burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Capilene® Midweight Crew

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 143 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Capilene® Midweight Crew

4.5/5
True To Size
December 5, 2022

Tech-Casual Crew-Neck

Opening the package on this base layer Crew-Neck you can quickly tell it is shirt technically designed for warmth. It does not disappoint in the warmth category as a base layer. I am sure this shirt would meet/exceed most people's expectations for warmth. I would say the fit and comfort are better than expected. I am 168lbs but wearing a large... Read More as I like shirts a touch looser, even base layers. I have also been wearing this shirt without top layers as casual wear around the house, working in the yard, or out and about in town. Really like it.

December 3, 2022

Warm lightweight base layer

Excellent product. Warm lightweight base layer is perfect for outdoor activities

November 27, 2022

Like thumb straps.

Like the fit, like the thumb straps.

November 15, 2022

Perfect garment

I wear this instead of a long sleeve T-shirt. It has a comfortable fit and offers warmth when needed. This garment has a wide temperature comfort range and provides warmth outdoors without overheating when I come inside. For me it is a perfect base layer

November 8, 2022

Excellent general purpose shirt

I have been wearing these shirts for decades. As a forester, hiker, backpacker, and climber, I have found that they outlast most other outdoor clothes and help maintain heat balance. Recently, I have turned to a more sedentary pursuit - writing books. To my pleasant surprise, I find I am wearing these shirts every day, in my office, at meetings, g... Read Moreenerally everywhere that I can dress casually. Just as in the field, they have a great heat balance whether it is warm or cold outside. They look great in any setting. I use the oldest ones for outdoor pursuits, the newer ones for everything else. They are simply a great investment.

October 19, 2022

Hard-wearing, comfortable and practical

This is the third of these tops I've had and I wear one nearly every day in winter. Warm, tough and soft to wear.

October 18, 2022

Great base layer.

I used this as my base layer while camping and hiking in the Smokys. An awesome mid weight long sleeve. I will most likely get another in the near future.

October 17, 2022

Bought several in case of

Bought several in case of unnecessary future design improvements...it's a great piece of apparel with a good color selection.

October 9, 2022

Well made, great material and

Well made, great material and awesome fit!

October 3, 2022

Warm and light weight!

When pack weight is just as important as warmth capilene midweight base layer has a home in my kit.

September 18, 2022

Capline Midweight Crew

Nice base layer for active days or under a mid layer on cold days. I wear it alone too. It looks stylish and feels good on your skin

September 14, 2022

Amazing quality

Shirt is comfy to wear inside aswell outside. The fabric of the shirt is great reduce sweat.

September 5, 2022

Super shirt

Very soft and comfortable, consider sizing up

May 28, 2022

New and improved!

I have been wearing Capilene for years. This new shirt is significantly improved. Patagonia has improved its sizing; I am 61, 175 lbs, and this shirt in large is perfect for me. The texture makes the shirt warmer and more comfortable. Patagonia is still the gold standard, and this shirt demonstrates why.

May 16, 2022

Poor quality stitching

I've had numerous threads in the wrist hole openings come undone and pull out. Seems like the manufacturing on this product is extremely sus, just can't recommend Patagonia anymore the same way you could a few years back.

Response from Patagonia
May 18, 2022

We're sorry to hear this shirt isn't holding up for you! We'll get in touch about options. Thank you for sharing this review!

May 1, 2022

Wish it came in a v neck

Crew neck is a little tight on me. V neck would be nice and fit more people. Overall, I love it

May 1, 2022

Awesome piece

Great midlayer or heavierbase layer. The slim fit large fits great

April 2, 2022

Light weight , size does run smaller

This is light weight and if you sweat the water wicks of your skin keeping you warm and dry

March 23, 2022

Best base layer

I first purchased one of these shirts to try it out and now have 3. Great baselayer - I like the thumb latches on the sleeves to keep the cuffs in the rights spot when putting a layer on over top . Rarely notice or use them overwise. I wear as baselayer for alpine and nordic skiing in the winter and as a standalone for mountain biking in the summer... Read More. The fabric drys fast and doesnt really hold odor.

March 19, 2022

light and warm

Pretty big guy, I bought one and had it for a couple of days to test it out, wore to work, hunting, to play. Few weeks later I now have (7). I love them.

March 18, 2022

Excellent base layer

A terrific lightweight and warm base layer. True to size.

February 28, 2022

Does the Job

Ive been wearing the Capilene bottoms for years but I needed a top as well for frigid weather. The Capilene series keep you warm for sure. I alway go for the mid-weight density so I dont sweat afterwards. Great stuff!

February 27, 2022

Spot on!

Good fit, great base layer and snag free.

February 20, 2022

Good product but sizes run on small side

What's working is it helps keep you warm and what is not working is it is tight, could be like a loose fit. I would order next size up the next time.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2022

Thank you for submitting your review, Jerry. If that fit isn't right for you, please keep in mind that we're happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

February 19, 2022

Great base layer

Breathable base layer that works.

February 18, 2022

Top Notch Comfort and Warmth

On a professional level in a temperature range from 40° to 0° They will keep you warm and not restrict your movement or bulk you up. They are light weight flexible and durable, I hike on average 5-8 miles a day in moderately cold to cold weather and have not been let down by these yet, after many wash cycles no pilling or wear shown. I would highly... Read More recommend these thermals for the outdoor life in winter.

February 15, 2022

Great product fits well

As expected for Patagonia, this base layer is high quality and functions well.

January 27, 2022

Perfect comfort

I when I wear Patagonia capilene I never get to warm and I definitely never get cold! Patagonia is perfectly stylish, as well as extremely functional . I would recommend Capilene for everyone.

January 27, 2022

Great base layer

Just some awesome under layers

January 22, 2022

Great quality & perfect weight

It is thin yet warm, and the perfect weight.

January 18, 2022

Great Fit

This shirt is a truly "fitted" fit. At 6'3"/193# the size L is a comfortable close fit. I wear it around the house and to work out. I'd like the collar to fit a bit closer to my neck, but overall I love it. The fabric is prone to snagging (DO NOT WASH WITH ANYTHING VELCRO) but I own four of them and love the shirts. Bought ... Read Moretwo for each of my sons and they love them as well.

January 17, 2022

Excellent all around

Love Patagonia base layers. They are versatile and last forever!!!

January 17, 2022

Light-weight and warm

This is a much slimmer fit compared to an R1 Air of the same size. Because of that I only wear this as a base layer.

January 15, 2022

Material Easily Snags

Great fit, and warmth. However, I'v only warn it twice and have several snagged threads all over the front of the shirt.

January 14, 2022

Nice feel

Use on my winter hikes, very good base layer with thumb loops that allow wrists to stay warm.

January 10, 2022

Versatile.

Very good fit, easy to layer with, breaths well, cleans fresh, repeat.

January 6, 2022

Warm great base layer.

Good fit wicks sweat well when working as ski patrol.

January 5, 2022

grreat

this was a great gift

December 24, 2021

Comfy but Not Tough as Nails

I love the Mid Weight Capilene fabric...it fits snug, soft against the skin. Great for strength training in the gym or wearing around the house/farm in cool weather. One pick...the fabric will snag on a rough edge and strands of fiber will loop. Cut the loop and you got yourself a hole. So great garment, but not tough as nails.

December 15, 2021

Comfortable but short sleeves

Sleeves come a little too short.

December 14, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Exactly what I was looking for as a warm layer to wear under a sweater or fleece. Perfect for warmth and comfort

December 8, 2021

The best garment to own

Super light, comfortable and warm. Never feel cold with this as a base.

December 7, 2021

Outdoor concert at 50F

Wore the shirt and corresponding bottoms underneath blue jeans and a good heavy cotton long sleeve shirt and a light windbreaker to a 4 hour concert. Temperature was 50F. Very comfortable.

November 30, 2021

Really good base layer, but easy to damage fabric

I really love the fit of the shirt, and it works well as a base layer. My main concern in only problem, is the fact that it gets runs and snags in it very easily and I have many holes in my shirts

November 24, 2021

Runs a bit small

Runs small.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2021

Hello Skipper! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit wasn't quite right. With that said, the crew is a slim fit so its designed to fit closer to body. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 21, 2021

Very Comfortable

I wear this underneath other shirts for extra warmth. I like the fit and feel. It has been good to have with me on camping trips and hiking.

November 16, 2021

Most Versatile Long Sleeve Shirt Ever!

This is THE long-sleeved shirt/layer that is my favorite! I use it as a Dynamic long-sleeve t shirt as well as the perfect layer for cooler seasons. The thumb handles to use under other layers are invaluable. Have all three colors. My favorite Patagonia item.

November 16, 2021

Nice base layer

My husband paired this with the R1 Daily Jacket to play tennis in 50 degree weather and was comfortable and warm.

November 15, 2021

Super good.

I was not given the option to go and pick this up from the store in Santa Monica... I need it asap.

November 11, 2021

Best Long Sleeve Under Layer Ever

The most versatile piece of long sleeve under layer/ T-shirt Ive ever owned, seriously. Loved the original Green/Grey. The shirt does not absorb odor, yet keeps in warmth and moisture escapes perfectly. Liked so much order the grey and green shirts as well. Would not hesitate to recommend whatsoever

November 7, 2021

Great shirt

Very comfortable. Breathes well. Great purchase.

November 7, 2021

Nice

Great as a base layer for downhill Skiing

October 31, 2021

Soft, warm, a bit tight at the shoulders

This material is soft, slightly thicker than a T-shirt, warm if under a shell or shirt. Smoother / thinner than Thermal weight.. so easier to slide under casual-wear layers . Haven't gotten it soaked yet, but slept in in 3 nights and still feels clean and new. Read reviews, sized up to L and glad I did. The lats / shoulders / chest are cut a b... Read Moreit tight, the Large is a little snug behind the shoulders and perfect everywhere else. 5'9'' / 44'' chest / 175lbs lbs. Love the thumb loops when sliding into a LS T-shirt, love the long waist for staying tucked in. I'll be wearing this a lot this Fall, will update later

October 30, 2021

Change in quality/ warmth

My dad has 2 of these from a few years ago. Construction has changed and this one isnt as thick/warm as his are.

Response from Patagonia
November 9, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Capilene® Midweight Crew Neck Shirt We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

October 8, 2021

great shirt

I have not purchased a midweight for some time. I really like the newer fabric and weight, an great shirt when the R1 is more than you need.

September 2, 2021

warm and comfortable

The product is excellent; it fits well; high quality I am very confident in all the products I have purchased over the many years. They work as advertised and are a good value

September 1, 2021

New weave pattern, same great shirt

Very versatile piece, more form fit and snug on arms then previous generations

August 14, 2021

Excellent!! Consider ordering a size up

I usually wear L with all Patagonia (regular fit) Patagonia. All slim items- I size up! This one is a great piece and no difference. I ordered in xL and its awesome

August 6, 2021

Buyer beware - smolder blue is dark navy

There is no smolder in that there blue. A more accurate color description would be black. I hope this isnt intentional because they are having a problem selling the dark colors.

May 14, 2021

Just right!

I cant say enough about mid-weight Cap Crew! These are my pajamas, my go to first layer, and comfortable enough to wear from the 60s down to the frigid temps.

April 6, 2021

Nice baselayer

Im 63, 185 and have a slim/athletic build. The Large fits well. Sleeves are long enough though the body could perhaps be a bit longer for my height. The material is warm but also pretty thin for a mid weight piece. Works well as a base layer. Works well alone so long as there isnt a cool breeze - cuz its gonna cut right through it.

April 5, 2021

High Quality Material

Purchased my last Capilene Midweight Crew ~10 years ago and loved it. This one is just as good, if not better. Expect to have this one for 10 years, too.

March 18, 2021

Base layer

Love it

March 7, 2021

Perfect layer

This is the perfect base layer for temps from 30 - 65

March 2, 2021

Comfortable

Snags very easily.

February 26, 2021

I like this shirt, so will you.

This is the most comfortable non-cotton shirt I own.

February 14, 2021

shirt that feels good

I bought one of these from a clearance rack 2 years ago. Liked it so much, I found it in your catalogue on line and bought 2 more.

February 7, 2021

Love the thumb loops

I like the slim fit and the thumb loops, for casual wear this makes it quite cozy even when worn by itself. As a baselayer it does great, used it with a Nano Puff when it was below 30 outside and was quite comfy. I love the feel of the way this is woven, though be warned if you have cats that their claws will easily cause pilling (or catch threads... Read More). I wish it came in more colors, love the versatility.

January 26, 2021

looks great but sizing is weird

love the company and what they stand for. but everything here runs big. I'm 5'9", average build and usually wear a medium but I'm always a small with Patagonia. However, some smalls are tight at the armpits, like this one. Mediums are way too wide.

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2021

This is great feedback! The Midweight Crew is a slim fit, which is likely why it feels tight. You'll want to check each product to see if they're "slim" or "regular" or our most generous "relaxed" fit for guidance. Feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you'd like any measurements.

January 21, 2021

Fantastic

Already love this shirt. Amazing technology. Runs a little tight as it should. Keeps you dry and warm but then doesnt make you sweat when you warm up. Highly recommend. Terrific quality. Designed extremely well.

January 21, 2021

Not as good as previous versions

I bought this same layer back in 2016/17. It's one of my favorite baselayers. Perfect fit, comfortable, looks good, and works for any season. I figured I should buy more since I like it so much. However, the newer model feels much different. It feels a bit thinner, but the main issue is the sizing. It's much smaller. Very tight around the... Read More armpit area. I'm 5'8" 160lbs so I'm not big. If you're around that size I would recommend sizing up. It's still a good layer and I will use it, but had I known this beforehand I wouldn't have bought it

December 30, 2020

Go larger if you have an athletic build

Keep in mind if you are a broader athletic build you will need to go a size up

December 7, 2020

Excellent

Great product. Keeps me warm all day at work.

December 5, 2020

Basic layer

Great fitting and warm

December 4, 2020

Comfortable

The fit is a tiny bit snug but in a good way. The feel of the fabric is very comfortable and the thumb loops make it nicer. I've been wearing it on and off alternating with the warmer weather capilene long sleeve.

November 23, 2020

Warm and comfortable

It fits nicely and its comfortable! I like hiking in it as a under layer.

November 22, 2020

Very good quality and fit.

Good quality, good fit. Keeps me warm on cold days.

November 18, 2020

I wore this out and bought a second

From the first snow (Central Colorado) through June, this bad boy is on my body every day I'm outside in the hills. Hot on the skintrack? Strip down to this, it looks fine. Sunny, but breezy up there at 12,000? Put it under the Pati Triolet shell, you're comfy. Mid-winter powder laps with a high of 5? Basically a requirement.

November 17, 2020

Nice addition to not having to wear outerwear like a jacket!

I have about five of these base layers....however, no matter when or where I shop I can't get a large in camo. The store where I shop or online is ALWAYS out of size large every since 2019.

November 16, 2020

Very nice and warm, a little delicate

Nice fabric, comfortable and warm. The fabric started to show minor damages and broken wires in the knit after only few months of use.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Thanks for the review! We're sorry to hear that your Capilene Midweight Crew Neck Shirt is not holding up as you hoped. We included care instructions below just in case. Otherwise, if you're unhappy with your purchase you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Machine Wash Warm, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Cool Iron, Do Not Use Fabric Softeners.

November 10, 2020

nice piece

this product is perfect i love the fit moves well when you move I have worn this shir tfor three mtb rides in damp cold pennsylvania fall daysthis month.

November 5, 2020

supere warm

works well for me, fits well and gives me warmth

November 4, 2020

Warm but doesn't feel good on the skin.

I like the warm of this but I wish it is more soft like merino wool blend. Also just like other patagonia cloths for me, small is a little too small and medium is too large.

November 1, 2020

Comfortable & Warm

An added perk is the loop in the collar for hanging purposes.

September 4, 2020

Excellent Lite Weight Shirt

I'm very happy with the quality of this shirt!

July 13, 2020

Super Warmth

Super warm to wear

July 9, 2020

Super Warmth

Super warm to wear

June 25, 2020

Capilene® Midweight Crew Neck Shirt

Simply, the best.

June 17, 2020

Fits well

Fits well. Wicks sweat keeping me dry all day.

June 17, 2020

Fantastic product. Super warm. Well made... What more could I ask for?

Bought this for hiking the pct. It was what I wore at night and on cold mornings. Amazing product... Nice fit. Solid quality. A+ would recommend.

May 12, 2020

almost perfect - with a little tlc.

I like this shirt! Fit, fabric and features are all good. The thumb loops are handy for layering without the sleeves pulling up.I did need to problem solve one issue. The shirt maintained a sour smell after washing. Pre soaking in 1 cup white vinegar before washing solved that problem.

April 19, 2020

Great shirt

Ideal as a base layer for exercise in colder conditions. I wear it under a Houdini jacket when mountain biking in cold mornings.

March 29, 2020

Thinner than older versions, uncomfortable seams

I was really surprised when I bought this shirt how the quality has gone down from capilene layers I bought maybe 6 or 7 years ago. It is thinner, which I could potentially look past - I could just get the heavyweight if I want warmer. However, the real problem for me is that for a slim fit base layer, I find the stitching at the seems, particularl... Read Morey in the back to be very uncomfortable. It's too trim a fit to wear another layer underneath. It just feels like a lower quality product than I'm used to from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Daniel, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the crew neck. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 22, 2020

Great fit and comfort!

Great flyfishing layer under a windproof wading jacket, for those magical evening hatches.

March 13, 2020

Different than previous year

I want to start by saying that I love and support Patagonia and its products and mission. Ive also loved this midweight crew baselayer in previous years and I own three others that are fantastic. The most recent version (I purchased end of season sale in February 2020) is far different than previous years and not for the better. The previous versio... Read Morens were made up of these little square bits of fleece (I think) on the inside. So, so comfortable. I believe this is still how they design the thermal baselayer but the midweight was a bit lighter. In any case, they no longer do this with the midweight. The new version is much lighter and uses a rougher material that reminds me of what they use on the back portion of their backpacks, which is extremely uncomfortable and damaging to clothing it rubs against. Since it is lighter than previous versions it also does not fit as snuggly so I might recommend buying a size down. Id recommend that Patagonia goes back to the previous style because Im not a fan and wont continue to buy the midweight as it is currently produced. Otherwise you guys keep doing what youre doing. We need great companies that care about people and the environment in these times.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thank you for your feedback Gregory. We did change the pattern for the fall 2019 line, we understand how disappointing it can be when a favorite product of yours is revised. We truly appreciate the feedback on the revisions and we'll pass it along to our design crew.

March 3, 2020

Great quality, all day warmth!!

I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a quality base layer. I frequently use this shirt for skiing and hiking. It's mid-weight is perfect for colder weather because it is easily layered but definitely warm enough on its own under a t-shirt and my coat. On warmer days its breathable enough that I have enough of a layer on to st... Read Moreay warm but not over heating! The matching mid-weight bottoms are just as amazing.

March 1, 2020

A better product.

This is lighter than the product from last year but that makes it even more versatile in my opinion (and I have three of the 2019 version). The cuffs are not as loose. The shirt functions as a second skin, just awesome.

February 25, 2020

Good fit for long arms, but it stinks and the fabric is pilling

Fits my long arms well. Unfortunately it holds odors and stinks almost as bad as previous Capilene shirts I've had. I had hoped they had gotten better but I guess not. Also, after only wearing it maybe 10 times the fabric is starting to pill badly along the right arm.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Hi Eli, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Capilene, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at wornwear.com.

February 16, 2020

Light but very warm

Perfect weight and fit

February 13, 2020

Great but for the tags

For whatever reason in the last year or two Patagonia has started putting 3 tags on the left side of the shirt near the waistline. This is fine if you are not tucking in the shirt but in the PNW im using these as a baselayer and tucking them in and then the tags create a hot point. I can and do scissor them off but that will sometimes leave a littl... Read Moree nub that also rubs. No clue why Patagonia has made this design decision as they arent making it w/their capilene Air Crews, for example. Anyway, great shirts, i wear them all winter long but the tags knock off a star.

February 1, 2020

BEWARE, full revision from 2019. Not the same.

This new midweight is entirely different than the previous generation, nothing is the same. Sizing is off, you must size down if you’re looking for the same fit as before. Collar is wider and ribbing width is smaller providing less coverage and a looser fit around the neck. The weight is less and the fabric is softer, less smooth synthetic and a mo... Read Morere plush feel. I was very disappointed to receive shirts that were completely different than what I absolutely loved in the previous generation. At this point, I can say I prefer the previous generation. On the upside, this model has more stretch and utilizes the pattering of the successful capilene air- hopefully making for a better functioning base layer. Will report back once I get my smaller sizes in the mail!

January 7, 2020

Perfect

The best first layer ever. It is SUPER light and I love the thumb holes in the sleeves. Def recommend

January 5, 2020

Excellent product!

Excellent product!

January 3, 2020

In general the sweater worked

In general the sweater worked fine. But it was a bit itchy when had it as first layer direct contact with body. I would prefer more stretch in the fabric. This product doesn’t match the super quality as Patagonia normally have.

December 31, 2019

The capilene shirts are by

The capilene shirts are by far my favorite and have been for a long time. Im noticing that this years version doesnt fit the same and the material seems thinner. I hope they will go back to the slightly thicker feel of the 2019 version. Still love the product, just wish it was like last years version

December 30, 2019

Better than the (very) old I had

Better weight. Prefer the sleeveless T to the old camisole.

December 30, 2019

mid-weight+plus

this is the best mid-weight layer I have found … please keep it in stock

December 30, 2019

Quality products

My purchase was a gift. The size chart was accurate. The quality of the products are outstanding.

December 29, 2019

Loved it so much had

Loved it so much had to buy it in two colors

December 29, 2019

Great product

Purchased for son as a base layer for xcountry skiing. While growing up and competing in ski racing it’s all he wore. Now he is a dad and getting his children out skiing and is in need of extra warmth. I think they are a little pricey but hopefully we’ll worth it.

December 25, 2019

No nonsense. Super comfortable and

No nonsense. Super comfortable and does the job perfectly well

December 25, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

December 24, 2019

even better

I finally bought a second mid-weight capilene because I use it so much and this one is even better than my old capilene.

December 23, 2019

solid, comfy

I already have one of these base layers but wanted a second one that does not smell like an automotive shop. This new one will NOT be worn to work. These things are so warm, and the have the smooth outer surface so they slide easily under other layers and jackets. There is not many things more annoying than a base layer that sticks to everything yo... Read Moreu wear over it. As for sizing; I always order large base layer tops from Patagonia as I do not like the shrinkwrap feeling of skin tight clothes. I am 5'10", 170 lbs and the large fits me perfectly.

December 19, 2019

warm, comfy goodness

This is the second Capilene I've owned and it feels like the fabric has changed slightly. The older version feels much more like a Tee shirt cotton, while the newer one feels like synthetic. But, that's a minor tactile thing and overall I'm happy with the shirt with one exception. It tends to ride up your torso as you wear it. So, yo... Read Moreu're pretty much constantly tugging it down, especially in the front. But, with all that, it's a warm and cozy shirt. I wear it around the house on these chilly mornings, and under my coat as a single layer in ~30° and have not felt cold. Highly recommend getting one as a base layer.

December 10, 2019

Freaking love this item

Comfortable breathable perfect layer or on its own! Super flattering (in black). Super love. I also bought mid weight capilene tights. This material is bomb!!

December 7, 2019

Midweight capilene crew

Beautiful fit, nice shirt.

December 5, 2019

Patagonia rocks

From 40. Years experience it just gets better and better!

December 5, 2019

Superb

Well made, fits well, color is neutral enough it can be worn as shirt or base layer--a new favorite.

December 3, 2019

Camo pattern is great, vintage

Camo pattern is great, vintage look, great subtle colors. I'm 6'-2" 190lbs ordered a medium but was a bit tight in the lats. Returned for large, just right. Wear as base layer hiking, hunting, fishing and in the gym. Wicks well only glitch is slight odor from shirt if you sweat.

December 2, 2019

Great for high output activities

This is a nice mid-weight shirt that's excellent for when you're moving and generating heat. I've been using it for running in the high 30's with a Peak Mission jacket over it and it's an effective combo as far as warmth and breathability. I wouldn't use it as a layer in any activity where I'm not involved in vi... Read Moregorous movement, because the weight of it doesn't insulate that well just on its own. The build quality is wonderful and detailed, and the thumb loops are a nice touch.

December 1, 2019

Not what they used to be:-(

in 2015 we were getting ready for a trip to Alaska. We purchased the light weight Capilene base wear. The were 100% Polyester and had the feel of silk. When I went to place this latest order, I found the light weight products had wool in them which my wife is allergic to. So, I purchased the 100% polyester middle weight only to find them to be of t... Read Morehe same texture as a cheap t-shirt. Yea, they may well do the job, but they're not the same. Before I recommended your product, Now it will be with reservations.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that the new design is missing the mark for you. We appreciate your comments about this and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us since you aren't satisfied.

November 30, 2019

Awesome gear.

Awesome gear.

November 30, 2019

shows extreme signs of wear after first use

I was very excited to purchase a new Midweight Capilene to add to my winter pack, alongside my 6 year old capilene. The fit was great, which was much appreciated. The sleeves were nice and long, and the shirt was long enough to stay tucked. The problem was the signs of wear the shirt showed after the first day of normal wear. The chest area showed ... Read Moresigns of picking, piling, and general signs of abrasion. After paying so much for this shirt, I was very disappointed at the quality of material. Very poor quality, especially compared to my older Capilene.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2019

Hi William! Thank you for your feedback on this item. We're very sorry to hear about the pilling, picking, and signs of abrasion that you experienced. That is definitely frustrating after one wear. Of course, you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that item if you'd like. In the meantime, I will go ahead and pass your comments along to the appropriate team. We might recommend checking out the [Men's Capilene Thermal Weight Crew](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-thermal-weight-crew/43647.html?dwvar_43647_color=BALB&cgid=root), as it is a bit more durable than the Midweight Crew.

November 27, 2019

Warm and dry

Solid layer, dries quick after getting sweaty.

November 25, 2019

Nightshirt replacement

I bought this shirt because an old midnight capilene shirt had become threadbare. I like the new fabric. Great night shirt.

November 24, 2019

Not quite as expected.

I have several of the lightweight Capilene crew shirts and expected this to be a bit heavier weight and it is, but the texture of the fabric is very different. It would be a perfect midweight, but the texture of the fabric is fairly rough, which is not something I want as a base layer - ever! It seems that nobody with a sense of touch ever tried th... Read Moreis shirt on or they would never have used this fabric. It's tolerable, but disappointing from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2019

Hi Allen. Thanks so much for your feedback. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fabric as smooth as the previous ones. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Don't hesitate to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that midweight crew if you were looking to do so and haven't already.

November 24, 2019

Shirts

Nice quality.

November 23, 2019

This shirt is SO oversized

This shirt is SO oversized and wide at the bottom. It’s my first time being disappointed in a Patagonia product.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hi Katy, we're really sorry the sizing isn't what you expected! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

November 22, 2019

Good shirt

Im 5'11 and 190 and was concerned about the fit being too large with the xl. I am glad i didnt get the large unless your looking for form fitting.

November 21, 2019

R-1

Had to replace my 4 year old R-1, still my favorite wearable piece of gear. Wish the new version still had the thumb loops.

November 21, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 18, 2019

Capilene® Midweight Crew

I have a few of these from nearly a decade ago. The material has changed a lot and so has the sizing. For me, the fit on the medium is a lot larger than it was. It's possible that my existing pieces have shrunk over the years too. Overall, it's a great product.

November 18, 2019

Favorite Layering Piece

I own a few of these and they work great with the swinging temps of Fall. Don't wash this item with denim or towels- just don't.

November 13, 2019

Super warm, great fit

The XL fit perfectly for me: 6’ 4”, 200 lbs. Warm, simple, and not bulky. Sleeve length is good. After wearing it for one day, I bought the other two colors, just so I’m not wearing the same thing every day!

November 11, 2019

Winter

I wear my long underwear everyday for the hole winter and yes I have more than one pair.

November 10, 2019

Warmer than it looks

This crew top fits great and even though it looks and feels lightweight it is a nice warm mid layer. Wore it in 30 degrees temps under a hoodie and felt comfortable.

November 5, 2019

Great fit, great birthday present

My husband is pretty picky about his clothes, especially his athletic wear. He loved it!

November 4, 2019

Good Stuff!

This is my first purchase with Patagonia online, and so far I'm nothing less than impressed! The material is great for it's intended purpose as a wicking/warming layer, and fits like a glove. To anyone thinking about purchasing; do it.

October 30, 2019

Warm and comfortable

This is the best thermal ive ever owned. I bought 2 from the store but loved them so much i ordered 2 more online soon afterwards. I love their fit and would definitely recommend to everyone.

October 25, 2019

Quality product.

Quality product.

October 17, 2019

Perfect fit, warm and comfortable

Baselayer is comfortable, keeps you warm and fits perfectly under winter clothes.

August 10, 2019

Best Mid or base layer sirt for active lifestyle!!

I love this shirt and the camo color is awesome!!! Great piece of kit for everything I do (trail running, mountain biking and every day use).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches