Back to Product

Ms R1® Air Crew

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 85 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Air Crew

4.8/5
Kinda Large
January 24, 2022

Game changer pants

This is my first pair of puffy pants and they're amazing. I've only had them for a few weeks but I've already worn them lounging at home, sitting around a winter campfire, under my drysuit paddling a frigid river, as an extra layer in my sleeping bag on a winter camping trip, and on a 2-hour gravel bike ride. The only thing they&#x27... Read More;re not great for is work pants because they're not very fitted or professional looking.

January 14, 2022

Great balance of function and style

What a cool and good looking fleece. Works as a nice casual sweater-esque top Then throw it back on for a warm / highly breathable technical piece.

January 9, 2022

Unreal!

Most comfortable Patagonia Ive had! Warm and ideal for under layer or outer layer!

January 7, 2022

Light and warm

Perfect fit, super light, warm and looks great, either climbing or in the city.

January 6, 2022

comfort

fits well, comfortable, allows easy movements!

January 6, 2022

Lightweight warmth

I use this primary for walking and hiking. It is lightweight and warm which is exactly what I was looking for. Very comfortable and makes a great liner if you need an outer shell for wind/rain. I love it so much I bought one for my son.

January 5, 2022

Comfortable fabric

My son opened this, put it on and never took it off. He loves the color and style. The fit was perfect. Looks great on him.

January 4, 2022

Warm and light. Good product.

Warm and light. Good product. Expensive.

December 30, 2021

Gorgeous colour

Gorgeous colour and great quality.

December 29, 2021

R1 air crew

Very warm sweater for a light weight garment. Would be cool if the crew shirt came with hand pockets ( chest pocket is fine)

December 29, 2021

Perfect winter staple

Love the fit and style of this shirt! Perfect for, warm and makes my pecs pop!

December 27, 2021

Very good quality and overall

Very good quality and overall nice product

December 20, 2021

Great Utility Piece

Super practical garment. Holds warmth really well while also maintaining breathability. Bonus points for not looking overly sporty/outdoorsy.

December 18, 2021

Ugly patch

I'd love to get this, but that black patch is downright ugly. I hope you create a version without it. I bet 99% of users have never used the pocket.

December 16, 2021

Warm Base Layer

Been running this as a base layer during early season skiing here in Mammoth. Super warm, comfortable, and pretty much all I need under a shell down to 30°. The chest pocket is good for small items like keys or lip balm, but too small for a phone. I run hot but never sweat this piece out, not sure what kind of voodoo magic Patagonia has conjured up... Read More here, but I like it.

December 13, 2021

Great

Great fit.

December 6, 2021

Comfy & Neat

Runs a bit small for me, 6'2" 220, ordered a large - but this thing is mega comfy, and exceptionally warm. Looks really good off the water too.

December 5, 2021

Best air piece yet

58 141. Small in all Patagonia items. The R1air is heavier and warmer than the wool/capilene regular air. It breaths well for its weight but its not as breathable as the regular air. It does block more wind than the regular air. It is looser and has more of a sweater fit than baselayer fit, I prefer the looser fit as it does not ride up on you, It ... Read Moreis not so loose that it bunches up under my pack straps.I can tuck it in or leave it untucked. Its very comfortable next to skin. I dont feel any seams or extra material. I have not worn it 5 days in a row, so the stink factor has yet to be tested, The regular air can go weeks without smelling, My only concern is that it does not stretch a ton and this might be a long term issue with durability at the seams. But it's a Patagonia and Its IRON CLAD.

December 4, 2021

Nice but pocket too small

Pocket not big enough to fit the smaller iPhone 13.

December 3, 2021

Tight Armpits, had to size up

5 ft 10, 175 lbs. Originally bought a size medium (I have an older r1 pullover in medium and it fits fine) and found it fit pretty well everywhere except it was tight in the armpits. Like "I can't wait to take this off" tight. I exchanged it for a Large and it fits much better. It's a little long in the arms and waist, but it&#... Read Morex27;s not too bad. A little surprising as this is one of the few articles of clothing I own in a Large now. I really like the R1 air fabric. Really cozy and warm - a lot warmer than I expected based on the weight and noticeably warmer than my regular R1 fleece with the grid pattern. I'll probably buy a zip neck or hoody in the near future.

December 3, 2021

The perfect base layer

I wear this as a base layer or just as a casual sweater with jeans all the time. Has just the right insulation, warm and cosy without being too warm. Also great for running. Keeps well, have washed it many times. I am sometime between sizes S & M. Got this in medium and its a very good fit.

December 1, 2021

by the gods!

Someone must have lost their liver to eagles to bring this to us. It's almost got an electric heat to it yet is super breathable. Paired with a moisture-wicking layer underneath I'm thinking you could feasibly survive up to -210ºF. Long story short, it's exactly what you'd hope a warm active fleece would be. It fits like a base ... Read Morelayer though so size up.

November 26, 2021

Breathable warmth

One of my favorite fleeces. I run pretty hot so this breathable fabric is perfect for me. Fits true to size.

November 17, 2021

Medium is a good fit for 5'10" / 180 lb

Bodies come in all shapes and sizes, but this is pretty close to perfect for me. I'm 5'10" and 180 lbs. The Better Sweaters were always a bit baggy on me. So far, the R1 Air feels great and is perfect for getting around in 50 to 60 F weather. We'll see how long it takes for the cuff to become stretched out. My one complaint is t... Read Morehat the hem tends to ride up with normal activity, so I'm tugging at it throughout the day. It'd be nice if it didn't do this, or if the garment was a touch longer.

November 11, 2021

Pretty much perfect

Great fit and a really functional layer. Does a good job of wicking away moisture during high exertion. This is my favorite layer for all forms of skiing. Layers well and does its job.

November 8, 2021

Warm, but lightweight

The shirt is lightweight, yet warm and comfy. Great for the top layer while at work at the ski area and is even nice while kicking around the house

November 8, 2021

Like a sweater but better

I bought this knowing medium would be a bit snug for my 511, 160lbs body, and it fits like I wanted it to. Much less tight than capilene thermal hoodie, but still form fitting. I wear it on its own (over a t shirt), or I can put a loose fitting flannel shirt over it. Its good as an athletic layer as well as a casual top, and I love this versatility... Read More.

November 8, 2021

Warm and soft!

Im an athletic lady; tall and wider shoulders. Patagonia womens XL doesnt fit comfortably and definitely wouldnt in a Slim Fit item. This fits me comfortably and gives me room to move. I have found it to be warm, soft and unfortunately a bit of a pet hair magnet, haha. Definitely recommend and, for me, it seems better than previous iterations of th... Read Moree R1.

November 4, 2021

Warm, runs really tight and a little short

I got an R1 a bit ago and went with a large and it's great when climbing as it's long enough to comfortably be under the harness but otherwise feels like a dress. I went with a medium for this one and it's significantly shorter than I expected and I can't fit any layers under it comfortably. It's also incredibly tight in my... Read More armpits. I was disappointed by how excited I was to take it off when the day warmed up. I think I would like it more if it was larger, but I am perpetually confused by patagonia's inconsistent sizing.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2021

Hi Alex, please feel free to begin a return or exchange for the size up in your R1® Air Fleece Crew. We want you to be comfortable in your gear and able to move with ease. You can start your return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

October 3, 2021

Layer it or apre in it!

I bought this to wear as a comfortable warm casual long sleeve but can also use in lift days in the hill under a vest.

September 29, 2021

Perfect fit and holds warm on chilly Bikepacking sessions

The fit is is perfect for me with 183cm height and 69kg. I originally bought it to wear it in the evenings in the shoulder seasons when bikepacking. It works really great for this purpose, but if it gets below around 10°C I additionally wear my Nanopuff. As it also looks really great, I wear it casually to the office every now and then.

September 28, 2021

Another good patagonia product

Another good patagonia product

September 17, 2021

Extra warm

Next level warmth to weight ratio. Great product. The green was lighter than anticipated.

August 15, 2021

Stylish and comfy

One of my favorite casual garments.

August 13, 2021

A perfect fit, perfect look, and perfect temp regulation.

I feel like I'm kinda in-between sizes with most Patagonia tops so I size up to a medium. While not a form fitting top it is indeed a slim fit which looks perfect on me. I got it in brown. The comfort and mobility are excellent as well. I find it breaths exceptionally well and is suitable for a wide range of temps. On a recent camping trip I b... Read Moreasically wore it for three days straight. The crew cut makes for the most stylish fleece I've ever had. It's probably the nicest top I own and I can't wait to wear it to work in the fall. I like it so much I might pick up the green color as well.

August 11, 2021

SLIM FITTING AMAZING SWEATER

I love R1 Air Fleece Fabric. But I also love my sweatshirts to be baggier, slouchy, and relaxed. I am 5'10" 165lbs and have a 39in chest. So, I fit in a medium, but I wish I had sized up for a baggier fit. The medium size will work wear as a midlayer under a shell though, but if I want to wear this as a casual outer layer, I am gonna need... Read More to size up. I will probably be buying another, despite already having a hoody and the crew! Thanks Pat.

August 5, 2021

Good technical piece

This is a great piece of gear that I am looking forward to wearing in cold weather for a JMT thru hike. Clearly warm and breathable at the same time. My complaint is the lack of a tall size offering. I had to order an XL to get sleeves that are anywhere nearing enough, but the fit is a little baggy. Im a sleeve 36/37, and the XL is 2 inches too sho... Read Morert in the sleeve but too wide in the chest (Im a 44 chest). Would be happier if Patagonia offered a tall option for their clothes.

June 12, 2021

love it

A great purchase, love it, a little on the small side size wise

May 17, 2021

cozy, heavy mid-layer

Great looking retro-style and quite warm. Only complaint is that it lacks enough stretch for a layering piece.

May 16, 2021

R1 Crew

Super great. fit's great. perfect weight

May 7, 2021

Nice Color - Nice Material

Nice material. Purchased this to see if it could act as a layer between the merino air and melly. It runs a bit warmer than a melly.

April 30, 2021

Super Comfy!!

I appreciate the quality of Patagonia products, but I dont consider myself a homer and I am not afraid to call them out if needed. For instance, their on-line shopping experience/website is horrible. I also dont think they have good options for mens hiking pants. They simply arent comfortable. However, I LOVE their R1 products and the R1 Air Crew i... Read Mores no exception. It is soft, comfy, fits well and looks good. It also breathes well. Despite what I was told the R1 Air is NOT as warm as the straight R1 versions, but it breathes better. I suspect it could be susceptible to snagging so you will have to be careful. Thats the price you pay for having a softer feel than a Tech Face finish. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a comfy medium weight top.

April 22, 2021

Nothing better

Got the fleece this winter and use it for ski tour and free-ride. Couple with the cap. heavy weight or air base layer & a good shell and you will never be too hot or cold but always just right. Truly amazing. It’s very breezy to wear without a wind stopper but once you have a breathable shell over it the fleece comes into its own. A good insula... Read Moretor for transitions and those are the only four items of clothing you will ever need for any mission and a long long time.

April 19, 2021

Feels great

Im on the border between L and XL and sizing up is appropriate for this one. Feels great on. Its worth noting it has a pretty wide collar. The sleeves have a nice taper that I wish was used on other shirts.

March 28, 2021

Great fabric, but did not like the collar.

I have been wearing R1 and R2 products for years. This was the first time I tried a crew collar design. I didn't like the fit, feel or appearance and retuned it and ordered the 3/4 zip R1 version with a tall collar and really like it. Very comfortable and easy on/off.

March 27, 2021

Warn and comfortable

This is the most comfortable R1 every. Would like a thicker R2 like this as well. How about a full zip jacket version with pockets.

March 23, 2021

Good product

Good product

March 23, 2021

Solid sweater that is both warm but stylish

Lovely feel to this top with good quality material.

March 20, 2021

My New Fav

The R1 crew is very comfortable. I find myself wearing it all the time inside and outside. For the fabric weight, it does a better job of keeping me warm compared to other similar weighted Polartec products so you stay warmer with less bulk. The sizing guide stated that this crew was slim fit and it was true to size. I wanted a little looser fit so... Read More I ordered the next size up and it fits great. I liked it so well I also bought the Patagonia R1 full-zip hoody.

March 18, 2021

Super Warm and Versatile Layer

To be frank, good base layers aren't that hard to find--Patagonia, obviously, makes great baselayers, but so do REI, SmartWool, etc. What sets this apart is its versatility. Yes, it's a great base layer out in the field--it keeps me super warm in camp, dries quickly, does a great job suppressing human funk, and is super packable/light wei... Read Moreght, but it's also a piece that I wear around the house or out on the town. I've only owned this crew for a month so this isn't a long term review--but I'm loving it so far.

March 12, 2021

Super warm and comfy!

One of my favorite things about this crewneck is how quickly it drys. I typically run with a tshirt under my r1s, but with this Id rather just wear without another shirt because of how warm and quickly it drys. Super impressed with this product, and would definitely recommend!

March 12, 2021

So glad I got it

The reviews on the R1 air crew peaked my interested so I ordered the Mulch Brown colorway. The color was exactly what I expected in person so that was nice. The size is true to size, I was worried it was going to be too short in the body but it hits at a good length. I wasn't sure if I would keep it at first but after trying it on and wearing ... Read Moreit around the house I ended up loving it. It's great with pet hair and holds up to clawing and scratching from our two cats. The sleeves could use a resigned cuff that would stay up better when you have to roll up you sleeves. Overall I'm happy I got it and can't wait for more colorways to come out.

March 8, 2021

fits well

i like the slim fit of this. its more like a heavier long sleeve shirt than sweatshirt, but warm and functional.

March 8, 2021

Gift for Son-in-law

Loved mine so much, decided to share the and get one for my son-in-laws birthday. Will see if he like his as much as I do.

March 8, 2021

Super Comfortable. Not too hot or cold

I loved it so much I bought another color and the sweatshirt!!

March 5, 2021

Great, as always

Super warm, light and comfortable. I like that it responsibly made.

March 4, 2021

Nice piece!

Really pleased with this piece and happy I pulled the trigger. I sized up based on some of the reviews and am glad I did. Typically a Patagonia L, but there's a little more room with the XL and I can comfortably wear with a long sleeve base. Super comfy around the house and will be a nice layer outside when needed. Material is soft, warm and b... Read Morereathable.

March 4, 2021

Awesome Fleece

Buttery soft, warm and comfortable. I wear it in a variety of settings; from around the house as a cozy sweater to a midlayer during cold winter activities. You won't want to take it off. I am 5 11", 185 lbs and have a muscular athletic build and like things on the form fitting side so I found the large too boxy around the middle and went... Read More with the medium. Wonderful fleece, highly recommended.

March 4, 2021

Amazing new R1

R1s I have always found to fight small than all other Patagonia clothes. Went up to a large and was happy. But, I wear a medium in everything else Patagonia

March 3, 2021

Lightweight, Soft, Warm (as advertised)

Fits perfect unless you like things on the more loose and relaxed side of things. I am 6'0" and 190 lbs, with an athletic build and longer than average arms. This fits pretty much perfectly on me. Could use another inch on the sleeves, but my arms are long. I may have to get another one because I always wear it as soon as it comes out of ... Read Morethe laundry. I go running in the am when it's 30 degrees out wearing only an air knit capilene base layer and this R1, and I am warm but able to vent thoroughly the whole time.

March 3, 2021

Excellent product

It fits great and is very warm while still being very breathable. It's lightweight as well. Loving it so far.

March 3, 2021

Very warm, great fit!

I have used the R1 air fleece crew as a base layer and as a stand alone layer depending on outside temperature. Very warm and comfortable. Stylish enough to where out casually. Great product.

March 2, 2021

R1 Air Fleece Crew

Great garment, I have the R2 zip up jackets in multiple colors. I love everything about the R1 Air Fleece Crew, but it's a bit short (overall length) in comparison to the Patagonia "slim fit" fit. The neck diameter could 1/8 to 1/4 smaller. We need more color ways, overall AWESOME job ! Thank you, Teva.

March 2, 2021

Favorite mid-layer

Im not sure how they did it but this R1 is so light, so warm, and has a cool casual look. I wear it for snowboarding either as a mid layer or even just a base. It breathes so well. Ive never felt too hot. Definitely found a new favorite piece.

February 27, 2021

Cozy & lightweight

Favorite fleece to date. Works for a wide range of temperatures thanks to its insane breathability. Works on its own for active use and is a great midlayer in colder conditions

February 26, 2021

Super light

Best mid layer!

February 22, 2021

Quick delivery and Nice product

Quick delivery and Nice product

February 20, 2021

Best Shirt Ever!

100% best shirt I have ever owned. Material is supper soft and very comfortable on the skin. The fit is perfect, I typically wear a large but bought an xl based on size chart and that I have a heavy weight capilene that also an XL. The fit of this R1 Air is just right. Not loose and not too tight. I handles movement well, doesnt pull. Again it is t... Read Morehe most comfortable shirt I have ever worn.

February 19, 2021

Versatile and warm

6-0, 215 - usually like XL in anything "slim fit" and L generally works in "regular fit" patagonia apparel. The XL is slightly baggy and works perfect as an around the house/stay warm layer. When outside and still, it has the warmth of an R1, but when moving, air flow is great and regulates heat well. I'm totally sold on... Read More the "air" products for any type of aerobic/high exertion - they do better than any other product at providing warmth and dealing with any sweat. Nano-air hoody, thermal airshed, pro pullover all great and have a better fabric for cutting the wind; this provides slightly more warmth but you feel the breeze (burrrr when hiking up a mountain at 20 degrees). Wore it while WFH for about a week straight after its arrival.

February 18, 2021

Cozy and soft

I know this is a technical piece but it is so warm, cozy, and soft that I've ended up wearing it at home almost every day since I got it. Significantly warmer than the regular R1 (I have a pullover R1), but I find it just as breathable, if not more so as well as I found out when I was out shoveling snow in just the R1 Air...venting was excelle... Read Morent but kept me warm when I stopped shoveling. Liked it so much I'm trying to buy another Crew but it's sold out, so I got a 1/2 zip instead.

February 17, 2021

Like a Cozy R1

Really happy with this R1 Air. Feels a bit warmer than the regular R1 and in my opinion looks less technical / more casual than the regular R1 making it great for trail to town activities. Also lets be honest, were all spending a lot of time at home these days and this is a perfect work from home sweater.

February 17, 2021

Stylish mid-layer

This is as warm as a sweater, but with breathability and good looks. Perfect for early part of a hike. Love it.

February 15, 2021

Super Soft and yet technical.

Purchased a L (6ft, 165lbs, 32in waist) fits perfect on me. A medium would of been pretty tight and restrictive I feel. In comparison to the original R1 style it feels bagger and more airy. Has a more softer feel on the inside and outside. My original R1 hoody is going strong and is a staple for outdoor activities, this r1 air feels a little more f... Read Moreragile than the OG but excels more in breath ability. A trade-off I think that many might consider when pushing it towards its limits. But if the original R1 is any indication on how tough the R line is I think the R1 air isn't gonna break without a fight. 10/10 would recommend to all lovers of the R1 original.

February 14, 2021

New Standard

I have R1 and R2 mid layers that have been my go-to favorites for many years, and this fleece truly is much warmer at a lighter weight than the previous grid fleeces.

February 12, 2021

lightweight, fleece sweatshirt

I've been looking for a fleece crewneck for a while and was excited to try out the new R1 air fabric. Fits great over a t-shirt and slides on and off easily (not too grabby unlike the regular R1) It is significantly warmer than the R1 fabric, so I'm glad I got the crewneck. I think I'd overheat with the zip neck. I was worried abo... Read Moreut pet hair, but has surprisingly not been much of an issue. My favorite mid layer in a while. It has the warmth of a heavier merino piece, with the lightweight, quick dry times, and structure of a fleece.

February 11, 2021

Really good product

Really good product

February 5, 2021

Design?

Nice design... except for the pocket???

January 31, 2021

Great

Great

January 28, 2021

The best yet

Ive tried every R_____ they make and this one is my favorite. It fits true to size as a base/mid layer not jacket. For me a XL like a glove 6- 240lb. Though Im an avid outdoors men, I not only work construction for a living but have a 35 acre farm too. So I find myself working and tending to animals more then climbing these days but havin this on m... Read Morey back is unbelievable, Im in love and I enjoy the crew neck so much. If your lookin to add another piece to the arsenal pick any R1 air model and if youre new to the game, best way to wet your feet.

January 26, 2021

Exactly the technical fleece I was looking for!

Its lightweight and breathable so is perfect for lots of different activities, but is still good as a warm layer for colder Cornish weather. Nice casual style too, so will be perfect for the pub after.

January 25, 2021

Great addition to R1 line

I have both the R1 pullover and R1 jacket and love them. Ive now had the R1 air crew for two days and love it even more. Fit: has a similar fit to my other R1 pieces, which for me are true to size. Warmth: Im in the Midwest and its currently 20 F. I wore this outside for two hours (no base layer underneath and no jacket over it) and felt pretty go... Read Moreod. Similar in warmth to my R1 jacket which was very surprising considering how thin and light this crew is (Large weighs 9.7 ounces on my scale). Wind goes through it but It did trap my body warmth very well. Comfort: honesty one of the most comfortable Patagonia pieces Ive ever worn. Extras: chest pocket is small (about the size of your palm, so no phone). Will be a welcome part of my hiking and running repertoire and I feel I can wear it out and about as well.

January 24, 2021

Warm, soft and cozy

So far I've worn this hiking and mountain biking. It is very warm breathes very well. Even at idle in colder weather - worn over a merino base layer - it remains cozy. A great all around top! And I love the mustardy color. Not sure I'll use the pocket, but I like the style of it. Harkens back to old photos from Himalayan climbs with sim... Read Moreilar designs. I don't climb alpine like that, but I walk and hike often and this will be my new mid-layer staple.

January 8, 2021

Perfect Piece of Winter Running Kit

I bought this piece from a local UK supplier to wear as a mid-layer for winner running (30-40 degrees F) and it does exactly what it says on the tin - keeps you warm while moving. It's breathable but retains the heat your body generates amazingly well. I don't like the usual running jackets as they aren't breathable enough and a plai... Read Moren old long sleeve top doesn't keep me warm at this temps over a 5 or 10k+ distance. This is a perfect piece for my use case.

January 1, 2021

Just wow...simply blown away, AMAZING!

I am a huge fan of the current R1 and Polartec. I was also very much looking forward to this release and curious about what could possibly improve the current iteration. Well needless to say I am blown away. I got the black and green in quarter zip and a brown in crew. They are sooooo light and sooooo warm. I have been wearing air chaser tee under ... Read Moreand its been in the mid 30's and the combo is so light and warm for hikes and fishing. The mobility is much better than the R1 (not air version). The feel is warming, almost like the fleece itself is warmed, possibly by the heat released by body heat and the air ventilation allowing it to move through the garment. I am a huge fan--this is my new favorite Patagonia item!

October 3, 2020

Light warm magic layer

Beautifully light and form fitting fleece sweatshirt. Not a jet black colour but flattering and best warn with a t-shirt. I’m 6’ 1”, robust at 95kg and with the usually Patagonia long arm length the large it’s the bill. Certainly provides warmth rapidly and might be too warm for rigorous sports. Love it and want another in a different colour. Boom.... Read More

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches