Protect the ocean so it can protect us

Our future is tied to the ocean. Its shared seas connect us through food, culture and sport. The home of amazing, abundant life, it’s also a powerful climate solution. Yet the practice of bottom trawling threatens to destroy this precious resource—bulldozing our ocean floor, undermining small-scale fisheries and deepening the climate crisis. Let's end this destructive practice, starting with an immediate ban in marine protected areas and inshore zones.

Learn more

Returns

Unsure of the right size? Can’t decide between jackets? Our Customer Service team is here to help—the less unnecessary shipping, the better. We have no time limit on returns and accept both current and past-season products.

How returns work Start your return Customer Service

Subscribe

Sign up for product highlights, original stories, activism awareness, event updates and more.

Back to Product

Men's Silent Down Parka Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Silent Down Parka

4.4/5
Runs Large
April 23, 2023

So warm so comfortable

This thing is like wearing a sleeping bag. The material is so soft. Lots of features for a casual jacket. As always it is well thought out. The hood has a lot of down, the double front pockets are awesome, the zipper goes both ways.

April 18, 2023

Needs a waist or bottom cinch/drawstring,

I really like the look and feel of this jacket. Purchased to wear 4-5 times a day when temps are below freezing to take long walks with the dog. It is definitely cozy when standing still, perhaps on the sidelines or in the stands at an event. But as soon as you move, you lose heat from the bottom because the jacket moves with you and creates an ope... Read Morening where air rushes in and up. Ironically, the sleeves are super well designed and have a great elastic inner cuff that keeps any air at all from going up your arms, and the sleeves fit nicely over gloves too... But the opposite happens at the bottom of the jacket - where there is no way at all to cinch it closed, either internally at the waist or at the thigh with a bottom drawcord. I have a Patagonia hooded down sweater from 2014 that is warmer than this coat and closes better at the waist and hood that was half the price - and I end up putting that on instead most times still when I head out for a walk.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2023

Hi Matthew, we're sorry to hear the design of this parka may not be working for you! If you wish, you're welcome to welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Thank you for this feedback.

March 19, 2023

The fit is perfect and

The fit is perfect and it is warm. I got it late in the season so I only tested it at a low of 25 degrees. Its very well designed for wind deflection. The chin protection, waist length protection, zipper flap and elastic cuffs keep the wind out. Very well thought out design.

March 15, 2023

Very warm.

Great coat. Just what I needed for a cold winter day.

March 10, 2023

For seriously cold conditions at Yosemite.

Wore briefly during a trip to Yosemite. Loved everything about it. Was plenty warm for the 20s and 30s we encountered.

March 3, 2023

Good.

Good.

March 1, 2023

More pockets

As an update, this coat could also use an exterior breast pocket with a zipper. Generally, coat could use more pockets.

March 1, 2023

Not Bad but needs improvement

The size chart recommended an XL for me. The XL was huge. I exchanged for a L. I would say this is a moderately warm city parka, not hard core for extreme use. It could use a cord at the waist level to keep wind from blowing up from underneath. Tough to layer because the arms are tight throughout.

February 23, 2023

Just What I Was Looking For

I wanted a down parka that wasn't a waist line cut to provide extra warmth over my hips and upper legs, and this parka does just that. Nice, deep two-way outer pockets, but I wish that it had at least one inner pocket as well. The down thickness is enough to keep me toasty, and the hood is also an extra plus, when walking in cold, dry weather ... Read Morebut I wouldn't try to wear this in wet weather by any means. The brown color looks surprisingly cool - nice compliments from my friends on that.

February 22, 2023

Wearable duvet

The best grab and go jacket. Plenty of puff and coverage. Minimal swish factor with the fabric is great.

February 22, 2023

Overpriced

Very overpriced, the material doesn't feel like it will keep you warm. I returned it.

Response from Patagonia
February 28, 2023

Thank you so much for writing this review, Sergio! We are also very sorry to hear that this purchase led to a return. Please rest assured that we will be passing this along to our Product Design Team.

February 21, 2023

I absolutely LOVE this jacket!

I absolutely LOVE this jacket! It's so soft and so very warm. My wife loves how soft the exterior is. I love how warm it is and how it doesn't have any 'forever chemicals' in it. Plus, it's recycled down so no birds were harmed.

February 17, 2023

Good.

Good. soft.

February 4, 2023

Very warm, soft and comfortable

I bought the jacket in cone brown; I really like the color and its very classic. I cant fit in a size small jacket with anything else patagonia. But this parka in small was the perfect fit. I am 5 feet 9 inches and weight 170lbs with broad shoulder and a 40 inch chest. I can wear layers underneath this no problem. I wore this in 5 degrees and was w... Read Morearm.

February 1, 2023

I bought it for the

I bought it for the coldest days when I want a longer coat to cover my but and a hood and to cover my head and neck. This coat is a cocoon.

January 19, 2023

Super Warm on 10 Degrees weather

Super warm Parka, its very light and doesn't feel tight at all. It almost feels like wearing a soft blanket. Recommend for day to day use, it would have been perfect if it was waterproof. Maybe in the future.

December 23, 2022

The parka seems ro be

The parka seems ro be perfect in evert detail. My only problem is to close the zip. Sometimes I have to try several times, before I succeed.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches