burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Better Sweater™ Fleece Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 896 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Better Sweater™ Jacket

4.5/5
Kinda Large
January 25, 2023

M BETTER SWEATER

My wife bought this sweater for me as a gift and it is absolutely fabulous. Soft and extremely warm but not bulky. Great fit.

January 24, 2023

Husband's new favorite jacket

I gave this jacket to my husband as a Christmas gift and he wears it almost every day. It is cold outside so he's layering it under his new Patagonia Down Sweater (also a Christmas gift he loves and wears constantly). Come spring it will be perfect to wear by itself. Note - we ended up exchanging the large for a medium and it fits perfectly. T... Read Morehis has a great slim fit.

January 20, 2023

Great look

The fit was perfect, the sweater is warm, and it looks great on (as my wife tells me)

January 18, 2023

Comfortable

I bought this for my boyfriend he loves it.

January 18, 2023

Disappointed

This is the first Patagonia item Ive bought and I have to say Im really disappointed with it. I expected it to be of superior quality for the money I paid and it falls real short. The zipper is poor quality and is wavy, not straight. I was hoping for a much nicer jacket.

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you've encountered with this product. Based off of this review, it seems your sweater may be defective as this jacket should not have a wavy zipper. We have gone ahead and sent you an email to help get this resolved for you.

January 17, 2023

He likes it!

I bought this as a gift for my husband. The size seems pretty good but a little more length would be nice. He's around 6'2". Other than that, it's been great :)

January 16, 2023

Loved this!

The ultimate jacket which you must have. Glad that I bought it for my husband. He loved it.

January 15, 2023

Comfortable

Very comfortable and warm. Fits very well and looks great. Highly recommend.

January 14, 2023

Great For Women with XS size with great colors

I am petite and the XS is roomy but not too large. The colors are richer in the Men's sizes.

January 11, 2023

Super warm

Great sweater. I think a large was what I should have ordered. Other that this product is everything I expected. Will be ordering another in large. Keep doing what your doing. A great product.

January 10, 2023

Terrible fit

I never give feedback, but thought I'd let your company know that your designers are terrible. Not everyone who wears a large is 6'5. Sleeves and overall length are wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy too long. Do you understand?

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2023

Thank you for this feedback on the proportions of our larger sizes, Nick. You're correct that as our sizes go up, the sleeves also tend to be longer. We appreciate your input, and we are sharing this with our designers. In the meantime, thank you for returning a jacket that wasn't going to work for you. We'll be happy to help you pick out an alternative, and our Customer Service Team can definitely provide more detailed fit information, including sleeve length, collar rise, sweep, etc.

January 10, 2023

Amazing quality

Amazing quality

January 10, 2023

Makes me teary eyed.

This is one of the best sweaters I have ever owned. And to find out that it was available in my size made me feel so included. I rarely am able to find clothing of this quality in my size and I am so happy I have found a company that does. The sweater itself is super warm and looks amazing on me. Will definitely buy again. Patagonia definitely earn... Read Moreed a loyal customer.

January 9, 2023

The sleeves are actually long enough!

I bought this for my 6 ft 3 in boyfriend whose arms are very long and it fits great

January 9, 2023

Now running too large

I have owned a few of these in different styles and have liked them. However, they are now running much larger than they used too, about an inch and a half longer on the sleeve, longer and fuller in the body. I am 5 foot 10 and have always worn size medium in Patagonia until now. I am a solid medium in literally every other brand. Check the 6 foot ... Read More1 model wearing the better sweater on the Patagonia site, it looks large on him. Really disappointing, ive enjoyed Patagonia for years and now they do not have a size that fits me.

Response from Patagonia
January 26, 2023

Hi Terry! Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We're really sorry to hear that size medium wasn't the right fit for you as it usually is. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 9, 2023

Nice warm jacket but pills too easily

Overall a good everyday jacket. However pilling is a big issue. I have two of these jackets and both have pilling after a few months. Normal machine wash and separated from other garments.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

Hi Fangao, like all fleeces, the Better Sweater has a tendency to pill. Due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded.   To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again.  Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your fleece, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a [warranty returns evaluation](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

January 8, 2023

Classic

Warm and elegant, especially in black.

January 7, 2023

Very warm, very comfortable, great

Very warm, very comfortable, great fit. Definitely a must have.

January 7, 2023

Super warm and comfortable

I love this jacket! It keeps me warm and can match with anything I own.

January 5, 2023

True to seize love it..

True to seize love it..

January 5, 2023

Quality material

This sweater is a solid work or causal piece. It works as a uniform for EMT work and is super warm for not being too heavy. Out of most sweaters I own this one is the thickest and warmest. Great for low output warmth, I dont know if I would recommend for any sort of hiking or running, but when you decided to stop, throw this on and youll be nice an... Read Mored toasty.

January 4, 2023

Perfect gift

Gifted this for my husband for Christmas as he has been wanting a Patagonia jacket since forever. It fits him perfectly and I have a feeling Im going to have tog eat him another one for his birthday since he wont take this one off lol.

January 4, 2023

Bought as a gift for my BIL

My BIL is a Patagonia super fan and he was thrilled to get this jacket for Christmas. After 10 years of hard living, his old one has seen better days. He likes everything about it - the weight, the fit, durability, etc. Excellent product!

January 4, 2023

Sizing is off

I am a tried and true M with Patagonia going on 3 decades. Sleeves on this were extremely long---like 4" too long. Overall length is also several inches too long. Just a bizarre cut. Would exchange it but am overseas and it's just way too inconvenient to do so.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear this did not work out. Please know you are more than welcome to hold onto this product and once you return from overseas, our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1w1ig81*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3MzYyNzQ3NC4zMTguMS4xNjczNjI3NDgxLjAuMC4w) would be more than happy to help with getting you into the correct fitting jacket.

January 3, 2023

Perfect for Work or Errands

Bought this for my husband as a gift. It's great to wear into work on cooler Fall or Spring days and can be worn around the office with a button down when the AC is blasting. Also perfect for running errands and other casual activities.

January 3, 2023

Home Run Gift

I gave this sweater to my son as a Christmas gift, after getting a thumbs from his wife who also gave me his size and the best color. My son is a cardiologist at Johns Hopkins and rides a bike to work. He and his wife also hike. My son immediately put his sweater on after tearing off the wrapping, and wore the rest of the day and home on the plane.... Read More This sweater was a huge home run as a gift! And we all like the Patagonia mission.

January 2, 2023

Pills too easily

This is the second time I've purchased this product. It looks great and fits well, but a serious liability is that within a month or so it starts to pill, eventually making it looking pretty ratty. I otherwise LOVE Patagonia products, but won't be purchasing this again.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2023

Thank you for sharing this review, Richard. We're sorry you've been disappointed about the pilling that has happened with your jackets. While some pilling with this fleece is bound to happen many customers find sweater shavers work well to remove the excess. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

January 1, 2023

Excellent Sweater

And a perfect base layer to my Macro puff in colder climate. Beware on fit. I had to go one size down. I wish there was something between S and M

December 31, 2022

Love it!!!

Very awesome product and a very awesome company.

December 31, 2022

Bought my fleece to replace

Bought my fleece to replace 20 year old Columbia fleece jacket. Good quality compared to other fleece jackets on the market. It has a tappered fit vs Columbia so i had to buy an XL vs. large

December 31, 2022

It is a nice jacket.

It is a nice jacket. Runs on the smaller side. Too short for my (little over) 6ft son. Sent back for XL.

December 28, 2022

nice and comfortable

nice and comfortable

December 28, 2022

Great product

Great product

December 28, 2022

Love these jackets

This is my sons 4th jacket likes this. He uses them all the time.

December 26, 2022

Very comfortable and super warm

My husband love it so much. Its very comfortable and super warm.

December 26, 2022

On Point

Son loves it , was wearing it on Xmas day had to tell him it was ok to take it off since it was 76 degrees

December 26, 2022

Super coat

Fit just right! Would buy again!

December 25, 2022

Super warm

Very comfortable and light to ware

December 25, 2022

No so warm

The sweater/jacket is well made and the fit is excellent. It is warm under stagnate conditions, however if there is the slightest breeze the sweater offers little protection. The winter temperatures my area range 50 to 70. The sweater/jacket looks nice but I am disappointed it does not offer more protection from the cold.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2023

Hey Barry, thanks for the review. We're sorry to hear that it's not working out with the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. This particular fleece is not windproof, but we do have some windproof options if you're interested in alternatives. We recommend checking out the [Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-classic-retro-x-fleece-jacket/23056.html?dwvar_23056_color=NEWA&cgid=mens-fleece).

December 24, 2022

Nice

Very good product!

December 24, 2022

Nice, comfortable sweater.

I really enjoy this sweater. It's comfortable, and casual while looking nice enough to wear to slightly more formal occasions. I weight around 180lbs, so originally I purchased a medium, however it was too long in the arms and baggy on the trunk. I returned it for a small, with a very quick return time by Patagonia. The small certainly looks b... Read Moreetter, it does not leave much room for thicker clothing underneath. Highly recommend though.

December 23, 2022

After I bought the jacket

After I bought the jacket I was thinking maybe It was too long, but now that Im wearing it almost everyday Ive come to realize that being long is not a bad thing it keeps me warm. Many pockets means a lot of storage another plus if you need it and with hiking you will find that there is enough storage space that you wont need a backpack as much as ... Read Morewith out the jacket

December 22, 2022

Warm and Cozy - return if the size is wrong

Truly love the Better Sweater - have to dock 1 star due to inconsistent sizing. The arms were a little large, and the waist was like a huge hoop. I thought the design had changed and was very disappointed. However, I had ordered two sweaters and the other color was the size expected (both were L) I sent back and the replacement was the right s... Read Moreize. At the moment one out of three of my Patagonia orders are sized differently. Its a hassle, if it doesn't fit replace!

Response from Patagonia
January 4, 2023

We're sorry to hear you found inconsistent sizing with the same style and recommend that you reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team, as we'll be happy to help you with a return or exchange or offer any specific measurements or an alternative style you may not have noticed on our site. Thanks for taking a moment to review, Colin!

December 22, 2022

Excellent quality and style

This is my second better sweater from my adult kids! The fit, color, and weave keep me comfortable and looking good as I navigate another Midwest winter.

December 22, 2022

Very comfortable and warm

Very nice color, practical, casual, soft and very warm. Great addition for everyday wear, hiking or work. I love it

December 21, 2022

Great second layer

Great as second layer but as with most of Patagonia clothes you can combine it inifinitely. Fits perfect, material is great and color is intense. Love this one

December 21, 2022

Always as promised

Same great quality and fit as always!

December 20, 2022

Great Quality

Great quality, warm and good fit over other clothes.

December 18, 2022

Like the sweater, warm and

Like the sweater, warm and comfy, but the fit isn’t that good. I tried on L at that was way too tight, so ordered XL. Too wide at the bottom. Has a kind of elastic but isn’t elastic enough so it’s more of a tent and I wear it when I don’t have to leave the house.

December 18, 2022

Its my go to. I

Its my go to. I use it all the time. Fits great.

December 17, 2022

Great quality

Very satisfied with my purchase. It's a bit expensive but you do get what you pay for. It's early days, but I think I'll be enjoying this garment for a long time.

December 16, 2022

longest sleeves ever...

overall this is a great garment. durable, warm fleece layer that stands up to a lot of different uses, but the sizing needs adjustment in my opinion. fit is good. sizing - not as good. sleeves are long for a medium. my opinion is that 6'1" 175 is not medium...

December 16, 2022

Warm, comfortable, great look!

Perfect sweater! Its warm, comfortable, and the fits great. Totally recommended.

December 16, 2022

Excellent Warmth to Weight ratio

The Patagonia Better Sweater provides an incredible warmth to weight ratio meaning it is very light yet super warm. For addition warmth, add a shell over the top of it and you are good to go for additional colder weather. Makes for a great travel piece. Wears like iron. Highly recommended.

December 16, 2022

I like the fit and

I like the fit and appearance of the sweater jacket. I was somewhat uncertain of the burnt orange color, but it looks great. I wear the sweater jacket around the house and outside during the cool winter weather. It really keeps me warm.

December 15, 2022

Nice color, well knit and solid craftsmanship, a daily go-to

Thumbs up everyday. now my 3rd

December 15, 2022

Sleeves too long and cuff does not help

The sleeves are simply too long that forced me to go a size down. Medium would be much more comfortable for me but choosing that means the cuff would end pass the tip of my fingers. The cuff should be redesigned to accommodate people with shorter arms but rounder body. Not recommended for shorter guys with a bit of a round belly.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2022

We're sorry to hear the fit isn't quite right on this one. Our Better Sweater fleece material doesn't have much stretch at all, so we recommend taking a look at one of our other [Men's Fleece Jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece) like our Reclaimed Fleece Jacket, Shearling Jacket, Micro D Jacket, Synchilla Jacket or Synchilla Cardigan. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service or your local store for a return. Thanks for the review!

December 14, 2022

Great Sweater for Tall Person

It's really a great sweater. It looks great and it's got great pockets. The fit is good for me as a tall person, meaning the sleeves are long enough and the torso length aligns slightly below my belt. It's very warm, and yet simultaneously breathable, making it great for cold weather hiking, as it traps just enough heat to stay warm ... Read Morebut not so much I'm roasting after warming up. Maybe one word of warning is that it does shrink after washing, so account for that as you try it on. I felt like before washing the Large was a little big around my chest, but since washing it, it's shrunk slightly to be a very comfortable and nice-looking fit.

December 13, 2022

I now have 2 long

I now have 2 long sleeve better Sweaters and 2 better sweater vests. They are my favorite cold weather pieces. They are very well made, look great and fit well. I retired last summer, I use to wear these pieces to work, now I just wear them a lot.

December 11, 2022

Great Patagonia jacket

What should I said about this product, this is the third time that I bought this type of jacket because of the quality and the comfort

December 11, 2022

Amazing quality

Great quality. Have never had such a cozy warm sweater before. Definitely worth the price

December 10, 2022

Great for comfort and warmth

Super piece of gear for our Florida winter weather. Sheds dew in the morning. Keeps you comfortable in our 40 degree days and pretty impervious to wind. Very comfortable. Not for heavy rain but great in a shower.

December 10, 2022

Quality and warm feel

Quality and warm feel

December 10, 2022

The Better Sweater is Better than Ever !

Warm & cozy - trim fit - great quality - indestructible - lucky to have it in 4 colors - throw it in the washing machine - keep it out of the dryer - typical Patagonia quality - super product

December 9, 2022

Brilliant

I was replacing a very old full zip jacket of a different make and so far this works very well... I hope the condition remains as good in years to come as the old one did.

December 8, 2022

Good fit if ur a tiny man:)

Ran too tight across back everywhere else was fine. Im also a model with Wilhelmina sooo not a big meat head:) Im 6 3 200lbs

December 5, 2022

Not as warm as I expected

I bought this in Europe and found it to be not as warm as I expected. The sleeves are tight and when putting it on the sleeves stick to your shirt. Its good looking, just wish it was warmer.

December 4, 2022

Scheels Rochester did not have

Scheels Rochester did not have the green and thats what my husband wanted so when we got home I ordered it on line. Now he has 2 (grey and green and he loves them.

December 4, 2022

Great quality and true to size

Love the fine knit texture. The jacket is warm and comfortable and true to size

December 1, 2022

Very warm

This jacket is very warm and fit very well apart from the sleeves which were very long, about 4 inches past my wrist which made it very awkward to wear without folding the sleeves back a little bit

November 30, 2022

Super warm

Great sweater that you can use on a colder day or post winter surf session..great for casual work functions or a nice dinner. Runs a lil closer to true to size but decided to go a little bigger.

November 28, 2022

Love this. Its awesome!

Love this. Its awesome!

November 28, 2022

A really nice and warm

A really nice and warm sweater - perfect for a slightly more formal setting.

November 27, 2022

Fantastic cost would recommend highly.

Fantastic cost would recommend highly.

November 27, 2022

Very nice!!

Good!!

November 21, 2022

Very nice jacket

Jacket is very comfortable and warm. Color looks even better in person. I have gotten a few compliments on it too.

November 21, 2022

Great casual jacket

Feels warms and well made. Lots of pockets that can hold your wallet, phone, keys, badge etc. works pretty well for upto 5 deg F weather

November 20, 2022

Quality

Fits great. Great quality. Still new but feels durable. Sleeves slightly long but I personally like it.

November 20, 2022

Perfect fit, stretchy and very

Perfect fit, stretchy and very warm when it needs to be - otherwise unobtrusive and ready to be a 2nd or 3rd layer. I highly recommend this product.

November 15, 2022

Long bulky and expensive

I thought being at the price point it was made by who it was this without only keep me very warm but if it would be spot on. None of the above. Very disappointing.

November 12, 2022

Like all Patagonia products, this

Like all Patagonia products, this lives up to its description: Its warm. its comfortable, and its wearable.

November 11, 2022

This sweater is amazingly soft and warm - get one

This was my first Patagonia product. It is so comfortable that I do not want to take it off. The pigeon blue color looks awesome, too, and I'm glad that I chose it. After purchasing this sweater, one other sweater, and a jacket, I can say that the quality of Patagonia's products is amazing.

November 9, 2022

Great product

Would definitely recommend

November 5, 2022

Second one

Love this jacket. Got one as a gift but lost. Ordered replacement. Runs a little big but love.

November 4, 2022

Elegant and comfortable.

Nice relaxed fit, comfortable to wear anywhere from church to the office.

November 4, 2022

Comfortable

I really love my new jacket . Its very comfortable and also warm . Its a perfect Jacket for the unpredictable fall weather of SanFrancisco California.

November 4, 2022

So comfortable

Fits awesome, very comfortable! So stylish and many complements

November 3, 2022

Extremely Comfortable and Warm

This is hands down the warmest and most comfort fleece I have ever warn 10/10 would recommend.

November 2, 2022

Solid Office or Outdoors item

This is the perfect piece to throw on when you get an unexpected zoom call while WFH. Super comfy and rather professional / stylish for the PNW anyway .

November 2, 2022

Great fit

This fits true to style Im a larger guy with broad shoulders 6ft 230lbs and its a pretty great jacket. Love the fit and the warmth.

November 1, 2022

Excellent quality

I love my sweater is warm fits me perfect Im 5ft11 inches and the large size is perfect I highly recommended

October 31, 2022

Not like the previous products

I own 3-4 of the fleece sweaters and they're very warm. This new version unfortunately isn't. They must have changed the type of fabric used, it doesn't insulate you from the cold air, it's not as dense as the previous versions.

Response from Patagonia
November 4, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear this fleece jacket has been a disappointment. You can return it to one of our [Patagonia-owned retail stores in your area](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) or reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help with the return and to recommend a different fleece jacket!

October 29, 2022

Always the best

I continue to order from Patagonia because the quality, wearability and comfort are consistent. The form of this jacket after being worn and laundered is just the same as when it came out of the package knew. Other quality garments begin the same but do not stand up to the test of time.

October 28, 2022

Fabric got very "pilly" after light wear.

I got this jacket last spring and wore it on and off for a few months before putting away for the summer. It has "pilled" something awful, especially on the undersides of the sleeves and near the pocket areas. I would not have expected this from such an expensive jacket. I like the style and fit, but would never purchase again or recommen... Read Mored due to the poor quality of the fabric. I would expect this from a cheap jacket but not a Patagonia jacket.

October 26, 2022

I have had this for

I have had this for just a few weeks and it is pilling on the back of all places? I wasn't expecting the fabric to show any wear?

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2022

Hi Chris! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the jacket has started pilling after a few weeks. We typically recommend machine washing on warm and laying flat to dry to reduce pilling. In addition, a great tool to remove pilling that has already occurred is a sweater stone. That said, we've reached out to you directly with some warranty return assistance.

October 25, 2022

A great jacket, body and

A great jacket, body and sleeve length are just right, the color is very nice. On the other hand, the shipping carrier left a lot to be desired with confusing email notices and leaving my package at the garage door overnight...

October 24, 2022

Ms Better sweater jacket

Great fleece, true to size, warm and can be a great under garment for the torrent shell waterproof jacket.

October 24, 2022

1st time order

I really like the top. Good in a lot of different temperatures and looks good too.

October 23, 2022

Perfect fit

Usually I find jackets and shirts either fit me with too much room in the body (medium or large size) or the arms are too short (small size). This item fits me in the body and the arms are long enough to be the perfect fit.

October 21, 2022

My favorite light jacket

The sleeves are a bit long but othewise, this jacket is so warm and comfortable. Plus, it looks good.

October 20, 2022

Not too shabby

I like it a lot. Well-made, comfortable and lovely design. So far so good. The only thing I would say is missing is a drawstring round the bottom

October 19, 2022

Not sure why this product

Not sure why this product is so skimpy! Both my wife and I each own a quarter zip and a cardigan. We are both slender and dont understand why they are so thin. Active wear should be made for ease of movement.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2022

Hey Roger, thanks for the review. This particular fleece jacket has a regular fit, but some of our other products in the Better Sweater line have a slim fit. It was simply a design choice, and of our fleeces this line is considered more casual/everyday rather than technical. We recommend using the filter options on our website to see other fleeces in a relaxed fit that you might prefer. Here are [all relaxed options](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-fleece?prefn1=fit&prefv1=relaxed) for our men's fleeces.

October 19, 2022

Excellent quality

Fleece is not only very warm, it looks and feels high quality. Well worth it

October 18, 2022

Bloody brilliant.

Thank you for your service Patagonia, I have always been a devout advocate of yours and always will be. Keep up the inspirational work.

October 17, 2022

I would like a more

I would like a more relaxed fit. I am a little more portly and find most slightly fitted too small. Love the product not the fir.

October 17, 2022

Perfect for casual wear or at work!

Perfect for casual wear or at work!

October 17, 2022

I like the product overall

I like the product overall quite a bit but I dont understand the super tall interior pocket. Its fairly unusable as anything put in it drops to the bottom and takes gymnastics or taking off the sweater to get it out. Not clear of this is a mistake or intended.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2022

Hi Fritz! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the interior pocket. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 16, 2022

Perfect fit!

As a smaller person always looking for a good fit, now very happy with this item in XS.

October 16, 2022

Great quality, great fit

Great quality, great fit

October 11, 2022

Almost too warm for early

Almost too warm for early fall. Very comfortable

October 11, 2022

D

Outstanding quality, perfect fit!

October 7, 2022

Super soft but just one thing

This is a super soft sweater and is great for cool weather. My only con which isnt really a con its more of me nitpicking is the sleeves have a line that runs down and makes the arms itchy. Besides that great product!

Response from Patagonia
October 7, 2022

Hey Evan, thank you for the review. We appreciate the attention to detail, and we'll notify our product team of your observations. If the itching gets to be too much, feel free to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 6, 2022

Great look and feel.

The sleeves are a tad too long, but overall it's a great Fall/Spring jacket. The primary reason behind the purchase is Patagonia's commitment to our world. My wife loves it on me.

September 30, 2022

Great Idea

Combining fleece with sweater type material is brilliant. It feels warm and the fit is comfortable, and it looks great. Perfect during the cool shoulder seasons and as a layer in the winter.

September 29, 2022

Great jacket

Great jacket

September 28, 2022

Stop Looking for a Mid Weight Fleece Jacket - now

I have no idea what took me so long. Being a CO person I see the BSFJ everywhere. What's that about ? Well... Patagonia fit is literally spot on for me. It looks amazing, even has that CO cache of sustainability. Yeah, people comment on the jacket AND the fact I am environmentally aware (I am). By itself on 40 degree to 50 degree days over ... Read Moreshorts and a tee, layered under a shell for mid weight winter use, and on and on. I gave 3 fleece pullovers/jackets away as a result of the style versatility and functionality of the BSFJ. Buy it now, support mother earth, cull your wardrobe, I mean really, why wait ?

September 16, 2022

All around fall/winter essential

Big fan of the better sweater. Just picked up this jacket to add to the repertoire. Good warmth, enough room to add a base layer underneath. Solid Patagonia product

September 14, 2022

Comfortable, perfect quality, perfect size, just perfect!!

Very happy with it

September 10, 2022

Great daily jacket

This is my first better sweater jacket and it met my expectations for a warm jacket good for the transition to colder weather. It can be worn as an everyday jacket. My only concern is that the wind can penetrate through the jacket, so I will need an outer shell on windy days.

September 3, 2022

Three season weight for Tennessee

Bought to replace my raggedy lightweight jacket for a trip to the mountains of Guatemala. The Better Sweater is just the right warmth for Tennessee winters and tropical mountains (60 during the day, 40s at night). Also just right to layer with long sleeve tee and heavy coat for more extreme conditions. The pockets are handy and located out of the w... Read Moreay of backpack straps.

August 28, 2022

Good stuff!

Good stuff!

August 21, 2022

Great Fleece

It is incredibly lightweight but also very warm. It will also roll up and fit in my bag easily for hiking and late nights stargazing.

August 19, 2022

Very nice

I love different jackets, this was a just because I wanted it lol. But I really like this , very good buy

August 15, 2022

Nice Sweater

Really nice good fitting Sweater

August 14, 2022

Temperate

I wanted a jacket that would not be too hot nor too cold with changes in the San Francisco micro-climates and this fits that perfectly. Was pleasantly surprised how warm it was for it's thickness but it does have the drawback of being a bit itchy to the skin. Still would recommend.

August 9, 2022

Nice jacket

A great casual jacket for cooler temps. The fit is fairly slim, so I think you can fit only a t-shirt under it, at least in the sleeves. I actually think that's great since I'm pretty slim and some of Patagonia's casual jackets fit me like an umbrella. Black color is more of a really nice dark gray. Highly recommended as an all-aro... Read Moreund casual jacket for cooler weather or even colder temps depending on how warm you run or what else you layer over it.

August 7, 2022

Warm sweater for everyday wear

Warm sweater for everyday wear specially for early morning wear. Arm length is perfect for my height. Very comfortable. Got so many nice comments about sweater color

July 28, 2022

Great Casual Jacket

Great jacket for those cooler days at the beach or hiking through the woods. Stops cold breezes pretty well. I like the chest pocket to put receipts and other small items so they are not cluttering your hand-warming pockets. The jacket has held up well except for minor pilling at rub points. Overall great jacket to have.

July 25, 2022

The product is great however

The product is great however the size is kind of funny. The M is kinda small, and the L is kinda too big. I wish there is another fit.

July 12, 2022

Cool Look

This sweater is perfect for casual wear or the workplace. Can easily be dressed up or down!

July 6, 2022

as expected. bought an identical

as expected. bought an identical jacket about 12-15 years ago which I unfortunately lost the other day. Was so happy with this one that I bought the same one again now.

July 3, 2022

Fit

I usually wear Large, but I like to be fit, and medium is fit for me for 5'10''. if you like little bigger i recommend large. but the material itself stretches out.

June 30, 2022

Patagonia fleece

Looks good, has all the pockets needed comfortable, good sizing and best of all produced ethically.

June 29, 2022

Cozy

I love wearing my better sweater at work and when I go boating.

June 21, 2022

Perfect casual sweater

Wonderful cool weather sweater. Highly recommend.

June 7, 2022

Very comfortable light jacket

This jacket is my favorite to wear when the weather gets down to 50/60s. Its soft and warm, looks great, and I really like sporting a brand whos dedicated to a good cause. I am 5'8 180# and i bought the medium, and it fits perfectly.

May 30, 2022

Secretly, I want one of my own!

I bought this item as a gift for my son. He enjoys the outdoors and I think this jacket is perfect for him. He is a polar bear and always feels too warm. The classic look and cozy feel make it a winner.

May 20, 2022

MAJOR DESIGN FLAW

Both my Fiance and I ended up getting rid of our Better Sweaters due to the awkward fact that they seem to be VERY poorly designed in the armpit/shoulder area. I literally cannot wear this jacket (XL) with any XL shirt because it feels like im wearing a medium jacket over an extra-large shirt.... it just doesnt make sense. My windproof jackets from... Read More Patagonia (ex. Nano Puff) do not have this issue. I will have to stick to windproof material jackets from Patagonia in the future because their fleece jacket designs make me so uncomfortable that i want to just jump right out of my skin!!! I have this same issue with my Better Sweater Marsupial Pullover. Really hoping Patagonia can mitigate this issue in the future... :(

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2022

We're sorry to hear these Better Sweater Jackets have been so uncomfortable for you both! You noted that you no longer have them, and please remember you're always welcome to return anything that isn't working for you. Thank you for this feedback, Kyle. Please let us know if we can help in any way!

May 14, 2022

Perfect transition jacket.

Perfect transition garment for either Winter into Spring or Summer into Fall. Quality construction.

May 9, 2022

Nice

Dont even think about low dryer. It shrinks. Hang it outside,

May 4, 2022

Ugh! The pilling!

This jacket looks fantastic. Really, just makes you look better. One of my neighbors saw me in it and immediately bought one for her partner. Alas, it started pilling like crazy. Not sure how/why. (It was hung next to an older/never-pilling fleece). If it didn't pill. Ugh! You broke ... me back down to my old fleece. Ended up donating it. ...

May 2, 2022

Very flexible and surprisingly warm

I wear mine primarily playing golf on cold mornings. This sweater is now my go-to. It is not bulky, moves with me without any restriction, blocks wind and keeps me very comfortable.

May 1, 2022

Feels good

Fabric feels good, just right for slightly warmer temps.

April 28, 2022

Best sweater ever

I've never owned any Patagonia gear prior to this purchase. I can now understand why so many people love Patagonia clothing, it's high quality, great feel and fit. Patagonia is my new favorite clothing brand!!

April 26, 2022

Great jacket could use tall sizes

Love this jacket. Works for every situation. The only thing that could make this better is tall sizes

April 23, 2022

Comfortable and Looks Great

I own five Men's Better Sweater Fleece Jackets now. Very comfortable, provides good warmth on cooler breezy days with the addition of a long sleeved t-shirt. The Jacket in Industrial Green is my new favorite. Over the years there seems to have been some inconsistency in the sizing of the the body and sleeve length (longer). My new jacket seems... Read More to be a true size XL.

April 13, 2022

Soft and warm

Its become my everyday use in the winter,fall, spring, and any other chilly day. The material is soft and comfortable yet keeps you warm. Love it!

April 12, 2022

Super Comfortable

I purchased my first sweater jacket while on a cruise when I needed something to keep me warm. It fit the bill perfectly. The fit and comfort are excellent. Purchased two more.

April 11, 2022

Great fit and comfortable

Love the feel of this jacket, it is super comfortable and fits really well.

April 8, 2022

Best item of clothing that I own

I do not often write reviews, but I feel compelled to for the better sweater. This is singularly the most versatile and most used item of clothing that I wear and own. It fits true to size, keeps its shape, is packable, and supremely comfortable. It is a very breathable material, and know that it allows wind to cut through it, but on the flipside i... Read Moret breathes very well. It can be worn with a short or long sleeve t-shirt or thin sweater underneath, as layered under a harder shell jacket- it is a good middle layer. It fits in the office or the trail, and layers well. Over the past several years, I have worn this effectively every day during pandemic isolation, travel, and camping trips, and to the office and is now a wardrobe staple. I am 5'11" about 170lb and size medium is perfect. In black, it goes with everything. I could not recommend this enough, and in fact purchased a better sweater for my father.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches