 2021

Great coat if it's what you're looking for

This coat was kind of a pain to buy, but I'm really happy to have it. First of all, the colors are tough to judge online, which I guess is hard to avoid. I went into the store rather than buy both and return one. The fit is also a little unusual. For me (5'9", ~135 lbs.), the arms in a size S fit just fine, layered or not, but the mi... Read Moredsection is kind of loose. That works for what I was looking for (I can work in it, wear it around town, and probably even sleep in it), but the fit on me doesn't seem to line up with what some other reviewers have said. Probably best to try it on first if you can. The coat I ended up buying in-store was great until I noticed the stitching had come undone in the left hand pocket. That surprised me in a burly coat like this, but I like it enough to go exchange it for a new one. The coat will be good for chilly spring days over a light shirt, or I can layer a hoodie or puffy jacket underneath just fine. The material is soft and seems durable, and most reviews online say it's held up well. One thing I'm still curious about is whether the material can be waxed to provide a bit more rain protection.

October 5, 2021

Awesome fabric, great lining

The fabric feels wonderful and the insulation is very nice. The video review does not give the lining justice. I can't wait to try it this winter.

September 24, 2021

THE exact coat I was looking for.

I love the quality of this coat. I have looked many places and finally found the perfect coat for me.

September 15, 2021

Good fit nice jacket for

Good fit nice jacket for a cold day outside 🤙🏻

July 8, 2021

rugged comfort

I love this jacket, it's exactly what Patagonia have always done well - superb quality with style and comfort (& I've been buying Patagonia for 40 years). It fits perfectly, it's great with a thin jumper and a thick one too. It's cool on a hot day and warm on a cool one. It's rugged, is smart, it has style!

April 12, 2021

Super cool and comfortable

Super cool and comfortable

March 28, 2021

One year on

I got this coat back in Feb 20. Pretty much daily use Feb to May and then Oct through March 21. Easily the most useful work coat i have owned. I can carry tools gloves hat etc no issue. Looking lived in now but super soft to wear a few scrapes but nothing worn out or looking shabby. A two way zip and more buttons on the placket my only gripe.

March 26, 2021

Instant favorite

I've received so many compliments on this coat! It keeps me warm with just a t-shirt down to about 35 degrees. Very comfortable and heavy. Like the other reviewers have said, it runs large. Small fit me perfect (5'5" 160) with room for a flannel shirt and hoodie underneath on colder days. One thing I haven't seen mentioned in o... Read Morether reviews is the zipper, it's amazing. Seriously the best zipper I've ever had in a coat.

March 24, 2021

Bought for my wife

My wife wanted my coat! I own the same one in large size. Im 73in 220lb. Its the perfect work coat for the farm. I run a poultry farm. The coat runs large so its great as a shell in the winter over a thick sweatshirt or some other Patagonia sweater product. This coat is all about the pockets! In the winter I carry a stocking cap, gloves, neck gaite... Read Morer, and baseball cap in the rear pocket. (Doubles as lumbar support when Im in the truck) My iPhone is in my right front pocket, and my flashlight, reading glasses, pen, notepad in left breast pocket. I throw in some hand lotion and a tape measure and Im ready to work. The coat now weighs twice as much. Two suggestions 1) more snaps evenly space on the main zipper cover, sometimes u just need to snap the coat in a pinch. 2) the coat is long and a parka zipper may make crouching down easier. I got my wife the small and it fits her like it fits me on the large side room for a sweater. She is normally a womans medium. I love your clothes namely your cold weather gear.

February 22, 2021

Best jacket

Very good coat

February 9, 2021

Super quality and looks

I believe I will be wearing this coat for many years. The coat is very warm and the quality is typical Patagonia. I usually buy a large but after reading the reviews I purchased a medium and it fits perfect. Have only worn it a couple times and have been complemented each time.

February 1, 2021

Barn Coat perfect for work

I purchased this jacket to use in an dirty outdoor work environment. Im very happy with it so far. The fit is good. Material feels durable.

January 29, 2021

Just

It works just like Patagonia said it would. Really have not had a chance to put it thru its paces.

January 25, 2021

Very Pleased

This jacket is warm, tough, and great looking. It does run a hair large but I expected that fit for this type of jacket. I'm usually on the upper end of a medium so I ordered a medium and it fits great. If you are normally on the smaller side of a particular size you may consider sizing down one. My only complaint is a small one. The material... Read More in the hand warming pockets aren't conducive to dry, rough hands.

January 25, 2021

Very warm room wind resistant

Very warm roomy plenty of pockets Soft and supple

January 13, 2021

Versatile cool to cold weather chore coat

Received this as a gift. Seattle winters have high temperature variability. Wore it going for a walk with just a shirt and T-shirt underneath on a mid 50s overcast day. Wore it with a sweatshirt and flannel shirt underneath on a high 30s day doing yard work. Wore it with a down sweater underneath while helping a friend move to Eastern WA on a low 2... Read More0s day. Its comfortable. Good range of motion. Runs large which is great for layering. What I haven't done yet is get it really really dirty and see how it cleans up.

December 27, 2020

BEST COAT EVER

WOW. THE COMFORT THE FEEL AND WARMTH ARE WORLD CLASS. THANK YOU

December 25, 2020

Rugged, warm, dependable.

Runs slightly large as expected from a coat made for this type of work. I feel like I could take a chainsaw to this jacket and not even make a scratch. Its warm and a perfect weight for working outside. They truly tested this product perfectly with the amount of storage and range of different pockets on this jacket.

December 23, 2020

Best Coat Ever

I can tell that I will have this coat for the rest of my life. Cannot beat the quality. I am 5'9 and roughly 230 LBS with a 38 inch waist. I usually purchase everything XL, but after reading the reviews I decided on a Large. The Large is perfect with room to layer up. I live in Tennessee so this is the perfect winter coat as well. I haven&#x27... Read More;t used the back pocket thing yet, but I really can't tell it's their. If you're still on the fence about getting it, just do it. It took me a month to decide because I have a minimalist wardrobe and purchase with purpose. Wish I purchased this years ago. Now I can get rid of old hoodies and cheap coats.

December 17, 2020

Most best jacket EVER!! Your can do campfires

Without melting your high prices bird feathers...

December 14, 2020

Actually a 4.78 star rating, however...

I bought this, after reading other happy reviews, to replace my 18 year old Carhartt jacket that's finally circling the drain. And I'm mostly very happy with it (this Patagonia one). Other reviewers stated the jacket runs large, and yes, it does. I normally buy a size large so I can layer underneath it, but I bought a medium version and I... Read More'm glad I did. It's a little roomy--but that's good! I can layer! And, it's comfortable...-ish. (And here's where the "however" in the title comes in). It IS comfortable! As long as the wind isn't blowing. Two things would vastly improve this jacket. First, either a draw cord or some sort of buttoned tabs around the waist section to snug it up around your midriff, because when the wind blows, it goes right up underneath, and even with my three layers under the jacket I get cold. It just doesn't seal at all down there. (Note: I don't do a lot of heavy manual labor in this jacket, so maybe I'd appreciate the ventilation if I worked up more of a sweat, however...). And second, it needs a few more buttons or snaps on the front flap. But on mild days it's a winner! The quality is exactly what you'd expect from this company. It's good looking and has wonderfully roomy pockets for carrying lots of stuff. It's constructed well. I like it. (Note: I haven't thrown the Carhartt out yet because it seals up pretty well, and like the guy in Monty Python's Holy Grail: it's not dead yet.)

December 14, 2020

Perfect fit

I bought this coat for working around my cabin in the forest. The length and fit are perfect for me. (Im 57-58 tall and about 145lbs) Also the loft is perfect as well. As its not too heavy or too light. The fabric outside has the worn broken-in feel as it was described online. Overall its a great casual coat for my cabin.

December 3, 2020

Fantastic chore coat, hemp fabric is amazing, runs big

IMO this is the best chore coat on the market today. Patagonia once again hit the right balance between style and function. The Iron Forge Hemp fabric is very tough yet surprisingly supple, and I'm confident this coat will outlast me. The extra pocket across the lower back is really cool and very useful for gloves, hats, small tools, etc. The ... Read Morelining makes it easy to get on/off and it's surprisingly warm for the weight. Strongly recommend. If you're reading this go BUY THIS COAT! It definitely runs really big. I am a large in most Patagonia coats and had to exchange the large (which I was swimming in) for a medium, which fits comfortably with room for layering. One minor nit: The front zipper is functional but it feels a bit lightweight for the coat.

November 22, 2020

Warm and durable

Great fit and details. Warm and understated.

November 7, 2020

Rugged and versatile

Really enjoying this coat. Rugged but versatile enough to wear as causal coat. I usually wear a large in Patagonia fleece, etc., but the medium fits perfect with plenty of room to add a few layers below on those colder days.

November 3, 2020

Best Everyday Jacket

If you are going to buy one jacket just for general winter use, this is it. Ive had it for 4 years, and it looks as if I bought it yesterday. It is warm enough to where I can use it for fall, but you can also layer. Usually I wear a basic hoodie under this jacket, and it keeps me warm in the CT winters. Its perfect because it can function in most s... Read Moreituations. It can be used as a work jacket, but its stylish enough just to wear everyday. Whats also sick is all of the pockets. There are so many pockets, and I just leave my hat and scarf in the jacket because why not? It doesnt even take up any space. If you need a barn jacket get this and never look back.

October 15, 2020

No designed for a range of motion in the shoulders.

I was going to use this for riding horses and associated work. There was inadequate movement in the shoulders. I had to return the jacket because there was no ease built in the shoulders. You need to design the shoulders to allow a better range of motion. Im sorry because I really liked the jacket. Even though it was a medium size which as I weigh ... Read More116 lbs. and 55. Wouldnt allow a larger size.

October 15, 2020

Great Jacket

Bought this coat in 2017 to work do framing in the Minnesota winter. Pared it with a good sweatshirt and work amazingly. No cuts or rips even after running it along gussets in the trusses. I also enjoy wearing it casually around the yard, on a stroll through our local park or to our favorite brewerys! All in all, great jacket thats perfect for my l... Read Moreifestyle!

September 17, 2020

Good Price to Performance Ratio

Im a relatively active 69 year old male. Im 58, 185 pounds. 45 chest, 20 shoulders, 34 waist. 33 sleeve, 17 neck. Usually, a size large in Patagonia coats fits me very well. First off, I dont farm, ranch, or work outdoors. I just enjoy the comfort and style of a barn coat in casual settings. I have owned a couple prior to the purchase of the Pata... Read Moregonia and, for me, once theyre broken in, they simply cant be beat. I have similar hopes for the Patagonia. I purchased the Patagonia Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat in December 2019. I waited several months before offering my views on this coat because I wanted to ensure that my impressions would be consistent over time. Because my shoulders, chest, and neck traditionally have been the critical areas of fit, I tried on both a large and a medium at the Denver Patagonia store. The large was a very comfortable (almost ideal) fit in the shoulders and chest. However, the balance of the torso was blousy; it wasnt bad, but it wasnt a fit that I was accustomed to. The medium, on the other hand, had a more of a fit that I preferred in the lower torso, yet the shoulders and chest were close to being tight. The range-of-motion in the shoulders was not restrictive, but close to it. The closest I come to layering under any coat is a flannel shirt over a t-shirt. So I felt the medium would be an acceptable fit. I ended up ordering a medium from Patagonia to get the color that I wanted (coriander brown). That said, for folks with measurements similar to mine but prefer to layer, the medium probably would not work very well. Admittedly, this past year I have been second-guessing myself as to whether I should have purchased the large. I havent had the need to layer. And I havent had any circumstances or physical activity where my shoulders felt constrained. Its just that Ive missed the comfortable drape of a size large on my shoulders. And Im sure that I would have acclimated to the larges relaxed torso shape as well. Nonetheless, the medium is serving its purpose quite well. But enough about fit. I truly enjoy the hemp construction. It was comfortable right out of the box. And as it continues to break in, it is becoming even more comfortable. Maybe I am naturally warm-natured so quite possibly this next statement may not be true for all folks, but I find this coat comfortably warm for Colorado winters. With gloves and a hat, I find no need for layering or the need for a heavier coat. I find it very effective at wind blocking. The construction is first rate; I havent seen any flaws. And it seems to be quite durable, although Ive not found the need to crawl through any barbed-wire fences lately. With my perception of the quality of the material and components, I feel this coat offers a very good price to performance ratio especially when I consider this coat to last a good number of years. All in all, Im very satisfied with this purchase.

September 10, 2020

Ill-fitting

Way to large around the midsection. Im always a large in Patagonia but this item swallowed me. Had to return it unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Thank you for your review on the Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat. We're sorry to hear that the fit did not work for you. Please check out our [Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Chore Coat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-chore-coat/27825.html?dwvar_27825_color=COI&cgid=mens-jackets-vests) for a similar style with a fit that may work better.

July 10, 2020

strong coat

I work in a warehouse refrigerator environment driving a forklift and the last coat I got was a Berne brand. It wore out in the sleeves fairly fast. The abrasion resistance on this Patagonia coat is quite impressive. It wasn't begun to show any signs of worn. My only complaint is that the sleeves are a little too short for me. I ordered a larg... Read Moree knowing that I'd be able to layer but hoped the sleeves would fit me. I like the jacket and like the quality. Thank you

February 15, 2020

Mens Iron Forge Hemp Barn Coat

Ordered small following other reviews. Plenty large enough for layering in colder weather. Really well made and robust. Made for work so no restriction on movement when using equipment or stretching upward. Masses of storage room.

January 28, 2020

Awesome outdoor work jacket

Love this jacket. Perfect for working outside, especially of it's cold. Didn't need breaking in and has a really hardwearing, good quality feel to it. Runs slightly large but that's great for freedom of movement whilst working.

January 11, 2020

Amazing fit quality product

Amazing fit quality product

December 24, 2019

Wear it every day on

Wear it every day on the farm and its very handy. You can move very comfortably, and it seems to never break down

December 16, 2019

Every day jacket

Nice and warm good for work or causal, looks rugged. I think it will wear well.

December 15, 2019

Love the coat. It does

Love the coat. It does run big.

December 7, 2019

Rugged and warm

I got this to replace a much-loved denim chore coat that had lasted near 30 years. I suspect that this coat will outlast me; it's very tough. The pockets are roomy and easily usable even with gloves on. The cut is roomy enough for a bulky layer underneath, but it's warm enough that that would be needed only on very cold days (I just came ... Read Morein from moving firewood at around 30F and left the coat mostly open). I'm 6'1" 185# and the medium fits well; I've got long arms (I usually need to buy a tall) and the sleeves are just long enough for me.

December 5, 2019

BEST COAT EVER

I will say that I am completely on board with Patagonia and have no problem paying the higher prices for it, being that it is an amazing product. I have NEVER written a review on anything, and this goes to show how much I really enjoy this jacket. It can be worn in literally any way, and I often wear it to school in the winter as I am walking aroun... Read Mored campus. Its big enough to layer underneath it, and when you do it keeps you extremely warm. Not only do I wear it in a casual setting, I often cut firewood in it as well. I am about 5'9 and weigh 165, and have ordered a medium and it fits me perfectly. It is just big enough I can stuff a sweatshirt, and my pat vest underneath it to keep me perfectly warm. I can't say enough about this jacket and it has been my favorite I have ever ordered.

December 4, 2019

Warm and comfortable coat

When I first received it the hemp shell was somewhat stiff, but after a few days it was broken in and comfortable. The coat is warm and handles moderate rain and snow very well.

November 20, 2019

Great Jacket!

feels like I have worn it for years as soon as I put it on. Pliable, soft AND RUGGED.

November 19, 2019

Nice, heavy jacket

So far I thoroughly enjoy this jacket. Its held up amazingly over the last couple weeks of tree work and farm chores so far. I'm waiting to see how it holds up in the colder parts of MN winter. Here's hoping!

November 1, 2019

Very comfortable

Really enjoying this coat and cold morning and evening fit me perfect love the liner inside which allow movement and make easy to put it on and take it off. Only think I would suggest would be a double zipper to allow to ride and access knife at the belt.

October 30, 2019

The coat runs large, but

The coat runs large, but I read the reviews and ordered a small instead of my usual medium. It fits me great and I'm 5'10".

October 14, 2019

Buy small

Nice coat but only 2 snaps down front and no two way zipper? Big omissions in my book.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

We're sorry to hear the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat did not work out for you! If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 30, 2019

Excellent Barn Coat....Exactly what I have been looking for

I really like this jacket. It is well designed and the quality of materials and construction is excellent. The fabric is tough but relatively soft. As per other reviews, this is a roomy jacket and especially in the mid section. This is basically a Carhartt jacket that probably isn't as tough but with more style. I am 6'1, 225lbs with a 4... Read More8" chest and 39" waist.....The XL fits great. Some noted the sleeves were narrow but I did not find that to be the case and I have good size biceps. Looking forward to layering this with a nice flannel or fleece. For the price I think this is an excellent value from Patagonia.

September 17, 2019

Purchased and received a (Large)

Purchased and received a (Large) coat yet it fit like it was a (2XL).

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too large. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding our [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process.

May 8, 2019

Chore jacket

I am very pleased with the flexibility and design features. It is a jacket I will have and use for a long time.

March 24, 2019

Hemp Barn Coat

I took the advice from comments of the size being larger than expected and ordered the large. I'm 6' 215 lbs, the mid-section was fine, but the sleeves were very tight with no room for a sweater or sweatshirt worn underneath.

March 14, 2019

By Far My Favorite Coat

For reference, I'm 5' 9" and 160lbs. I usually wear Medium shirts and coats and 30x32 pants. I bought the Small barn coat and love it. THE NEGATIVE: First, the caveat that most people seem to be mentioning: This jacket runs large. BUT IT's DESIGNED THAT WAY. Patagonia advertises it that way. Just go into it knowing that, and you... Read More'll save yourself frustration. I'll make the case below that it is better precisely BECAUSE it runs large. People who like the metro, sleek look will not like this though. While it does look good as far as work wear goes, you don't buy things like this for fashion, per se. Also, this thing is heavy, so I think Patagonia should have given a more durable hanging loop. I have serious doubts the hanging loop is going to last in the long haul. The hemp absorbs smells more than canvas I've noticed. No huge deal really, but this may bug some people. It is slightly annoying that the jacket doesn't completely relax to the body well if you sit down with it zipped up, but that's what you get if you want a nice, heavy-duty zipper and a jacket that holds its form. Can't have it all I guess. I would still buy it again. I would have made the inside pocket a horizontal zip instead of vertical. Vertical has been awkward for me. I would have put the drop in pocket on the right breast instead of the left, as most people (me included) are right handed. I would have loved to have an option for a detachable hood with utilizing metal buttons hidden under the back of the collar. Lastly, I would have added a third snap button half way up the zipper; a hidden one though so that it doesn't look funny. Now, all the GOOD STUFF: 1. Hemp is way better than canvas. More soft and comfy, yet more durable. I wore Carhartt for years as an electrician and loved it, but this improves upon that. It's softer. The other day I wore my leather tool bags over the coat and it was actually comfortable. I couldn't do that very comfortably with my canvas duck coats. The other day, I was loading a bunch of oak logs into my rig for firewood and caught my barn coat shoulder on a barb wire fence hard enough to pull my shoulder back as I walked and make me lose my balance. Having torn canvas work wear on nails etc many times, I thought for sure I had ripped a hole in my new jacket. However, much to my delight, I searched to find where it had torn, but to no avail. There was literally no sign of the snag. This jacket is SUPER warm and comfy, yet somehow still incredibly durable and hardy. It doesn't look like it would fray and unravel much even if I did tear it. Besides, Patagonia does repairs. 2. This thing has a TON of pockets, yet still looks stylish as far as work wear goes. It's like a jacket that seconds as a small backpack. This and room for layering underneath are the two reasons I thing the large sizing makes sense. I usually wear Medium, but in this I have Small which is perfect. If this jacket were more form fitting, I could not comfortably utilize the many pockets (such as when you try to shove your phone into the pocket of a tight pair of jeans - not comfortable). I have frequently walked around with the following in my pockets all at once and am so comfortable that I literally forget they're in my jacket: full size key ring of keys, car keys, comb, large leather wallet, cell phone, pen, beanie hat, scarf (and sometimes a small book or my small Bible). The lower back pocket struck me as super strange at first, but I've learned to love it for gloves/hats/scarves. Also, the particular style of the pockets is helpful. Having a drop in, a mini cargo, two large cargo pockets, an inner security pocket, hand warmer pockets under the large cargo pockets, and a lower back pocket gives great versatility. 3. The large size also means it's comfortable to work in, which is why it's in their work wear line. I have some other coats which are ostensibly for construction work, but they pull on my elbows, shoulders, and armpits when I'm lifting things or reaching. This coat is practical, so it's roomy for active work days. As I said above, it intentionally has layering room. I was pleasantly surprised when I tried it on in the store with a thick cotton sweater underneath. 4. Despite its large size, it keeps its shape well. It doesn't look super misshapen and baggy after use. It holds its form fairly well. Part of this is aided by the adjustable cuffs. 5. The buttons and zipper seem to be really beefy and strong, which hints that they will last a long time. 6. I like the low back. Keeps you warm and dry when you sit on something cold or damp. 7. The jacket keeps me warm with just a T-shirt under it down to the mid-30s Fahrenheit (unless there's a chilling wind - then it's only good into the mid 40s). But surprisingly it still breathes pretty well if I wear it in mid 60 degree weather. Maybe this is an attribute of hemp? Not sure. 8. I like that the style dresses up and down. I can throw on nice jeans and polished boots with my hair done, and this jacket still looks sharp and eye-catching. Conversely, I can wear this thing as I work or camp and it doesn't look out of place at all. A great all-around coat. This is my first Patagonia product, and I am very pleased. I hope Patagonia's work wear line really takes off. Next, I plan on trying the Farrier Shirt and Shop Shirt.

March 11, 2019

Excellent coat. Favorite.

Tough fabric but soft to the touch. Fit and finish are very good. This coat will last a long time. Easy to put on and off. 5’9” and 169 lbs. Athletic build and medium fits very well.

February 9, 2019

Fantastic jacket!

As comfortable as a well worn old friend from the very first wear. Not too stiff, surprisingly soft, but also tough. Just warm enough on its own for cool to moderately cold days while working, loose-fitting enough to layer with a nice warm sweater or flannel for those extra cold days. From the first time I put it on, I knew it was my new favorite c... Read Moreoat. I'm almost sad to think winter will one day be over and I will need to put this jacket away for the season.

November 27, 2018

It's a BARN coat

I honesty believe this coat deserves a better average rating than is shown. Is it big? Yes. But it is a barn coat and the Pat folks do not hide that in their description. Is it too big? Perhaps. But this depends on the person. For those seeking a sleek and more form-fitting garment, you best look elsewhere. For those seeking a garment that is roomy... Read More and suitable for layering and much outdoor work, this is the ticket. I purchased this coat to replace a similar insulated and reversible flannel coat from Patagonia that had finally gone thread-bare after about 15 years. When I first received that previous garment in Large size (my normal size purchase from Patagonia), I felt it too was a bit large initially. But I grew to appreciate the room it offered and dearly loved it in the end. This new barn coat has about the exact same room in the torso. I am about 175#, 5'11" and I purchased a Large. I am an average build. If I had gone to a Medium on this, I am pretty sure the sleeves would have been too short and possibly a bit restrictive. The feel of the coat fabric is very nice and pliable. I love the slickness of the inner lining as that makes it easy to slip on over sweaters and other similar fabrics. My only wish is that the front draft flap had a third snap in the along the center. I feel that just two snaps (one on the top and one on the bottom) do not offer enough of a secure closure. But this is just me being picky. Great coat! It will last for years, I am certain.

March 6, 2018

Sizing is weird.

I tried the large and its HUGE in the mid section. I am 5'10" and 185. I could fit an entire pillow inside this jacket. I then tried the medium and felt the mid section was fine however the arms were a bit tight especially if I wore a layer underneath. I wish they put the large arms on the medium body... then it would be correct.

March 6, 2018

Soft and warm.

Have had this jacket through the winter so far. Working outdoors in the Colorado Rockies,a 30 degree day is relatively warm. This jacket has kept me warm and dry through heavy wind and snow squalls while moving pipe. Plenty of room to layer a vest or a sweater underneath and on the coldest days do. Strenuous activity and I warm up real quick. The... Read More collar is nice and stays up to keep wind out. There is a LOT of room in the Midsection as others have said so you will definitely appear larger than you are. Sleeves are the perfect length too. Highly recommend this coat to anyone who wants a warm coat that stands up to abrasion and water and rust and road salt and anything else that comes your way. Great jacket for working all day or just for looking good with a beer around a fire too

February 28, 2018

Feels well made,Nice,thick and heavy.

I bought this to replace a my favorite coat that has been repaired a bunch of times. I think I've been wearing it so long,it's in fashion again. About this coat: I wear a size XL in nearly everything. I ordered a size Large for this after reading some reviews. I am marking it as "Runs Large",but that's not entirely true a... Read Mores the shoulders are quite narrow. I can't imagine the shape of the person who fit this jacket perfectly. The mid section is far too large and bellows out a lot. It's just plain HUGE around the middle. I can't possibly wear it this way and must return it.

February 7, 2018

Awesome coat,but not perfect.

I love all the features of this jacket. Material and construction are all solid and the insulation is good,but you will need additional layers for colder temperatures. The variety of pockets is great,with the coolest being the pocket on the back. I found myself using that much more than I thought I would. I have no complaints about the zipper as it... Read More's larger than what's on most jackets. Sizing- I'm 5'11",180 and I decided on Large. I initially bought a Medium,but the arms were too small so I had to exchange. The fit is true to size for a relaxed fit item. It's big in the body and long,but it was purposely cut that way and still doesn't look bad even though it is large on me. I don't know how anyone comfortably sizes down in this jacket - when I layered under the Medium I could hardly move my arms. Even in Large the sleeves,at the elbow and shoulder,are still restrictive,which is disappointing. I wouldn't consider myself to be broad in the arms or shoulder either. However,the sleeve issue isn't enough for me to give up on this jacket. Still a solid buy if you're in the market for a cool weather work jacket.

December 26, 2017

Good comfortable coat for work or casual wear

This is a solid coat for moderately cold and dry weather. It's a lot softer than the usual cotton duck canvas. It's still pretty heavy but not as stiff. The fit is true to size in the chest with the sleeves being just a little shorter than the old technical jackets that were available in relaxed fit. Relaxed fit is good for people that la... Read Moreyer a ton,people with broad builds,or overweight people. If you don't fall into one of those categories there are plenty of other regular fit or slim fit options. My only complaint is that there's an area on the back near the neck where there's canvas inside instead of the insulation lining and that causes a cold spot in really cold weather.

December 13, 2017

It's big

I'm 6' 1" and weigh 180 lbs. I work outside on a farm. The size medium fits me. I like the all pockets and the material feels durable. It's easy to move in,but it's not warm at all. I have to wear a down vest under it all the time and add a sweat shirt under that on really cold days. Even with all those layers the medium fi... Read Morets best. The main zipper is small so I'm not sure that will hold up over time

December 6, 2017

Makes Me Want A Barn.

Longtime Patagonia fan,especially their fly fishing gear. My SST wading jacket just turned 20 years old and still rocks. Ok,the barn coat.. As mentioned in previous reviews,it IS sized big. As long as you know that going in it isn't a problem at all. I'm a rather 'portly' fellow and usually wear a XXL but ordered the XL after r... Read Moreeading the comments. Fits great through the chest,waist,shoulders. The sleeves are XL length and not XXL length. They're actually fine and finding sleeves long enough for me is always a challenge. I could still easily fit a sweater under this thing even as it's one size smaller than I usually buy. The material is crazy comfortable. Not at all like 'the other' workwear brand. I like their stuff too but it's always stiff. This coat feels like it was broken-in right out of the box and wondered if the Fed-Ex guy wore it for a month before I got it.Great pocket s and closures. Stitching is stout and the zipper appears to be strong,something 'the other' workwear brand always seems to have issues with. The collar is nice but wish it were a bit taller in the back. As far as warmth,I guess that's a relative thing. I'm in New England and haven't found it as warm as some have described. Not sure I'd wear it snowblowing w/o layering-up,but in warmer climes it'd likely be fine. Also,wore it out in a really cold rain just before Thanksgiving and the material really seemed to suck up anything that fell on it. Even a bit damp I still looked pretty darn cool wearing it. I'd definitely buy it again and would recommend it to anyone that asked.

October 11, 2017

Great quality,runs large

Bought this for a winter deer capture field season. The jacket seems to be constructed beautifully,but it certainly runs very big. I wear an XL in EVERYTHING and this XL was too long/large in almost all capacities.

August 11, 2017

Great Coat,but too big

I can tell this coat is really well made and will last,but it's way too big. I'm a wind turbine tech up north and a smaller guy and Patagonia seems to make the only jackets that tend to fit,but relaxed fit might as well just mean 2 sizes too big. Small Patagonia jackets always are the perfect fit for me,but I'm swimming in this. It&#... Read Morex27;s so bagging I have no choice,but to return this and look at better options. I really wish they didn't make it a relaxed fit or at least added different smaller fits.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches