burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Strider Pro Shorts - 5

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 360 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Strider Pro Shorts - 5

4.3/5
Kinda Large
November 12, 2022

Pretty awesome but liner shrinks.

Shorts were fantastic first run, they are super light weight and the pockets are secure enough were my key fob stayed put. After a wash following the tags instructions the inner liner shrank quite a bit. If you dont mind pressing pickle its fine but possibly try going up a size or cutting the liner out and wearing underwear. Still great and would r... Read Moreecommend giving them a shot.

November 11, 2022

Awesome shorts

I have never had shorts as good as these for running (or even just lounging around). Can’t recommend them highly enough.

November 8, 2022

Favorite Trail and Road Shorts

Nearly everything about these shorts is fantastic! I have four pairs in different colors that I switch out every week for long forest runs and pounding pavement. The side pockets are perfect for carrying during the run and I can carry my wallet in one when I'm doing my run commute too with my phone fitting snuggly and comfortably in the back z... Read Moreipper pocket. 1 Issue: You will need to send this in for repair to replace the rear zipper. I am about to send two of my shorts in now to get repaired, unfortunately. I had my first pair fixed with a much better zipper that has no problems now but since I have two more going in soon this is definitely a design issue. Can't wait to get them back, hopefully sooner than later b/c two shorts is too few for my commutes. I'd give these 5 stars for sure if the rear zipper didn't need repair.

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2022

Hey Malcolm, thanks for the review. We're glad to hear that you like these shorts. The zipper issue you mentioned is definitely a concern and we'll notify our product team of this feedback. We're happy to hear that you're using our repair program to keep your current shorts in rotation. If you run into any other issues, do not hesitate to [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

October 29, 2022

excellent tech shorts

I originally ordered a medium which I wear in almost ALL manufacturers. but I found the lining to be far too small, so I sized up to large. the mesh lining is perfect but the rest of the garment has a flowy relaxed fit. I really enjoy these shorts even though I found size discrepancies. My favorite details are the pockets and the unique cut of the ... Read Morelegs.

October 18, 2022

very versatile shorts

I have used these shorts for a long time now on everything from lifting weights, to swimming to running 100k. I really do enjoy wearing them, they are very durable and the pockets carry a lot. From my perspective, to make them perfect, the pocket should be more similar to a running belt (like compressport freebelt pro), going all the way around, ma... Read Moreking them more versatile for carrying a waterbottle or an ekstra layer when running. And because I do some rolling in the gym, the back zipper can be quite annoying at points, it would be great if it was located more to the side or removed completely.

October 11, 2022

Too constricting but great otherwise

Great shorts, love the way they look and feel on short, medium, and long runs. I even lift in them pretty often. The only problem is that I had to cut the liner out. Seems like most brands force you to do this and only offer shorter pairs of shorts with a liner. Unfortunately, the medium shorts fit my waist well but the liner is far too tight and a... Read Morellows for almost no breathability. I am not telling you to destroy your product, but I cut the liner out and wear performance briefs or compression shorts underneath, and absolutely love them now.

October 9, 2022

Great Running shorts

Great shorts but they do run a little small. Maybe go one size up.

October 4, 2022

Superb

Expensive but worth it, very comfortable with excellent pockets for keys/mobile etc.

October 4, 2022

Amazing Short, Runs Small

I got a size small since I normally wear a 30 or 31 inch waist for pants and shorts and thats what the chart says, but I had to exchange them for a medium because they were too small. The window for waist stretchability on this short is pretty small I think so I would go a size up from what the chart says. Once I got the fit right, I dont want to t... Read Moreake them off! So comfy, they look good and lots of little pockets!

October 1, 2022

Comfy and breathable

Nice, minimalist short, plenty of freedom of movement.

September 23, 2022

Excellent shorts, tight liner

The shorts are excellent except for the liner. After a few runs it gives a bit but would be better if it was less constricting. Not a major issue and aside from that, everything else about the shorts is perfect.

September 22, 2022

Excellent for, dryness, and great pockets

Love these!

September 20, 2022

Running

I run in these. You should put that in how the product is used.

September 14, 2022

Great running shorts, possibly a little small if you have a big seat and quads

Compared to previous generations of this short, the current iteration of these shorts is amazing. The side split is much bigger now and it's actually made of overlapping fabric layers, and this helps a lot to stop the shorts riding up. The brief liner fits relatively snugly; I had to get used to the feel of a snug fit, but once I did, I realiz... Read Moreed it works very well to protect skin from chafing. I love the multiple pockets and the exterior draw string. Truly, this is a well-designed running short. My one gripe is about the fit, and I admit this is probably idiosyncratic. I have a pretty big and muscular seat and quads; I bought the size indicated by my waist measurements, and because my thighs have a large circumference, there's a tendency for these shorts to ride up. So the sizing still feels almost too small for me. If you have a big seat and thighs, you might consider trying the next size up.

September 12, 2022

Excellent shorts

Have three pairs, will buy more!

September 10, 2022

very light and great quality

very light running short. Great quality.

September 8, 2022

Need a linerless version

The reason I kept buying these is they have more pockets than any other walking/running short on the market. What I hate about them is the liner--it's insanely constricting and definitely unnecessary. Patagonia needs to take a page from Mack Weldon & Bamboo Avenue: make a linerless version of these shorts.

Response from Patagonia
September 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Patrick; it's immensely helpful to our design team. For an athletic short without a liner you might take a look at the [Terrebonne Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-terrebonne-shorts-10-inch/24690.html?dwvar_24690_color=BLK&cgid=mens-shorts). Please let us know if we can help you find something that will work better for you!

September 8, 2022

Good and bad

The good news is they are the fastest drying shorts I own. I get brutally sweaty on runs and the Strider shorts wick the sweat away better than any other shorts I have. By the time I walk from the trail back to the car I am dry. also great for treadmill runs which are even sweatier. The zippered pocket in the back is good for only a key and isn&#... Read Morex27;t super accessible during a run anyway. The side pockets barely fit an iphone pro and likely would not fit a pro max. When I say fit though, I mean just fit to hold. It's so close against your body that you get a million butt pics and it stopped Strava 3x mid run.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2022

We appreciate your review, Chris! Hope you can find a spot for the phone in your running vest or armband. Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

September 6, 2022

I usually wear small in

I usually wear small in most other brands. Sizing up to medium in these was a great choice. Great fit. Solid construction as always

September 6, 2022

I have 4 pairs

These are great. I have 4 pairs now. I like the cut. They hold up. I canoe, work out and swim in them.

September 5, 2022

Very comfortable

Consider sizing up, if youre not a skinny person

August 25, 2022

On time and to spec

I got the shorts delivered within the timeframe specified with plenty of updates to advise on the progress of the delivery which I appreciated. The shorts fit well, are comfortable and are exactly what I was looking for.

August 24, 2022

Perfect for long distance running

This is my second pair of M's Strider Pro and I love them. I have used them for long distance running becaus of the good fitt and funktionalety. I really like the pockets perfect for gels, phone, wallet and keys and even the M' s houdini jacket sice M.

August 18, 2022

My favorite trail running shorts!

I love these shorts; they are my go-to shorts for long-distance runs as they fit perfectly and I never have any chafing issues with them as I do with many other shorts on longer runs. I own quite a few pair. Highly recommended!

August 10, 2022

Comfortable and forgettable, in a good way

These shorts fit comfortably and looked good, in short they just worked. I find that the best gear are the items you just don't think about. I have some shorts that I have to adjust frequently when running, or rub a little here or there, so you are always conscious of them.. these aren't those. I used this pair so often that I actually wo... Read Morere out the material on the inner thighs. I liked them enough to try to fix them and sent them back to Patagonia for repair, totally understanding that they may not be repairable (thin material). Patagonia let me know that they weren't repairable, but went the extra mile and gave me a credit toward replacing them. Great shorts, great company.

August 9, 2022

Perfect Fit

These shorts wear as advertised. They are super lightweight, the fit is perfect, and the cut allows you to run unencumbered. I do 20 miles a week, and I have one rule for my running shoes, and my running clothes. I do not wan to know they are there. These are the third iteration that I have bought from Patagonia, and they are far the best. Many th... Read Moreanks, Rob

August 9, 2022

Good running shorts, could be better

I've had 4 pair of these shorts since they were released. The back zipper failed in 2 of them, but Patagonia's first rate return policy gave me replacements. The fabric of the outer short is light weight and water repellant. After a sweaty run in humid conditions they are not wet and soggy like some other running shorts. My two issues ar... Read Moree the fit and size of the stretch pockets. Like others have mentioned, the fit runs small and seems to change from year to year . The liner is especially tight and unwearable for me, so I I have cut the liners out. Its almost like they put a small size liner in a medium short. The stretch pockets themselves are fantastic and securely hold items with a great opening system. I just wish the front pockets were a bit longer or there was a lengthwise pocket across the front. It would be great to be able to put a .5 L water bottle in the pockets.

August 3, 2022

The material is very soft

The material is very soft and wrinkles quickly, beside this very comfy! Size runs small.

August 3, 2022

Super Comfy

They fit very well. I forget I am even wearing them. Needless to say I love them and would definitely recommend.

August 2, 2022

nice shorts

nice shorts, run a little small in the waist. the side pockets are a bit hard to access during a hike. nice split on the leg for longer stride/hiking up rocks, etc.

August 2, 2022

Amazing Shorts

These are fantastic. The liner is definitely snug around the butt cheeks but not to a fault. The outside seams on the liner are super comfy. The pockets are very large and dont bounce when full. Dry super fast. Im 5 foot 10 in and pretty thin. If you are a heavier person consider sizing up. I highly, highly recommend.

August 1, 2022

Workout Shorts

Shorts are very comfortable and perfect for workouts. My medium is a little smaller than a normal medium but I will be buying another pair for sure!

July 28, 2022

Something Changed

I've been using striders in three different renditions, but the fit is super off in this. The strider before this, model 24632, was absolutely superb. The liners went way down in size, the rise is super low, and the logo is wearing off after just a few washes. Despite these changes, the strider is still my go-to for running - I just wish the ... Read Moreolder style had a chance to hang on longer.

Response from Patagonia
August 2, 2022

We are sorry to hear our redesign of the Strider Pro Shorts missed the mark with you. Feedback like yours is extremely helpful for helping us understand what does and in this case, what does not work. Thank you so much for your helpful feedback.

July 27, 2022

Almost perfect

I've been through 3pairs...1st one my dog ate because I left trail snacks in one of the pockets...the next two are still cranking, except for one issue: the rear "phone" pocket zipper has blown out on both. Still functional, just don't trust it for a phone.

July 17, 2022

Nice little lightweight shorts

My favourite running shorts for warm days.

July 17, 2022

Great Shorts

The shorts do what they are supposed to and are accurately described. The length is perfect and the fabric is amazing! After 4 days of running in them they hardly even smelled. My only complaint is that the liner runs tight. Maybe it will loosen up with use. Next time I may go a size up, but I'm not sure how that will mess with the length.

July 11, 2022

Excellent

These were a gift for my husband. Perfect fit! He loves these shorts!

July 9, 2022

Love these

Barely feel like they are there. Pockets are good for money, cards, etc

July 7, 2022

Great shorts

They feel perfect and are super light. Very recommendable.

June 29, 2022

Love love love these shorts, but...

These are my absolute favorite running shorts ever! The fit is great for my preferences. The back pocket is perfect for how I like to carry my phone or credit card. Side pockets are great for car key or other small items. Five Stars EXCEPT... the inseam keeps tearing before I've had them for a year! And I don't run in the winter. I'v... Read Moree returned them twice for this. Thankfully Patagonia's returns process has been easy to use. I would probably buy them again with the expectation I would have to return them relatively soon.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2022

Hi David! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your shorts have ripped in the same place a few times. This is really disappointing and it's not the quality that we expect out of our gear. We're always happy to help with warranty return assistance. That said, we truly value this feedback and we'll share it with our design crew to keep in mind for future seasons.

June 25, 2022

Great updates

Bought these to replace a long favorite in the previous Striders. The drop pouches are somewhat strange looking but incredibly functional. They are big enough to fit a bar or gel, but also can fit a wallet or phone. Waistband design is great, and no problems with any range of motion in my legs

June 25, 2022

Kudos to the team at Patagoina! 9.8 out of 10!

Absolutely zero mental distraction around your shorts is a big deal as a runner. I have run several ultras in the strider pro 5 inch shorts without any chafing or discomfort related to my shorts. Design build perfection! Obviously deigned by a runner. Thank you.

June 17, 2022

Excellent running shorts!

Fit very well. Lightweight, breathable and quick-drying. Highly recommend!

June 13, 2022

Great shorts; small netting

These shorts are great: lightweight, short inseam, and easy to move around in. The fabric is much softer and smoother than the Baggies fabric, both in the shorts themselves and in the netting. I originally bought a pair in medium (5'9" ~ 170lb) and found everything good... except the netting was quite tight. The large end up being a litt... Read Morele baggier as a fit than I like, but they're much more comfortable and they still look and wear great.

June 4, 2022

Best running equipment ever!

I have been using these shorts for my daily runs for over five years now! They are very light weight and comfortable. They stay dry when its hot out and provide all the support needed with out chafing on long runs. I own five pair and constantly rotate to keep them clean and fresh. Original pairs are still in great condition with frequent wear and ... Read Morewashing. Highly recommend these shorts!

May 26, 2022

Perfect for running

I don't write reviews unless something is really exceptionally good or bad. These shorts are exceptionally good. I have been wearing them running and now don't like to run in anything else. Extremely comfortable, lightweight, cut such that they don't impede a running stride in any way. They also have some really great little pockets ... Read Morethat are perfect for quick access of running snacks and constructed in a way that you definitely wouldn't find on cheaper shorts. 10/10 for these. Perfect running shorts.

May 24, 2022

Best running shorts Ive ever had

Nothing more to add, get em.

May 21, 2022

Very comfy

My husband bought these shorts and they were too small for him. I gave them a try on my latest 12 mile run and I loved them! While they were a little big in the waist for me, it was nothing the drawstring couldnt fix. No chafing, super quick drying. Im 59 and 135 lbs for reference. Normally I wear a size 2-4 or small, so in my opinion these definit... Read Moreely run small.

May 12, 2022

Feels great

Soft, smooth, light. Feels great to run in or just lounge in

May 3, 2022

The Perfect Running Shorts

If I could only choose one piece of gear to run with, I would pick these shorts. I am very particular to what gear I rely on when I put miles in, and after 200 miles, I think I have a good idea of what these shorts are capable of. First, these shorts have the most comfortable waistband I have EVER come across, they fit loose on my hips but don&#x27... Read More;t fall off of me (even with full pockets and soaked in sweat). The pockets are unconventional, but they work so much better than I ever would have thought, I can literally fit a Houdini Jacket in the pockets... that's insanely useful and awesome for all sorts of weather conditions. Life isn't always sunny and 70, but these shorts hold true and make me enjoy every run.

April 29, 2022

Perfect shorts

Ive been running I these shorts for two years now, in all weathers. Perfect! Simplistic design, comfortable and problem free. The pockets are easy to use even with gloves, and hold and improbable amount of gear and nutrition, like self supported marathon amount of gear. I have never needed to use anti-chafe lubricants so I cannot address that issue... Read More seen in other reviews. The delicate zipper on the phone pocket seems like a weak point with frequent washing so I keep it lubricated and have had no problems. My go-to shorts.

April 28, 2022

Good ! Simple approach light, quick drying.

My first impressions for short trail runs. PRO These fit better than that first version I had. Liner is lighter and rides better. Leg holes cut better and stay off my legs. CON: if you are a pocket person, the pockets are not very big or comfortable enough if you have to carry a phone with you. So you will need a belt or vest on trails to stash tra... Read Moreil things like phone, lights or Houdin without frustration on long runs.

April 22, 2022

Good shorts, but not for me

These shorts looks great but I am of a bulky fit with large legs. They dont fit well for me. These shorts will work out for someone of a medium skinnier build with thinner legs. I do this the quality is there

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2022

We appreciate your feedback Jared! You may prefer our [Strider Short](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-strider-running-shorts-7-inch/24649.html). Please reach out if you'd like any assistance with measurements, returns or exchanges. We're happy to help!

April 20, 2022

Solid, lightweight running short

Love this short for trail running. Barely feels like I am wearing shorts at all. Two issues. The fabric is fragile; my four year old yanked on the shorts and easily ripped open one of the seams and tore a little hole in the cloth. So handle them with great care. None of the pockets securely hold a typical smart phone, so you have to get comfortable... Read More w yours bouncing up and down in either of the side pockets.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2022

Hi Scott, we're so bummed to hear that your Strider Pro Running Shorts produced a hole so easily. Your shorts are eligible for a [warranty return or free repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), so please feel free to begin either at your convenience.

April 20, 2022

Not for backpacking

This shorts may be good for trail running but not for thruhiking. They gave me rashes on the whole lower part of my back. And my buddy with the same shorts had the same problem. I do not recommend these shorts for thruhiking too many pockets who bunch up on your back where the backpacks sits.

April 18, 2022

Lacking in pockets

Purchased these for running, didn't love how basic the fabric felt, similar to old nike stuff - really lacking pockets, specifically for my phone. I dont understand why so few brands plan for cell phone pockets on men's running shorts. The zip pocket at the small of your back is slightly too small for current iphone models and the phone j... Read Moreust bounces endlessly in that location. Ended up returning the product due to poor fit and above mentioned lack of storage.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2022

We're sorry to hear these shorts didn't work for your needs. Thank you for this feedback, Christopher! Please let us know if we can help any further with that return.

April 18, 2022

Neat liner, comfy shorts!

Great technical shorts with a neat liner, not bulky and chafey. Pockets were a little strange for me, just wish they were a little more accessible.

April 12, 2022

The best running short

Strider pro is a running pants that are very comfortable to wear when running, dry quickly, do not absorb water.

March 30, 2022

Great running shorts.

Just got into running and these shirts are by far my favorite. Very supportive, light weight, fast drying.

March 25, 2022

Great running short for hot conditions.

The shorts breath well and last. this is my fifth pair. The pockets still don't hold a large cell phone, but they hold plenty of snacks, keys, etc. Over the years the sizing on these has gotten smaller, but they are still my favorite pair.

March 16, 2022

Great minimal short

I love these shorts! Im a cis woman (size 2/26) and ordered the XS. Fits me perfectly in the waist and a little snug in the thigh, so I imagine it could run smaller for men as other reviews suggest. Ive used these for the climbing gym as well as a Colorado Trail thru hike, so they're well-loved and thoroughly tested.

March 15, 2022

Love these shorts!

This will be my second pair of these shorts (my first pair has a longer inseam) and I cannot say enough good things about these shorts. These are perfect for warm-weather runs where you need to vent the heat. The face fabric is light but tough while the liner is super lightweight (but also durable). Sweating is not a problem in these shorts and the... Read Morey manage the moisture very well. I've read reviews that say these are great for hiking as well. I wouldn't hike in these, but I can see where some would, especially in hot climates. My only complaint about these shorts is that with the 5" inseam shorts, the volume in the internal liner feels a little small and cramped. I have a big butt and the liner feels a little tight. Not uncomfortable, but tight. This is a common problem I have with most running shorts and, for most, I can't wear them at all. So if you need a lot of volume in the liner, you may find these a little uncomfortable, but less so than most of the other brands.

March 7, 2022

The best

I have no idea how many pairs of these I have worn in the 7" length, but they are the best. I thought to try the shorter length, and my legs chafe with these. I'll exchange for the 7". Other than that, I love the versatility of these shorts. The pockets carry everything so well. I wish the zipper was more flat during my core work, an... Read Mored the fabric between my legs wears out after a year or so of a few runs a week. I like the underwear inside because it pulls into the creases at the top of my inseam and keeps my boxer briefs in place. Gotta manage the chaffing on these distances and crazy weather! I only need the draw string when I have filled the pockets full of gels. I wish there were better colors or patterns! Or at least tell me why these are the easiest colors to die into the fabric!

March 1, 2022

Lightweight comfortable shorts

I like the shorter length and the side pockets. Great for hiking, running, and just lounging around.

February 25, 2022

Really nice shorts, suggest sizing up

Great running shorts, pockets are very well done, fabric is excellent & lightweight. I disagree with the sizing calling these a regular fit, liner seems to run snug, but the exterior/ body of the short seems regular. Wish these were available in navy blue.

February 24, 2022

The best running short Patagonia makes.

I have tried other models and these have the best brief liner, and fit. Had to size up from previous pair. These run slightly smaller then the original version.

February 11, 2022

One of my favorite shorts

I absolutely LOVE these. They do run small, I would size up on the next pair I buy. Great stash pockets. Super light, and super quick drying.

February 5, 2022

Snug little guys

Seem like a good pair of running shorts. I'm not doing ultramarathons, so I don't really need the gel pockets, but still nice to have. Only problem is they run really small. Like, "I-can-tell-you're-of-judeo-christian-heritage" tight in the crotch. Size up gents, size up.

January 31, 2022

Expensive, but quality normally is

Excellent shorts, with fantastic pockets. Well made, only gripe is I wish the liner was 1-2 inches longer for squats and lifting. Nothing to keep me from buying them again

January 28, 2022

Tight liner

Great shorts, very lightweight. The liner for my shape is too tight and makes them go up a little in the inside. I think I will cut it off and use some boxers under. Will try a 7" model.

January 23, 2022

Good like baggie shorts only different

My legs & rump dont fit so well into skinny jeans. I like these shorts. Most definitely more form fitting. But thats the idea with athletic running shorts. Roomy to run , play tennis , squats at the gym or chill on the skiff.

January 17, 2022

Minimalist running short

This is a super lightweight, fast drying running short. Generally, I like them. My only gripes are that the side pockets could be a little deeper, the drawstring should be a thicker cord instead of a fettuccine thin string that could easily retract into the waistband. Also, the key loop is awfully difficult to get off your key once you fasten it (I... Read More had to wait until after I got home after a run to remove my shorts just so I could get my car key off it); this is a design fail. Were these things fixed, these would be a no-brainer running short.

December 27, 2021

Best Running Shorts

I have 4 pairs, love them.

December 14, 2021

My favorite short, hands down

I own both the previous gen Strider 7 and this current gen Strider 5. I really like both shorts, but I find myself consistently grabbing the 5, as it feels a little lighter and more free moving. Patagonia absolutely has the pockets nailed. All of the pockets are very versatile and they minimize bounce. I agree with some of the other comments that t... Read Morehe brief is tight, but at least all the goods stay secure and supported.

December 7, 2021

Not quality

I am a big time fan of Patagonia and usually never have issue with their products. Run around 30 miles a week, ordered these Feb 21. By July the inseam tore. It bums me out because it was due to the liner and chafing against my thighs. Im 210 and about 6ft. Dont understand why Patagonia insists on the speedo style liner when most men (and women) ... Read Moredont have a gap on their thighs. The shorts would be awesome if they just did away with the speedo liner and fixed up their inseam stich if

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, but we're sorry to hear these have been disappointing quality-wise. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss a return under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

December 6, 2021

Simply the best

Paying 70 bucks for a pair of shorts has always been tough to swallow, but these are simply the best, longest lasting, and most comfortable shorts for running around. On race day or for a long training run, these are always what I grab. The pockets are plentiful and the 5 inch length is perfect. I have owned pairs of these for years and they still ... Read Morelook as new as the day I bought them. Can't say that for some other brands of comparable price.

November 23, 2021

Best trail shorts available

These are my go to trail running shorts, mostly because of the excellent pockets where I can store my phone, gels, buff etc. Only thing to note is that if you plan to bring lots of stuff, you might want to go up a size. My first pair was size S, but I chose M for my second pair because they felt a bit tight when the pockets were full.

November 10, 2021

Favorite Running Shorts

Im 59, my weight fluctuates between 160-170 and I bought a size M. I own these shorts in 3 of the colors, and theyre my favorite running shorts ever. Theyre the perfect length for me, hitting mid thigh so theyre not too revealing while not being baggy at all. Ive run in them from easy 3 milers to long runs training for marathons, and they always ... Read Morefit my needs. The liner inside is soft and comfortable. Ive only had some chafing happen down there on 15+ milers, but once that happened I started wearing compression shorts under them on really long runs. Ive used the four side pockets for holding gu packets, my car keys, a credit card, headphones, and never had any issue with anything falling out. The back zipper pocket is perfect for holding my phone, and unlike a lot of other shorts, my phone doesnt bounce around hitting my lower back or butt. Wouldnt change anything about these shorts.

November 9, 2021

Best running shorts

Great storage. Liner is tighter for good support. Very lightweight.

November 8, 2021

New go to short

I love these shorts for big days in the mountains or long races. Enough stash pockets to carry all the nutrition I need, and even enough room to fit my handheld when it's empty.

November 6, 2021

The best

Best running shorts purchase ever.

November 5, 2021

Lightweight with tons of pockets

I finally had to buy new strider pro's. The ones I had finally lost all their elasticity. They still held with the draw string but I think they were at least 8 -10 years old so they held up. Previous ones were made of denser thicker material if that makes any sense. Like these light weight ones more. Hope they hold up as long.

November 2, 2021

Great shorts

I really like these - very quality and comfortable. My two complaints are the lack of fun colors and the very small pockets... it's very hard to find a spot to put my phone or keys.

November 2, 2021

My Favorite Short

I absolutely love these shorts. I just bought the navy pair and have been using the black pair over the last few years. I use these for everything. I wear them hiking, climbing, rafting, around the house, around school, out in town, running, sports, and literally everything. I've climbed mountains in them, road tripped in them, and loved the h... Read Moreeck out of them. I even challenged myself to wear them every day for a month in an effort to live more simply and see if they really were able to take on everything I do. The pockets that encircle the short are great for fitting everything you need (ie. keys, wallet, small phone, snacks, earbuds, etc.) and that is one of the best parts of the short because there's nothing taking up pocket space. My only complaint with these is the fact that when the pockets get stretched a little bit, the seams between the material and the top of the pocket breaks. It can still fit things, but it's not as enclosed. I'd actually love to see that flaw fixed, but am too loyal to the shorts to like them any less. Stoked to see where the navy ones take me!

October 21, 2021

Solid running shorts

I originally purchased the Strider shorts, but ended up returning them and getting these.. due these having a brief liner and zipper back pocket. These are basically the same short as the older version of the Strider shorts, and are incredibly comfortable/versatal. They fit me pretty great. I am 6'2", 210lbs, and have larger than averag... Read Moree legs. Given that these are dedicated running shorts, not a lot of stretch for mobility type movements, but they are intended for running.

October 21, 2021

Really good runners

After trying several different brands of running shorts, these are THE ONES! I started with the 7" striders and loved them so much I got the 5" strider pros. While I like the boxer lining of the 7", the mesh liner of these are comfortable and not restricting. The side slit enables full range of motion of the legs and there was absolu... Read Moretely no chafing of the inber thighs. They can be synched down nice and tight and don't fall down with a phone in the pocket (you would think that would be given but you'd be surprised!) They are super light weight, even when soaked with sweat. My go to run is 13 miles and these have been great on several of those so far!

October 1, 2021

perfect in all conditions

Wear these shorts all year round for training short sessions or longer days in the mountains. They are light, comfortable and have never chaffed my skin. Recently I ran the UTMB course (170km) over 4 days with a mix of rain and sun, and they just felt like a second skin. Even when wet, they are not soaked with heavy water, so you can keep running. ... Read MoreWhen it stops raining, the heat from your body dries them up even if it's not sunny. It's a great product that I also use when I go to the beach. That way, I need to pack less. Finally, the pockets on the side are useful. You can carry your phone (iPhone 8) in them and it does not bounce when you run. Good job

September 28, 2021

Comfort

Tried lots of shorts for ultras but this is the only pair that stay comfortable for the whole race. Usually you sacrifice airflow for everything staying where it should but not with these. My second pair and now my goto pair for the long races.

September 23, 2021

Non-stop chafe

Broke these shorts in with a 16-mile run. The net started chafing my inner thighs after just four miles and by the end, I was near tears. After my thighs recovered, the next week I went for a four mile run. Same issue. Even walking around town they chafe. I've never had shorts chafe like this before. I'm going to return them. It&#x27... Read More;s a real bummer, I was super stoked to buy these stylish lightweight shorts!

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2021

We're so sorry these shorts had such a chafing issue. Please feel free to send them back.

September 14, 2021

Great shorts for running

Does what it says on the tin. Do the job and are comfortable on long runs

September 10, 2021

Close to perfection with a fatal flaw

Love almost everything about these shorts. Lightweight, great fit, good pockets. Carries the largest iPhone easily. The fatal flaw is they chafe my inner thigh worse than any shorts ever. There is a Y-shaped seam that rubs like sandpaper. Even short runs leave me hobbling. No amount of body glide helps. I hoped washing the shorts several times wo... Read Moreuld soften the seam but alas no.

Response from Patagonia
September 20, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! We're sorry to hear about that. You're welcome to return them. You might prefer our [Men's Endless Run Shorts - 5"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-endless-run-shorts-5-inch/24870.html).

September 10, 2021

Quality short

As per other reviews opted for size up. Liner is small, short sits low. Works well for me.

September 2, 2021

Favorite Running Shorts

I use these shorts just for running, but they would be great for other things I'm sure. They are super light and breathable, which is what you want for running clothes. The small pockets around the waistband are great for keys and cards, but probably are not big enough for a phone. Overall I am satisfied with my purchase.

September 2, 2021

Exactly as it says on the label!!

This is what runners need. It is true to its size. I bought XS and fits good for a 30'' waistline. Fabric is light and absorbs sweat and keeps cool.

August 23, 2021

Most comfortable and interior liner is great

Full fills the reasons that I had the need to want

August 17, 2021

Great quality but be careful with size.

I am 5 8 with a waist size of 30. I have bigger upper legs than most and my legs do not fit that well into these shorts. Waist fit was fine though. I suggest mediums for those with muscular legs.

August 12, 2021

Fit well. Run well.

I've been after a pair of the Strider 5" for a while and these do not disappoint. With other brand running shorts you end up with a lot of excess material. These shorts fit true to size, snug yes, but these are 5" running shorts not boardies.

August 10, 2021

Seems like the Medium got smaller.

Seems like the Medium got smaller.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hey Trevor! Thanks for the feedback. The new version of these shorts is about a 1/4 of an inch shorter in the rise than the prior version. We're always happy to discuss garment dimensions prior to purchase.

August 9, 2021

Super comfy - run small

These shorts are super comfy, but def run a bit on the small side. I love Patagonia products, but I somehow fit in small, medium and large bottoms? It would be nice if the sizing were more consistent.

August 8, 2021

The lining is too small

The lining is too small

August 5, 2021

Brilliant!!!

Brilliant!!!

August 4, 2021

Perfect Summer Ultra Running Shorts

If you have the legs, you might as well show them off. The 5" is the ideal length for hot, summer runs in the mountains or in the city. The fabric cools quickly and ample storage all around. Highly recommended for ultra distance running.

July 31, 2021

Not for the well endowed

A very nice short, like incredible materials and construction. As usual though, like all previous iterations of this short, if you want the waist size in these shorts doesn't match the brief size. In other words men, if you are "average" or above, then you better have no shame. It's gonna be like a glam rock concert, aka: Battle... Read More of the Bulge.

July 26, 2021

Bad quality Clotth

A pesar de que Patagonia se caracteriza por hacer productos muy duraderos este no fue el caso. El short es funcionalmente muy bueno, el talle resultó un poco ajustado pero la calidad de la tela es muy mala, después de muy poco uso se rompió la costura en la entrepierna. Lo volvieron a coser en la tienda de Patagonia y al poco tiempo terminó desgarr... Read Moreándoselos la tela por desgaste por rozamiento también en la entrepierna. Es la primera vez que compro Running shorts de Patagonia y realmente duraron muy poco tiempo en función del uso, comparado con otras marcas. Una buena modificación seria que las costuras no las hagan justo en la entrepierna y a la vez en esa parte usar alguna tela un poco más resistente. Saludos!!

July 23, 2021

Versatile Running Shorts

These have become my go-to running shorts. I was a little concerned about initial perceived tightness of the internal briefs but this has ended up not being an issue. I utilize these for long runs and have had zero issues with chafing or sweat build-up. The pockets are multiple and positioned well. On a recent trip, I went from running to ocean swi... Read Moremming seamlessly. These wash out easily - even in a hotel sink - and dry quickly. Casual-wear appropriate too.

July 22, 2021

Sides falling apart

Bought two of these shorts this season, worked in them and ran in them, a good several hundred hours. I love them. They fit great, size is good for me. Little tight, but that helps to keep down chafing. Good airflow, helps keep cool. In my experience, I found the side flaps to be great, however, the stitching is too low on the leg, and limits stret... Read Morechability. And when they do stretch, the seams rip. The stitch on the side is coming undone on both pairs of shorts I bought. Did not expect this from patagonia. Either a higher, stronger stitch would fix this, more flexible fabric, or no stitch altogether. Either way, this current years version will not last longterm without maintenance. I LOVE the shorts, but this is a really big kink.

July 21, 2021

The best running shorts.

5'10'' 160lbs, these shorts fit perfectly! I had bought the 7in inseam right before this pair and they are great too, but I prefer the 5in on my longer runs. I don't really use the extra pockets on the side as I run with a water bottle waist pack or vest, but they did hold my airpods+case and a barely noticed them in the pocket.... Read More

July 20, 2021

Great short short

I bought these as an alternative for trail running, running the dog and long distance hiking (but in all fairness, they are my go-to summer sitting around and sampling bourbon short). The fit isnt too baggieand I like them more than Baggies. When working / training my Aussie, the side pockets are perfect for her treat pocket. And I find the liner s... Read Moreuper-comfortable. I sport the 5.which is too short for many guys.but for a comfortable active or at-rest short, they are my favorites. And sizing is perfectas I said I bought size Large; I have a 34 waist. Final testimony to this product: Im buying more!

July 20, 2021

Great Everyday Shorts

I love these shorts! Originally, I assumed they would have deep pockets, but they happen to be fairly shallow. My only complaint would be on those. Although it holds my phone and keys perfectly, it can be a bit of a struggle to get it in and out with ease. Overall, the material and feel is amazing and I would recommend these shorts to a friend!

July 19, 2021

Comfy fit

Great support as well as freedom of movement

July 12, 2021

Trail running perfection

These shorts are awesome for all mountain pursuits. I have always fantisized the freedom of running naked--these are the next best thing to that. (and far more socially acceptable) They are light and free and really protect and prevent chaffing on long hot runs. My only suggestion is to make one of the pockets a little larger to fit a phone or inre... Read Moreach.

July 8, 2021

Outstanding shorts, but definitely size up.

These shorts are just the best. Love the pockets and zip pocket, love the length, material and the weight. In every S-M-L sized Patagonia pants product I wear a medium, but the medium in these runs verrry small. Size up and you will be totally satisfied.

July 4, 2021

Runs small but light shorts

I usually wear medium in all shorts but these run small in waist and liner! Im 511 165lbs had to go up to large so liner would fit and waist just fits as not too big .. lightweight would recommend once you find your sizing

July 1, 2021

I live in these

Really I do. And so I've worn thru more than a couple of pair. These are a really well thought out redesign on something I didn't think could get any better. They do tend to get funky after a few days of sweating in them, but what doesn't? Guess I'll just have to take a dip in that stream.

June 27, 2021

Great Running Shorts

My go to long distance short! I now have four pairs.

June 27, 2021

All secure

Awesome product. Pockets are well built and theyre also big enough to hold a cell phone which I use for tracking/training/music. I feel secure knowing that what I put in those pockets wont poke or fall through. Liner is comfortable/doesnt chafe (yet). Fabric is cool and lightweight. And the drawstrings properly cinch so that the knot doesnt slip!

June 27, 2021

Do-everything Short

This shorts have a great fit and to really nice design. My new go to do-everything short.

June 21, 2021

Nice but not so robust?

I do really like these shorts but recently fell over whilst trail running and landed on my left hip on forest trails, the shorts now have a little hole in them which I was surprised at as it wasn’t a huge fall. So maybe not the most durable outer fabric.

June 16, 2021

Fathers Day gift for son

My son loves these shorts and they fit him like a glove

June 16, 2021

It works (road/trail)

This has become my go-to shorts for everyday road and trail runs. They work. I particularly like the pockets -- ample and secure enough for all the gels and keys I carry, secure yet easily accessible, and my iPhone 11 Pro fits in the rear pocket and doesnʻt bounce around. Quick dry is no joke. I live in a constantly humid rainforest, but I donʻt he... Read Moresitate to wash them, knowing theyʻll be ready to go in the morning. I wear shorts with a 3" inseam for road races, but otherwise, these are the ones I grab.

June 15, 2021

Nice shorts. Seem bit small

These are be of the few Patagonia running shorts with the brief rather than boxer brief liner. I prefer that as I honestly will often do a morning run, jump in the pool to cool off/de-sweat and then just bum around in the same shorts the rest of the day. Less laundry that way. Boxer brief liner shorts are not as comfortable like that all day. I w... Read Moreear a medium in almost everything from most brands (occasionally a small if there is vanity sizing and I want a slim fit). This is the first time Ive had to buy a large in anything in a long time - I guess maybe they are designed to be slight/really minimalist. And I suppose that might be ok if I ran and changed, but as I said above I guess I might want them a bit roomier if I wear them all day. Good short though!!

June 12, 2021

Relaxed and soft!

Relaxed and soft!

June 11, 2021

Nailed it with these!

Overall great utilitarian running shorts! Good length, 5 above my knee. Love the stash pockets for keys or dog treats. Will be getting another pair to put through the paces.

June 11, 2021

Great shorts lots pockets

Great shorts lots pockets

June 10, 2021

Perfect aside from one small detail

These are near perfect. Pockets are super minimal and just what I need. They keep keys and earbuds safe and jiggle free when on a long run. The back pocket is perfect for a gel pack or even a phone. One minor issue is the seam along the back. Theres a thin vertical strip that will irritate my skin to the point of cutting into my flesh if I use a ph... Read Moreone in it for runs 5 miles or more. Only reason its not a 5 star review. I have three pairs and always go to these shorts first.

June 9, 2021

Love the storage

Bin the running belt!

June 7, 2021

Best shorts

Best running shorts there are in the market!

May 31, 2021

Great fit, great quality.

Great fit, great quality. Will definitely buy more, already recommended to a friend.

May 31, 2021

They're still great!

I've been running exclusively in these shorts since 2017 and they've been fantastic. First thing I do with these shorts before I put them on is remove the built-in liner with a pair of scissors and pair with my Exofficio brief and they instantly become the most comfortable thing in the wild. It's not Patagonia's design fault. Bu... Read Moreilt-in liners might be ok for short runs, but you'll wish they're never there when you have to deal with a bloody chafing in your crotch area during an ultra marathon. I run in these shorts from 5k around my neighborhood to 100 miles in the mountains. I'm 5'9", 165 lbs, and wear a medium. To Patagonia, If you're going to adjust the back zipper pocket further in your next version, please don't make it smaller. I ordered these from REI in-store pick up and I was on the verge of returning them right at the store after I couldn't fit my phone (iphone XS about the same size as the iphone 12) in the back pocket in the fitting room. I just happened to show the cashier at REI the reason I was returning them and out of sheer luck I managed to fit the phone in after some effort. The version before that is so much easier. If you must update that zipper pocket, please make it bigger instead. Thanks!

May 23, 2021

Excellent shorts

Really comfortable, run perhaps a bit small.

May 19, 2021

Best shorts ever

I was a bit reluctant to buy a pair given the cost but after 6 months wearing it for running and even at home I ordered two more pairs. Won’t be buying any other short again.

May 14, 2021

Almost perfect.

I love the strider pro short. I have six pairs in different colors that I rotate through and they are my preferred running shorts. The reason I titled this as almost perfect is because on every pair of my shorts, holes are being worn on both the left and right inseam. I'm not sure if it's my thunder thighs or the way I run, but those seam... Read Mores rub together and wear out. Some of my shorts are a year old or less and have these holes. I'm fairly active, running 20-30 miles a week. Maybe that area of the inseam can be reinforced on the next generation of strider pros.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback, Bryan! Our product designers will absolutely take this into consideration for future iterations of these shorts. In the meantime, know that your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to us if you'd like [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return them!

May 10, 2021

Tinkering too much does not a happy camper make

Like many of Patagonia's initial good designs, this short has been over tinkered with to the point that it is a not as good as its predecessors. I've had two other earlier versions, both of which were great and worn for a marathon and a lot of marathon training. This pair is longer (by about an inch) and has a a considerably fuller cut. B... Read Moreut most importantly, the side splits on the outside leg are very long now. These, combined with the cut, result in a great deal of bunching in the inner leg when running, and contribute to inner leg chafing. Sorry Patagonia, but you should have left a really good design alone. I'd be hard pressed to recommend these, and probably will look to another brand for my next pair of running shorts.

May 5, 2021

Good shorts.

I would recommend this fine quality product. Materials and workmanship consistent with Patagonia standards. I would like to suggest a slightly loser fit and additional pocket zippers.

May 3, 2021

Nothing Wrong

These shirts fit perfectly, and are super light. The only thing Id recommend is going back to the side-cut to remove weight. Such a simple concept.

May 2, 2021

Tight fit

Probably should have ordered a large as this medium is a tight fit. I would recommend it order 1 size up.

April 29, 2021

Unbelievably comfortable to run in!

So comfortable, breathable and supportive in the right spot. Love these shorts had to buy 3 because they are so amazing! Feel awesome about them being made out of recycled plastic bottles as well. Thank you!!

April 29, 2021

Great running shorts, but SIZE UP!

These shorts are great. I use them for running and their comfy and seem like they'll be durable. 5 stars for sure, but only if you SIZE UP! I wear a M in all Patagonia products, but the Medium was tight in the waist, thighs, and the liner elastic was very uncomfortable. Exchanged for a L and all of those problems disappeared.

April 25, 2021

Complete shift from previous Strider Pro

Im returning several pairs of Strider pro shorts to a few different retailers. My wife and I both have previous year colors of this short, and have worn them for thousands of miles and many trail races. The shorts currently offered by Patagonia are sized so strangely. I ordered smalls, as I wear strider pro small shorts every week, and the new shor... Read Morets were so small they wouldnt clear my thighs. I couldnt pull them up without fear of tearing them. My wife got smalls to replace her other strider pro smalls, and she couldnt pull them past her knees. We both ordered mediums locally to try the next size up, and they fit like basketball shorts, with large gaps in the waste and several more inches in length, even ordering the same 5 length.

April 24, 2021

I am never taking these off my body

These are the best shorts that I have ever purchased, and I say that with every bone in my body. They are so comfortable and look great for any workout or casual walk downtown. They are the first thing I grab in the morning for my runs and they make running 10x better. I really recommend these shorts if you're looking to show off your thighs a... Read Morend want something long-lasting.

April 24, 2021

Just great

This is a great pair of shorts. Love them.

April 21, 2021

The very best

Just perfect Thank you Patagonia I use them for long distance walking The walk 50 miles and they are perfect

April 19, 2021

Excellent shorts

Very comfortable for long runs, lots of pockets for gels/phone etc will buy again

April 18, 2021

Inner Seam

I wore these shorts for my first marathon and they did well. But the inner seam in both legs has became busted. I'd say I've worn these for 150 miles when I first notice them failing. Pretty disappointed considering #1 the price and #2 that many of my other brand shorts are still functioning well. I also have the 7in striders and the same... Read More issue is happening.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2021

We're so sorry that the seams are failing on both of your Strider Pros. This is not the quality standard that we expect from our gear. Please feel free to utilize the Ironclad Guarantee so we can do a warranty inspection on both shorts and either get you a refund or gift card for both. To get started please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 17, 2021

Great, With Fatal Flaw

These are great shorts, they wick great, are comfortable, and the brief liner fits really well. The storage is excellent - the side pockets are perfect, and a phone fits in the back pocket just fine. However, these are not wearable for longer runs because of one silly design flaw - the little piece of string they put in the back, presumably for ha... Read Morenging up the shorts. This thing will rub against the skin in the small of your back, eventually tearing open your skin until you are bleeding. Cutting this piece of string out doesn't help, either - it's the attachment points that are doing the rubbing. I like these shorts enough that I still used them, but I would have to put a swath of KT tape on my skin at the friction point. I recently bought shorts from a different brand that were also great, and I realized that I was in a sort of abusive relationship with the strider pros for a long time, and was unreasonably happy to set them aside. I hate that these shorts are so close to being great. Because of one fatal (and totally unnecessary - why on earth did they think this hanger string needed to be there???) flaw, I cannot recommend them to anyone.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so sorry to hear how uncomfortable that piece of string became. We completely understand not wanting to use them any further seeing as how they're causing such discomfort. This feedback is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we appreciate it. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

April 16, 2021

Perfect Length and fit

I was unsure about which shorts from patagonia would benefit me, only meant to order one of these, but accidentally ordered 2. So far, in love with the fit, the length, the function and pockets along the waistband. A great short to run in.

April 16, 2021

Perfect running shorts

great, lightweight short for running!

April 15, 2021

Great product. Sizing and fit ok

The shorts are really light and comfortablele, i typiwear a size 30 or 31 pant so originally ordered the small and that proved to be a little too small and the medium was a little too baggy for my for preference. It may just be the way Patagonia fits, but for the most part skinny legs like mine dont do well in their boardshorts or running shorts

April 14, 2021

Excellent as always

Never an issue and love using this transparent and honest company

April 14, 2021

A little tweek

Not a fan of the brief liner, so I did a little alteration. I cut out the liner, and use a separate 5" compression liner. Works great! The pockets on these shorts are the best (!), and the fabric is light and quick drying.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches