Back to Product

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 426 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Tropic Comfort Hoody II

4.8/5
True To Size
November 17, 2021

Great sun protection hoody!

Great for sun protection on hot days- lightweight and comfortable. Perfect for fishing, stand up paddling and anything else that involves sun, water and working up a sweat.

November 16, 2021

Great sun hoodie!

They're great for the beach or by fishing , as well as just walking around on sunny days. They feel great and fit perfectly sun hoodies !

November 11, 2021

Love the fit and feel!

Super comfortable, light and a delight in how it feels to wear! Love the look as well. Wear for kicking around, as well as hiking and trail-running in cool weather. Truly glad I made the buy!

November 8, 2021

very comfortable

very soft, breathes, not tight (fits like a loose t-shirt). Great for keeping sun off the back of the neck and ears when gardening. Light enough for hood to easily go under a cap for fishing - also loose enough for cap to go under. Great as a base layer in colder weather.

October 7, 2021

Tropic Stinky Comfort

Patagonia products are always very reliable but this is no different from the classic stinky polyester shirt. After one day of use, it has that musty weird smell. It isn't a horrible smell, but definitely not a pleasant one. I just yearn for a good outdoor activity long sleeve that can protect me from the sun but also that can worn for days at... Read More a time (on backpacking or climbing trips etc.) without becoming unbearably smelly. I have pants that can do that. I have cotton shirts that can do that, and I have merino wool socks that can do that. Lets find a blend that doesn't trap smell eh?

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2021

Hello Shamon, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're are sorry to learn about the odor issue. You may want to consider running a load of laundry with 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar in the washing machine's detergent compartment, without any detergent or fabric softener to remove the smell. If this does not help, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the hoody.

September 29, 2021

Comfortable but lacks any durability

First off I love Patagonia and what they stand for. They make a number of awesome products I own. I received the tropic comfort hoody as a gift and really liked its ability to block sun while remaining breathable. However, after one wash it has numerous small holes throughout it. I know its thin, but I definitely expected more from it.

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2021

Hi Matt! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the small holes developing after such little time. We completely understand the disappointment with the quality. We've reach out to you directly with return assistance.

August 25, 2021

Great shade

I'm 6 foot 170, I love the fit of the large, has a little room for comfort. Perfect for sun responsibility, I try to never let the sun touch my bare skin

July 2, 2021

new favorite!

The sizing is "generous" I'd say. I'm normally an XL in Pata technical wear and an L in logo-t's etc. The L Tropic Comfort Hoody fits perfectly. If you want a more slim fit the Capilene cool daily hoody will be your style. It's too bad this style was recalled. Patagonia if you're listening, please liquidate these ... Read Morewith a UPF disclaimer, I'll buy 2 or 3 more!

July 2, 2021

Wish it were cooler

Now we know that it isn't 50+ UPF and that makes sense since it has always felt a bit too warm if the outside temp went over 90 deg F. It's okay when there's a breeze blowing but in hot humid weather, it's not that great to wear. I was wearing primarily as a sun blocker and to keep relatively cool but I guess neither is as adver... Read Moretised. I still wear it, though.

June 17, 2021

Safe from the sun!

Great top. My second. Patagonia do seem to be discontinuing these tropic comfort ranges, or maybe just always out of stock? Shame cos they are great tops for fishing, walking or chilling out in the sun. The sunshade technical gear is ok, but a little heavier weight and the SPF50 protection is not part of the advertising so I wonder exactly how much... Read More protection they really provide? The tropic comfort range is much better for real sun, heat and SPF protection. Also surprised Patagonia don't seem to have a women's version. My wife would snap them up!

June 3, 2021

Very happy

Nice and light, a little looser than I expected but very happy with it.

June 2, 2021

Feels great!

I haven't tried it yet for the sun protection, performance or odor control since it's summer here and it's around 30 Celsius.. But as long as the fit and feel goes it felt perfect for me I was afraid it would be to large but it's just perfect I'm 190cm 110kg and it fits just how I would like it to fit it feels very light an... Read Mored very airy it had a refreshing feeling to it like you're wearing nothing the fabric seems very thin but not thin enough so you could see through like some other thin fabrics. Over all I'm pleased so far!

May 31, 2021

Perfect!

I love this hoody. I primarily use it for climbing/spring skiing in the Eastern Sierra, and its the perfect protection from the sun. I highly recommend it!

May 29, 2021

Perfect fit

Medium is the perfect size for me at 5'9" and 165lbs. Lightweight and comfortable. Best sun shirt I've had in a while.

May 28, 2021

Great all around sun shirt

Bought these shirts for sun protection but everyone loves them so much that they are in the regular rotation of what they wear each week. My husband wore his while fly fishing for a week in Belize. It completely blocked the sun and kept him cool.

May 28, 2021

Superb summer wear

I wore this shirt all summer life guarding! It was probably washed only once . There was no odor ever! 3 other guards liked it so much they also grabbed on. Fit is a bit loose which is perfect for hot summers. Material is light and airy while also not feeling cheap. Great job Patagonia!

May 27, 2021

Super comfortable material!

Recently played beach volleyball in this and was super impressed with the overall comfort, I love the thumb holes and sun blocking. I bought a large but normally wear XL, found this runs just a bit big for a large . I did have a short sleeved t-shirt underneath it as well.

May 26, 2021

Love it

I wear it all the time. Just ordered two more. Awesome look, feel and performance.

May 26, 2021

Comfortable for all day wear

Purchased and wore on a recent trip to Greece on the flight and around the country and the product is great with its light weight and super comfortable fabric. Great to use on a cold day but also keeps your skin protected on a hot day. Highly recommend!

May 25, 2021

One shirt for the entire trip..

Ive worn both large and medium sizes. The large is nice and breezy for me on trips exploring tropical coastlines. And the medium fits nice too.. cant go wrong. All you need is this shirt, board shorts, flops and your gear.. enjoy

May 24, 2021

Best warm weather fishing shirt

The best fishing shirt out there, period. Great warm weather fishing garment, super comfortable and provides great sun protection throughout the day - especially with the hood! Fit is true to size with a little extra room and stretch to keep you cool. Wicks away moisture and dries quickly. Would definitely recommend for anyone heading to the flats ... Read Morefor saltwater fishing, or even warmer days in the summer freshwater. Definitely the fishing shirt that I use the most!

May 24, 2021

Very comfortable, you will wear

Very comfortable, you will wear this even when youre not fishing!

May 21, 2021

Free Flowing without Baggy Look/Feel

Bought this to keep the sun off of me while outside. I've worn this running, golfing, fishing, and while being out and about. It's a great looking shirt and feels just as good to the touch. Highly recommend despite it being on the pricier side of these type of shirts. Even with this said I will most likely buy another.

May 21, 2021

Super light, cool, and protective.

This is a great light weight sun protection piece. Light enough to go on a hike and run and really keeps the sun off my skin. Great for humid Texas weather near the water and cool enough to let the breeze in.

May 20, 2021

Very comfotable

Excellent quality and fit. I am usually an XL Tall but this has plenty of length

May 20, 2021

Perfect weight

Keeps the sun off and is lightweight enough to be comfortable.

May 19, 2021

BF new fav shirt

This shirt is my boyfriends new favorite boating rafting shirt. Its protective from the sun while also staying cool. Its quick drying and keeps him comfy all day

May 19, 2021

Light weight sun protection

Fits great. Is perfect for the cool day that turns sun filled.

May 19, 2021

Black flies don't like this garment

When the black flies get too much out in the garden, I pull on the hood. Nice all-around, summer hoody. I find myself wearing it a lot.

May 19, 2021

Soft and lightweight hoody near perfection

Love the style, material and fit. Likely to buy another color. Only issue I have is the hood is so lightweight it constantly moving to the front of my body. Its a little annoying- almost need a tiny weigh in the hoody to hold it on my back. Great material.

May 18, 2021

Great for the river

I have worn this on a couple of river trips as well as around the home. It is super comfortable and does a great job protecting from the sun.

May 18, 2021

Second One of These!

I have the light orange or crawfish colored tropic hoody from a few years back. I've worn it a hundred times - favorite shirt for rafting and hiking. Last week I decided to treat myself to another color so I bought the blue, which I'm wearing now. New favorite shirt...sorry orange. You should know that the reason for my 5 star review is t... Read Morehe colors in both of these shirts, as well as the half dozen R-1 shirts I've owned for ten years, are true and they hold up for years! Plus they are exceptionally well made. Seriously I love Patagonia clothes.

May 18, 2021

BEST ODOR CONTROL

These shirts work great in any environment. Out of all the major players in this Hoody market....Patagonia has the best odor control system of all.

May 18, 2021

Light weight, packs small

Perfect hoodie to keep the sun and wind off while keeping you comfortable.

May 18, 2021

Men's spf comfort hoody

Comfortable, light fabric. Kept me dry. A little large but the light fabric makes it fit well. Great color, love the shark design. Love patagonia's commitment to the environment with recyclables and reusing.

May 18, 2021

Dream Come True

Simple but elegant design backed up by function and practically. Travel any where every day piece combined with a Houdini - Nivana.

May 17, 2021

best desert hoodie around

I live in the desert and wear one of these hoodies pretty much every single day. It is by far the best hoodie I found for desert field work and recreation. Only wish is for it to be available in a women's style!

May 17, 2021

Sweet

Nice product, fits very well

May 17, 2021

Super comfy

Brilliant and comfy, the hood will fit a climbing helmet easily but not gaping! Fabric feels amazing on the skin and it somehow feels warm and cooling at the same time, can't wait to take it out for a full day of trad in the sun ☀️

May 16, 2021

Super comfortable and stylish

One of the most comfortable sweatshirts that I own. And the color is great. Loved it so much I bought a second one. Excited to use this summer in Flagstaff where the days are warm but the nights can get a little chilly. The fabric is super soft and comfortable. The torso length is a little long for my liking but understandable given that it's ... Read Moremeant to be a more relaxed fit.

May 16, 2021

Nice product

Good fit and quality feel to it.

May 15, 2021

Very comfortable polyester shirt

A staple in my pack for backpacking & fishing trips. Wears exceptionally well. Wicks moisture, blocks sun, and feels great against skin under a pack. Highly recommend!

May 13, 2021

The perfect discription

Great top for many activities: hiking in a variety of weather (alone, t-shirt, long sleeve shirt, jacket,rain gear, ) indoors, sun ( protection) . This shirt is perfect!

May 13, 2021

Great value

I normally buy cheaper clothes but decided to spring for this item and I'm happy I did. It's not expensive or over priced for how nice it is, but I'm just a scrappy thrift shop scavenger. It's super comfortable, very well constructed and designed and it's perfect for living on the coast and being at the beach almost daily. ... Read MoreThe UPF keeps my cursed ginger complexion safe and I look and feel badass wearing and get told that often while wearing it. I wear it so much that I just hope I don't wear it out anytime soon.

May 12, 2021

Awesome

Nice piece of gear. Ive got a couple Patagonia r/o sun shirts, but this is my new favorite. Its the same light weight fabric of the Capilene cool shirts so its soft, comfortable, and quick drying. I teach sailing so Im out in the sun a lot. This is a great way keep cool and stay protected.

May 12, 2021

Sun Protection!

Been loving this thing on the trails, when I need some UV protection on belay, and in the backyard doing yard work. Don't get burnt, keeps mosquitoes away and the moisture wicking helps a ton. I think an improvement would be that it is a tad bit more breathable?

May 12, 2021

Perfect beachwear

The perfect sun protection for the beach. Comfortable and great fit. Highly recommend

May 11, 2021

Nice sun protection

I live in the Santa Monica Mountains and the sun can really get your skin if you aren't careful. When I'm running sunblock tends to get in my eyes and isn't very useful. I sweat a lot. The hood helps with protecting my neck and the thumb holes really give it a great mall ninja feel.

May 11, 2021

Fit has changed

I have several of the older versions of these shirts. I ordered 2 new ones as my old ones are getting gnarly. In the older version I was a large. The new version is cut much more true to size. I had to return the large for an extra large. Love the new material. These are my favorite fishing shirts. Just know if youve ordered them in the past that y... Read Moreou may need to go up a size.

May 11, 2021

Great for the beach!

Great sun protection, very lightweight, great fit but I am slender. Super comfortable in and out of the water.

May 10, 2021

Precisely what I was looking for!

This is precisely what I was looking for. Great cover from the sun and feels weightless while wearing. I even feel a little cooler in direct sun when there is a little breeze than when Im not wearing it. Thanks again for delivering Patagonia.

May 10, 2021

Just what I was looking for

Nice fabric not sweaty or stinky

May 9, 2021

Light, good fit

Very light and comfortable. Should be good for hiking in the warmer months.

May 9, 2021

Sun protector and light weight.

I bought this for myself when they first came out and it has helped protect my arms from the sun while at beach after surfing, playing golf or walking. I liked that it was light weight, cool and the thumb hole to cover my hands. When visiting a friend in Cal. I bought him and a crew for his wife as house guest gifts. They both were very impressed. ... Read MoreI have a few crews from a few years ago, wish you still made the crews with the thumb hole. Great idea making this with and without the hoody. Cheers.

May 8, 2021

Functional & Comfy

Great protection against the sun. Super light & comfortable. Perfect casual top for the summer (and most of the year).

May 8, 2021

Comfortable and fits well

Overall very comfortable. Good fit

May 6, 2021

Nice material

Breathable nice material that provides sun protection. I own more than one.

May 5, 2021

Very Comfortable

Hands down Patagonia is my Favorite! Superb Quality... This Hoodie is Amazing. It exactly does what it says. I would definitely buy more of these if Patagonia make slight design changes. 1. I am using Patagonias Capilene Cool Daily Hoodie and i feel it is slightly more softer inside. (Maybe i am wrong) 2. I dont like to use button near my neck.... Read More It is little uncomfortable and awkward for me. (This is purely personal preference though) 3. Is it possible to use Capilene material for thumb holes.? (I like the soft material of the liner inside Nine Trails Shorts). Also, Maybe foldable pullover/sleeve for the rest of the palm. (This can give complete sun protection as well as warmth when needed) 4. It will be fantastic to have Darker Grey Color hoodie.

May 5, 2021

My Favorite Shirt

These are my favorite shirts on the planet, if I could wear them exclusively, I would! Lightweight and breathable, I cant wear them on hot days or cold, on the River or hanging around the house.

May 5, 2021

Super comfortable

I really love this sun hoody, I think it's my favorite of the three different types that patagonia offers. The thumb holes are great for keeping the sun off your wrists, and the hoody works well keeping the sun off your face. My only two very slight comments would be the sleeves when rolled up do pinch my elbow joints slightly, and the hood bu... Read Moretton is difficult to do with one hand. Otherwise super comfortable capilene fabric, great fabric weight; I've worn this in 80F sunny hike and felt relatively cool, and really enjoyed the sun off my neck.

May 4, 2021

Great sun protection.

I recently moved to a new house that is on the water in the Northern Neck of Virginia and I knew I was going to be spending a lot of time outside in the sun and heat. I have fair skin and wear sunscreen but I was looking for the next level of protection. This definitely fits the bill. I went with the medium and it fits very nicely. Not too loose an... Read Mored not too tight. I am 6 and 185 pounds and I usually order a large but sometimes I find the large size in Patagonia is a bit too large. This shirt has great stretch as well. I usually wear it with the hood up over a Patagonia trucker hat and the sun protection is great. I now have 3 of these and plan to wear them pretty much every day outside. I have worn them for hikes, walks, working around the property, in my boat and on my paddle board. Love this shirt and highly recommend it.

May 4, 2021

Perfect shirt for water and sun

This shirt is absolutely perfect for wearing to the beach, surfing, on the boat. Dries quick. Super comfortable. I'm 6'2" and 180 LBs and M fits really well, not too baggy.

May 4, 2021

Comfortable sun protection

This is a great fitting, super comfortable sun shirt. Great piece for bright summer days beaching, fishing or whatever.

May 2, 2021

A perfect hoodie

This hoodie is perfect for the Spring weather. I bought this hoodie in order to stay protected from the sun. It isn't too warm to wear, even if it is 80 degrees and sunny. The fit is perfect, and I've already ordered another one. Highly recommended for those looking to keep the rays off while staying cool.

May 1, 2021

Perfect

Amazing. Perfect for Florida summer. Handles heat well.

April 30, 2021

Good for Sun

I bought this for added sun protection. It does an excellent job and remains cool through out the day. The hood works well to protect my neck and it doesn't get in the way or pull when not in use. I ended up buying another. Good for long casual bike rides, runs, hikes, or kayak trips.

April 30, 2021

Great for chilly or hot days

This hoody is great because it provides full sleeve, hooded warmth, and wind protection on chilly mornings on the river and then seamlessly transitions to sun protection and cooling by the afternoon. Also, I am 6'1" and glad I went with the Medium as it fits true to size.

April 30, 2021

Go To Fishing Shirt

Great fit and lightweight. Holds up great through weeks of tough hiking and fishing. Easy to wash up too!

April 29, 2021

Dealing with Florida Heat

Im from Northen Michigan and this is my go to Tarpon shirt to deal with what I call Africa Hot weather- anything over 85 degrees!

April 29, 2021

Cut the sun without melting.

This cuts the sun brilliantly and, since it packs to near nothing, has become a staple in my fly fishing kit.

April 28, 2021

one of my favorites

Super comfortable, lightweight, sun protection. I appreciate using this as sun protection instead of chemicals. Stays cool in the heat and hood fits over a ball cap. Great for casual wear as well as when working out/ mountain biking/ hiking. One of my favorite articles of clothing!

April 26, 2021

No sunburn!

I have had at least one of these shirts for the past 6 years. They are excellent. Sizing is pretty true when the garment is dry, but some may think it runs a little big. After 6 years, my first shirt started to show wear around sewing finish on the hood. EZ fix with home repair. The fabric feels great on the skin wet/dry during the hottest of days.... Read More I like them so much I've purchased 2 more over the past few years.

April 26, 2021

Excellent

Great hoody, so comfortable...

April 26, 2021

Perfect for hot weather hikes

Very comfortable and feels cooling when sweating in hot weather. Great color and fits just right. I am 6, 178 lbs. large sizes in this were too loose fitting.

April 25, 2021

Keeps the sun off

This is my daily wear for work in the High Utah Desert. Cant have enough of these in the wardrobe

April 24, 2021

Great for sun

Nice and light and great for sun protection.

April 24, 2021

Perfect

Absolutely dig these shirts. The fit exactly as described, theyre comfy, and stylish. Wouldnt change a thing.

April 24, 2021

Smaller than older version

I purchased 4 of the older versions of this shirt a few years ago and bought 2 more for the upcoming fishing season. The new version is cut quite a bit smaller. I had to return them for the next size up. The new material is a bit thinner too. Not sure why they changed a shirt that was killer to start with. The new material does feel nice on the ski... Read Moren. Just know if youve bought these in the past that theyre not the same.

April 23, 2021

If it aint broke....

Dont fix it. The first iteration of the tropic comfort was better, in my humble opinion. I love mine. I live in it. Do everything in it. Hiking, fishing, climbing, lounging, whatever. The new one... meh. I actually retuned it. (Though I might buy a bigger size) Changes include: Less comfy (completely subjective) Less roomy Thinner Shorter The... Read More sunshade is closer to the older tropic comfort so that works I guess.

April 23, 2021

Excellent sun shirt

Well made, breathable, super light weight and stylish. Great product. Will purchase again.

April 22, 2021

Super comfortable!

Great for a day on the lake or the beach without burning up. Very comfortable and great fit!

April 20, 2021

Better than expected

Overall solid shirt. I wore this for 4 days of intense/sweaty activity and I felt dry by the end of each day. Thumb loops fit under my gloves which is a bonus. The hood is huge, fits over a climbing helmet if needed. The button is nice for preventing neckburn from reflected sun off snow/water.

April 20, 2021

Comfy

I ordered my first one last september and tbh basically haven't taken it off at all since then. Until now that I decided to order two more. This shirt is so incredibly comfortable and good looking. I'm 180cm tall and I like the size L. But i like it to fit pretty loose 👍

April 19, 2021

Comfy and blocks the sun.

So far so good! Fits well and is really soft and comfortable. Haven't had it very long. But a full day of work on a sunny day and a few hours in the kayak on the lake and haven't got any sort of sun burn so it seems to be working well.

April 17, 2021

Very comfy

This product is new to me in 2021. Purchased for upcoming warm weather for hiking/photographing/beach walking in warm buggy weather so not yet tried in those conditions. Like the feel/monkey paws/hood.

April 16, 2021

Awesome

This is an awesome shirt its only miss is that it needs the large front pocket.

April 16, 2021

Perfect sun sport shirt

Keeps me warm during the slight ocean / beach breeze run. Thumb holes and neck/hood button are nice bonus options. If you spend a lot of time in the sun several shirts like this are important to own.

April 16, 2021

Tropic Sun hoodie

If your thinking about this and umming and arrring, stop and get it. I was debating this for a whole year... thinking about the higher price and whether it was worth it compared to Amazon's £20 version. I'm glad I did go with the premium Patagonia. The softness of this is unreal. Wore it for a whole week and didn't smell at all! Love... Read More the button feature to hide more sun to protect your collar. It will last years to come and looks absolutely stunning. Great purchase.

April 15, 2021

Great shirt

I think all fishermen should have this shirt in their closet, just a great all around shirt for any weather condition.

April 14, 2021

Runs a little large.

Wonderful quality as expected by Patagonia. Soft and breathable. My only issue is that it runs a bit large. Im 5 11 225 ordered a LX, as I do with all my shirts from Patagonia. But this one fit a bit different.

April 14, 2021

The color fades in the sun

I'm a long-time Patagonia customer. I buy these products for the quality. Lately I am seeing that colors of some products are fading in the sun. This hoody is the second of this color, third overall, that I have purchased. When I placed the new one next to the old one I noticed the old one has faded quite a bit.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2021

Hi Gordon, thank you for reaching out and we are sorry to hear that the color faded in the sun. We understand that can be a bummer, especially when you're loving the vibrancy of a color. If you decide you'd like to send any of those items back under our [warranty](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), we welcome you to do so.

April 13, 2021

Fit as expected

6'2" 165 lbs. broad chested. Fits as expected. Slightly loose for comfort. I wear the same size in the Tee shirt version. And I like the color and how airy it feels.

April 13, 2021

Great and comfortable hoodie for everyday usage!

This hoodie works as it is or under other layers as extra insulation. Really comfortable and unnoticeable hoodie for everyday usage.

April 13, 2021

Great For Days In The Sun

Super soft and comfortable hoodie. I use it while fishing to minimize sun exposure. I went a size up in the event I wanted to layer it over a tshirt. Im 511 and 200lbs. The large for ok in the body, but was right in the arms so I exchanged it for a XL. Unless you like skinny jeans I suggest going a size up. Love it, and will be adding more to my wa... Read Morerdrobe for future fishing and beach ventures.

April 13, 2021

Works for a land surveyor

Works. Keeps my ears out of the sun. Lining around the thumb holes is less durable than my ideal but its working

April 13, 2021

Great down in Xcalax, Mexico

Awesome product I used while down in Mexico on a fly fishing trip. It was exactly what I was looking for in terms of providing protection from the sun and staying breathable in a tropical climate.

April 12, 2021

this shirt is ill

i picked up this shirt because i was needing something with long sleeves and some uv protection while i fly fish. even the hood is a nice touch. put over my trucker hat so my bald head doesn't get burned as well. i had no clue i was going to fall in love this shirt. i know own 4. they are amazing. i live in mine. they are soft and light. even ... Read Moreon hot days you really can't tell its a long sleeve. seriously every one should own a shirt like this.

April 12, 2021

Super comfy sun protection

The sun hoodies are great for protection from UV but also make a great super light base layer. Im pretty particular about the texture of fabric against my skin and I am very happy w the feel of these.

April 10, 2021

Perfect for the Sun!!

I am snowboard instructor and on these warm Spring days there is nothing better to work in. I can wear the shirt down to mid 20s and feel still comfortable when Im 70s in sun. I cant wait to flyfish this summer wearing this layer!

April 9, 2021

Best shirt I have ever worn

This is hands down the most comfortable shirt I have ever owned. I own 4 of them in various colors. Super soft and cooling on the skin. The thumbholes are perfect. The hood fits great. I wear this running, hiking, around town, mountain biking, everything. Please Patagonia Fam, please make a short sleeve version of this with this same exact fabric. ... Read MoreI would buy a ton of them! <3

April 9, 2021

New Material is Great

I bought this to replace an old Tropic Comfort Hoody thats ragged and stained. The new material is much thinner with a better skin feel. The fit is slimmer than my old one too... maybe could have gone with a large. 4 stars because the sleeves are too short for me to use the thumb loops. 6ft 3inch 170lb

April 8, 2021

Travel Shirt

Runs a tad small but is great. Use it to hike and travel.

April 8, 2021

Perfect sun protection

Incredibly lightweight, fast drying, super comfortable.

April 8, 2021

Ideal!

I had this last summer and wore it almost all the time that is until I left it at a hostile. I use it and now the Sunshade Technical Hoody near daily, alternating the two for walks, jogs and the occasional yoga session. The last one I had was just about my favorite item to grab daily and new I had to replace it when I screwed up and misplaced it ... Read Morewhile away.

April 7, 2021

Perfect for the beach

Great for keeping the sun off at the beach. Im tall and thin and the M is perfect - sleeves are long enough and the fit is relaxed.

April 7, 2021

Best sun shirt out there!

I have 4 of these now in various colors. After getting yelled at by my dermatologist, I live in these in the summer time. I usually get them in men&#x27;s because I am broader in the shoulders then most women. I wear them everywhere, kayaking, hiking, just in general. They are the lightest weight sun shirt I&#x27;ve found so far. They feel like you... Read Morer wearing water.

April 3, 2021

Great Outdoor Shirt

I did not try this shirt on prior to purchasing this shirt online. When it arrived I was extremely pleased with the quality, feel and look. This is an amazing shirt for summer fly fishing, hiking and for simple casual wear. I highly recommend this shirt for outdoor wear.

April 2, 2021

Light, comfortable and skin-friendly.

It's a very comfortable hoodie. It costs $10 less than the other one. The main difference is that it has a button to keep the hat from blowing off in windy weather! This dress is light, comfortable and great!

April 2, 2021

Perfect for outdoor UV protection

Light weight, protects neck, ears, & arms from sunburn. Performs great in summer heat

April 1, 2021

Lovely fabric, great next to

Lovely fabric, great next to skin feel. Like the overall styling would prefer a slight more athletic fit.

March 31, 2021

Super Comfortable

I have worn this for about fifty miles of hiking and trail running and it always keeps me nice and cool. The relaxed fit makes it feel very comfortable, even when there is a heavy pack on your shoulders. Highly recommend for anyone who is backpacking in a hot or sunny climate; the relaxed fit combined with the sun protection of the button up hood a... Read Morend hand coverage make for an ultra-comfortable and dependable layer to keep the sun at bay.

March 30, 2021

Little snug

Great fishing shirt- runs a touch on smaller size

March 29, 2021

Nice and light

Very light and cool. I cant wait to get this this out in a the sun on a wall.

March 28, 2021

A Do-All Favorite

I have four Tropic Comfort hoodies which I wear for everyday casual, hiking, backpacking, dirtbagging, etc. Thus far they have been very durable, they are cool in the heat (SPF), breathe very well even in the Arizona sun, dry quickly, and dont stink with repeated use. I use the thumb holes quite often and the hood is generous enough to wear over a ... Read Moreball cap or under a large brimmed sun hat. Very comfortable to wear. Love these shirts.

March 28, 2021

An updated review!

My initial review indicated that the hoodie didn't really work for me - however having lived with it a while and worn the top - I love it. It works really well as a base layer under a Better Sweater. Is super comfortable, warm and easy to wear & works perfectly for me. You can safely ignore my earlier review:)

March 27, 2021

Bigger than expected

6'0" 188lbs guy. medium still a bit large even with hiking gear on. color is lighter than picture shows.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Hey Andrew! So sorry the color wasn't what you expected and it was to big for you. We're more than happy to help you with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We're also always happy to offer garment measurements before you purchase, just give us a call at 800-638-6464 or chat in so we can offer you more assistance.

March 26, 2021

Love

So comfortable. I look forward to getting to wear it! I need another one!

March 25, 2021

Lightweight

Fits great. Lightweight, breathable. Perfect for fishing or sitting on the beach. Love it!

March 24, 2021

Brilliant fabric

Great hot weather trail running protection and great fit

March 23, 2021

Comfort Hoodie

This is a fantastic piece to add to an outdoor wardrobe. Great for on the river fly fishing or just lounging at the beach. Super comfortable and actually feels like a second skin. Highly recommend.

March 21, 2021

Incredible multifunctional piece

I specifically bought this piece as a base layer for downhill skiing this spring. Incredible piece. Crazy Comfortable. Moisture wicking. Perfect base layer and will be incredible on the river this summer.

March 4, 2021

A literal lifesaver

Surgery removed my melanoma, but not my love of the outdoors, and this shirt has allowed me to live the life I want while taking prudent precautions to avoid too much UV exposure. Looks great with a good cut, smooth and airy fabric. I&#x27;ve worn it running a marathon in the summer, hiking, climbing, as a baselayer in the winter, and in causal and... Read More professional settings. Durability is surprisingly good for the thinness of the material. Wish it came in more color options (without fish decals). Highly recommend to anyone.

February 27, 2021

Relaxed in sun

Very relaxed and comfortable fit. Perfect for that sun all day wuth high heat.

December 14, 2020

A great layer -- I just bought a second color

We moved from the desert of Arizona up into its high desert and cooler temps. This is a perfect layer, over a T-shirt and under a vest or jacket, as it can be downright cold (for this desert rat) in the mornings and T-shirt weather by 2p. It is simple and quick to pull on and off, and on again, and coming indoors from the chill it hasn&#x27;t felt ... Read Moreso warm I want to take it off. Ball it up, no wrinkles. Doesn't shrink. It lives up to what we have come to expect from Patagonia -- a superior piece of gear in every way. It's become one of my favorite shirts, and I'm giving myself a second for Christmas, a different color, as my buddies remind me this one looks pink (I prefer Man-fuchsia or salmon).

December 7, 2020

Quick drying!

I saw a couple of people on the Colorado Trail wearing these so I decided to see if they&#x27;re worth it. Here are a couple of reasons why I love it so much! First, the material used is I believe the same as the Capilene daily shirts so it&#x27;s light and quick drying while still having UV protection. Second, the hood does a great job of staying ... Read Moreon my head and there's a toggle on the bottom of the hood to provide even more sun protection on your neck. Finally, the thumb loops are a game changer because the cuff of the sleeve comes to my knuckles which means I don't have to put on sunscreen throughout the day. Overall, another fantastic product from Patagonia and it is now my go to hiking shirt.

November 7, 2020

Perfect hoody for running or relaxing

Super comfortable. Maybe a little long but definitely something Im using a lot.

November 7, 2020

Love it

Bought this for winter southern Utah hiking and fishing. It works great for both. Material is very wicking and as far as I can tell is about the same material as used in the capilene daily. Not going to keep you warm in cold temps but not going to burn you up in temps above 70. It basically is a capilene hoody but with thumb holes and a hood that o... Read Moreffers a bit more coverage.

November 1, 2020

Tropical Hoodie

I first saw the tropical hoody being used by the guides on Rainier Mountain during a Denali prep course. Shortly afterwards I purchased two. I loved them so much that I have purchased a total of eight, not including ones that I have purchased for family members. The hoodies are great for hikes and warm to hot weathers. I really like the variety o... Read Moref blue hoodies that have come out. Excellent product and I highly recommend buying at least one and see if you like it. I can assure you that you will buy more. Good luck and I hope you enjoy the tropical hoodie as much as I do.

October 28, 2020

Excellent hoody but want pockets!

Love this garment for its lightweight and sun protection. Every time I where it though, I wish I had some hand pockets!

October 21, 2020

Favorite Patagonia Product

If I had to pick only one thing from Patagonias product line, there would be no hesitation. I use these hoodies for everything. Worn alone in summer, layered over in winter. Worn inside for soft loungewear, worn outside as activewear. This is hands down the most versatile piece of clothing I own, and I hope they never go away. I am already a bit no... Read Morestalgic, because these have recently been redesigned, and I miss the old ones a bit. They were thicker and more luxurious, though I understand that isnt the point of their design; for the function of ultra thin sun protection, the new design is an improvement. Still, Im sad the old solid silver-colored ones can no longer be purchased, and when mine dies, it will be a very sad day. So aside from resurrecting the dead, the one thing I would improve is more (non-graphic) color options. Bring the silver color back! Anyways, I cannot recommend this hoodie enough. You will fall in love with it.

September 15, 2020

Excellent sun protection even in the heat.

I burn easily, and sunscreen alone doesnt always help. This helps me double up on sun protection without overheating.

September 9, 2020

Good

I use this for fishing.

September 9, 2020

I have lived in this all summer

With COVID I been wearing this whenever I go outside. Cool and excellent sun protection. The hood is comfortable and provides excellent sun protection when worn with a cap. I now have two as does my wife.

September 7, 2020

What Sun?

I love this shirt. I always wear it while kayaking in the Summer heat. I have been on the open water, 90-95*, and have remained well protected from the light and heat. It breathes well with an airy, loose fit. The hood is perfect over a hat, and has kept the mosquitoes and mayflies from getting to me. The UPF is effective, and even when remaining i... Read Moren the direct sunlight, the fabric doesn't hold the heat. The humidity of Summer in NC is what I take on with this hoody.

September 4, 2020

Light and Flowy

This is a nice piece I picked up because I don&#x27;t like putting loads of sun screen on my bod every 3 hrs. I especially don&#x27;t like it when I&#x27;m climbing a big route and I have to stop to apply and get my hands all greasy. I&#x27;m 6&#x27;6&quot; and 215 lbs (climber bod), bought the XL and it&#x27;s very comfortable (loose) and flowy wi... Read Morethout being baggy and it also feels reasonably durable. Stays decent smelling for about 3 days, and the red color is really quite pink, not quite as salmon as I was hoping - I would suggest more muted, desaturated colors. Would buy again.

September 3, 2020

Perfect long sleeves for summer

I loved this as I can avoid sun exposure in the summer without overheating. I bought the men's because of the button at the neck and the looser fit. I normally wear a women's small, sometimes medium. Mens XS was perfect.

September 2, 2020

Jack of all trades

These sunshirts are my go to for essentially any outdoor activity. The combination of extremely lightweight soft fabric along with the large hood and excellent sun protection is incredible. The large hood fits loosely yet when paired with a helmet or hat stays on when using the button even in 40 mph headwinds on a bike. It is extremely comfortable ... Read Moreand lightweight, I actually prefer to wear this on a scorching day instead of a t-shirt. I also use it for work as forest surveyor in the PNW where Im constantly thrashing through thickets of salmon berry and deep brush. After a few months of abuse it has come through with only a few minor cuts and wear around the cuffs. The hood is also excellent at keeping hemlock needles and other forest debris from getting down my shirt. Plus the billowy shirt and big hood makes you look and feel like a jedi which can be a nice confidence boost while climbing.

September 2, 2020

Perfect!!!

Absolutely perfect fit, great weight, keeps you cool in the sun and warm if its a little Windy. Purchasing other colors because its a perfect piece of clothing.

September 2, 2020

Awesome

Really soft comfortable

September 1, 2020

Great, super comfortable!

I wear these shirts while fishing in the mountains of North Carolina. Very comfortable, great sun protection. Even on the warmest, most humid days I stay cool and sweat free. The blue Camo looks great with my navy Patagonia baggies. Solid product.

September 1, 2020

Super lightweight summertime shirt.

I originally bought this shirt so I wouldn't fry while kayaking. I bought a men's because I have pretty broad shoulders. I fell in love with it so much that I bought another one. These are fantastic summertime shirts, they are super light and they fell like you're wearing water.

September 1, 2020

Sunny weather necessity

I really cannot go anywhere without this sun shirt weather its fishing, hiking, or day at the lake, this shirt is the perfect lightweight sun protection. I love the new blue camo style too!

August 24, 2020

Perfect for fishing in the sun.

Very light weight material but built with quality. Highly recommend.

August 20, 2020

River Trip

I just spent 4 days on a River Trip in Utah. Relentless sun and 100+ degree temps. This shirt kept me cool (I swam in it as well) and protected from the sun! I would 1000% recommend to friends and family!

August 19, 2020

Perfect weight

I love this hoody. It is perfect for a days fishing/rafting on the Colorado, and laying around after a day at the lake. I love the thumb holes and button on the neck that gives that extra protection or secures it on a windy afternoon pushing downstream. Surprisingly warm when it needs to be but cool enough to wear over a t-shirt as sun protection.

August 11, 2020

Super-Dope!

I&#x27;m an avid outdoorsman with a rabid hatred for sunscreen. But, I understand the importance of blocking the sun. This shirt is remarkably lightweight, breathable and comfortable. The hood and thumb holes are well designed and absolutely functional! I have dozens of sun shirts, but this one beats them all in comfort and functionality. PLEASE M... Read MoreAKE SOME MUTED EARTH TONES! Dope shirt, Patagonia.

August 2, 2020

Well worth it!

These are worth every penny! Incredibly comfortable and perfect for being on the water. The neck button and thumb slits are ideal for keeping your skin protected from the sun in high winds, whether it be on a boat, kayak, beach, or kiteboarding. Make more colors!!!

July 28, 2020

Perfect sun protection

Although I&#x27;m avid sunscreen user, camping in the high Sierra&#x27;s this summer stressed the importance of a physical sun block. This hoody is light, flexible and minimal, just what you want went scrambling up a mountain or trail. I&#x27;ve always struggle with finding the right size with Patagonia clothing and often can&#x27;t: I&#x27;m 5&#... Read Morex27;9", 165 pounds, fit, with a broad athletic chest: 40". Despite others' reviews I decided to take a gamble and go with the small and glad I did. The only place I could use a tiny bit more room is in the back of the armpit area while raising my arms however the fabric generously stretches when needed. Looking forward to the fabric prints that they come out with next.

July 24, 2020

Great shirt

Ive worn mine 3-4 times now and am very happy with it. Its nice on hot sunny days as well and days on the cooler side. Fits nice and the stretchy fabric is great when youre active in the shirt. Want to get more but wish they had some more colors like yellow.

July 21, 2020

Most versatile and comfortable hiking top ever!

I have used this shirt to hike 1400+ miles on the Pacific Crest Trail, wearing it every single day - it is awesome - it has kept me warm in the snow, cool in the heat, kept the bugs off me and kept odours to a minimum. The hood is amazing for sun shade, warmth adder and again for keeping bugs off. The shirt is still absolutely functional after 1400... Read More miles and could no doubt finish the entire trail of 2650 miles - I am however planning to get a new one just so its a bit sharper. If Im doubt - buy it - Trail Name 007 from the PCT .

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches