Back to Product

Ms R1® Air Zip-Neck

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Language
  • English
  • Francais
  • Deutsch
  • Italiano
Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 145 cm or less
  • 145 - 150 cm
  • 151 - 155 cm
  • 156 - 160 cm
  • 161 - 165 cm
  • 166 - 170 cm
  • 171 - 175 cm
  • 176 - 180 cm
  • 181 - 185 cm
  • 186 - 190 cm
  • 191 - 195 cm
  • 196 - 200 cm
  • 201 - 205 cm
  • 205 cm or above
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 202 Reviews

Clear All

Ms R1® Air Zip-Neck

4.7/5
Kinda Large
June 23, 2022

The Perfect Daily

Provides a good deal of warmth while remaining breathable. Purchased for hiking however is tidy enough to use as a daily when the weather's a little cooler. Fits perfectly: 5'10, 11st, slim/athletic build

May 22, 2022

Pocket size

I like side-zip chest pockets. They provide a good place to put a cell phone when riding, skiing or running that avoid annoying phone bounce and leg bump. The pocket on this jacket is a bit too small to easily stash or use a small iPhone. Another 1/2 or 3/4 of depth would do the trick.

May 9, 2022

Warm and breathable fleece

Great fleece - very comfortable band kept me very warm this winter whether I was skiing. Snowshoeing or fat biking. In my opinion it is a bit warmer then the R1 pullover and is a little thicker but overall happy with my purchase. Patagonia thanks for the inclusive sizing it is greatly appreciated and please keep it up!

May 5, 2022

Lightweight, cozy and versatile

This thing is a grade eh beaut. Cant beat the R1's soft cozy feel, perfect for hanging around the house in, but also packs super small so I can fit it in my fishing bag for those 'do I need another layer?' days.

May 2, 2022

It's a R1 on steroids

Really love this piece. I have been a fan of R1s for over 20 years and this piece doesn't disappoint. Lightweight and breaths well. Throw a shell over this and it becomes a furnace. Such a versatile piece.

May 2, 2022

No Sweat, This Jacket Has Got You Covered

As billed, this jacket performs well in cold weather, high output activities. The "Z" pattern in the fleece breathes nicely yet keeps a good level of warmth. I often straddle the Medium/Large sizes in Patagonia, went with the Large and that left enough room for a midweight top underneath.

April 28, 2022

Warm without the weight

Stylish and athletic cut. Warm for all conditions without the heavy weight of some fleece.

April 25, 2022

Another nice product by Patagonia

A bit different than other Patagonia products I have. Nice color and fit

April 20, 2022

Light and warm

Very stylish and lightweight but warm in 30 degree weather.

April 17, 2022

GREAT NEW DESIGN

Love the new tech changes: quite warm, zazzy appearance and very light weight. Nice change for the old R1s.

April 14, 2022

Perfect warm ratio for me.

This fits me perfectly and im on the slimmer side. Might run smaller on most. The warmth ratio is perfect for me. A t-shirt underneath and this as my mid layer, i rarely need a jacket on top during activities or at work. I love the fit, not too tight and not too loose. Low maintenance and easy care.

April 12, 2022

Warner than I expected

Fit is perfect, I have worn it a half dozen times. It is warmer than I expected which is great .

April 11, 2022

Love the fabric

I love these fleece. I wear these as base layers for the most part. They're wildly comfortable and wick sweat like nobody's business. I'm 5-10, 180 pounds on good days. I've got a couple mediums and a large. The mediums are snug (OK) and kind of short in the torso (not as OK). As a base layer, they're tough to keep tucke... Read Mored in. The large is roomy enough to be a mid layer and long enough to stay tucked in. A little longer in the torso for the medium and I'd be completely satisfied. Add thumb loops and I'd be thrilled.

April 3, 2022

Warm and cozy

Very soft and warm for its weight. I love the chest pocket too. The only thing I would change is to maybe make the chest pocket large enough to hold an iPhone. Overall I highly recommend!

March 31, 2022

Perfect fleece

So I wrote an earlier review, saying this sizing on this was off. And it was, on that first piece. But on the second go-around, the men's small was just perfect. (That said, make sure you can try this on in-person before buying, because the sizing varies WILDLY.) But if it fits, this is perfect. Warmer and cozier than the regular R1 and just a... Read Mores breathable. It's an awesome layer for just about anything. The one catchthe face fabric tends to be a bit grabby and can make layering a bit tricky with certain other pieces. But otherwise, this rocks.

March 30, 2022

Warm as sweater but ultra light weight.

I found this a prefect outer layer to wear outside a dress shirt in the office during the cold season. The style is casual but still fit well for a business setting.

March 25, 2022

Soft, wary and dry, great under a rain shell

Incredible warmth for the weight. Where this pullover really performs well is under a rain shell in grimy, cold rain and sleet. Nothing has ever kept me drier and warm in this kind of weather. I also appreciate the softness, especially around my neck when I zip it up.

March 23, 2022

Super warm- very comfortable

Im 61 and 165lbs , and the medium is a snug, but for me, perfect fit with whatever T-shirt Im wearing that day. In dress shirts Im a 34/35 length arm and I find these sleeves to be similar length. I bought this as a light layer to wear during the day while traveling and it is has quickly become a staple. In addition to this fleece, I purchased a he... Read Moreavy wool sweater to wear on nights out, but frankly I prefer the warmth of this fleece. As for warmth, you can feel how cozy it is as soon as you put it on. Ive found my myself dreading taking it off before going to sleep and have woken up in it more than once.

March 22, 2022

VERY COMFORTABLE

Great top. I use it as a skiing base layer and a casual top at work. A little shorter and less bulky than the R1 , great new color.

March 22, 2022

I am very happy with it except for two problems

I bought this as soon as it was released. It is nice and warm on days when the temperature is below 10 degrees Celsius. And I am very happy with it except for two problems. I would like to see these two problems corrected. 1. the fabric is crushed after only a few months with furballs forming on the elbows and back of the neck. It looks so much ... Read Moreshabbier than others I have worn for decades. 2. the black color is dirty, please make it more black.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Thank you for your feedback, Makoto. We're sorry to hear there is pilling on the friction areas. You might try using a fabric shaver to remove that pilling and help your fleece look better longer. If it doesn't work and you aren't satisfied, please remember you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

March 21, 2022

Warm and Breathable

Overall this is a great upgrade and spin off from the legendary R1 series! It does breath very well and yet still holds warmth. The fleece is extremely soft to the touch and has a quality feel to it. I like the fit of the L with the body length and sleeves being perfect, however, for my taller/slender build, a slightly slimmer waist line would be i... Read Moredeal as it does fit loose around the hem. I am excited to use it trail running this summer as well due to the breathability!

March 21, 2022

In what universe is this an XL?

This is my third version of this top and each one gets smaller. It may be that I'm getting bigger as I age (sad but true) but the garment is also shrinking with each version. Please, please, either make an XXL or make the XL large enough to fit a real person.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Hey John, thanks for the review. This fleece goes all the way up to 3XL. If your fleece is still in new condition and you want to exchange it out for a bigger size, you can begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 17, 2022

COMFORTABLE

A great fleece to wear by itself or as a base layer. Very soft and holds its shape and texture with washing. Very pleased with the purchase.

March 16, 2022

Adaptable

Great for active wear - both warm and breathable. But also looks good for casual wear. Zigzag pattern isn't quite as prominent as photos make it appear (at least in black).

March 15, 2022

I like to wear men's clothes

Long wear without odor, Warm, breathable, fast drying, high elasticity, half zipper opening and closing, Elastic cuff, middle layer for fall and winter, The outer layer is fitted with a windproof and snowproof storm jacket Functional underwear on the inside, triple dressing, Lighter and warmer!

March 14, 2022

Warm, but not hot (a good thing).

This is my 2nd R1 Air Zip-Neck & I love both of them. The warm comfort of this Air is pretty much perfect, providing insulation without roasting me when active. I prefer the R1 Air to the already excellent R1, as I find the R1 Air warmer than the R1 and yet equal to the R1 when it comes to regulating temp (not overheating). Fit is slim fit and ... Read Moreperfect for my 6'2" 185 frame.

March 11, 2022

Great warm base later for active sports

I am a fishing guide in Northern Michigan. This is a super cozy base layer. I got xxl as I have really big shoulders and chest and xl was a bit tight. Xxl is a smidge long as Im only 510.5, but its fine. Love the look and the zip neck is just right as I have a big neck and I struggle to have the right fit in a lot of clothes. I am also an ice fishe... Read Morerman and skate ski a lot. This layer is great for both sports good for sweating in helps keep ya dry but warm enough. Would recommend to all my fellow outdoors peeps.

March 9, 2022

Lightweight, warm and cozy

I run hot so finding something that breathes is important. Ive worn this in San Francisco on cold days solo and colder days with a thin base layer. A couple of weeks ago when it was 34 degrees in the East Bay, I wore it solo and I was fine! Highly recommend!

March 8, 2022

very light, very warm

fits great very light weight and really warm, great mid layer

March 2, 2022

Warm, functional clothing

I am really enjoying the shirt. It is indeed soft, and ridiculously warm. We experienced -26 deg F recently, and once protecting the lungs, I was functional, outside.

February 25, 2022

Product Not Correctly Described (Size)

I have been your customer since the 1980s. I have at least a dozen sweaters, all in "L" for Large, which fit well. I checked the sizing information on this product and ordered an "L." On arrival I found it uncomfortably tight. I decided to keep it on the bet that I might lose weight. I then re-ordered it in "XL" which ... Read Morefits fine. The sizing information is not accurate.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, and we're sorry for the fit issues you've experienced. Note that this particular garment is a "slim" fit design and others are "regular" fit. We're always working to improve and offering you the most reliable information is so important. We're sorry we let you down, and please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if your gear is uncomfortable in any way.

February 25, 2022

Super Layer

I'm a big fan of the original R1 fleece and the R1 air maintains the strong performance legacy of the original with some minor design tweaks for better performance in colder weather. This has become my go to midlayer for all winter activities thanks to it's great temperature regulation under high output activities.

February 24, 2022

Great high-quality fleece

Im 62, 215. Purchased an xl size. Versatile for high activity outdoor pursuits. It runs a little snug in the chest, but both keeps you warm and releases the heat of exertion. I purchased the same fleece in another color for variety. Perfect for 25 to 35 degree runs with a thin tshirt underneath.

February 21, 2022

Functional & Great Looking zip nest

Great looking and warm, but not hot, zip neck. Received a number of complements on its good looks. Only negative comment is it could be a little more stretchy.

February 17, 2022

nice

Very soft, pretty nice fit, but personally would prefer a little more length in the arms. I would like it more if it did not have the pocket, and would like to see a shorter and thinner collar - or just a pullover. I guess the collar can be nice if it's quite cold, but then I'm wearing more layers and all those collars stacked up are too ... Read Moremuch. It would be a step in the right direction to make the collar one layer of fabric instead of two.

February 3, 2022

breathable warmth

Love this piece. Soft, warm, yet breathes/dumps heat if you are active. Great over a base layer/under a shell for skiing, great over a tee for chilly morning runs. So comfortable you'll want to wear it around the house. I have the hoody also and gave several as holiday gifts. best fleece I've owned.

February 1, 2022

Amazingly warm

Since COVID I have been living in R1s in my Sun porch office. I was impressed on how much warmer this R1 air is. Very comfortable. I have been living it since I got it.

January 30, 2022

New go-to jacket

Incredibly comfortable and breathable jacket. I really appreciate the recycled fabric too. I bought one and then bought another in a different color.

January 29, 2022

Very Comfortable

Very comfortable and warm.Not bulky!!!

January 28, 2022

Comfort and Warmth

The perfect fleece for being active or just staying cozy at home on a winter day. I use it as a mid layer (over a merino t-shirt and under a light soft shell) for fat biking or XC skiing with temps down to 0ºF. It is soft, warm, and breathes well. Also, love the zig-zag patter.

January 25, 2022

Warmer than you think!

Super warm and soft material, great for around the house, walking the dog in the morning. Excellent insulation piece for winter wading when out fly fishing. Keeps the heat on when jogging or running much more than I expected! Also is a good looking piece of clothing 10/10 would recommend. Has a snug athletic fit to it. I sized up because I like my ... Read Moreclothes a little baggy. I cuff the sleeves to accommodate for the extra length.

January 24, 2022

Super warm

This shirt is extremely warm. Even when dampened by sweat it still kept me warm in sub-freezing temperatures

January 23, 2022

Very warm, dries quickly

Im 60 235 stocky build I went xxl because its a slim fit description. Have plenty of room, love this piece. I own two of them. Love all my Patagonia, I may have a problem.

January 19, 2022

A bit warmer and slimmer than regular R1

I'm 5'7", 145 lbs, and the small is borderline too small. This is definitely a slimmer fit than the traditional R1. It's tighter in the shoulders, and the hem isn't as long (though because it's less elasticized, it doesn't ride up, which I like). As other reviews have said, if you want a slightly baggier fit, size... Read More up. Still, it mostly works. It's very warm, extremely comfortable, breathes really well, and seems durable. My only other issue is with the zipper: I can't zip it quite to the top or it sticks. If you don't mind a (very) slim fit, this is a great layer.

January 19, 2022

Super warm

Great for skiing under a puffy shirt and gore Tex jacket in very cold weather.

January 19, 2022

Oddly small

I love everything about this except for the chest being oddly tight. Im 510 170 lbs and purchased size medium. Im a size 40 chest and found it to be 1-2 inches too tight. Arm length, body length otherwise perfect, as was the material and style. Super bummed about the fit, and unfortunately size large is significantly bigger. Trying the daily zip ne... Read Morext which is also advertised as slim fit but hopefully more reasonable in the chest.

January 17, 2022

Light-weight, warm and comfy

I weigh 160 w/ avg build and the small for me is a slim fit which I prefer. This would fit like a normal shirt on a lean build. If you're similar stats to me and prefer a looser fit you should size up.

January 10, 2022

Terrific R1 Pullover

Im 511, 150 lbs & slightly slender build. Medium fits me perfectly. Meaning not baggy or tight. Have owned a few R1 pullovers. Like this one the best. Best yet for warmth and style. Highly recommend.

January 9, 2022

Warm & Light

I wear this top casually either directly on my skin or over a light tee. It fits snugly which is the way I like it. I also wear it as a second layer for alpine skiing below a micro puff and shell. It's very warm and light. A great piece of active wear for sure.

January 7, 2022

Best R 1 EVER!

Crazy warm, especially for the weight. Also, wind cutting capabilities I didnt anticipate! Great for every day casualwear or any cold, foul weather activities. An essential layer for hiking where I live. I cant wait to get my next one!

January 6, 2022

Fabulous Warm Coverup

I gave to my husband for Christmas and he loved it. It looks wonderful on him and it is his go too for keeping warm when we take a walk and when he feels cold.

January 6, 2022

Great Pullover

Very comfortable. Warm but breathable.

January 6, 2022

Great Zip Neck Fleece!

Bought as Christmas gift for my son who goes to college in Maine. He loves it! Comfortable, warm and great looking fleece! I am going to get one for me now!

January 6, 2022

Great in the Patagonia tradition

Great mid level garment providing warmth without bulk.

January 5, 2022

Very warm and comfortable

Great fit, super comfortable, great look! Love your products!

January 5, 2022

Warm

Perfect for me, very warm and a great cut.

January 4, 2022

Very warm!

I like it so much, fits perfect and it is very lightly and warm.

January 3, 2022

product as expected, very good

product as expected, very good but ordering and delivery also incredibly fast and smooth

December 29, 2021

Great product. I love it.

Great product. I love it. I use it when running in cold conditions.

December 28, 2021

Bought it for sport, wear it all the time now

I wanted a fleece for cold weather running and skitouring. I got what I wanted but it's so cozy I wear it all the time now from trail to couch to office. Really great warmth, really breathable and does not smell at all after 5 days of alpine skiing on the slopes and another week of casual wear. Remark on the fit: Fit is really great for me bu... Read Moret for more muscular folks the collar might be a bit tight.

December 27, 2021

Great item

Super soft and very warm

December 27, 2021

Close to Perfect

This new top is warmer than my old R1 tops which I have in multiple configurations. They are great. I use them throughout the year. This one is warmer (and softer). I have two complaints. The sleeves are a tad too short. (About another 1/2 in length would be perfect.). And the pocket is a bit too small. I would like to be able to use it easily for ... Read Moremy glasses. The old style pockets are just a bit larger. But its still a winner.

December 26, 2021

The gift that isnt returned

I gifted one to my husband for Valentines last year, was such a success, he asked for another one. Got him the zip for his birthday and crew for Christmas. He likes to go one size up from his t-shirt size for a looser fit . Patagonias style never gets old. Some of our pieces are 20 years old, patched and even handed down to our children.

December 26, 2021

My man love's it, make the same for women

Bought this for my husband and he loves it, the fir is good, though a little tight around his tummy (oops) Love the colors and contrasting pocket color. Why can't you make this for women? We deserve pockets too!

December 24, 2021

Warmer than expected

I bought this jacket as a mid layer for my annual ski trip that I take with my family. I was fairly surprised at how warm the R1 was while being so thin. I went skiing in ~25 F temperatures and wore a base layer, mid layer, and triolet outer layer. I was sweating before I started to unzip a little. Great purchase!

December 24, 2021

First Disappointment in 25+ yrs buying Patagonia gear

This is the first piece of Patagonia gear (in over 25 yrs of buying all my gear from Patagonia) that Ive not been pleased - but Im not sure why this is. The first thing I noticed was the fit - was too tight in the arms, chest and waist. The warmth of the piece is not impressive. I had planned on this new shirt being an alternative to a zipper top t... Read Morehat I wear almost every day - Style 25522FA15; RN51884; STH; PO 209006. Unfortunately, this new top is not as cozy-warm as the above-mentioned top. I will probably keep it and see if Ill get to like it as much as I do all my other Patagonia gear. Having said this about this particular shirt, I dont want to end this note without noting that I have respected Patagonia more than any other retail seller of any products. Your quality, intense focus on service, and employees who are professional, cordial and helpful is superb. Patagonias service is above all.

Response from Patagonia
January 5, 2022

Hi JG, we appreciate your feedback! We're so sorry to hear the sizing wasn't quite right and it wasn't as warm as you had hoped. Please know your satisfaction is very important to us and we are happy to [assist](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with a return if you decide to do so.

December 21, 2021

Breathable and warm

Very comfortable and warm.

December 21, 2021

Nice medium thickness layer

Its warm and cozy, love the chest pocket

December 20, 2021

So impressed

This pullover does everything you want for aerobic activities in cool weather. It wicks sweat away so well that I was kinda blown away. I came home after a run, the exterior of the R1 was covered in frost from my perspiration being wicked outward and the interior was mostly dry. Just really impressed with this garment. And, as always, I appreciate ... Read Morethe sustainable ideals of this company. Buy this, you will not be disappointed.

December 19, 2021

warm and soft

I love the feel of the top and it does keep me nice and warm. I have an r1 top too and I like the r1 air better. 2 things I would change 1. I have an IPhone 12 that almost, but doesn't quite fit into the pocket......it's handy to have there and I would enlarge the pocket a tad to fit it. 2. It feel just a little tight, though I tried the ... Read Moremedium and it felt a tad too loose. I'd like just a wee bit more room in the arms and chest, or maybe make an option in the sizes that allows a slightly looser fit.

December 19, 2021

Great temperature and comfort range

Love it for everything.

December 17, 2021

Zip neck

Great half zip for my son. He loved it

December 15, 2021

Love it but

It works great as a baselayer and it works well as a tight midlayer. The torso is a little baggy but the arms are long enough thankfully. Shoulders could be a little bigger and as a base layer its itchy as hell. Its almost like wearing non Marino wool directly on the skin. Overall, however, its extremely useful and functional especially for hig... Read Moreh activity in cold weather.

December 15, 2021

Super comfy and warm

Fits great is super warm and looks very sharp.

December 14, 2021

Stellar warmth and comfort

This is my first R1 purchase and I can see what all the praise is about! The fabrics are really comfortable and overall it is pretty lightweight for the warmth it provides. This will be great in my winter running lineup and I can easily swap base layers to utilize the R1 in a range of 15-20 degrees.

December 14, 2021

Nice Quarter-Zip

Great looking lightweight top. Feels great, too. The fit is noticeably more slim than the standard R-1. Also, sleeves and bottom are about an inch shorter.

December 4, 2021

super warm

unbelievable, light and warm - excellent breath ability. Product very well made with valuables details : for example reinforced cuffs

November 30, 2021

Its like Magic

Im a runner and I wanted a top to wear jogging at the park during the cold winter months. I tried this out on a brisk 35 degree morning with just a sport tank underneath and I was quite frigid getting started! But after the first half mile I warmed up a little and this miraculous piece of gear began to activate. I seriously dont understand the wiza... Read Morerdry of Patagonia and how they do it. I stayed perfectly comfortable the rest of my run, I was somehow warm and cool at the same time (and dry)! I am absolutely happy and I recommend this gear to anyone.

November 24, 2021

Extremely comfortable and Really warm

The R1 is fantastic. Fit for me is perfect and really warm on these cold days. Material is super soft and sure seems very durable. Highly recommend.

November 23, 2021

Destined to become a cult classic

Very warm without feeling steamy. Dries unbelievably fast - spin cycle out of the washer and its practically dry. Surprisingly, it doesnt collect dog hair which is a big deal since I have a Golden Retriever that is a high production hair factory year round.

November 22, 2021

Runs really small

Runs really small compared to regular R1. Heavier as well.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

The [R1 Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-r1-regulator-fleece-pullover/40110.html) and the R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece are both a slim fit, so they should fit similarly. We're sorry to hear it's not the case, and appreciate your feedback on the fit and fabric. Please reach out if you need to return or exchange. We'll be happy to help!

November 21, 2021

good update to an old r1

I had a six year old R1 that served me well. I grew out of it and passed it on to a friend so I replaced it with the R1 air. Seeing the product "out of the box" I was pretty happy with the new weave pattern. In use I will say this: It is very warm and does exactly what you would buy it for: That is be a breathable layering fleece. The c... Read Morehest pocket is pretty much only good for a tube of chapstick, its too small for most things that you would keep there and the fabric doesn't have the weight to hold anything heavier than a few grams anyways. The total denial of thumb loops by Patagonia when it's pretty much an industry standard is still baffling. Lastly, the amount of tags Patagonia uses now instead of the simple embossed or embroidered version of old is pretty sad.

November 19, 2021

Toasty and cozy

I was really impressed with how thin yet warm this was. Wear it to work a lot. I have pretty long arms and the medium fits but it is right there. Will be getting one this year for my partner

November 17, 2021

Medium is a good fit for 5'10" / 180 lb

Bodies come in all shapes and sizes, but this is pretty close to perfect for me. I'm 5'10" and 180 lbs. The Better Sweaters were always a bit baggy on me. So far, the R1 Air feels great and is perfect for getting around in 50 to 60 F weather. We'll see how long it takes for the cuff to become stretched out. My one complaint is t... Read Morehat the hem tends to ride up with normal activity, so I'm tugging at it throughout the day. It'd be nice if it didn't do this, or if the garment was a touch longer.

Response from Patagonia
November 24, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback, Richard! The Better Sweater is a "regular" fit design, which may help to explain why they've been a bit more roomy on you. The R1 Air fleece is a "slim" fit so you will notice a difference there. Thanks again for your review and reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns.

November 15, 2021

R1 1/4 zip Air

Warm and breathable. Fit is good and collar is not floppy

November 15, 2021

Great Feel Good Warmth

I wanted this thing as soon as I laid eyes on it. It feels great and is plenty warm. Fits perfect I'm 5'8" 170 lbs and the medium fit just fine. I got the green thinking it was going to be a little bit darker like the website shoes but it actually was a little lighter green then I expected. This won't stop me from wearing it out... Read More though.

November 12, 2021

You wont be disappointed

Really warm as a layer, even in more sedentary situations. Looks good. Feels good. Im probably never climbing Everest, but I appreciate the greener aspects of recycled material, form, function, and durability. Thats the main reason Ive been a customer since 1983.

November 9, 2021

Great R1 but need to make this in regular fit

I hope you make these R1's in regular fit. Want to love this, really just too slim for this normal Dad bod type of guy that is very active biking, skiing, hiking, and wearing this to work. Love the R1 but have an option for regular fit.

November 5, 2021

Perfect 1/4 zip

Perfect amount of warmth without being to hot. Great as an outer or mid layer. Wouldn't say it's a slim fit but not nearly as boxy as the better sweater. You should get one. Probably

October 31, 2021

Great second layer

Great as a second layer over a tee shirt in spring & fall. Great for colder weather for extra warmth. I have several in different colors.

October 24, 2021

Epic But Short

What an excellent piece of clothing. I would love to wear this piece, but it runs too small for active use with my body type. I generally fit the mold when comparing to the models shown, but this piece happens to be much too short in the torso and arms for an kind of activity that requires the body to stretch. If you're tall but have a short t... Read Morerunk and a negative ape index you should without a doubt by this.

September 18, 2021

Perfect for Fall

I have become a big fan of the R1 Air pieces, they are light, warm (but not too warm) and look great! I have pullover and the zip - the the 1/4 zip doesn't fit quite as well as the others (same size) but is still fine to where around, maybe just nothing more than a T shirt underneath.

September 13, 2021

Warm and comfy

Very warm and comfortable. I usually buy xs for their jackets but this item says its slim fit so i bought a small instead and it fits fine. I initially bought the hooded type and xs size was to small for me.

September 2, 2021

Great quality, very slim fit

If youre looking for a very soft, highly breathable, and slim fit mid layer look no further. This fleece is no doubt an impeccable mid layer that will add warmth when needed while also being able to dump heat quickly. I find it can be worn under a nano puff or stretch nano storm very comfortably. I would recommend wearing it as a mid layer or base ... Read Morelayer if needed (soft enough for either). Only issue is the sleeves. They are very slim/tight fitting, especially with a long sleeve t shirt below them. This wont be an issue if youre skinny or lean but it may be an issue if youre a bit overweight or have a good deal of muscle. Overall a great item that is sure to stand the test of time. I plan on wearing it skiing, casually, hiking, and possibly while rowing.

September 2, 2021

Great for skinny guys

Since its a slim fit, I ordered an XL. Still was very slim for me, but sleeves were too long. If you are a skinny guy, thats for you. Overall great materials and craftsmanship, I had

September 2, 2021

Great quality, very slim fit

If youre looking for a very soft, highly breathable, and durable mid layer look no further. This fleece is no doubt an impeccable mid layer that will add warmth when needed but is able to dump heat quickly. I find it can be worn under a nano puff or stretch nano storm very comfortably. I would recommend wearing it as a mid layer or base layer if ne... Read Moreeded (soft enough for either). Only issue is the sleeves. They are very slim/tight fitting, especially with a long sleeve t shirt below them. This wont be an issue if youre skinny or lean but it may be an issue if youre a bit overweight or have a good deal of muscle. Overall a great item that is sure to stand the test of time.

September 2, 2021

One of the best Skiing Base-layers Ever

Extremely comfortable and can be used for multiple different applications from a day on the mountain to a dinner date in town it gets the job done!

August 31, 2021

Great fit tech fleece

First thank you Patagonia for being more inclusive in your sizing, especially with more of the technical line of clothing. The fit is great across the shoulders and chest - not too big and not constricting. I find this breathes well for higher activities like hiking and skiing but still maintains great warmth. Nice stretch and feel of the materia... Read Morels. I will be interested in how it maintains its loft and fit as it gets broken in. Neck also fits well not too tight or loose. The length is pretty good could be a hair shorter but much better length than I found with the R2tech face and other fleece jackets too long in the torso that made layering weird because it was 2inches longer than my shell. I ski 20+ days a year, mountain bike 1000+ and hike multiple days - so I really appreciate the larger sizes in their more technical clothing lines.

August 29, 2021

Great fit, and many compliments.

Love any R1 product. This new one makes 5. The new design fits great & looks great.

August 26, 2021

Warm n snug

I wore this down to Texas when there was that huge ice storm that took out San Antonio. I wore it down to the border and back to New Mexico. I swear this kept me warm and all wore was this and a vest. My suggestion is buy it n keep it.

August 21, 2021

Great fleece!!

This half zip fleece fits just right and is perfect for me here in the North Georgia mountains.

July 17, 2021

Excellent product

Excellent product

July 6, 2021

Zip Neck Fleece

Mid weight fleece with a textured finish and surprisingly warm. The long zip means you don't have to take it off if you just want to cool down a bit. It won't keep the wind out but it's light ideal insulation under a rain jacket. It seems well made and I expect it to last a while.

June 22, 2021

Style & quality

Although this top wasn’t cheap, it was well worth the price seeing as the sheer comfort it gives , great design, love the colour and also the fact it’s made from recycled material. Great product.

June 21, 2021

Soft and Warm

Very soft and warm, great water transport and fast drying.

May 29, 2021

Warm and cozy

Was waiting for good weather to try it out in bay area. But it always was to warm. Got second dose of vaccine and was very comfy all day with high fever and this thing on, not too cold and breathes well. Will try it on Sierra hike next time.

May 22, 2021

Beautiful fit,Nice thinking about the

Beautiful fit,Nice thinking about the reuse of materials.wonderful.

May 11, 2021

Lightweight, warm, versatile, really impressive

Purchased to use primarily as a lightweight, warm layer for outdoor activities. Really nice material, keeps me warm, and surprisingly has actually doubled up well as a layering piece on long distance hikes and runs (in moderate to cold conditions it works really well without overheating). I climb at an indoor gym and haven't yet ventured outdo... Read Moreors, but I'd consider using for outdoor climbing and bouldering.

April 28, 2021

Fit

Its very comfortable, fit and warm. I really like it.

April 25, 2021

Great Everyday Fleece

Its warm enough to be worn on its own, and light enough to wear as a base layer. Love it.

April 21, 2021

Really Impressed

Love the fit and feel of this shirt. It's a great active or casual wear shirt. My first choice for cold weather running (30*F-50*F). I wear other sweaters in Patagonia and this one fits true to size like it was tailored for me. I have been wearing Medium for a few years.

April 12, 2021

Small but important design defect

I bought this shirt based in part on the pocket - I like to keep my cellphone in a breast pocket. Unfortunately, the pocket is too small to fit the phone. I have a Pixel 4 (regular size, not the large one). This is a really basic fundamental detail that would have been easily remedied if they had checked on it. All of my other Patagonia garments ha... Read Moreve a pocket that is large enough for the same phone. The pocket really has no other use, so how they messed it up is a mystery. If that feature is important to you, give this one a miss. I'm keeping the shirt because it is otherwise very nice. Fit and finish are good, the collar is comfortable, I like the color (Industrial Green) and the fabric is as warm as usual with the R1 series. They just need to fix the pocket size.

April 10, 2021

Very badly wanted to like it

My comments are related to fit. Slim fit is often a challenge, as Patagonia effectively sizes down the product vs just reducing excess material. This usually means a restrictive fit that's uncomfortable in the shoulders, upper back and arm holes and the R1 Air is sadly no exception. But there is inconsistency across products; for example, the ... Read MoreR1 Techface, also slim fit, is much more comfortable. I'd rather have R1 Air. The other problem is that this is too short in the torso (much shorter than mentioned R1 Techface) and in fact it's not even long enough to cover Patagonia's own Capilene Cool Daily tee. In addition to looking stupid, this means chilly air hits your back when you bend forward. Patagonia is known for its short torso design - perhaps for fashion reasons but I personally have a strong bias for function, fit, comfort and versatility. I wish I could wear Patagonia's slim fit - it would open much more of their product family to me. Ironically, at 6'2" and 160lbs, I am slim! I've tried sizing up, but large is too big even in the slim cut. This is a great piece if it fits and then lucky you!

April 7, 2021

Very comfortable, warm and breathable piece!

I hesitated between this R1 Air Zip-Neck and the R1 Fleece Pullover. After reading reviews all over the internet, I finally went with the R1 Air Zip-Neck, which turned out to be a really good choice. The R1 Air is lightweight, warm, breathable and very comfortable to wear. So far I haven't experienced any issues with the R1 Air with a shirt be... Read Moreneath that some reviewers were experiencing with the R1 Fleece Pullover. I'm really happy with R1 Air and can highly recommend it for any active outdoor activities!

April 3, 2021

Nice but fit is off

Have had the R1 Air for over two months now, replacing my 20 year old R1. The fabric is excellent - very breathable and warm for its weight. I also like the half cuffs. However, the fit is too large. I am 62, 180 with a 43 L suit size, which is in the middle of the size for a large, and the garment definitely has a relaxed fit, not the slim fit tha... Read Moret was noted in the description. In addition, there are a couple of itchy spots in the forearms along the seams. I give the R1 Air a qualified recommendation- if you want a more technical fit, then size down.

April 1, 2021

Great but could be improved (please read design team)

I had a R1 I use all the time, wanted something lighter. 1. I use my current R1 while traveling as it has a hidden pocket behind the quarter zip. This is really handy when I'm traveling through areas with high pickpockets or if I was mugged it is a safe stash. I've used it in over 30+ countries and this small hidden area is really valua... Read Moreble to me and is peace of mind. This prominent outside pocket defeats that purpose. 2. I wish there was also a full zip version available.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2021

Hey Jonathan, thanks for taking the time to write this review. This is great feedback and we've passed it along to our Design Team.

March 31, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

Perfect balance between warmth comfort and wicking capabilities. Cannot find anything negative about this great top. Have recommended it to several friends

March 31, 2021

My Favorite Fleece

This thing is handsome and so wonderfully comfortable. It does a good job cutting the wind but it breathes so well that I can leave it on with temps up to 70 degrees. Pair it with a light down and your good into the 40's. It's very versatile. It is not my most packable mid-layer, but when you can use it across such a range of temps its ki... Read Morend of ok (even in the backcountry or on a long motorcycle journey where space is at a premium)

March 30, 2021

Mid Layer

Very comfy, stretchy and fits well. It's my new mid layer for long backpacking trips.

March 28, 2021

Cosy

Great mid or base brought as a mid for cold conditions but have used a great base f-r just walking the dog. Soft and not itchy next to skin. Typical Patagonia quality great.

March 27, 2021

M’s R1 fleece

Expensive but XS size great for my 165cm tall thin teenager. He loves it. It’s got good green credentials as well.

March 25, 2021

Good warmth to weight ratio. Athletic fit easy to layer.

Great mid Wright layer or stand alone peice on chilly days.

March 25, 2021

Warm and light

I was looking for something to pack when I needed an extra layer to add warmth yet not be too heavy or bulky and this fleece sweater fits the bill! Looks nice too. Another good Patagonia product. Its not overly roomy, so not ideal for wearing over more bulky layers.

March 24, 2021

SIMPLY THE BEST

SIMPLY THE BEST

March 23, 2021

Great product

Great product, great fit, great quality.

March 23, 2021

The perfect fleece?

This is superb. The fit is perfect. I use this as a mid layer in cold weather. Very breathable, hardwearing and the right amount of insulation for active use. Love it

March 23, 2021

Excellent garment

cosy, practical, light and warm

March 23, 2021

Excellent

Perfect fit, super comfy, very soft to the touch, long zip very convenient to regulate body heat. Top of zip is protected so does not feel cold or neck when fully closed.

March 21, 2021

Great fleece with a couple of issues

In general I love this fleece which is contradictory to my rating. I love the fit, the warmth, and the weight. Its fantastic! However, the misses leave me frustrated. 1) black fades pretty bad after one wash 2) bought in Late December and it is already piling pretty badly 3) pocket barely holds iPhone 7, so good luck with a new phone 4) breathable ... Read Morein that wind goes through it but doesnt regulate heat like my stretch nano storm (my favorite jacket ever). Today I was super hot in 50 degree weather standing around. I put on my stretch nano storm and I was fine (just bought nano air based on stretch nano storm experience) Its little details that make the difference in this being ok and great. I hope they fix these minor items. Also fit is significantly different than the r1s. Note the three r1s fits are all different and only the quarter zip fit true to size imho.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hi Brian, we're so sorry to hear about the disappointment with your Men's R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece. We want you to be happy with your gear and if you're not, you're more than welcome to make a return or exchange. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

March 17, 2021

the best Patagonia yet

I would live in this fleece if it were socially acceptable. I work remotely so I try to switch up my tops, but this one is my favorite to wear by far. Besides being cozy and fitting really well (6', 180lbs, size M), it breathes so well that whether my office is sweltering or freezing, I stay comfortable. I've used this as a layer while re... Read Moresort skiing and backcountry skiing and it dumps heat and moisture like nothing else, and yet still keeps me warm on blustery days. Can't say enough good things about this new R1 Air!

March 12, 2021

Great Idea

The concept is great. The body fit is good. The sleeves are too short. Thats a show stopper for me. Ill look some where else. Thats too bad. My older R1 mediums fit great. The new design doesnt work for me.

March 10, 2021

One of my favorite jackets now.

I have 10+ year old R1 zip jacket that I take everywhere and it is my favorite jacket. I tried out the new Air R1 and love the feel of the jacket, a mix of sweatshirt and sweater. It is very light weight but it has incredible warmth for its weight. It compacts down smaller than my older R1. I went with a large as the medium was a little shorter in ... Read Morethe arms and more of a slim fit - I think for technical base layer I'd stick with a medium but for an around town, keep in the truck the large is a better fit (to go over button up shirts).

March 8, 2021

Super light, warm, and cozy BUT the black color is not black at all

There is some sorcery in this fleece I have no idea how it's this comfortable and temp regulating for how thin it is. It keeps me at a perfect cozy temp at all times. 6'2" 175lbs and tried medium and large, went with large. Perfect fit that can be layered over a tshirt no problem, unlike the current R1 (non-air) revision which is way... Read More too tight, and for some reason thinner/less warm than the Air. Zip pocket is a little small, but my tiny phone and wallet fit in it. Any smartphone users, it won't fit in there. IMO the Air would look a lot better if the chest pocket was internal (like the R1) instead of this external patch pocket. BUT I'm leaning towards returning it. I got the black color hoping it would be as black as the pictures, but it's definitely dark brown, no matter what light it's in. It's a very faded, worn-out attempt at black. Not a flattering color to me. Did I get a bad batch? Was hoping to try out the Green after this brown disappointment but they're all sold out. Still very on the fence. Sad that basically only the color is negatively affecting my decision.

March 8, 2021

Cozy, unique zigzag fabric zip Turtle

Cool zigzag fabric, great Crater blue color, nice to have a small zip pocket on the chest. Perfect casual & sport wear. I dont wear for work because knit fabric might snag.

March 8, 2021

Great fabric...sizing is too tight

Great material. Too tight for me. Bought size Large 6ft 1" 170lbs 44" chest. Tight in chest area. If worn as next-to-skin baselayer this may work. If you intend to wear over a merino shirt (short or long sleeve) then this is too tight. I may buy the XL and see if that works. But often the XL is too long in the sleeve and torso for me.

March 8, 2021

Warm and light

The fit was what I expected, so far so good. Used it on a mountain bike ride in the high 30's with just a nylon vest over top stayed plenty warm. Seemed to wick and dry quickly. Would love to have a couple more.

March 7, 2021

True to size?

This is on of the few products I have bought lately thats is true to size for me. 180 lbs, 6 and I order a large. Most of the other large products I order are way to big.

March 6, 2021

Great product

All Patagonia works well Not cheap But worth the money

March 5, 2021

Perfect Weight & Comfortable

Got this as Valentines gift for my husband, he has several of the other R series. Loves it and wears it for all his outdoor activities.

March 5, 2021

Warm and Breathable

Great layer!

March 4, 2021

Awesome top, Except

I've been looking forward to acquiring the piece for a long time. Finally got one and it's super warm, soft, comfy and fits well for me. Unfortunately, however; it starts to stink and hold odor as soon as I start to sweat. A huge bummer! I have several other R1 and R2 pieces, and they never smell- What happened, Patagonia?

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're sorry your fleece is holding smells. We recommend washing it with 1 part white vinegar to 1 part water and that should resolve the issue.

March 4, 2021

Warm & Soft

This is my new go to shirt. After 10+ years with my last R1I finally had to part with it. That was a sad day. Was afraid the new version just wouldn't be the same, but pleasantly surprised. Same great fit, same warmth and softer feel. Hope to get as many years from this one.

March 4, 2021

Very light and nice layer

Seems like a nice light breathable layer for use in Winter and the ADK High Peaks. I haven't had a chance to really put alot of miles in it. But I am happy so far!

March 2, 2021

Great product

Comfortable, warm and typical Patagonia quality.

March 2, 2021

Flexible

I wear this on its own during heavy activity or under a warm jacket while stationary. This is an awesome piece of clothing and love the texture and feel!

March 2, 2021

Soft and Warm

It is perfect for layering under a light jacket for morning walks.

March 2, 2021

Great quality but runs small

Loved the feel of the material and finish but unfortunately it was too small which was strange as I've bought several other Patagonia products all in size medium. The length in the torso was the issue for me. Ended up giving this to my son for the rest of the ski season so at least someone won in the end!!

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for the review on our R1 Air Zip-Neck Fleece. We're sorry that the size didn't work out for you, but glad that your son is getting some use out of it. For future, you're welcome to make an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a bigger size.

March 2, 2021

New R-1 Air

This item is effective in non-windy conditions, otherwise effective when worn as a mid-layer because it is not wind-proof due to the porousness of the wave pattern.

March 2, 2021

Crazy lightweight but really warm

The fit is snug but really comfortable because of the 360 stretch. Super lightweight fir the level of warmth, and not too warm when youre moving. Very happy.

March 2, 2021

Amazing

1st time purchasing an R1 and I couldn't be happier I did! The weight to warmth ratio is the "amazing" part to me. It is super comfortable, extremely light weight and warm. I wore it with a tee shirt underneath to work and I was legitimately overheating at times. It unzips more like 1/2 way vs 1/4 which is great to let the heat out. ... Read MoreI'm 5'11", 185lbs and the large fits me perfectly. It is definitely more of a fitted garment than loose. Will absolutley be getting another one next time I score a discount code. Highly recommended!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches