Skip to main content

Protect the ocean so it can protect us

Our future is tied to the ocean. Its shared seas connect us through food, culture and sport. The home of amazing, abundant life, it’s also a powerful climate solution. Yet the practice of bottom trawling threatens to destroy this precious resource—bulldozing our ocean floor, undermining small-scale fisheries and deepening the climate crisis. Let's end this destructive practice, starting with an immediate ban in marine protected areas and inshore zones.

Learn more

Free Standard Shipping On All Orders

We do our best to process and ship orders within 1-2 business days (Monday-Friday, excluding holidays). We kindly ask that you choose standard shipping where possible to reduce our environmental impact. Thank you for your patience as we process heavier volumes during the holiday period.

Order before 13.00CET on December 13th for guaranteed on-time Christmas delivery with Standard Shipping.
Order before 13.00CET on December 18th for guaranteed on-time Christmas delivery with Express Shipping.

For more information on holiday shipping, please visit our Shipping Information Page.

Returns

Unsure of the right size? Can’t decide between jackets? Our Customer Service team is here to help—the less unnecessary shipping, the better. We have no time limit on returns and accept both current and past-season products.

How returns work Start your return Customer Service

Subscribe

Sign up for product highlights, original stories, activism awareness, event updates and more.

Back to Product

Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 439 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Classic Retro-X® Jacket

4.6/5
Kinda Large
November 29, 2023

all your products that i

all your products that i bought so far are great

November 27, 2023

Super Warm

Looks good. Super warm!

November 26, 2023

Awesome Jacket

This is a great jacket. It fits really well/true to size. Nice and warm and looks cool. Very nicely put together.

November 16, 2023

Classic

I bought this mainly for casual use (cragging, hiking, and camping ect..) here in the PNW, and to fill the gap between performance fit fleece (R1 hoody) air permeable insulaiton (nano air) and windproof insulation(down sweater). I wanted something windproof so it could be worn alone and so i can bike commute with it. Windproof/Breathable - I hate ... Read Morethe wind, but also get pretty sweaty, but so far Im impressed. It defenitly knocks out the wind, but not quite as much as a true windbreak (houdini). The wind proofing does limit the breathability, however, and I've noticed I can start to get pretty sweaty in higher output/warmer temps. The full zip can help, and the side pockets can be used to ventilate, which is a nice feature but Im skeptical ill be able to use this for touring in WA. Warmth - Warmer than snap T, less warm than down. especially nice on cooler fall days. would be a good alternative to down if layering. The dual face color is a nice touch as Its warm and stiff enough to stay upright. Fabric - The inner liner is a wicking material that has some stiffness to it. It also has an almost waxy feel which i assume is the windproof layer. It is definitely not the same material inside and out, which might be a deal breaker for some. Fit - Typical for Patagonia climbing focused items. It's boxy with broad shoulders to enable range of motion and minimize hem left with your arms up. Hem is at waist, maybe a little shorter. Sleeve length feels about right. Quality - as expected with Patagonia. Durable, well made and overall solid. Feels like I could give it to my grandkids Given the price it's definitely not for everyone. I really hesitated to spend this much on a "non-technical" jacket but wanted something that looked good and functioned on its own. It fits most of my use cases and is a nice variation to my current layering systems, however, the wind proofing comes with a tradeoff of breathability and its TBD how this limits functionality. I haven't been able to test it skiing yet, but unsure I'd want to wear it under a shell as I tend to run warm and sweaty, and our winters are fairly mild. Overall, I really like it thus far. A warm, bomproof, casual jacket with classic style.

November 10, 2023

Awesome product, a must

Awesome product, a must

October 31, 2023

Warm and cozy!

It is very warm and practical.

October 30, 2023

Warn and very comfortable

Warn and very comfortable

October 22, 2023

A practical classic

I'm 5'10" 165 lbs and size Medium fits perfect. I can layer with a medium to heavy sweater and it's not constrictive. Warm as usual for this jacket (It's my second one) is a favorite of mine for travel and I always carry one in my bag. It is a very sturdy (outdoor) piece of garment and I highly recommend it to anyone. It ne... Read Morever disappoints!

October 18, 2023

Oldie but a goodie :)

This is my second fleece in years. Its versatile enough for me to wear it at work or just casually. Loose enough to wear with a hoodie or without one. I look forward to wearing it for a few years like my last one :)

October 12, 2023

fits good. I would prefer

fits good. I would prefer maybe a bit less space in the sleeves

October 11, 2023

Defective item

I think I received a defective item, maybe that's why it's on sale? There are many places on this jacket that are a bit bald and hairless. It looks like there are hole

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2023

Hi JingWen, we're truly sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Quality is so important to us, and we apologize for your expectations not being met. Please feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

October 7, 2023

Great

Great

October 2, 2023

Warm and stylish

I absolutely love this fleece jacket but why are you not bringing black color I think black color would look super cool

September 28, 2023

Unreal

1st try on, felt my torso warming up, can't wait for the mountains. Perfect fit for wearing a base layer. Definitely buying different variations of this item. Must buy!

September 12, 2023

Finally Bought It

Ive wanted one of these since I started buying Patagonia products more than 30 years ago but never pulled the trigger. I got this on sale which made it even more appealing. Cant wait for the weather to get cold enough to put it on. Like every piece of Patagonia clothing I have ever bought over the years I know it will perform just as advertised. Bu... Read Morey one for yourself. You wont regret it!!

September 3, 2023

Be careful with the sizing!!!

Retro fit. Be careful! There's plenty of room in the arms, but if you're carrying a little extra weight around your torso, the elasticated waist means the fit is off. Seeing as I want the flexibility of wearing a jumper/hoody underneath, and like a relaxed, oversizrd fit, if your not super slim, size up. If your bodyshape is 'popeye&... Read More#x27; stay true to size. Definitely worth ordering 2 (if possible), or trying one on beforehand. Other than that massive issue, looks amazing.

September 3, 2023

Comfortable

Very warm and comfortable

September 2, 2023

Great deal on a fabulous and flexible jacket

Found this gem on sale (!) and snatched it up. Now I’m ready for Fall

August 31, 2023

Cozy

Ordered an XL, but when I tried it on it was too tight in the body & too short for my liking. I am @ 6 ft & weigh @ 175. I returned the item & ordered the XXL (The return process was smooth & as soon as Patagonia received notice of my return via USPS it started the process of replacing the return item). I prefer the fit of the XXL a... Read Mores it allows for an undergarment & extends well below my waist so it fits more like a coat than a jacket. Overall, I am pleased with the product & the service.

August 22, 2023

Comfy, Stylish and Wind Resistance

Im 6ft 2in and 225, I originally ordered an xxl bc I figured theres no way an xl would suffice. I was wrong lol. Thankfully their return/exchange process is easy and fast! The xl is perfect and Im excited to get years of use.

August 14, 2023

What I was looking for for cold and windy weather

I bought one in size M and another in size L to be able to fit an R1 or even an R2 under it. I am going to need them for a trip to Patagonia Argentina in the month of October, where the cold and wind will be the most likely, they have an appearance that not a drop of wind will enter, thank you Patagonia for creating such technical clothing

August 13, 2023

Super warm

Alas !like many others the sizing is to small ..to snug ...it been said so many times ..you need far more relaxed fit items ...regular fit is to small for many ...I have worn your fleeces for 23 years and they have got smaller and smaller .why ???

August 12, 2023

Super cozy jacket

Nicely lined sherpa jacket. The mint accents are great. Its only august but I figured id snag it while my size is still up for grabs. It was also on sale. Sick jacket

August 12, 2023

Excellent Jacket

Excellent Jacket

August 9, 2023

Great jacket

This jacket is so nice. Soft and warm. Exactly what I need for the Icelandic winter!

June 15, 2023

Warm

this is to help everyone with the sizing decision. i'm about 160 cm in height and 66 kg in weight. based on Patagonia JP website (which btw provides flat measurements), XS size has: 47cm, 65cm, and 81 cm in width, rear length, and sleeve length (i suppose from the base of the neck to the end of the sleeves) respectively. however, based on my... Read More actual measurements -- 50 cm (pit-to-pit), 48 cm (waist area), 65 cm (rear length from base of neck downwards), and 81 cm (sleeve length). overall, fit is good given my size. there's little allowance in the waist area and might be a concern for those with bigger bellies (mine is okay for now hehe). hope the above helps for those choosing a size.

May 17, 2023

Retro jacket

Very Good product!!

April 8, 2023

Nice product

Nice product overall. A couple of loose threads which was unexpected considering the retail price.

April 1, 2023

Comfy and warm

So, basically this jacket is my bathrobe. I throw it on in the early morning when I come out in sweat pants to make coffee. It is actually so warm that I end up wearing sweat shorts! The quality is top notch and the design thoughtful. Great materials as well. The only thing that is even remotely less than stellar is the sizing, which is a little re... Read Moretro. Its a looser fit than most modern garments, especially in the performance outdoor sector. Then again, its not really a performance piece. Happy shopping!

March 18, 2023

Why so short?

This fleece is meant to block the wind and keep the wearer warm. So why design it to be so short? It needs another 1 or 2 inches of length.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2023

Hi Andrew, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. We want you to be comfortable and warm while using your gear. If you feel that the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket is not meeting your expectations, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

March 16, 2023

Cool Jacket

This jacket is super warm. I live in Florida so I will probably get to wear it twice a year or so - unless I travel. However, the retro styling is way cool!

March 8, 2023

Perfect

Wore this in South Africa during winter and I loved it. I wear it all the time here. It's perfect for hikes and looks good when I go out.

March 6, 2023

Functional Dip

The jacket is so versatile, it goes well with most of my outfits, and has the added benefit of being a functional warm jacket

March 3, 2023

It is super warm so I like the title

I like how breathable it is but it still keeps me super warm.

February 27, 2023

Super comfy.

Love the look and super comfy for around town, school and in the lodge.

February 25, 2023

soft, comfy & warm; just a little snug

I have wanted a Patagonia fleece for awhile and grabbed one that was on sale. I really love how soft and warm but lightweight it is. My only complaint; it runs a little short in length. Sleeves are fine, it just creeps up when I sit in the car. Otherwise, awesome jacket/fleece.

February 23, 2023

Warm, comfy, cute

Im a 5 foot 7, 165 pounds woman and average build. I have a 33 inch arm length and the sleeves are perfect if even a little longer which is comfy for cold temps. I purchased the medium when it was 50% in store which came out to $114. Great deal! The jacket is comfy and so warm, you definitely can wear just a t shirt under it when its about 40 degre... Read Morees out. Its a bit too warm for anything above 50. I got the Dark natural/sequoia red version with the blue trim. Its not as dark a natural as seen online but the color is cute and I feel like a fuzzy teddy bear in it. The medium was the right size because it looks good without layers but allows a hoodie if I really wanted to. The small would have been super fitted and uncomfortable under the arm pits and a hoodie would have made me feel like the Michelin man. I wear this indoors at work when its cold and outside walking around outside. The windproof layer is soft for me, not stiff and scratchy like others say. I bought this for my bday bc of the sale and I always wanted one. Its a great value especially at this price.

February 19, 2023

Well made - love the details and colors

My only complaint is the collar is tight when I zip it all the way up. Its so tight it restricts breathing. Never experienced this before and I have jackets that zip with a high collar. Perhaps its the colored accent band of fabric but its uncomfortable. I have a normal size neck and no double chin, so..

February 17, 2023

overall comfortable and warm, but windproof???

the upper portion of the sleeves is a bit big, but I think its a look, and its built for movement, so, I am alright with it. the only part I find disappointing is the windproof part, it is definitely not windproof, I was on my bike, wind definitely got through, and I felt the wind. mesh barrier is not windproof.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2023

Hello Clyde, thank you for your review. We're so sorry to hear that the windproof feature on this jacket is not working. If you think it could be a warranty issue, you're welcome to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1nujro*_ga*MTE3MzgxOTU4OS4xNjQ3NTMxMTc0*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3NzI0NzA0Ni41NzQuMS4xNjc3MjQ3OTgyLjAuMC4w) and we could set you up with a return or exchange.

February 10, 2023

Comfy cozy

Most comfortable and warm jacket!

February 9, 2023

I really wanted to like this...

I really wanted to like this jacket and keep it, but the way back top shoulder panel is stitched really constricts how it fits me. Now I realize this is just a "me" thing, but if you have broad shoulders I found that flaw to really compromise my movement. I tried the L but that was just way too big. So unfortunately I had to send this bac... Read Morek. I gave it 4 stars because the quality is excellent, the overall look is excellent, but that one design flaw really inhibits how it fits on me.

February 9, 2023

It's my favorite jacket

It's more flexible than the existing 'Retro-X Jacket'. I'll have to try it to see if this is an advantage or a disadvantage.

February 5, 2023

Sleeve size

The jacket is cool but the sleeve size is huge for a medium. The sleeze size seems designed for an extremely large man - doesn't fit the rest of the jacket...especially for a medium too.

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2023

Hi Sadler, we apologize for the issue with sleeve length. Please feel free to begin a return or [complimentary exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

January 30, 2023

Another Patagonia "Home Run"...

Wanted a Retro X for a while and finally got one...it is the quintessential jacket for all-round cold weather wear... Unequaled quality materials and construction.. and NO company cares for Earth...our home...as Patagonia does..!!!

January 28, 2023

Warm and practical

This jacket is perfect for someone who plays outdoor games such as sporting clays and Olympic sports such as skeet and trap in the winter. The stiff lining is great for keeping out the cold and avoiding shoulder snags. The light weight and the sleeve cut work together to give great mobility.

January 26, 2023

A great winter jacket

Super warm and great looking!

January 18, 2023

Warm and Comfortable

Perfect jacket for around camp or around town. These have been around a long time for good reason.

January 15, 2023

Warm, Warm, & Warm

Did I say warm? This jacket blew me away with its warmth. I couldn't believe it. I thought I would need multiple layer underneath but definitely not the case. A light/thin sweater underneath is all I need in 30 degree temps and I am not the least bit cold. Go for it, you will not be disappointed.

January 13, 2023

Super comfortable, warm, and looks great!

Works hard, looks great!

January 12, 2023

Great Jacket

Growing teenager loves this jacket. Perfect weight for most winter days.

January 10, 2023

You get what you pay for!

Amazing piece of clothing, made extremely well. I had a hard time choosing a colorway because they were all so cool. Might be getting one or two more of these jackets because they are so nice!

January 9, 2023

Not comfy.

Fit is weird, long arms, short torso and runs on the smaller side. The inside is not comfy at all. Its like a shell jacket with no comfort or cushioning on the inner portion of the jacket. Had no idea it would fit that way. Not worth it for me, but thats just my thoughts.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

Hi Kim! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. We appreciate this feedback and we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 9, 2023

Cozy

I wanted an oversized fit but couldn't find a medium in this colorway. Overall, wish Patagonia had a few more monochrome/simple colorways!

January 8, 2023

Perfection midweight jacket

This was a Cmas present for my son. He loved loved loved it. Perfect in many ways. Wishes the lining was soft.

January 5, 2023

Function Meets Streetwear

The colors of this piece are incredible! I love this item as my statement piece. On top of that the windproof membrane keeps me warm in all forms of weather. Well made, feels true to fit, comfy, my new favorite!

January 3, 2023

Greaf Jacket

Jacket runs a little fitted - sizing up was perfect! Teen loved the vintage look. Would buy again!

December 30, 2022

Cozy Fleece Jacket with Wind Block

Im 5 foot 7 inches at about 140 lbs choosing a size small, medium was more comfortable but looks like gorilla arms and less form fitting. This fleece is very warm and comfortable. Patagonia makes a great product. This would be the perfect fleece for me for everyday use if it were a little longer at the waist, had a hood, and an adjustable hem cord.... Read More Either way, I am very pleased.

December 29, 2022

Terrible fitting sleeves

Cool jacket that seemed quality, but unfortunately had to return due to fit. Form fitting in body with somewhat narrow chest, upper back, and shoulders but arms were super baggy. Not sure if this is a fashion trend? But definitely not for me. Had the sleeves matched the rest of jacket (more form fitting with room for a base layer and sweater undern... Read Moreeath), I would have kept. Additional note to add is that the jacket just felt kind of stiff (not really any stretch).

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2023

Thank you for this review, Landon. The stiffness you're feeling may be due to the membrane inside the jacket that makes it windproof. In any case, we're glad you've returned a jacket that wasn't going to make you happy. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

December 27, 2022

Retro man

i love this old style pile like the first generation.. woolly and sheep like... like the fit, style or lack of and just the general feel and look... but don't like the stiffness of the jacket ... must be the windproof material but doesn't drape or flow over the body..

December 27, 2022

Skier

Love this jacket. It is warm and it looks good. Been stealing my wife's for the last year. Finally got one for myself.

December 25, 2022

Bday present

Bought as a bday present for my boyfriend, was aiming to be a bit more eco friendly this year and he absolutely loved it! Sized up and it’s perfect for a slightly oversized fit which is his usual choice! Hoping he returns the favour and buys me one for my birthday

December 23, 2022

Perfect fleece but too short

This fleece jacket would be perfection if its little bit longer. I can't have cold back so I have to return it.

December 19, 2022

Love it

It’s a warm, indoor an outdoor jacket, that’s wind an light rain proof. Wearing it a lot in these colder days. I’m 204cm, 85kg, jacket it’s fine, kinda on the large side. Medium was too short and tight.

December 18, 2022

Warm and looking good

I love this jacket, red, white and blue. It is very warm. I am 6'5" and the XXL fits perfectly.

December 16, 2022

Best jacket I own!

Out of all of my winter jackets this is by far the warmest. Pair with a shell and you can take on anything. This jacket replaced a Retro-X I had for over 16 years that finally gave out after countless days in the field and 100s of washes. It did not have an easy life but it never failed me. Great product and an outstanding company.

December 12, 2022

Owned this since the 90s

Still going strong after almost 30 yrs. Love this jacket. A classic that Im glad they still make.

December 11, 2022

So warm & comfortable!!

It is unbelievable how warm and cozy this deep pile fleece is!!! I LOVE it!!! This fleece is amazing! Everyone I see just has to reach out and touch/rub it because it's so cozy!! Thanks Patagonia for making this! Love the retro design as well, that's what sold me!

December 9, 2022

Love it

Does everything I need it to

December 3, 2022

Super Cozy

This jacket is so warm and cozy. The inside is lined with wind proof material and I have no doubt that it will keep me warm. I am a women for starters, about 5ft 7in but I loved the design of the jacket. I bought a Large because I like to have it oversized. I am a pretty thin build but the large fit just the way I like. It feels cozy to wear and hi... Read Moregh quality ! Love this sherpa jacket.

December 3, 2022

The classic retro is so

The classic retro is so amazing. I never get cold

December 2, 2022

Ver y good

Great as a second layer to keep warm and not feel the air. The interior is somewhat rough but if you wear a shirt it doesn't show. As an improvement I also suggest adding a soft fleece lining inside.

November 29, 2022

Interior seams not the same as the Retro X vests

I love my Retro X vest and have worn it religiously for the last 8 years and have no plans of stopping. I recently added the Retro X jacket to my closet based on my satisfaction with the vest and having to replace an old windwall from a competing brand. I was very disappointed when I put the jacket on and felt an interior seam across my back. I t... Read Moreook it off to find that the interior seams are not flush but rather finished butted plain seams- that protrude inward by a healthy quarter inch. You can definitely feel the seam while wearing it. Where as the Retro X vests have a flat finished seam that is undetectable while wearing. As much as I love the style and functionality of these products-I'm considering returning this because I don't want to feel the seam across my back every time I wear it.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2022

Hey Dace, thanks for the review. We'd like to collect some pictures from you to make sure we don't have a warranty issue on our hands. Please reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we could take a look. Thanks!

November 26, 2022

Perfect gift

Bought it for my boyfriend's birthday and it fits him perfectly. Great quality, light but warm!

November 20, 2022

Fit is Strange

It fits great on top and the sleeves but the jacket is too short. I don't understand why they didn't just make it an inch longer. Maybe they explain this to us. Many people have complained about that in reviews that are for some reason not here anymore. It's too bad.

Response from Patagonia
November 28, 2022

Hey George, thank you for your feedback. We're suspecting that you're thinking of a different jacket because we do not delete reviews unless we no longer make the product. If you find the length to be an issue, you're welcome to begin a return on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

November 18, 2022

Awful Fit For Tall People

If you are a taller person, stay away from this jacket. Aside from the inner lining being uncomfortable for the price, this product runs extremely short and is not meant for anyone with longer torsos.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2022

Hi Cole, we're so sorry to hear about the fit issue you're experiencing with the Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

November 18, 2022

Sizing

I'm 6'0 180lbs, usually between a M or L depending on the brand. I find the M to be too tight around the waist area and also too short. The L was far too roomy in the waist area, although I liked the fit in the shoulders better. Really love this jacket just not sure it's the right fit for me

November 14, 2022

Perfect jacket for winter season.

It is super warm and light. Great for winter season

November 2, 2022

Not the right size for me

I did order this jacket in two sizes and I have to admit that neither of them fit me. So this is the main reason I shipped them back.

November 1, 2022

Super comfy!

Good quality fleece very much comfortable but I do not like rough interior. Fitting is great Love it.

October 26, 2022

Functional jacket!

The jacket is nice and super warm. And has a good windblock. The collors are perfect and it will last for a long time. Don't know how it wil do in a bit of rain yet! But I think it's a nice and cozy jacket

October 22, 2022

Amazing

This jacket fit perfect. But I would somewhat would want it to be longer. Im pretty short but the jacket fit my perfectly. Maybe a bit bigger and longer would be great

October 21, 2022

A little stiff, but probably

A little stiff, but probably will soften with age

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2022

Hi Dana! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The Retro-X can be a bit stiff upon arrival due to that windproof backer, but it will start to soften up and become really cozy.

October 20, 2022

Very nice, lined throughout

Very nice jacket. Very thick. I am 6 feet 205lb and an XL fit well. But I didn't realize that the jacket is lined throughout, which is not what Im looking for.

October 19, 2022

Stylish and warm

I was surprised how warm this jacket keeps me! I had worn this when temps in the Mid-Atlantic reached the 50s, and I was almost sweating in it. I could certainly use this into late fall/early winter for sure. I received a lot of compliments while wearing it too!

October 18, 2022

Warm and comfy

Great jacket, I love it like most patagonia gear. The only caveat for me is that it feels a bit rigid with the liner inside. Other than that, it feels and fits perfect. Most importantly, it is warm!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2022

Thank you for this review, Ivan! What you're feeling is the windproof membrane, which can feel a little stiff inside the jacket, but most folks find it's worth it. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

October 15, 2022

Timeless

Bought my first retro x in 2015. Always liked the style of this line and was happy to see they still sold it. Im 5 foot 9, 180 ish pounds with slightly athletic build. My M size vest fits like a glove ( a little too snug ). Im glad I bought L for this jacket. Fits perfectly and could probably layer a light sweatshirt underneath. This was my biggest... Read More concern ordering this so if you are on the fence I would size up .. it still looks well fitted too.

October 14, 2022

Very nice

I love this fleece, it's my first ever item form Patagonia and it's so good quality. It looks good and is warm aswell for winter days in Stockholm.

October 1, 2022

Warm, thick, windproof fleece!

Fits the way I expect an XL to. Love the inner lining; I can put on over a flannel shirt and slides on with no binding. Looking for one in black! They used to be here but now.........................?

September 25, 2022

Good fit but rough interior

This jacket looks good and fits well. So, why the 3 stars, the inside of the jacket is not lined with soft material. I dont like this at all. The lining inside feels like a rubber mat!! I wore it on a t-shirt and it felt very rough. I am surprised no one commented on this issue. Maybe its not supposed to be worn on t-shirts! All else is ok with thi... Read Mores jacket.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2022

Hey Baba, thank you for the feedback on our Classic Retro-X Jacket. The lining helps with the windproofing properties of the jacket. If windproofing is not a priority for you, we recommend checking out the [Men's Retro Pile Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-retro-pile-fleece-jacket/22801.html?dwvar_22801_color=DNAT&cgid=root) in it's place.

September 16, 2022

Great all around jacket

It's warm and great in any weather! Especially the cold! Great fit too, I now want more designs od the same jacket!

September 10, 2022

Had to size up to

Had to size up to xl because.the large was tight through the waist but the xl is too big in the waist you need to follow the TNF sizing with the waist of a large fitting a 36 to 37

September 9, 2022

Super-warm fleece

Love this Jacket & love the fit! This is my 2nd Retro-X fleece jacket & already have the Vest too. Is definitely wind-proof & will be my go-to this Winter. Thx again for a great product.

September 8, 2022

Patagonia good Patagonia warm

Patagonia good Patagonia warm

September 7, 2022

Cant wait for cold weather.

This is my second retro jacket. The first one is several years old (maybe 10?) and still in daily use during cold weather. Im pretty sure it wont wear out in my lifetime but I need it in two locations and decided to get a second while it was on sale. Its great. I like it. Nothing more to say. (Apostrophes seem to be disabled.)

September 6, 2022

Excellent jacket. This one is

Excellent jacket. This one is number 7.

September 6, 2022

Good for long arms

So either have super short arms or patagonia standard model arms are super long. Otherwise no complaints with fit, quality and warmth

September 6, 2022

Super warm

I really like this piece as it is super warm to the point of being too warm for any kind of activity. The interior lining is heavy and doesnt breathe as well as other items so its not practical if youre on the move. All said, its a great jacket for cold days

September 6, 2022

Fuzzy and warm

Hi Love this jacket! I bought the retro x vest last fall and love it I wear the vest for work and play outside When I saw the jacket on sale I had to have it I like the thick wind resistant fleece on the retro x and the smooth liner makes it easier to layer with a flannel or sweater Cant wait to try it this winter

September 6, 2022

I bought the original 30+

I bought the original 30+ years ago and still have it. I bought this one just to have a newer version to wear around town. The quality and workman appear to be as good as the original.

September 5, 2022

Great Jacket with superb looks

This Jacket fits me great and feels really comfortable. The looks with the camo colours is just pure joy :) It's warm too and I can only recommend it a lot.

September 1, 2022

Comfortable

Nice fall jacket. Comfortable fit plenty warm enough for cold New England mornings.

August 28, 2022

A tried & true classic.

A tried & true classic. Love this jacket! I still have my original in black thats 10+ years old & still going strong - it was simply time for a new color. Bring on winter! :)

August 6, 2022

Great jacket

This is a great jacket. It looks good, has great wind stopping properties and as a result is nice and warm. It seems really well made. Absolutely no regrets!

July 24, 2022

Super warm

It is narrow for the body

June 17, 2022

Great jacket (even if it's somewhat short

I purchased the Retro-x in Pelican w/Dark Borealis Green in XS and S to compare sizes and decided to keep the XS. The Retro-x is said to be a regular fit but in reality, it's quite roomy around the shoulders and long in the arms but short in the body. Also, the Pelican color shown in the product photo is darker than the actual Pelican color. I... Read Moren reality, the Pelican color is lighter and a bit more beige. Although the size S fits well enough, I prefer the fit of the size XS as it looks a bit more professional (I'm about 5' 6", 140lb, 38" chest, 28" waist). For those that are taller, definitely stick to the size S as the XS will be too short for you. I also bought a Northern Green Men's Recycled Sherpa Fleece Hoody in XS. It has a much better fit and length but the chest area feels a little tighter as it does not stretch like the retro-x. On a side note, the Northern Green color is spectacular and if Patagonia makes the retro-x in Northern Green, I will definitely buy it. An interesting fact is that the color and fleece quality for 2021 and 2022 are different. Based on the information shown on the paper tag, the size XS is a 2021 model and the size S is a 2022 model. I preferred the lighter color shade and the pile length/softness of the 2022 but liked the 2021 for the thickness of the fleece as it feels more durable and may be less prone to matting in my opinion. Differences in color and fleece quality between the 2021 and 2022 models: - Color: 2022 Pelican is lighter than 2021 - Pile Length: 2022 Pelican is longer than 2021 - Softness: 2022 Pelican is softer than 2021 - Thickness: 2022 Pelican is thinner than 2021

May 21, 2022

Wind proof and warm

Love this jacket it fits like a glove. Keeps me warm on the windiest days.

May 13, 2022

Classic Feel

Classic feel. Feels great when wearing in cool weather with moderate to slightly strong winds. Inner lining of the jacket isnt soft, but does break in some, although I wouldnt wear it with short sleeves. Feels durable. Great chest pockets. Love the collar, very sturdy and protects from wind. Many companies try and copy this jacket, so had to try th... Read Moree OG, didnt disappoint. Curious if they had a different lining how that would make it feel, like fleece outer, membrane middle, and a different lighter fleece for inner.

Response from Patagonia
May 16, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Steven. Yes, it's the windproof membrane you're feeling that is a little stiff. We'll pass your suggestion about adding a different lining on to our product team!

May 10, 2022

Really nice fleece, very warm, but unfortunately, size runs too small.

Really nice fleece, very warm, but unfortunately it runs too small for me. Would be nice to have a possibility to change it to size M....

May 9, 2022

Warm & so comfortable!

I love the comfort, warmth & style of this jacket, extremely happy with my purchase!!

May 4, 2022

Well made with a Classic look

This fleece is very comfortable and wears great. It is not going to be as soft as the synchilla due to the material, but it is still nice and the classic look can't be beat.

April 25, 2022

comfy and breathable

love this for early morning walks with the dog or as something to have in the back seat if it gets a little chilly on a night out

April 24, 2022

Super warm

Super warm jacket. Blocks wind well. Fit is a little bulky not tapered which is good for layering if needed. However, its soo warm, layering isnt necessary. Could be slimmer through the torso. Perfect camo color to blend in and hide while stalking fish.

April 11, 2022

Love that jacket!

Great cut and super warm!

March 29, 2022

OK

Good quality - my only issue is the size illustrated on the ordering work up runs small

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hello Glenn, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that the sizing did not work out on the Retro-X Jacket. You are welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at your convenience. We are also available to provide garment measurements if needed.

March 22, 2022

Favorite coat

This is the 6th time Ive purchased this coat. Its my all time favorite coat. Its super warm and is great at blocking the wind. This year the coat runs very small. Ive always purchased a large and this year it was very snug. I didnt try it on in the store because I was racing to catch a plane to Iceland. I was disappointed when I put it on when I go... Read Moret there and it was so snug. I barely had room for a fleece underneath it. Fortunately the coat is so warm it wasnt so much an issue. When I got home I bought another one in a larger size. The XL is a little big but I still love it.

March 21, 2022

Great classic looking jacket

At first, I wasnt sure about the jacket looking at it on the hangar at the store but after trying it on you feel like a boss. I am 65, 225, so tall and slim and this jacket in an XL fits perfect, more of a standard fit rather than slim and tight fitting. (Ive learned through the years I have to try on Patagonia stuff first because I vary from L or ... Read MoreXL based on the fit. I wear a L Nano Puff instead of XL since the L is much more slim fitting where the XL nano felt too baggy.) even though peoples biggest complaint is that it isnt super cozy on the inside like how it would look based on the outside of the jacket, it is very comfortable and very warm. I have noticed it cuts all wind better than my nano puff. 10/10 jacket

March 20, 2022

A classic

Love these jackets, nylon shells on down jackets tend to make me sweat, these are warm, wind proof, and are more comfortable for me.

March 19, 2022

Warm and wind proof

Second time I bought the jacket. Great on raft trips and amazing warmth in brutal cold.

March 17, 2022

Dumb Warm

It's dumb how warm and resistant this jacket is. Haven't stopped wearing it since purchased. Doing well in chicago!

March 17, 2022

Great jacket

Love the wind resistant. Very warm.

March 17, 2022

Great Coat

I am 62 and 200 pounds and a large fits really well. A little baggy like some of the other reviews say, but it fits the style of the coat. Really warm and the liner blocks the wind. I get a lot of comments on it.

March 16, 2022

Warm and comfortable

Keeps me warm in really cold weather.

March 14, 2022

Stops the cool breeze.

Excellent coat this one makes Five.

March 14, 2022

Super Warm and Comfortable

LOVE this jacket. Bought a large because the XL arms were way too long for me. Love this warm piece!

March 14, 2022

Runs smaller than my 2 older Retro X

I ordered this color because I always wanted this one , I have 2 older Retro X jackets and this new one is smaller in the body snd chest , its almost like a fitted jacket while my others are a loose fit , I had this one in an xxl a few years back and it was too big , now I should have ordered another xxl

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the new jacket fits differently. We did make this jacket in a "relaxed" fit long ago, but revised to a "regular" fit about a dozen years ago. Please reach out if you'd like to exchange, return or discuss some other product recommendations. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 13, 2022

Built to last

Sound construction, tough material yet comfortable.

March 11, 2022

Perfect, just be aware of fit.

I originally ordered a medium, but after being suspicious of its size, I tried on a small in-store and returned. This is a sweet jacket, if you are around my height and weight, 5'8" and 140 pounds, a small is perfect for a fitted look that can go with anything. A medium is perfect if you want to wear a hoodie or layer under it, but really... Read More baggy in the arms because of the size up. Hope this helps.

March 9, 2022

Cannot Recommend

I really really wanted to like this jacket/fleece, but there are too many small issues with the design of this jacket that I am going to return it. First the positives: - The quality of the stitching and materials is excellent. - It is quite warm for the most part minus in certain instances outlines below. - Decent price if picked up on a sale. No... Read Morew the negatives: - As others have mentioned, the jacket is quit short. That made it ride up my back constantly while driving or sitting. So I had to continuously pull it down. - The shoulder to elbow section of the sleeves is humongous which makes a lot of fabric bunch up in you arm pits which makes for an uncomfortable fit. - Because it is so short and the sleeves so huge, it does not retain heat quite well when outside in the cold. - The fleece SHEDS. Like crazy. Just putting it on and off results in a ton of fleece fibers flying off. - Pocket are very small and awkwardly positioned. It is quite difficult to easily put a phone and wallet in the packet due to the very small opening of the pocket and the pockets themselves being smaller than what I'm used to in other similar products. - The elastic around the wrist was rough for me to a point it got painful after a couple of wears. Only happened on one side. - The pocket is more than normal space towards the back so when you pull stuff out of your pocket, it gets stuck in that extra space. - The chest pocket is tiny. It can't fit an iphone 10 max with a cover. Again, I really really really wanted to like this fleece and I was so excited when I first got and I tried so so hard to look over all the relatively small weirdness. In the end there were too many issues to be happy with this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Thank you so much for sharing this detailed review. This kind of feedback is incredibly helpful both to other customers and to our design team. We're so sorry this jacket was a disappointment when it arrived! We see you've been able to return it. Please let us know if we can help you find something that you'll be happier with!

March 2, 2022

Very comfortable

Keeps warm and comfortable

March 1, 2022

Warm, Sturdy, High Pile

I really like this fleece jacket. It is almost too warm for hiking, and a little too stiff for folding up. But it is perfect for casual wear when the temp is above 35-40F. And I think it looks great.

February 25, 2022

A Really Cool Jacket!

So, me being the chic, monochromatic, navy blue and black clothes wearing guy that I am was admittedly pretty skeptical about buying Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket but that didn't last long. I bought two in a week :) and am eyeing a third (all in different colors). I know, I know! Let me explain. After realizing I needed a ... Read Morewarm and versatile but stylish jacket while running morning errands or grabbing evening drinks on a rooftop, I looked to one of my favorite brands, Patagonia, to check out my options and this jacket met all of my needs. I'm so happy I made this decision as I look forward to wearing this for a long time. I highly recommend it!

February 21, 2022

Warm and Functional

Super Warm and Functional! I bought this retro fleece jacket as a replacement for one I have been wearing nearly every day for the last 10 years. The original is still very functional but getting a little warn so i will shift its use to hiking, rafting, camping and fishing and use the new one for every day. Breathes well and works great when layeri... Read Moreng during winter or on cold mornings around camp. It has a wonderful quality on a cold clear morning when the sun hits the fabric it feels like you're wearing a heating pad!

February 19, 2022

Warm-durable- functional

Im outside a lot, much of that time in the woods, thick woods and need a coat that will stand up to branches, briars and not be to heavy or cumbersome- this one works - real well ;)

February 16, 2022

Looks nice online..

Bought this for my significant other but it was just stiff the material just isnt soft to the touch.

Response from Patagonia
February 18, 2022

Hi Carmen, thank you for sharing this review. What you're feeling may be the heavy-duty windproof barrier in the jacket. It does soften over time, but if he'd prefer something without that stiffness he might check out the Men's Los Gatos Jacket, or the Men's Retro Pile Jacket, both of which are fleecy but have a softer hand since they don't have that barrier. And we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if it doesn’t work out for you!

February 8, 2022

Rugged and well insulated

Great jacket! Just like the one I owned 20 years ago. Very warm!

February 2, 2022

Warm and Comfortable

Very warm in 30-40 degree weather, no need to bundle. Very comfortable for long hours of wear.

January 31, 2022

high quality

I love how when I purchase from Patagonia my money goes to a conscious company and the clothing is wonderful with a great guarantee.

January 30, 2022

Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Outstanding, fits great , very warm and you can feel the quality. Wasnt sure about purchasing because of the price , you can definitely tell / feel this is not your typical fleece jacket .

January 29, 2022

Great Jacket

Purchased the green camo version. A little short in the arm but layering (with hoodie) helps and its very well constructed. I do wish there was an interior pocket but exterior jacket pockets are really deep and can fit several items without giving you that bulky feeling. Chest pocket is great for shades. Im happy with my purchase.

January 29, 2022

Wind proof and very warm.

I bought my first Patagonia fleece jacket in the early 80s. It had a rough outside finish with fleece inside; it looked like Id skinned a sheep Very warm jacket as long as it wasnt windy. The new Retro-X is warmer thanks to the smooth inner layer that is very effective at keeping out the wind. I may look like the Cookie Monster (I bought the blue o... Read Morene) but it is very warm and comfortable to move around in. This will replace a down puffer jacket as my go-to cold weather outerwear.

January 29, 2022

Fits good

The retro x is great. I was concerned about the fit after reading some of the other reviews. I am 6'4" 220# with a 37" sleeve length and 44L jacket size. I ordered the XL (1/2022). It fits perfect in the arms and I can wear a sweater under it no problem. The length is maybe an inch and a half too short but it is not noticeable and so... Read Moremething that most tall folks are used to dealing with. The length could be in issue in the XL if you have a heaver build.

January 29, 2022

FInially fullfilled

Coveted this jacket now for 40 years. I always thought it too expensive. finally it was time and now worth every penny, I should have been wearing it for decades. Warm but not wind proof, easy temp regulation, looks so good!

January 29, 2022

Looks are deceiving

Very stylish good looking jacket, but it is not very warm or comfortable. The inside lining is rough to the touch. I would never wear this with a short sleeve shirt, and despite the warm fleeced look the jacket doesnt retain body heat very well.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hi Charlie, thank you for providing this review. We're sorry this jacket didn't work for you! What you’re feeling is the inner windproof barrier, which may feel a little stiff. If you’d like a fleece jacket without that kind of lining you might check out our Retro Pile Jacket or our Los Gatos products, which are softer inside. And of course, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this one if you wish.

January 29, 2022

A old friend

Wonderful coat. Stylish and a great fit. A friend to my 1986 pile coat that still gets brought out on special occasions. One thing- it's a little drafty around the bottom of the coat - a draw string would have been nice.

January 28, 2022

Perfect

Im a woman who hates the way women coats are typically made. I like more arm room without looking fuller in the body. Today its 37° a with snow coming and despite how thin it initially felt its doing an amazing job keeping me warm Definitely worth the wait and purchase

January 28, 2022

Black was slim fit

As opposed to the green, blue, camouflage XL jackets of the same type - this black version was a slim fit. The others fit appropriately. Love them otherwise.

January 27, 2022

Fantastic Fleece

I own two of these Classic Retro Jackets in Black and Blue. Plus a Classic Retro Vest in Black. This Patagonia fleece is the best fleece you can purchase. They keep you incredibly warm and they last for years.

January 26, 2022

High-quality and warm

This fleece feels really rugged and keeps me very warm. I love the high collar that I can pop up when its cold outside and windy. The full zipper jacket makes it easy to transition when taking it on or off. I also like a really large pockets.

January 22, 2022

Super warm.

I received this jacket as a present. Can't wait to wear up on the mountain hunting. I can't believe you don't make a matching beanie.

January 15, 2022

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable.

High quality product jacket and super warm and comfortable. Husband love it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches