Back to Product

Ms Classic Retro-X® Vest

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 78 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Classic Retro-X® Vest

4.5/5
Kinda Large
November 25, 2021

Terrific Product

Very warm and resists wind. Runs a little small. Hard to later. Overall great product.

November 20, 2021

Warm!

Have worn this vest a handful of times since I got it and it has become one of my favorite vests to wear. A lot warmer than my other fleece vests, and looks great on too. I got an XL and like the fit, enough room for me to layer a hoodie underneath. Great looking piece.

November 19, 2021

Nice accessory

Nicely made. Warm. Looks sturdy Like color.

November 9, 2021

Classic look

Currently, one of my favorite pieces of gear to keep warm. Collar is a bit too stiff and hoping for it to relax after some wears and washes. Generally wear a Medium with Patagonia but wanted a roomier fit to layer with a sweater.

November 8, 2021

Super Warm (Chicago)

Very comfortable and warm. As others mentioned due to the wind blocking not super breathable so would only be wearing around the 10-45 degree mark. I purchased both XL and XXL since other reviewers mentioned this vest runs a bit small they were right if you arent super fit. My advice if you are going to have this under a jacket you can go for your ... Read Moreregular size, but if you are throwing this over a hoodie or other jacket definitely like me size up. Length was a little longer than I might like but covers you up pretty well. I own the Retro X Jacket for when things get a lot colder as well.

September 30, 2021

Super comfortable

Bought this for my husband and he especially likes this vest as it is a wind breaker.

September 30, 2021

Super warm

Bought this for my husband. Its good looking, made for warmth, a great addition to the winter ahead.

September 29, 2021

Splendid but a little small

Splendid quality but a little small for being size XL

September 20, 2021

Superb

I love my Retro X vest. Well made, warm, practical and best of all, it’s environmentally friendly too. Patagonia is now my first stop for all my outdoor kit.

September 6, 2021

great wind stop and neck piece, love it.

This replaces a worn out H/H vest and a newer not windproof one - this guy is the wooly mammoth, totally love it.

August 22, 2021

It's warm and feels good.

It's a little small, but good to wear.

July 31, 2021

Super warm

Great vest and incredibly warm. Buy a slightly larger size if you want to wear layers underneath.

July 21, 2021

Great vest for warmth and wind block

Everyone in our family has one. They are a staple for three season wear. Wind block is great in colder temps.

July 17, 2021

My regular size fit fine

I read a lot of reviews saying this vest ran small. After receiving it and trying it on it seems like a standard xl fit to me. I usually buy regular (not slim) fit clothes. I look forward to wearing it this fall/winter!

July 14, 2021

Great colors but elongated body

The vest is beautiful but the fit is too long in the torso and hits the body in an awkward spot.

June 24, 2021

Same as it ever was

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Vest Is just that, a classic. True to size. A great piece of gear that delivers warmth and comfort. Updated colors that pop. Love it.

June 21, 2021

Liner is plastic and heavy

I love the color and design, but the inner liner was a big surprise. Its this plastic not very breathable material that makes it kind of heavy. The colllar was also way higher than any other collar of similar type of vest or jacket I own. Which is odd. Love Patagonia but this was a miss for me.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Hi Asha, sorry that the liner came as a shock. The warp-knit mesh works to create a windproof barrier to help keep the chill off on cold blustery days. If you 're looking for a similar style, but less weight, check out our Men's Retro Pile Fleece Vest, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-vest/22821.html?dwvar_22821_color=ELKH&cgid=root.

June 1, 2021

Decent warm vest but form fitting!

The vest is relatively warm. It's relatively warm in the cool spring nights and should be warm for autumn/winter wearing. It's good for everyday wear when it's cold(er) weather but not for exercising as it'll be too hot and heavy. It's more form fitting than the jacket. XL fits a bit tighter but acceptable. If you want roo... Read Moreminess, then buy 1 size UP. The vest's length goes down slightly below the waist. There's a meshlike barrier that's sewed inside the vest which provides the windproof protection. The vest is a little heavy than a regular fleece vest but it's worth it to block out the wind and for warmth. It also has a slight stretch. The handpockets have the barrier in front to help provide warmth to the hands. The outer pocket has a small storage area for small items like cards, keys and change. There are no inner pockets. You can wear a base layer (short/long sleeve shirt) and a lightweight fleece pullover underneath it but nothing thick as it'll be too tight as the vest is form fitting (hugs close to the body)! The outer fleece in natural with blue ribbings and pocket is a short but soft. Hopefully, the fleece will stay soft and warm after many washings for many years to come. Buy when it's on sale as it is expensive like most Patagonia products.

May 27, 2021

Very good product

Bought this for style in the first place, the looks just rock but it's really warm as well, when the weather gets chilly you just have to zip up and enjoy being warm while you keep your arms free. Definitely recommend !

May 26, 2021

Great gilet

Really comfy, noticed how warm it is straight away when zipped it up. To note though, I recommend buying a size up with Patagonia. I am 6ft 1 and approx 76kg and the large fits me perfectly, with most other brands the large is too big for me. Lastly it is pricey, but you do notice the quality. Also recommend being quick to order as it seemingly goe... Read Mores out of stock a lot.

May 18, 2021

Classic Retro-X® Vest

Super nice product and fat delivery.

May 18, 2021

Warm and comfy

A gem of a vest, with the windproofing as its superpower. Warm and comfy, size M fits my 78kg/181cm nicely. The fit probably works best for slender people.

May 8, 2021

Best vest in the game

The quality of the vest is phenomenal super warm super comfortable and would not choose any other vest

May 8, 2021

Very warm, cozy!

I own a retro X pile coat and bought the pile vest because I like the coat so much. The pile vest isn't a disappointment and is amazingly warm. It is my favorite vest of all that I own, bar none, including Patagonia down, Filson wool, etc. You wont go wrong with this vest. It is a winner!

May 8, 2021

Very warm, cozy!

I own a retro X pile coat and bought the pile vest because I like the coat so much. The pile best isnt a disappointment and is amazing. It is my favorite best bar none including down, Filson wool, etc. you wont go wrong with this fast its a winner!

April 21, 2021

Comfortable and stylish

Comfortable and stylish

April 12, 2021

Finnalu found the perfect vest!

I’ve had the nano puff and the down puffer vest from Patagonia. Both of them are good, but the retro X vest is something else! Much more durrible, works great on it’s own or as a layiring piece. Super cozy! Really recoment this one!

March 25, 2021

Perfect vest for cold weather

Everyone in my family has at least one. These are perfect for cold weather, especially wind. Quality construction, lots of deep pockets. Love the colors.

March 22, 2021

Throw on this throwback!

I love it. Glad that you guys are bringing back purple!

February 9, 2021

Great product

Great product

February 4, 2021

Super cosy

This vest fits perfectly, and is lovely and warm.

January 24, 2021

Very warm

Perfect fit and design

January 20, 2021

Sharp looking vest and very warm!

Love Love Love this vest! Sharp looking and very warm. Normally I would of probably ordered a Large but most of the reviews I read said order up one size because Patagonia typically runs small. The XL is a perfect fit though. Highly recommend!

January 20, 2021

Love this vest

This vest rules. It fits great and is completely windproof, which is the main reason I bought it. I wear it XC skiing to block with the wind and I dont have to wear a shell. Its an awesome vest.

January 15, 2021

Warm and durable

I've been a Pat customer for 30 tears; I love the company products and service .

January 12, 2021

Substantial

Got this on a whim and I love it. It is a typical fleece vest but it also is lined with mesh so its a little bit more substantial. The colors are beautiful and it fits well. Fits a little bit close around the armpits but that is OK.

January 11, 2021

Warm, versatile

Excellent quality and fit. Very warm and can wear anywhere. Walking the dog, winter sports and winter lifestyle. Pricey but worth it.

January 5, 2021

XL was kinda of small

The XL was small and I had to order next size up. It was very easy and quick. I have not worn it out hiking yet-you know- Covid and winter in Buffalo. But it is comfy and warm in the house. The collar could be a little higher.

January 4, 2021

Fits great!

180lb. The fit is great, not short at all or too boxy!

December 27, 2020

Perfect vest

Very warm and comfortable

November 22, 2020

Warm

It is warm and fitting good Another material with washing Not sure how it would work

November 21, 2020

Too tight for comfort.

Runs very small. Cut for a slim person.

November 13, 2020

My Favorite Piece of Clothing

It's a great, comfy vest. And the lining inside stops the wind nicely and gives it a clean form. I'm 5'10 / 170 lbs and originally ordered a Medium, which was a very snug fit, so I exchanged it for a Large which gives me a lot more room to move. LOVE this vest.

October 5, 2020

Sizing is really poor; order at least one size up

I had been looking at this vest for several years, and finally pulled the trigger on buying it. Ordering was easy, and shipping was very fast. I had the vest two days after I placed the order. I wear a size Large in most things. Based on the sizing chart, I thought a Large in this would work. Not even close. Wearing this over only a shirt it was ... Read Morepossible to zip up, but it was uncomfortably tight. Think sausage casing tight. I wanted a vest, not a girdle. With other vests that I have I am able to wear a chamois shirt or even a reasonably thick sweater under the vest. That would be impossible with this item. When 90% of the garments that I wear are either a size Medium or Large, and this Large fits like compression shorts, it suggests that there is a sizing issue that Patagonia should address. I did sent the original back The person who I spoke with was very helpful, and the exchange process went smoothly. I will hope that the XL is a better match to my physique. If not, I will revise this review or provide an updated review. Let me encourage you to heed all the other reviews that are posted as well; there are multiple reports of this vest running very small. Usually for an item sold at a premium price, and this vest certainly is very expensive for what it is, the fit is more generous. I don't know who the size models were for this one, but I would suggest that their torso is not that of a person who normally fits into a size Large without issue.

September 10, 2020

Classic look and feel. Functional.

Love the look and feel of this vest. It also feels very functional, however with it still being in the 90's here in Texas haven worn it but around the house...looked great walking around the living room though. I originally bought a large which is my normal size...that was to tight and the atm pit area felt a bit restricted, being said I dont ... Read Morethink a flannel shirt would have fit, so when with XL.

September 3, 2020

Great looking runs small

I love wearing vest and have several...enjoy the flexibility/ mobility and still body warmth. This is a great looking vest and I predict will bring perfect warmth / wind block. However...it runs very tight and short on me. I seized up an ordered an XL

August 14, 2020

Really Warm

You'll be happy with this jacket

January 29, 2020

Size product is XL If

Size product is XL If I wanted to wear this ‘over’ a jacket, it would be uncomfortably tight. Over a T-shirt, it would fit ok. Because the fabric doesn’t stretch, Please make these a little more roomier,

January 8, 2020

Great Vest, Patagonia Quality you Expect

I was replacing a 20-year old vest with this one. I'm 5'11" and 215lbs and chose an XL to be able to wear a layer underneath the vest. The fit is generous, without being baggy as attached picture may show. Quality is excellent. The upside of the retro "shaggy/fuzzy" feel of the exterior of the vest is also downside. It&#x2... Read More7;s not as dressed up as I'd like in one sense, but I was so attracted to the fuzzy comfort. Try to NOT rub your fingers over the vest, I'll bet you can't. Wind-proof layer is effective, especially for Southern California beach wind on a cool evening.

January 8, 2020

Great purchase, it does the

Great purchase, it does the job under the coat on a cold day

December 22, 2019

Love it

Love it

December 15, 2019

Another quality product

I wish they made a L/XL, I am in between sizes, but other than that it’s great

December 13, 2019

Absolutely Georgeous!

We loved this vest! It’s so beautifully made with subtle accents on the zipper and pockets. The quality is fantastic. The inside lining is excellent as well.

December 12, 2019

Colors in person a little

Colors in person a little less vibrant than the website images...

December 10, 2019

SLIM JIM

Ordered XXL. Always order XXL. The "front" was so tight, to zipper it up, had to hold my breath. This XXL was more like an XL or Large. Returned. Nothing larger in this item available. Misleading product information.

December 1, 2019

Furnace for your core!

I have been rocking a Patagonia R2 windproof fleece vest for more than 15 years and got this to "replace" it as it's showing it's age. I absolutely love this vest and it definitely replaces the R2 in many ways. Fit is spot on with normal Patagonia medium that I wear. Durability seems like it is going to be excellent. For me this... Read More thing is actually too warm! The membrane appears to be on the front and the back, which limits the breathablity a bit much for me in many situations. The pile of the fleece itself is nice looking, but it's bulky and a magnet for pet hair. I'll know better how much this vest will actually replace my old R2 next spring as we haven't hit the true cold weather here in WI yet. Right now I am wearing it daily to get accustomed to its warmth, but I'll probably switch between the two going forward depending on forecast - not breaking this out until it's sub-20 deg F again. For reference, typically I am wearing a 150 weight merino base and this vest. I ride my cargo bike everywhere and depending on temperature and precip I either wear a hard shell or windproof lightly insulated soft shell as my outer layer.

November 22, 2019

Fast shipping Nice vest

Fast shipping Nice vest

November 13, 2019

Incorrect sizing

Badly undersized (At least by 2 sizes) versus other Patagonia jackets I wear. Quality appears good.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Steven, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the sizing. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 1, 2019

Love it!

This is my favorite vest! Thx! Wear it all the time

October 24, 2019

Peter L.

Vest is longer and slimmer fitting than Retro-X Jacket. I'm 5'8" 165 pounds, and usually wear a medium. I've had more than five medium Retro-X jackets--love them all, fit great. Although Retro-X vest and jacket are advertised as regular fit, the vest is a different cut altogether. Vest is longer, slimmer, and tighter in the ches... Read Moret. Tried the large, too, but it almost went down to my knees. If you want a true regular fit vest that is not too long, get the Retro Pile vest.

Response from Patagonia
November 13, 2019

Hi Peter! Thank you for your feedback! We're very sorry to hear the fit of this item did not work out for you. The Retro-X Vest does have a slightly slimmer fit across the chest than the Retro-X Jacket; however, the length of the garments should be pretty close. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this for you.

October 10, 2019

Excellent warmth without the encumbrance

Excellent warmth without the encumbrance of having sleeves.

February 28, 2019

Warm and wind proof vest

I was looking for a warm and wind proof vest that blocked the cold chilling breeze and cold weather in San Francisco, and this vest fit the bill. It fits well, not too tight, not to loose, and it is really warm and it does block the wind as described. I got the Camo Bunker color to be used as a layer because it has various colors in its design whic... Read Moreh can match any jacket I have in my closet: brown, green, blue, and black. Very functional, comfortable, extra warm, and versatile. Highly recommended!

February 13, 2019

Get your money's worth and then some

Fantastic fitting and marvellous functionality. Keeps you warm and ventilated, and completely keeps the wind out. Paired with a Gore Tex Outer shell, you feel as comfortable as one would indoors sitting by the fire. I stand 5'7" and 150lbs, and S fits like a glove. Enjoy yours folks

December 28, 2018

Best vest ever....

Like the wind blocking lining. Wear it under a nano puff jacket and it's toasty at 20 degrees. Great body core warmer and looks good. Much better than stand fleece vest. I'm 5'11' and 190...I like a M as it's snugger and doesn't flap around. Helps to have a 34' waist. Great colors...the camo one is bad...;

December 9, 2018

Patagonia Retro-x vest

This vest is a heavy duty and warm vest. I have had this vest for two years and it still looks the same as the day I got it.

November 6, 2017

Amazing

I've owned this vest for a couple years and have put it through the ringer. I primarily use it while working outside as it's tough enough to handle snags or tough brush with no worries. It takes a while to break in as it's a little stiff right away but you will not find a tougher vest with the ability/versatility.

November 6, 2017

Classic for a reason

I have had this vest for a 4 months now and really dig it.I am a vest guy and in my opinion the Retro X is every bit as warm as down or synthetic vest.I really appreciate the elastic waist band gives you some wiggle room. My only grip and and the reason I can't give it five stars is the bottom hem did come unstitched in three places. Sent it... Read More back for repair got in back in about 2 and a half weeks. If your in the market for a really warm wind blocking non puffy vest look no further.

October 16, 2017

Kept me warm

This jacket kept me warm for 4 days in Algonquin! It was late fall and the temperature hovered at 0 to 17'C. I wore a base layer and this vest while canoeing. I was toasty while having plenty of freedom in my arms to paddle. Great combo! Awesome vest! I usually wear small and initially bought a small vest but later exchanged it for medium. I... Read More need the extra room for a base-layer + flannel shirt + vest.

July 16, 2017

Patagonia Classic

Haven't had the chance to wear this in the cold yet,but obvious will be very toasty and seems possibly will block wind as well. Of course doesn't pack like down,but this plus a long sleeve shell would get you through some pretty chilly conditions,I'm sure.

May 25, 2017

The Outdoor Vest,Personified

I've had a Retro-X jacket in my possession for over 8 years so it was time for a refresher course. This vest is built for the outdoors: cuts out wind and keeps your core warm in most any situation.

May 13, 2017

men's classic retro vest

fits great and keeps a little skinny guy very toasty.

April 16, 2017

Retro X Vest

As a Michigan fishing guide,staying warm is often imperative. The Retro X Vest is an essential part of my layering system... It does a great job at keeping my core warm.

February 11, 2017

One of the originals

I have one of the originals in all of its rough side out dirty tan glory. Bought in the 70s/ early 80s maybe. First Patagonia product I ever bought,Still my go to,in the woods,in the kayak drybag,snowshoeing,iceboating. What I specially like is the long back that gets down and covers your kidneys.

January 3, 2017

Nice and warm!

Got this for a Christmas gift and really love it. It is a bit stiff due to the wind-proofing and I wish the zipper was a little more substantial,but overall,it's great. I am 6' and 170 lb and a large fit nice with a flannel shirt.

December 28, 2016

15 years!

I bought the predecessor to this 15 years ago (when it wasn't really "retro"),and honestly think this is the single best piece of clothing I've ever bought. I wear it so often and for so many purposes,and it never disappoints. I ski with it under a shell,warm up for workouts in it with a T-shirt,wear it over a sort-of clean shir... Read Moret to work,and use it for so many other purposes several times per week. It is super functional,breathable but warm,and lets me move without restrictions. Even my wife likes the way it looks; classic,stylish,and fits perfectly. The only downside is that it is one of those things that if I forget on a trip,I am disappointed with myself for not remembering to bring it.

December 9, 2016

Mid layer must - great warmth and handwarming

Ive had one of these in the rotation for almost a decade now,and it has stayed there because it is awesome under a pit zipped shell and it is just great warmth. With pit zips open,you can reach in and warm/dry cold/wet hands on the fleece. Excellent for winter fly fishing,and equally useful when on the mountain to keep the warmth in on single digit... Read More and subzero days. Doesnt pack down like a puffy,but it makes up for it in soft,lofty fleece.

December 5, 2016

Perfect piece for core warmth!

This vest exceeded all my expectations. It is extremely warm and performs well in windy conditions. I am 5'8",athletic/muscular-build and the size medium fits me perfectly. I typically wear this over a short/long t-shirt or a fjord flannel. I would size up if you plan on wearing this over bulky clothing items.

November 18, 2016

Great fit,true to size but color is a bit off

My boyfriend is 6' tall and typically wears an XL in Patagonia. The XL is the right size for him but we are returning it because the carbon and orange color actually looks like a green and orange hunting vest. The orange is super bright and the "carbon" is more green than expected.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches